Albouystown residents feel betrayed by Top Cop

APRIL 17, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

-condemns hostility of police ranks  
The move by the recently appointed Top Cop, Seelall Persaud, to increase foot patrols in the Albouystown area, under the guise of improving safety within the community, appeared to have backfired.
The residents are accusing the police of severe harassment.

One of the police officers checks a motorcycle.

“Frightened” residents are now calling on Persaud to remove the officers, whose only motive seems to be to “terrorize members of the community.”
The police move in Albouystown is being seen as a forced occupation of the community.
In light of recent promises made by the Top Cop during his visit to the neighbourhood last week, residents now say that they feel betrayed. The Commissioner of Police made a promise to renew the relationship between residents of Albouystown and the Police Force with the launching of a community project.
On Tuesday, officers were conducting a search at a house in Curtis Street while the occupants were out.
Neighbours said that they had to shout repeatedly at the ranks and advised them to not enter the home in the occupants’ absence. Their advice however, was met with hostility from the heavily armed police ranks.
“Just the other day the Commissioner come in here and tell we how he got a set of things that he gonna do to help improve the community. We were happy to hear that. He wants us to feel safe and he wants us to work along with him.
“But on Tuesday the police storm in here and point gun in people face asking for somebody that we don’t know about. Then they rush in this big yard here and they were kicking down the door. Everybody shouting at them telling them don’t kick down the door because nobody is home but they continued and stop when they feel like.”
“The police asking fuh a different kind ah relationship with we but this prove that is all talk. You can’t get people fuh wuk along with you by terrorizing them. That is not de way to go.”
A worried mother of two added, “I am used to this. The police treat us like if everybody in this area is a pack of criminals. They say one thing and do something else. They come and pointing guns in people face and rushing in people place like they have no regard for us. How they expect us not to fear them when they behave like this?”
When this publication made an attempt to ascertain from one of the officers on Tuesday last why that particular section of the area was being searched, he suggested that all queries be directed to the Public Relations Officer of the Guyana Police Force.
Yesterday, the momentum seemed to increase. Some two dozen police ranks were patrolling the streets of Albouystown, some in groups of five. They targeted Callender, King Edward, Victoria and Cooper Streets.

Some of the police officers who got into a confrontation with residents of Curtis Street, after a hostile search

At the sight of the media, scores of residents rushed out to relate their frustration over the actions of the police.
One female resident of Cooper Street said, “They deh up and down the street and as soon as they see you they stopping you. You go into a shop to buy groceries and when you come out they want to see in your bag. I have never felt this scared. This is not protection it is harassment. We told them if they serious about solving crime they need to come at night but they don’t listen. There is a particular drug yard that we told them about but you think they got time to pay attention to that? Not at all.”
“We resent their behaviour. The Commissioner, Seelall Persaud come here with his big public relations stunt but based on this we realize that he doesn’t mean well. It is as if this zone here is just full of criminals and they out to send us to jail.
“How can they treat us like this and expect us to trust them or even feel safe? We thought this regular foot patrol would have been good for the community but the police behavior will only encourage us to turn against them.”
An angry Father of eight also said, “Just imagine, they are frightening the children. They are searching children before they go to school and when they in the street they stripping them and searching them.  Even big people they stripping and searching. This is harassment. Parents are angry. We begging them don’t let this turn out into a war.”
Kaieteur News also observed police ranks carrying out searches on the occupants of two houses on Curtis Street yesterday. An argument ensued when neighbours came out and objected to the hostile manner in which the searches were being conducted.
They are calling on the Commissioner to reduce the number of ranks deployed in the area since it is creating the image of an occupied territory.
Yesterday morning around 10am there were 12 ranks patrolling the area and an additional 14 joined two hours after. Police were armed with batons and firearms. Calls to the new ‘A’ Division Commander, Clifton Hicken were futile.
The community project which was launched last week, is called, “Impact Albouystown.” Leading the project is Mr. Persaud along with the Heavenly Light World Outreach Fellowship and the Albouystown Masjid.
During a friendly meet and greet with residents of the area during the launching, Persaud had explained that there will be regular foot patrols by ranking officers as well as stop and search operations.
This is being conducted to rid the community of unlawful firearms and illicit drugs. Domestic Violence and “youth gangs” are also areas that will be given much focus.

Only (KNews) would put a bad rap on Seelall. People have to help themselves as well. Albouystown is a thieving Provence of G/T. It's a slum area where people love that style of living. That is the hand out area where APNU get paid supporters to say APNU run things. Albouystown was the same under Burnham, Hoyte, Jagan, Jagdeo, and now Ramotar. Pigs cannot stay away from mud. As a lil boy them blacks used to beat me and take away my movie money in broad day light.

Most Communities in the World would Welcome Police Patrols BUT NOT those thieves in Albouystown. They want to leave alone to Choke and Rob!!

More racist rant from Nehru.  The people in Albouystown initially welcomed the initiative. However instead of protecting innocent people and focusing on the bandits even kids are stripped search and people going about their regular business have to face police goons pushing guns in their faces.

Knowing Guyana as we do I feel confident that the real bandist laugh at all of this over a beer and dominos when the police keep them abreast of their activities.

But you think that every black man is a criminal so who cares!

Only (KNews) would put a bad rap on Seelall. People have to help themselves as well. Albouystown is a thieving Provence of G/T. It's a slum area where people love that style of living. That is the hand out area where APNU get paid supporters to say APNU run things. Albouystown was the same under Burnham, Hoyte, Jagan, Jagdeo, and now Ramotar. Pigs cannot stay away from mud. As a lil boy them blacks used to beat me and take away my movie money in broad day light.

More rants from the Indo supremacists!

Most Communities in the World would Welcome Police Patrols BUT NOT those thieves in Albouystown. They want to leave alone to Choke and Rob!!

More racist rant from Nehru.  The people in Albouystown initially welcomed the initiative. However instead of protecting innocent people and focusing on the bandits even kids are stripped search and people going about their regular business have to face police goons pushing guns in their faces.

Knowing Guyana as we do I feel confident that the real bandist laugh at all of this over a beer and dominos when the police keep them abreast of their activities.

you are indeed a racist dog and a certified one. even a video cannot convince you of anything. you were born a racist, raised a racist and like pw botha, will die a racist!!!!

What video? 

If I ask you to tell me what specific racist statements you will not know what to sy.

I however will show you how you demonize an ENTIRE community, not even suggesting that some investigations be made into whether community complaints have validity.  They are black and poor and thats all you need to know.

AND please note how you endorse the PPP run goons beating up poor black people just like what Botha used to do to poor black under apartheid.

What video? 

If I ask you to tell me what specific racist statements you will not know what to sy.

I however will show you how you demonize an ENTIRE community, not even suggesting that some investigations be made into whether community complaints have validity.  They are black and poor and thats all you need to know.

Same SHIT from you everyday you RACIST DOG!!!

What video? 

Yes.  I knew that you couldnt point to any specific racist statements that I made.

You really do hate yourself, trapped as you are in the walls of ignorance that coherent commentary is beyond your grasp.

What video? 

Yes.  I knew that you couldnt point to any specific racist statements that I made.

You really do hate yourself, trapped as you are in the walls of ignorance that coherent commentary is beyond your grasp.

JACKASS, so point to mt racist statement. You so bllody RACIST you are BLIND by RACISM!!!

What video? 

JACKASS, so point to mt racist statement. You so bllody RACIST you are BLIND by RACISM!!!

Look how them neemakaram ah meck you blood pressure go up.  

What video? 

Bhai, Why would my pressure go up. The proof is in the pudding for all of us. His type were born and raise don the idea that they are the only ones and everyone else is filth!!!

I already told you.  Damning the entire Albouystown community when the vast majority are not criminals. They say that they are being harrassed by the cops.  A non racist person would demand an investigation of those claims, knowing full well that the GPF arent choir boys and are frequently enmeshed in abuse.

But to you they are black, so who cares.  Guilty as charged and are obligated to prove their innocence.

I see the members of the Indo KKK, AKA the PPP, console each other as their racist hatred of blacks is exposed.

For the nonsense that you does still talk about blacks you deserve a cut rass every day from them!!

Like Bloomberg advising them.

For the nonsense that you does still talk about blacks you deserve a cut rass every day from them!!

If them Black boys beat me up why should I say other wise? My good friend, Beef Boy use to run them with cutlass and get back my money. 50 cents they does beat me for.  

Beef boy has to be a muslim. We bad for days, no one can mess with us.

He was. He use to supply us with beef every week. When he walk up to them colored fellas with he white coat with blood stain and a cutlass in his hand, all man run for cover rass.

What you are saying is wrong, Not all residents of Albouystown are thieves. And you should not be painting the entire community with the same brush. I have friends over there and I pass through there often.. never been bothered.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

What you are saying is wrong, Not all residents of Albouystown are thieves. And you should not be painting the entire community with the same brush. I have friends over there and I pass through there often.. never been bothered.

And the thing is that there are also Indians and others living there.  So when the police go in wrong and strong, its not only black people who will suffer!

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

I agree they will never bother you.  

' As a lil boy them blacks used to beat me and take away my movie money in broad day light'

You had to be a real mook to let something like that happen to you. But then again, with all dat coconut oil dripping from yuh head, If I wuz dem bais I might be tempted to do the same thing too.
You shoulda stick to Empire and Liberty. Rio is not the spot for you.

The police can now boast that their persistent presence in Albouystown is bearing fruit following the apprehension of an attempted house burglar and the recovery of a firearm. Significantly, the suspect was arrested unhurt, although he reportedly discharged rounds at the police. According to the police, at about 11:00 hours on Wednesday, businessman Rafeek Singh, 35, and his wife Bibiwattie, were alerted to noise at the back of their home at Albouys Street, Albouystown. On checking, Rafeek Singh was confronted by a man climbing up a ladder in an attempt to gain entry to his home. Upon seeing him, the man discharged a round, forgetting that police were all over the area. The ranks responded to the sound of the gunshot and on approaching the scene, they too reportedly came under fire. The police, without giving much detail, said that the man was subsequently arrested and an unlicenced .45 Smith and Wesson pistol with five live rounds and three spent shells were recovered.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Caribny shouldn't point fingers. He is as black centric as Nehru and Cobra are Indian centric.

note to ksazma and all smartman bigot apologists on GNI:

being "Afrocentric"/"Indocentric" does not quite equate to being a racist - not even close

nice try at scrubbing the scales off cobra, yugee and skeldon_man dem though

Caribny shouldn't point fingers. He is as black centric as Nehru and Cobra are Indian centric.

Advocating for the interest of one's group is different from making racist comments are showing complete disregard for another.

Please cite racist comments made by me about Indians.

Advocating for the interest of one's group is different from making racist comments are showing complete disregard for another.

Why do you advocate for the interest of blacks in Guyana?

Because they live in a country which discriminates against them.

Didn't you advocate for Indians under Forbes Burnham when they lived in a country which discriminated against them?

Or is it that only Indians are allowed  to protest injustice?

Because they live in a country which discriminates against them.

Didn't you advocate for Indians under Forbes Burnham when they lived in a country which discriminated against them?

Or is it that only Indians are allowed  to protest injustice?

I didn't advocate for Indians or anyone else under the PNC rule. I just didn't care for the PNC Guyana and left.

But since you are an advocate, did you advocate for Indians who were discriminated against during the PNC rule?

Indians had loads of advocates then.  They certainly didn't need me.

Blacks in 2014 don't as those who attempt to do so in Guyana are VICTIMIZED!  Eric Phillips can tell you all about the death threats that he has received.

I am willing to bet that you NEVER said anything to suggest that the PNC under Burnham was racist.

KZaazz why shouldn't anybody?

List who were these loads of advocates are that Indians had during the PNC rule who were so effective that made you feel that they didn't need your advocacy thereby discouraging you from advocating for them.

KZaazz why shouldn't anybody?

I don't have a problem with someone advocating for someone, group or thing. My question was to establish reason for choice.

List who were these loads of advocates are that Indians had during the PNC rule who were so effective that made you feel that they didn't need your advocacy thereby discouraging you from advocating for them.

Cheddi, Janet and hordes of other PPP supporters.

Why do you ask such a stupid question?  Do you live in a cave?  Didn't you hear frequent accusations about how persecuted Indians were?  Don't you read GNI where this accusation is an almost daily event?

Are you just being idle and engaging yourself in useless conversation?

Guyana has had a long tradition of Indian rights activism/  Look at how the 60s is represented.  One would think that all the atrocities were committed by blacks against Indians.

You are either being stupid, or plainly dishonest.

Or the notion that some one would advocate for blacks appalls you!

I am willing to bet that you NEVER said anything to suggest that the PNC under Burnham was racist.

Still waiting.  Don't have the time to research your various posts on GNI but OI am sure that you NEVER said that Burnham was a racist or that Indians have been victimized.