NYC is out. Could be DC or Raleigh if on the East Cost. Philly is marginal. My best bet is Phoenix or Austin. San Diego also has predictable climate etc. These south western cities suffer from one main requirement....light rail. They have great predictable climate profile, secure power, lots of professionals professionals available and lots of space to build a spacious campus.  Maybe they will select DC area! 

Windsor-Detroit bid fails to make list of 20 finalists for Amazon HQ2

Toronto is the only Canadian city that's still being considered

CBC News Source and rest of the article, Posted: Jan 18, 2018 9:31 AM ET, Last Updated: Jan 18, 2018 9:31 AM ET, http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/...amazon-hq2-1.4492815

HQ2 finalists:

• Atlanta, Ga.

• Austin, Texas

• Boston, Mass.

• Chicago, Ill.

• Columbus, Ohio

• Dallas, Texas

• Denver, Colo.

• Indianapolis, Ind.

• Los Angeles, Calif.

• Miami, Fla.

• Montgomery County, Md.

• Nashville, Tenn.

• Newark, NJ

• New York City, N.Y.

• Northern Virginia, Va.

• Philadelphia, Pa.

• Pittsburgh, Pa.

• Raleigh, N.C.

• Toronto, Ont.

• Washington D.C.

QUOTE: "The 20 potential cities include Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Columbus, Ohio, Dallas, Denver, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, Miami, Montgomery County in Maryland, Nashville, Newark, New York City, Northern Virginia, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Raleigh, Toronto and Washington D.C."

Being an Amazon customer since 1999 and having purchased over 1,000 books to date, I think I'm entitled to request that the company settle with Toronto.

Hey D2, we're back in business, Trumpster couldn't knock us down. Let's see what happens tomorrow night.

I told you so. By Nov it will be final that he would be the completely powerless to do any of the stupid things he promised. My friends at the Smithsonian who were scared of losing their jobs are also thinking as you do that he has lost the ability to make deep cuts into the arts and sciences.

It is too late for a deal. Expect an unscheduled vacation until next week. Book a week end of skiing or board or just hanging out at Snowshoe resort and have an alpine experience close to home. That's where I am heading

Perhaps, it also could be in Vancouver, BC or Edmonton, Alberta.

Well Sir DG, I have a good reason to believe it will be my city:  a huge TV channel headquarters is moving out soon.  

There is also everything on their check list here....transportation infrastructure, land, abundance of trained professionals, great social outlets from rich diverse city social life to outdoors adventure for a workforce to live in comfort. We are also not expensive.  Single and multi family homes in wonderful wooded locations can still be found close by for around half a mil.

Riff posted:

If it's on the East Coast....that will be good too

I have a strong feeling it will be where I live...Montgomery county. We have everything here in abundance. Saw Amazon CEO hanging out here so he knows the area. It is close to everything...nature, seat of power.. and lots of science and tech workers.  Everyone of my friends are in tech or work in research.

QUOTE: "The 20 potential cities include Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Columbus, Ohio, Dallas, Denver, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, Miami, Montgomery County in Maryland, Nashville, Newark, New York City, Northern Virginia, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Raleigh, Toronto and Washington D.C."

Being an Amazon customer since 1999 and having purchased over 1,000 books to date, I think I'm entitled to request that the company settle with Toronto.

We both purchased in 1999.  I bought 100 shares then as I was too chicken to buy 1,000.  In the beginning I lost money, but 18 years later, All's well that ends well.  But still wishing I had bought 1,000 shares.

Gilly,purchased books not shares.

I know.  Was just checking to see who is paying attention!

Django posted: Gilly,purchased books not shares.

Hey you, shut up yuh mouth. Lemme appear to be rich like you, nuh.

The books gave wealth of knowledge,that is worth more than $$.

That's right, my sugar worker father drummed it well into my skull: "education better than silver and gold". I'm still educating myself. You know what "cognates" are? This week I discovered that word while reading a discussion on the influence of Sanskrit on other languages. 

On second thoughts, I'm glad you bought 1,000 books and not 1,000 shares.  Because you may not have been here on GNI talking to us underlings.  This place is definitely the poor man's hangout spot.

I learn something new practically  everyday from reading. Today I learned of the Ainu..an indigenous people residing in Hokkaido (Northern Japan)

Sanskrit shares a common history with ancient Greek and Latin and they possibly came from something that is more ancient language that linguists called proto Indo European language.

Sanskrit is the progenitor languages  of many Indian languages. Greek give us modern Greek and Latin gives us the romance languages.

Hey D2, we're back in business, Trumpster couldn't knock us down. Let's see what happens tomorrow night.

I told you so. By Nov it will be final that he would be the completely powerless to do any of the stupid things he promised. My friends at the Smithsonian who were scared of losing their jobs are also thinking as you do that he has lost the ability to make deep cuts into the arts and sciences.

It is too late for a deal. Expect an unscheduled vacation until next week. Book a week end of skiing or board or just hanging out at Snowshoe resort and have an alpine experience close to home. That's where I am heading

Hey D2, I'm joining you at Snowshoe!!