Anaconda fished out of Front Road drain

Written by
Friday, 09 September 2011 02:34
Source - Guyana Chronicle

Marlon Forrester, called ‘Strongee’, is all smiles as he holds up the 20-foot anaconda he pulled out of a drain last Wednesday afternoon on Front Road in Georgetown.

He said he’s thinking of selling the reptile to the zoo ‘to mek a dolla’.

Georgetown is becoming infested with anacondas that can be dangerous to children and adults alike. Capturing one doesn't solve the problem. Guyanese should learn to consume anacondas as a way to eliminate the growing problem. Has anyone tried anaconda before?

You can always count on Cobra for good advice. Smile
Originally posted by bird:
The last slogan was Go to new thriving and eat poke now you say eat snake.

I never recommended pork to anyone. Where did you get that idea from? The Far-Eastern people eats many species of snakes, and they're a doing fine. Guyanese should follow good examples. Should I say more?
Originally posted by warrior:
if the ppp win this election the people might start eating it to live

My statement wasn't about politics or who wins. As jokingly as it may sound, it's a good concept to consider eating the catch. These circumstances happened in many parts of the world, and the locals find ways to consume the problem.
Originally posted by Cobra:
Georgetown is becoming infested with anacondas that can be dangerous to children and adults alike. Smile

Given that mnay of these kids are forced to fetch water in the dark...because the pressure is too low to get water in their homes...the prospects of one of them becoming breakfast is real...If not a camoodie, than a caiman. They have those too.
In 1972 I had an encounter with a snake that look like a baby Anaconda (about 3 feet) at the area at the back of the University of Guyana campus. The thing just appeared from one of the trenches there right in front of some students who were talking. One of the guys got a bag and put him inside and took him to the zoo. At least that is what the guy said. But I had a feeling that he sold the snake to one of them animal exporters like Benn because I never saw the snake at the zoo.
Wally
Originally posted by Wally:
In 1972 I had an encounter with a snake that look like a baby Anaconda (about 3 feet) at the area at the back of the University of Guyana campus. The thing just appeared from one of the trenches there right in front of some students who were talking. One of the guys got a bag and put him inside and took him to the zoo. At least that is what the guy said. But I had a feeling that he sold the snake to one of them animal exporters like Benn because I never saw the snake at the zoo.

If I am not mistaken, those pet exporter guys in waterloo street used to cook snake in their cookup.
Snake was always a staple diet in Guyana. Those Chinese restaurant used to pay fishermen to catch snakes and they used to mix them with the fry fish. Who could detect the difference?