May 23 2018

US carrier American Airlines has formally submitted its application to the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) to enter the local market, Director of Air Transport Management Shaheed Sulaman confirmed yesterday.

Sulaman told Stabroek News that the application was submitted sometime last week by a representative of the airline, who visited the Headquarters in Kingston, Georgetown.

Director General of the GCAA Lt. Col (rtd) Egbert Field had previously said that once the application was submitted, the process to have the airline certified would not be a long one.

He also noted that a meeting between the GCAA and the airline is expected to take place sometime in June.

However, when asked if a date for the meeting has been set, Sulaman told Stabroek News that it is being finalised.

On March 27th, American Airlines, in a media release, had announced its intentions to introduce four new destinations to South America and Mexico.

Among those listed were flights between Miami and Georgetown, beginning December 20th, 2018, with tickets going on sale from April 2.

However, Field, following the announcement, said that permission had not yet been sought by the airline.

This was reiterated in a subsequent report where the Director General said that he expected the US carrier will make contact with the GCAA so they could start the approval process for its operation.

The process would include a review and validation of the approval to have an air operator’s certificate from the country of operation.

As American Airlines is an established company with an air operator’s licence and is already in operation, he said, β€œthat process should not take us more than two to three weeks, a month on the outside, to give approval.”

Field said that he did not see any obstacles in granting approval as the airline flies worldwide, but Guyana must be accorded the right to conduct its aviation business the way it is supposed to be conducted.

Good for Guyana who can afford to spend and take the risk. 

How many of you have family back home, if you do, it will be the only reason of going back.

Non of you will visit Guyana for vacation ( if no family in the home land) - it’s expensive and scary. 

To the men folks on this forum  - would your wife or children visit Guyana or remigrate.

As promise by politicians, Jesus, Mohammad, Hanuman will appear to lift Guyana from it slums with the oil money...  Django you should be the first to remigrate. 

At 6pm your gates are lock with you behind the grill. The sound of barking dogs is scary to begin with. 

No tourism destination that you get value for your $ 

GNI editor in chief, you should go back and spend a full week and tell us if you will remigrate. Take a walk from Metropole to Prince st like the old days, and let us know how comfortable you are... they gon strip you backside and mek you scream fo Horman and Ginger . 

Cricket ( WI ) is dead. Bumper ball is the going game... million dollar bet every weekend at Everest. Them bhai has the local IPL. .. with young sweet chicks hanging around as escort. 

Would the average traveler afford the airfare to Guyana?

what do you think they have credit cards for?

What happens when you can't afford to pay your credit cards? Do a Frump? Declare bankruptcy?

You are getting too technical on much of a long story. Why do you worry how they will pay their bills? Poor Guyanese may not rich like you but they can manage their finances. Lord, you r******* story too long, man.