Well it sure felt like time again to work my magic in the kitchen, this time, in a role I was once told quite eloquently to, "Stay away."

I brought out my ingredients and being a guy who rides the edge I made an ever so slight change, my whole wheat bread suddenly switched over to potato and buckwheat flour loaf.

Yes, I know these flours do not have the gluten to keep it together but these flipping things are supposed to have some binding qualities, knowing this, away I went....there's bread to be baked, mmmmm!

So, I mixed up all the ingredients ( even did the yeast test just to be certain of its efficacy... oh yes, it passed) I then throw the thing in the oven.

Hear nuh, time come for Iman to take out the pan and roll out the loaf while at the same time enjoying the aroma of freshhhhy baked bread.

I mek so (actions of bringing out the pan and placing "loaf" on a cooling rack) turn the pan upside down an tap it lil bit. Baddam!!!!

...y'all want fo end the story...It startin back with the words, EH EH

Well it sure felt like time again to work my magic in the kitchen, this time, in a role I was once told quite eloquently to, "Stay away."

I brought out my ingredients and being a guy who rides the edge I made an ever so slight change, my whole wheat bread suddenly switched over to potato and buckwheat flour loaf.

Yes, I know these flours do not have the gluten to keep it together but these flipping things are supposed to have some binding qualities, knowing this, away I went....there's bread to be baked, mmmmm!

So, I mixed up all the ingredients ( even did the yeast test just to be certain of its efficacy... oh yes, it passed) I then throw the thing in the oven.

Hear nuh, time come for Iman to take out the pan and roll out the loaf while at the same time enjoying the aroma of freshhhhy baked bread.

I mek so (actions of bringing out the pan and placing "loaf" on a cooling rack) turn the pan upside down an tap it lil bit. Baddam!!!!

...y'all want fo end the story...It startin back with the words, EH EH 

Unfortunately, the bread had the same brick-lick consistency as your last effort - the tennis rolls?

How did the gluten free baked goods come out?....Seriously, baking is all about measuring or rather weighing the ingredients precisely. It is said that to be a restaurant chef, you must first be a good baker. Attention to detail and consistency in out come can only be developed if you mastered the art of baking.

I am a good baker!!

EH EH. I turned the pan over and thumped the bottom....plop...plop...plop..it went...some on the counter, some in the sink, some on the floor. It seems as though the liquid I added was much less than it should have been and everything fell apart,

I doan think I'll use the bread machine again., even that I failed, dam.

Which reminds me. The last time I ever saw or heard from Rajk was when she had the nerve to try the salara I made.

Originally Posted by Freaky:
Why am I not shock ur a good baker I bet you're de chef in your household Can u mek Feijoada?

Never tried; my neighbor with whom I sometimes play guitar has a Brazilian wife and she cooks it. It is just a slow cooked stew. You cannot miss with rustic foods.

Baking is however different. You have to be precise with ingredient, mixing strategy and with temperature and duration.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Cain, take a trip to Naraine's bakery and save ur energy..

Anything they can do Cain can do better since he gets to select he best ingredients ( not mass produced consistency that conditions one to think that is how the bread or pastry should taste) and when he masters the techniques modify it to suit his purposes.

I suggest he go into a Jewish store and buy the ritualistically produced Challah to know how the braided bread should taste in its original staid and the same for the cheese rolls and pine tarts and blacked cakes which are traditionally Chinese pastries. Go, find out how these products came into the mainstream and taste them in their original form to see how they differ from what we take as "Guyanese" products.

EH EH. I turned the pan over and thumped the bottom....plop...plop...plop..it went...some on the counter, some in the sink, some on the floor. It seems as though the liquid I added was much less than it should have been and everything fell apart,

Which reminds me. The last time I ever saw or heard from Rajk was when she had the nerve to try the salara I made.

Sorry your product did not turn out as desired. Again; baking is about correct proportion of well chosen ingredients ( weigh for best proportion and ignore any recipe that does not have rely weights for the main ingredients) Make sure your oven is calibrated for correct temp and use good baking dishes. Use the well method and start your batter by hand and when you master it you can experiment with the mixer and the bread machine( though they work fine if you follow their recipes). You may need a teacher so you can actually see and feel the ingredients as they are mixed into the final product. Take a class that is offered by your local Whole Foods for example. It is fun and easy and quick when you know what to do.

This was a good laugh. Why the hell anyone allows you near a kitchen is a wonder. Jus stop. You cannot cook a lick. Stop. Hard tennis rolls and soft bread  what the heck next? Even I couldn't guess this outcome and I'm one of your biggest fans. Stop.