Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Carter would say he regrets helping the PPP in 1992 that the PPP squandered their goodwill.

Carter would say govt's use of state resources approved by Cabinet is fraud.

Carter would say, I wish the Coalition well.

Would he?  Long live the PPP.  The PPP is the best choice for Guyana.

Carter would say he regrets helping the PPP in 1992 that the PPP squandered their goodwill.

Your brothers don't agree with you. Dem hosted Granger recently and you were not invited. Source: Canal Gyaal.

Jackass of the Year award to JB. How on god's good earth you know what Jimmy Carter would say? You staat fuh sound like Warrior. Are you another Ms. Cleo in the making or you have accomplished this distinction? God help this poor soul who has an ambition for "minista wuk". You name deh pun de PNC list?

Baseman, These CUTTHROATS Snakeoil Salesmen are desperate and SHAMELESS!!!

Jimmy Carter to lead team of elections observers

Carter Centre Field Office Director Jason Calder

â€Ķformer President due to assess voting, tabulation

Former US President and Head of the Carter Centre, Jimmy Carter, is due here along with a large team of observers to monitor the May 11 electoral process.

In a statement, the Carter Centre said it has launched an international election observation mission for Guyana’s May 11 elections at the invitation of the Government of Guyana. The core team of experts will be joined this week by six medium-term observers, together representing nine countries. According to the Centre, its observers will meet regularly with representatives of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), political party candidates, civil society organisations, the international community, and citizen election observers to assess electoral preparations and the pre-electoral environment, including election administration, campaigning, voter education, and other issues.

“They will be joined by a larger delegation of election observers in May, led by former US President Jimmy Carter, who will assess the voting, counting, and tabulation processes. “I look forward to leading our delegation to observe Guyana’s elections on May 11,” said President Carter. “The Carter Centre has a long history in Guyana and great respect for the Guyanese people. These will be the fourth elections we have observed there since 1992, and we trust they will be peaceful and inspire hope for the future.”

With the Guyana mission, The Carter Centre reaches an important milestone: its 100th election observation. The first took place in Panama in 1989 during a hotly contested race that the Centre declared fraudulent. Since then, the Centre has observed elections in 38 countries. The Carter Centre’s election observation mission is conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation and Code of Conduct that was commemorated at the United Nations in 2005 and has been endorsed by 49 election observation groups. The Centre assesses the electoral process based on Guyana’s national legal framework and its obligations for democratic elections contained in regional and international agreements.

A not-for-profit, Non-Governmental Organisation, the Carter Centre has helped to improve life for people in over 80 countries by resolving conflicts; advancing democracy, human rights, and economic opportunity; preventing diseases; and improving mental health care. The Carter Centre was founded in 1982 by former US President Jimmy Carter and former First Lady Rosalynn Carter, in partnership with Emory University, to advance peace and health worldwide.

Baseman, These CUTTHROATS Snakeoil Salesmen are desperate and SHAMELESS!!!

I read and laff, dem bais clutching at straws.  The PPP will be returned to power with an absolute majority.  The jealous cut-throats will be left in shock and awe.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Who requested Carter to be there for the elections and why? 

Answer:  The PPP

Guyana Times is saying the PPP government invited President Carter.

The Carter Center, however, doesn't operate that way according to its website:

"Election observers recognized as impartial and credible play a key role in shaping perceptions about the quality and legitimacy of electoral processes. To ensure a meaningful, nonpartisan role for its election observation activities, The Carter Center must be invited by a country's election authorities and welcomed by the major political parties."

As the elections authority in Guyana, GECOM invited The Carter Center but PPP is claiming credit.