Agri Ministry hands over $34M equipment to Region Six -- to benefit rice farmers, improve dam maintenance

Georgetown, GINA, September 23, 2011
Source - GINA

The bulldozer that was given to Region Six

Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud on Thursday handed over a bulldozer that cost almost $34M to Region Six Chairman, Zulfikar Mustapha at a ceremony held at Whim, Berbice. The bulldozer is to be used to address issues of dam access and dam maintenance, a critical concern of rice farmers in the region.

Minister Persaud told the farmers present at the handing over ceremony that the ministry has been successful in addressing the issue of drainage and irrigation in the region, helped significantly in part by the six excavators it provided.

With the assistance of these equipment “for the first time in many years the region was successfully able to rehabilitate and upgrade a number of drainage systems”, Minister Persaud said.

The ministry’s focus is now on dam access and dam maintenance, Persaud said.

“We recognized that we can have the best canals, adequate irrigation and farmers still complain about the cost and difficulty they have in accessing the farm or in moving their produce or paddy from the field to mill,” he said.

“So we have in a very focused way decided that we will be allocating a certain amount of resources to be able to purchase a number of those bulldozers so that we can in a very systematic way support the regional administration, the Neighbhourhood Democratic Council (NDC) towards these issues,” Minister Persaud said.

This assistance is part of an overall programme to improve the capacity of not only Region Six as this will be replicated in other agriculture regions in the country. The ministry has purchased four bulldozers, and Regions Two, Three and Four will each benefit from one.

Farmers at the handing over ceremony of the bulldozer

The bulldozers will work based on a programme submitted by the farmers, through the NDCs, the Water Users Association and the Farmers’ Organisations.

“You have one bulldozer, it cannot work on 25 dams at one time, so we will depend on the farmers to prioritize to have these access dams done so that at the end of the day we can have improved farming conditions,” Minister Persaud told the farmers.

Over the years Government has been able to successfully double the amount of land as well as improve yield and productivity in rice farming areas across the regions.

Minister Persaud told farmers that for the first time in history the country is expected to hit 400,000 tonnes of rice production.

This is a significant amount in terms of production compared to where we were in 1991 and producing less than 100, 000 tonnes of rice, he said.

“We have come a long way and we want to support you the farmers, support the industry in its forward movement in this regard.” he said

“And that is why we will continue as we have done, to invest in the required resources, so that we can make all levels of farming possible,” he said.

Minister of Agriculture Robert Persaud hands over to Region Six Chairman Zulfikar Mustapha the keys to bulldozer

Minister Persaud urged the farmers to continue to focus on Government’s vision and support for them and to not for any moment be distracted by those who will seek to misrepresent what Government has been doing, especially in this political season.

Region Six Chairman, Zulfikar Mustapha said that dams have always been a main concern of farmers in the region, more so during periods of harvesting.

The region has expended a lot of money to improve the dams, he said, and for this reason he is happy to receive the equipment which will help tremendously.

Mustapha also said that over the last five years the region has seen a very steep improvement especially in the rice sector because of the investment and the infrastructure that both Central Government and Regional Democratic Council (RDC) have been putting into the region.

This stuff is mired in nuff nuff politricks and I can assure you this will have little to no impact for the majority of Rice Farmers.

This is the usual dog and pony bullshit show with Zulficar the dictator at the helm.
J
Lets see which farmer that is NOT perceived to be a supporter of the PPP will be in dictator Mustapha good books, for the use of this tractor or any other equipment.
These people always find some way to rent the equipment and pocket the money.
The BBP NDC is another lost cause,for the past THREE years he is waiting for the rain to stop, to fill dirt at the school assembly area. Give them a raise and it happens overnight.
YUh mean them SHAMELESS Snakeoil Salesmen??. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
The current PPP/C government will continue to develop the country, much to the chagrin of the constant nay-sayers.