AG’s Chambers launches withering attack on former Deputy Solicitor-General

-accuses her of gross irresponsibility, lack of professionalism

October 14,2017

Labelling a letter she wrote to the press on Wednesday about her dismissal as “deceptive”, the Attorney General’s Chambers yesterday launched a scathing attack on former Deputy Solicitor-General Prithima Kissoon, accusing her of “gross irresponsibility” and a “lack of professionalism.”

Kissoon was dismissed on August 31st by the Public Service Commission (PSC) hours before its term was supposed to expire. She has since argued that she did not have a hearing before the PSC and that her complaint against the Attorney General Basil Williams for alleged harassment and verbal abuse had not been addressed.

Yesterday, in a statement, the Attorney General’s Chambers fired back. It said that Kissoon’s habit of absenting herself while important court matters were ongoing had cost the state millions of dollars.

“During the period of November 2015 to January 2017, an investigation was undertaken in the litigation department at the Ministry after it was discovered that Ms. Kissoon, who was tasked with the responsibility of conducting cases of grave importance to the State’s interest, had committed several breaches and violations under the rules and regulations of the Public Service Commission,” the statement said.

“These breaches which include but are not limited to, improper preparation and drafting of legal documents, disobeying lawful instructions of her superiors (insubordination), failing to attend court in several critical matters … improper conduct and dereliction of duties amounting to breaches under section G of the Public Service Rules 1998 as amended by 2004,” it continued.

Among the allegations pegged against Kissoon by the AG’s office are: In the case of an application by Carvil Duncan, causing the secretary to the Prime Minister to sign an incomplete affidavit and then inserting facts that were incorrect, and different to what had been communicated to her. It said the document was then filed with those incorrect facts. In a matter involving Bharrat Jagdeo, it accused her of “deliberately or negligently” preparing and filing an appeal with the incorrect party named as the appellant, resulting in the case being dismissed by the Court of Appeal. In regard to this matter, she was further accused of failing to file an affidavit in response to an application to strike the appeal, failing to make written submissions, and consenting to the contentions by the applicant’s lawyer. In a matter involving Harishnarine Sugrim vs the AG, Kissoon was accused of including a clause in the submissions that did not support the position of the AG, and which was later used as a “vantage point” by the opponent’s counsel. Three hundred million dollars were said to have been awarded in the judgment, against the state.

“…The Ministry is in possession of substantial evidence of Ms. Kissoon’s improper conduct of matters and the Ministry can furnish same to any court or competent tribunal,” the Attorney General’s Chambers asserted.

“… A review of her conduct at the chambers since 2015 after the change in Government leaves much to be desired,” it added.

Prohibited

In her letter published by this newspaper on Wednesday, Kissoon stated that the AG “had visited harassment and verbal abuse” upon her, and prohibited her from effectively performing her duties, “all in an effort to oust me from my post as the Deputy Solicitor General, whether by lawful or unlawful means…”

She related that she registered her complaint in January to the PSC in relation to the aforementioned issue, but has received no assistance.

In February, she was granted her deferred vacation leave from November, 2016, and applied to the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Legal Affairs to spend her leave outside of Guyana but received no response.

However, she said that in March, the PSC would inform her that she was to proceed on administrative leave, pending investigations into several court matters conducted by her. She stated that she was not given a time limit, nor were there any conditions attached to the leave. But she did note that she was told that if she intended to leave the country, she should communicate in writing to the commission how she could be contacted, which she did. Her going on leave out of the country was one of the grounds upon which the PSC based its decision to dismiss her.

In May, she stated that the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Legal Affairs, which she noted had no legal authority over her at that point as her matter was now before the PSC, wrote stating that her salary would be withheld with immediate effect as she had been in breach of the PSC rules by leaving the country without the permission of the PS of the ministry.

In August, the PSC set up a commission of inquiry to investigate the circumstances under which she left the jurisdiction. Kissoon argued that the PSC had no such powers and it is the President who has that authority under the Commission of Inquiries Act. On August 23rd, Kissoon said she attended the purported CoI accompanied by attorney Jailall Kissoon, who she stated “appeared out of courtesy for the commission” and in place of her attorney Nigel Hughes, who was out of the jurisdiction at the time.

“There was no evidence taken from me before the CoI. I did not participate in the proceedings before the CoI because I was not represented by counsel. Upon inquiring what was going to be the written report of the commission, the Chairman (Patrick Yarde) replied that he would write acknowledging that I was there out of respect and that I was not willing to answer questions without the presence of my counsel, Mr Hughes,” Kissoon had stated.

In quoting the letter of dismissal she received, she noted that it said: “As a result of the inquiry concluded on the 23rd August, 2017, by the Committee set up by the PSC, in which you had participated, the commission, after careful consideration of the matter, has decided that you should be dismissed from the Public Service with effect 2017-08-31 inclusive for leaving the country without prior approval in accordance with the provisions of existing rules.”

She was then served a letter of dismissal on August 31.

“After the PSC had ignored, shelved and abandoned my complaint against the Attorney General, made on 27th January, 2017, which made headlines in all the newspapers of Guyana, and the Attorney General had fully publicized accusations against me of subverting the government and aiding Mr Anil Nandlall and the PPP/C in their cases, Rip Van Winkle suddenly awoke and with its dying breath issued this edict of dismissal.  But there has not been a peep from the PSC nine months after receiving a complaint against the Attorney General,” Kissoon declared.

She noted that her lawyer, Hughes had also written the PSC asking several questions about the intended convening of the CoI but got no response.

In the statement sent out by the AG’s chambers yesterday, however, it was stated that Kissoon “deliberately flouted” the PSC rules when she left the jurisdiction without approval. It was related that dismissal is warranted for such a breach.

“…the Ministry has been informed and verily believes, that Ms. Kissoon was afforded a full hearing and was represented by one of her attorneys, Mr. Jailall Kissoon, who represented her throughout the process, during the investigation and hearing,” it said.

“Hence his appearance could not have been on behalf of Mr. Hughes, but in his own right as her attorney-ay-law, as evidenced by several documents signed by him in this capacity. As such Ms. Kissoon’s constitutional right to legal counsel was not violated in any form or manner.”

In response to Kissoon’s initial denial of leave, it was argued in the statement by the Attorney General’s Chambers that Kissoon had assumed the role of Solicitor General (acting), after the Solicitor General had proceeded on pre-retirement leave, and so for this reason, her request for annual leave from December, 2016 to January, 2017, was refused.

It was further stated that during this period, the High Court and the Court of Appeal were in session, and several matters for which Kissoon had responsibility were being heard.

“Ms. Kissoon was aware that her matters, which involved hundreds of millions of dollars, and were of grave importance to the State were being heard in the court at the time she requested leave as the court was not in recess. Although Ms. Kissoon was aware that her leave had to be deferred because of the state of affairs, she absented herself from duty and presented a medical certificate thereafter,” the ministry said.

“As a result of her dereliction of duties and gross infidelity to the State a complaint was made to the Public Service Commission on the Ministry’s behalf detailing. This matter has not been heard by the PSC to date, much to the disappointment of the Chambers and the Ministry. It is the hope that there will be a hearing and the full ventilation of these issues when the Public Service Commission reconvenes,” the statement added.

Look story na, his PNC handlers demanded that he posts slop early this morning. The burden of his slop is getting heavier and heavier but he keeps carrying it.

How much more slop can he carry for the AFC/PNC ?

Look story na, his PNC handlers demanded that he posts slop early this morning. The burden of his slop is getting heavier and heavier but he keeps carrying it.

LOL,I knew you will show up propping the Dhobi Wallah.

I knew you will show up propping the Dhobi Wallah.

Bhai

How much more slop can you carry for the AFC/PNC clowns and crooks ? Stop and think for a few hours and try to realize how beautiful life will be like without carrying AFC/PNC slop

Imagine an end to the sound of AFC/PNC slop early in the morning.

I knew you will show up propping the Dhobi Wallah.

Bhai

How much more slop can you carry for the AFC/PNC clowns and crooks ? Stop and think for a few hours and try to realize how beautiful life will be like without carrying AFC/PNC clop.

What you fail to grasp,is Django don't take sides.

Read the article you will learn a ting or two.

Bhai, my life is beautiful from the day i was able to step out of poverty,none the less i still live a poor man life.

Django not taking sides ? Who are you trying to fool ?

You should be ashamed of supporting AFC/PNC ethnic cleansing in broad daylight.

Yuji never reads the stench of AFC/PNC slop.

You fail to understand the debacle,please don't use mediocre language as what i should do or not,Django is a senior and think for himself.

You fail to understand the debacle,please don't use mediocre language as what i should do or not.

It looks like you are quite determined in fetching AFC/PNC slop especially early in the morning. What attracts you the PNC slop, the stench or the weight, or both ? Please provide an honest answer.

You fail to understand the debacle,please don't use mediocre language as what i should do or not.

It looks like you are quite determined in fetching AFC/PNC slop especially early in the morning. What attracts you the PNC slop, the stench or the weight, or both ? Please provide an honest answer.

It amazes how you seem to have poor comprehension what some one is saying,anyway i have encountered many of your types,they never change,they are like sheep.

Reflect on the slop article that you posted. Are you still following what I am schooling you on ?

Unfortunately you can't school Django about politics in Guyana,ask Gilly he will disclose who I am, mingled with all kind of people and always a straight shooter.

Yall leff djangy alone, what I discovered is that while most people go to the gym for an early morning work out, djangy has discovered that fetching pnc slop can gives the same benefit without the cost of gym membership. In fact he gets paid for fetching the slop, to be exact, time and a half if it is early morning duties. 

I don't need Gym,Django have his own methods to workout,dropped 15 pounds this summer.

Dhobi Wallah what kind of rambling is that ???

Burnham used to seh dat if you try sitting on two asses you will fall on yuh own ass. Prithima was sitting on Anil's ass and was riding well. The problem started when she jumped on Basil's ass with one foot still on Anil's ass. She was riding Basil while steering Anil. Well, SHE on she backside now.

It's an open secret that Prithima has been loyal to her ex-boss Nandlall and the PPP interests he represents. There's some worth in that but, to say it bluntly, she performed unprofessionally under Basil's tenure.

For now she will get some sympathy and solidarity from PPP circles. In the long term, however, her conduct will militate against her chances of gaining employment unless she goes into private practice or work in Nandlall's law firm like Priya.

Burnham used to seh dat if you try sitting on two asses you will fall on yuh own ass. Prithima was sitting on Anil's ass and was riding well. The problem started when she jumped on Basil's ass with one foot still on Anil's ass. She was riding Basil while steering Anil. Well, SHE on she backside now.

It's an open secret that Prithima has been loyal to her ex-boss Nandlall and the PPP interests he represents. There's some worth in that but, to say it bluntly, she performed unprofessionally under Basil's tenure.

For now she will get some sympathy and solidarity from PPP circles. In the long term, however, her conduct will militate against her chances of gaining employment unless she goes into private practice or work in Nandlall's law firm like Priya.

Exactly,i have been following this imbroglio.I am no fan of Basil,Pratima goofed up.

These analogies don't explain why it was justified that she was fired. The ministry claims dereliction of duties, an invented reason to force another Indo to the bread line. 

Prithima Kissoon rejects allegations by AG’s Chambers.

October 14,2017

Former Deputy Solicitor General Prithima Kissoon this evening issued a rebuttal to allegations levelled against her yesterday by the Attorney General’s Chambers.
Her response follows:

PRESS RELEASE OF PRITHIMA KISSOON.
DATED THE 14TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2017.
I have read with considerable consternation and disbelief the complete lack of accuracy and honesty set out in the press release issued by the Chambers of the Attorney General in relation to the termination of my services, my alleged lack of professionalism and dereliction from duty.
The scale and scope of the mendacity of the press release are exceeded only the absence of any relationship between the events and issues set out in the Attorney General’s press release and reality.
It may be apposite to commence with the fact that I have never, prior to commencement of Court proceedings instituted by me against the Attorney General , been accused by the Attorney General or the Public Service Commission of lack of professionalism or dereliction of duty. There is no such charge pending anywhere in the Republic of Guyana.
The basis for my purported termination was that I left the country after I was sent on leave by the Public Service Commission and failed to notify them of this event while I was on leave. Some dereliction of duty.
Perhaps of considerable significance if not of equal importance is the fact that every submission which I have prepared and subsequently presented to any court, first had to be submitted to of the Attorney General for his consideration. I have never failed to provide the Attorney General well in advance with my intended submissions in all matters involving the state. It was the Attorney general who instructed his staff to desist from receiving my draft submissions which led to my emailing them to him well in advance of all court appearances.
If the Attorney General now finds fault with my submissions “ Dear Brutus the error lies not in the stars but in ourselves”.
The remuneration for the position of Deputy Solicitor General is one which is not fixed or determined by my hand or negotiation but rather set and approved by the Honourable members of the National Assembly in which august house the Attorney General sits and I believe approves the expenditure for the post. A privilege I do not enjoy nor over which do I possess any influence.
I was unaware that there were latent considerations and qualifications which from I was precluded for matriculation for the position of Deputy Solicitor General by dint of birth and perhaps ethnicity.

I was never acting Solicitor General; such an appointment has to be made by the Judicial Services Commission.
In the Carvil Duncan case the Attorney General alleges in the press that I inserted information in the affidavits. I drafted the Affidavit of the Honourable Moses Verasammy Nagamootoo, the Prime Minister and First Vice-President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and that of his confidential secretary, Ms. Deeann Ali which were both emailed to the office of the prime minister for review by Ms. Tamara Khan, Legal Officer, for additions and alterations and to the Attorney General which he acknowledged receiving. This is evidenced by email correspondences which are attached to my Affidavit in Reply filed in the High Court and are now a matter of public record in an An Application by Prithima Kissoon in her capacity as The Deputy Solicitor General action no 2017-HC-DEM-CIV-FDA –910.
If the Attorney General felt that I had compromised the pleadings of the Affidavit in Answer of the Prime Minister, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, and his confidential secretary, Ms. Deann Ali, then he had a right and duty to request leave of the court to file supplementary affidavits from the deponents which he did not do and therefore he is laboring under a mistake or fashioning a distortion.
In Hareshnarine Sugrim v National Drainage and Irrigation Authority 2015-HC-DEM-W-193 case I was not permitted to finish my conduct of same because I was sent on administrative leave and as a result never saw the submissions in reply of Counsel, Ms. Abiola Wong Inniss, who appeared for the Plaintiff, Sugrim. The Attorney General had written to the President, H.E. Brigadier David A. Granger, the Honourable Justice Diane Insanally and Ms. Abiola Wong Innis informing them that he would appear personally and conduct the trial before her Honour. The Attorney General wrote and sought numerous adjournments from Her Honour which were granted. However, the Court decided to commence the trial having accommodated his requests for over a month. The trial commenced and concluded without the Attorney General ever appearing.
This matter which involved the sum of three hundred million dollars was not considered of sufficient import for the Attorney General to appear personally, like his predecessors, and conduct the trial and dazzle the Court with his legal acumen after having informed the President and the Court that he would do so.
After, I was prohibited by the Attorney General from conducting matters on behalf of the State and after being sent on administrative leave, the submissions in reply by the Plaintiff were served on the Attorney Generals Chambers.
The Attorney General had the ripe opportunity to respond to Counsel’s submissions and dethrone the Plaintiffs case and remedy any defects in my submissions, yet this did not happen.
The statements of the Attorney General are a deliberate and malicious fabrication of the events surrounding the granting of the consent Order of Court that was given by the Court of Appeal in the matter of the Attorney General v Desmond Morian Action No 2016-HC-DEM-CIV-CM-55, herein after referred to as the “Two Ministers Case”.

The Attorney General, Mr. Basil Williams, has until now continued to deliberately misconceive and misconstrue the consent Order that was granted by the Chancellor of the Judiciary Mr. Carl Singh (as he then was) after Mr. Nandlall, Attorney-at-law, consented to the continuation of Stay in the “Two Ministers Case”. Mr. Nandlall’s consent resulted in the “Two Ministers” being able to continue to sit in the National Assembly until the hearing and determination of the Appeal filed by the Attorney General. Is this the subversion of the State’s interest that Mr. Basil Williams S.C. is alluding to?

On the 4th November, 2016, I was in the Court of Appeal for three other cases which I had conduct of:
1) Civil Appeal No. 82 of 2016, Appeal by Bheri Ramsarran
2) Civil Appeal No. 72 of 2013, The Public Service Commission et al v Kareem Abdul Jabar for hearing in Chamber
3) Civil Appeal NO. 81 of 2013, Clement Toney v The Registrar of the Supreme Court et al for hearing before the Full Bench.

Whilst there, before the Court was convened, I received a call from Ms. Jones, an office assistant, informing me that I have to appear in addition, to the aforementioned matters for the matter of Civil Appeal No. 16 of 2016, Attorney General v Desmond Morian, to which I responded I was already in Court and embarrassed because I was without the file and expressed shock that I would be given notice of a matter of such grave importance so belatedly, there must be a severe mistake.

I never received a Notice nor was I informed that a Notice was received by the Chambers until I was told by the Chancellor in Court that a notice was received by Ms. C Henry. Ms. Henry is the Personal Assistant to the Solicitor General. I was never instructed that this matter was listed before the Court of Appeal. I received only the frantic call from Ms. Jones, the office assistant, without the written notice or file.
On My return to the Chambers on the 4th November, 2016, I telephoned and duly informed the Attorney General that the matter was heard and the consent order was made. I also informed him that I had not received the Notice prior to my appearance in the Court of Appeal and as a result was without the file and without knowing the facts he verbally abused and insulted me as being incompetent. Whose lack of professionalism are we talking about?
Whereas it is the Attorney General who has distorted the information and clearly attempted to deceive and manipulate the public with regard to what the ‘consent’ in the Order of the Court meant. Even more alarmingly the Attorney General has failed to inform the public that he appealed and applied for the Stay before the Court of Appeal and any consent was in the State’s favour. The Attorney General has clearly attempted to defend his prejudices when his objective from the time he entered the Chambers was to remove me from my post.
In Berbice Bharati Saywah Sanga et al. v The Attorney General No.995/CM of 2001, the Attorney General was advised by me to settle the matter at a lesser sum of seven million dollars which counsel on the other side was willing to accept and he arrogantly refused.
The Court of Appeal in the Berbice Bharati Sawywah Sanga case had made an order by a majority decision that the matter be referred to the High Court for the sole and only determination on the quantum of damages. The former government, the PPP/C had compulsorily acquired the Sangha premises for the building of what is now popularly called “The University of Guyana, Berbice Tain Campus”.
The Attorney General remained heedless to my advice both orally and tendered in writing, to settle the matter out of court on the quantum of compensation for seven (7) million dollars. Mr. Murseline Bacchus, attorney-at-law, had written to the Attorney General as well seeking a settlement and was willing to accept this lesser sum. The Attorney General is using the judgment of a competent court as a baseless attack upon me.
The court awarded judgment in total the sum of thirty (30) million dollars. The judge, the Honourable Justice Sandra Kurtzious ordered and found that the Plaintiffs/Applicants are entitled to compensation. They were previously paid $3 million, thus the court ordered that the Plaintiffs/Applicants be paid the sum of $17.8 million as full and final compensation for the compulsory acquisition of their property.
If the Attorney General perceived the aberration of which he complained against me why did he not assign other counsel to the cases to appear and present same in court or appear himself personally which he has often undertaken to do but never did. In the Sugrim case he wrote to the judge, the Honourable Justice Diane Insanally, Counsel for the Plaintiff, Ms. Abiola Wong-Inniss and the President, that he will be appearing personally and sought numerous adjournments to do so, but never did.
The Attorney General has libeled me in the press in the Attorney General v Bharrat Jagdeo case. The Appeal in the Jagdeo case was filed by the Solicitor General, who has publicly stated that the Attorney General was adamant he be named as the appellant. At the time the Appeal was filed I was on vacation leave and with the oral approval of the Attorney General I had left the jurisdiction.
The Attorney General had neglected to disclose that he had in his possession a copy of the prepared Affidavit in Answer that I emailed to him four (4) times on diverse days and gave a copy to his confidential secretary, Ms. Demi Hipplewith. I waited on his instructions, comments, additions or alterations to the submitted Affidavit in Answer but none were forthcoming. The Attorney General was, therefore, at all times apprised of the content of the Affidavit in Answer and my written submissions to the Court of Appeal.
Mr. Basil Williams S.C., who appeared in person before the Court of Appeal on the 9th January, 2017, sought leave of the court to lay over and serve further written submissions in response if necessary to the submissions made by counsel for Mr. Jagdeo, Mr. Murseline Bacchus, by the 13th January, 2017. The Attorney General never filed the Affidavit in Answer, never argued his case orally or in written submissions as a legal luminary and eminent counsel.
A mere statement from the Attorney General is deceiving the nation that there is a wicked conspiracy that is “in each case mentioned, the ministry noted that former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, was the attorney representing the other parties.” It seems that the Honourable Attorney General, Mr. Basil Williams S.C., is unaware of the counsel who appeared for the parties in Court and for his benefit I will inform him:
1) The Attorney General v Bharrat Jagdeo: Mr. Murseline Bacchus, Attorney at law
2) Sugrim v NDIA: Mrs. Abiola Wong Inniss, Attorney-at-law
3) Berbice Sangha case: Mr. Murseline Bacchus, Attorney at law
4) Application by Carvil Duncan: Mr. Anil Nandlall, Attorney at law, which is incomplete and the Attorney General thought it fit to publicly berate and humiliate the Honourable Justice Franklin Holder.
5) The Attorney General v Desmond Morian: Mr. Anil Nandall, attorney at law, consented, to the benefit of the State, to continuation of the stay which the Attorney General had applied for until the hearing and determination of the case.
What a Tangled Web We Weave When at first We Practice to Deceive.
My Complaint lies dead at the Public Service Commission, however, the memoranda which touched and concerned the above mentioned cases and my responses thereto are contained within my Affidavit in Reply in the High Court in action no 2017-HC-DEM-CIV-FDA –910 and are now a public record. My Reply was filed in response to the allegations by Ms. Melissa Tucker, former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Legal Affairs, in her Affidavit in Answer.
In March 2017, I was informed by the PSC that I should proceed on Administrative Leave with immediate effect pending the outcome of investigations in to several court matters that I had conduct of. The PSC did not give a period or time limit with regard to how long I was to remain on administrative leave and there were no conditions attached to my administrative leave. I was effectively relieved from duty by the PSC pending the outcome of the investigations. I was now under the authority of the PSC.

The Public Service Commission, through its Secretary, Ms. Marvalyn Stephens had advised that if I intended to travel overseas I must inform them and provide contact details. As a result of receiving this written advice I wrote to the PSC, as per their instructions, that I would be travelling out of the jurisdiction and provided two contact numbers and an email address for any pertinent communication regarding their enquires.

Unfortunately, the Attorney General at the moment is unaware of what transpired at the unlawful, unconstitutional and illegal Commission of Inquiry. There are copious notes and recordings of what transpired at the Commission of Inquiry, let him not pre-judge the matter as it is subject of an appeal. Perhaps, he may want to delay my appeal as he did my complaint to the Public Service Commission. The Attorney General is not authorized to speak on that subject and the illegality will be highlighted in due course.
It appears that the only court that the Attorney General seeks to try me is in the media with distorted, fabricated falsehoods to which he has easy access. If the Attorney General had appeared before a tribunal or Commission of Inquiry his public persecution of me would never have been necessary. This persecution of me in the press is to conceal his hidden agenda of replacing me with one of his chosen, which the public will in due course learn.
In the cases that the Attorney General states that I failed to appear in, the Attorney General may wish to consider listing these dates and cases along with the Court’s record of the proceedings so that the public may make its own determination.

I was absent from the office in January, 2017, due to an unexplained home invasion in which only my laptops, my flash drive, mobile phones were stolen the other items of considerable more value curiously were left untouched This strange incident was reported to the police and I was hospitalized as a result of the incident.

It is a most unfortunate development that the once highly regarded office of the Attorney General has now found a new area of professional comfort where its obvious inherent expertise is displayed by conduct more commonly associated with domestic poultry.

I believe the appropriate forum for these matters is the court, a venue at which I look forward to engaging the Attorney General.

DATED THIS 14TH DAY OF October 2017.

My learned sir, I am surprised at your conclusion about two asses. There is more behind this story and ms. Kissoon. Let's await the facts instead of jumping to conclusion. She is the. Victim. Let the matter process to its conclusion, if allowed to do so. 

See her response in today's Stabroek.

Z

Exactly,i have been following this imbroglio.I am no fan of Basil,Pratima goofed up.

Please support this conclusion of yours that she goofed up with facts. Maybe you are aware of things of which I am unaware. 

You seem to be jumping on some bandwagon  but whose I do not know. Maybe Basil?

Z

This is exactly what is expected anytime someone from the PPP is deemed irrresponsible. Just imagine the gnashing of teeth and name calling if/when the govt decides to really go after those who it was rumoured to have done various misdeeds.

Are you saying that ms.  KIssoon was with the PPP? As far as I know, and I have known the Kissoons a long time, they were never supporters of the ppp. Are you choosing to disbelieve her statement and believe that of the AG? And on what basis?

I have no problem with someone getting fired. However, due process must be followed.. 

Z

Why do you want her to work in Anil's office?  She is a legal resident of the United States and is licensed to practice in the state of Florida.  She might skedaddle down yonder and start to earn Yankee dollars.

Zed posted:

Are you saying that ms.  KIssoon was with the PPP? As far as I know, and I have known the Kissoons a long time, they were never supporters of the ppp. Are you choosing to disbelieve her statement and believe that of the AG? And on what basis?

I have no problem with someone getting fired. However, due process must be followed.. 

Regardless she is PPP or not, the fact remains an Indo being let go by the govt causes responses as seen here..so if or when the govt decides to go after those who were in the PPP which is predominantly Indo, the same response is expected.capiche?

Had the government followed due process and the requirements of natural justice, and was transparent, then the level of criticism would not have been as loud. (At least on my part). From the response of both the AG and Ms. Kissoon, there is a difference of opinion of exactly what happened. Part of the response is because of people's memory of what occurred during the previous pnc regime and what some perceive as the racism displayed by this government.

I wait with bated breath for Williams response.

Z

AG’s negligence sabotaging state’s cases, sacked Deputy Solicitor-General says

-claims ouster part of plan to install chosen replacement.

October 15,2017 Source

Former Deputy Solicitor- General Prithima Kissoon last evening defended herself against the scathing attack on her performance by the Attorney General’s Chambers, accusing it of making her a scapegoat for Attorney General (AG) Basil Williams’ negligence, which she blamed for derailing important state cases.

In a strongly-worded response, Kissoon also said that the Chambers made dishonest claims against her as part of a move to install an already chosen replacement.

She charged that Williams is behind the manoeuvring and also detailed instances where he deliberately concealed information to make it appear as though she was unfit to hold her former post, while hiding his responsibility for several judgments made against the state.

In one case, Kissoon said a judgment of $300 million was made against the government because Williams failed to even appear, despite having assured President David Granger and the judge that he would personally appear for the proceedings. She also cited another case where he disregarded advice to opt for a settlement and the state ended up having to bear the cost of a larger award after the court found in the plaintiff’s favour.

“It appears that the only court that the [AG] seeks to try me is in the media with distorted, fabricated falsehoods to which he has easy access… This persecution of me in the press is to conceal his hidden agenda of replacing me with one of his chosen, which the public will in due course learn,” Kissoon said in a five-page response, which was released by her attorney, Nigel Hughes.

On the heels of a letter published in the Stabroek News last week, which detailed the events leading up to Kissoon’s dismissal, the AG’s Chambers on Friday issued a lengthy response in which it accused her of gross irresponsibility, lacking professionalism and dereliction of duty.

Kissoon, who was sent on administrative leave for several months, was dismissed on August 31st by the Public Service Com-mission (PSC), hours before its life expired, for allegedly leaving the country without permission.

Noting that she read the AG’s Chambers’ response with “considerable consternation and disbelief,” Kissoon last evening responded at length to the claims that she habitually absented herself while important court matters were ongoing, thereby costing the state millions of dollars.

“Perhaps of considerable significance if not of equal importance is the fact that every submission which I have prepared and subsequently presented to any court, first had to be submitted to of the Attorney General for his consideration. I have never failed to provide the Attorney General well in advance with my intended submissions in all matters involving the state. It was the Attorney General who instructed his staff to desist from receiving my draft submissions which led to my emailing them to him well in advance of all court appearances,” she said.

Failed to appear

The AG’s Chambers accused Kissoon of causing the Secretary to the Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo to sign an incomplete affidavit and then inserting facts that were incorrect, and different to what had been communicated to her in a case brought by Carvil Duncan. In her response, while admitting that she drafted the affidavits of Nagamootoo and his confidential secretary, Kissoon explained that both documents were emailed to the Office of the Prime Minister for review by Legal Officer Tamara Khan “for additions and alterations” and to the AG, who acknowledged receipt. “If the Attorney General  felt that I had compromised the pleadings of the Affidavit in Answer of the Prime Minister, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, and his confidential secretary, Ms. Deann Ali, then he had a right and duty to request leave of the court to file supplementary affidavits from the deponents which he did not do and therefore he is labouring under a mistake or fashioning a distortion,” she said.

In the case of Hareshnarine Sugrim v National Drainage and Irrigation Authority, she explained that she was not permitted to finish the matter as she was sent on administrative leave and as a result never saw the submissions in reply of the attorney for the plaintiff. She said that in matter the AG had written to the President, the presiding judge and the plaintiff’s attorney and informed them that he would appear personally and conduct the trial. “The Attorney General wrote and sought numerous adjournments from Her Honour which were granted. However, the Court decided to commence the trial having accommodated his requests for over a month. The trial commenced and concluded without the Attorney General ever appearing,” she said, while adding that the case, which involved the sum of $300 million, was not considered of sufficient import for the AG to appear personally, like his predecessors, and conduct the trial and “dazzle the Court with his legal acumen.”

Kissoon stated that after she was prohibited by the AG from conducting matters on behalf of the State and after being sent on administrative leave, the submissions in reply by the Plaintiff were served on the AG’S Chambers. “The Attorney General had the ripe opportunity to respond to Counsel’s submissions and dethrone the Plaintiff’s case and remedy any defects in my submissions, yet this did not happen,” she said.

She stressed that the statements made by the Chambers regarding the circumstances surrounding the granting of the consent Order of Court that was given by the Court of Appeal in the matter of the Attorney General v Desmond Morian are “a deliberate and malicious fabrication of the events.” This case centered on Ministers Winston Felix and Keith Scott being allowed to occupy seats in the National Assembly.

She explained that it was after attorney Anil Nandlall consented to the continuation of the stay in the case that the consent order was granted by the then acting Chancellor of the Judiciary Carl Singh. She said that the attorney’s consent resulted in the two ministers being able to occupy their parliamentary seats until the hearing and determination of the appeal, which was filed by the AG.

Kissoon said that on November 4, 2016, she attended the Court of Appeal for three matters and before the court was convened she received a frantic call from an office assistant informing that she has to appear in the Attorney General v Desmond Morian matter. She made it clear that prior to that moment she had not received any notice of the matter nor was she informed that a notice was received by the Chambers.

On her return to the office, she informed the AG that the consent order was made and that she had received no notice prior to her appearance in the Court of Appeal and as a result was without the file. “Without knowing the facts he verbally abused and insulted me as being incompetent,” she claimed, before adding that “it is the Attorney General who has distorted the information and clearly attempted to deceive and manipulate the public with regard to what the ‘consent’ in the Order of the Court meant… The Attorney General has clearly attempted to defend his prejudices when his objective from the time he entered the Chambers was to remove me from my post.”

Refused settlement

In the Berbice Bharati Saywah Sanga et al. v The Attorney General case, Kissoon explained that she had advised the AG to settle the matter at a lesser sum $7 million, which counsel on the other side was willing to accept and he “arrogantly refused.”

The Court of Appeal, she explained, had made an order by a majority decision that the matter be referred to the High Court for the sole and only determination on the quantum of damages. The lands owned by Berbice Bharati Saywah Sanga was compulsorily acquired by the former government to build UG’s Tain Campus.

She said that Justice Sandra Kurtzious ordered and found that the Plaintiffs/Applicants are entitled to compensation. They were previously paid $3 million and after taking this into the account, the court ordered that the Plaintiff/Applicants be paid the sum of $17.8 million as full and final compensation for the compulsory acquisition of their property.

Additionally, in the case of the Attorney General v Bharrat Jagdeo, Kissoon said that the AG neglected to disclose that he had in his possession a copy of the prepared Affidavit in Answer that she had emailed to him four times on various days and a copy was given to his confidential secretary. “I waited on his instructions, comments, additions or alterations to the submitted Affidavit in Answer but none were forthcoming. The Attorney General was, therefore, at all times apprised of the content of the Affidavit in Answer and my written submissions to the Court of Appeal,” she charged.

She added that on January 9, during a court appearance, the AG sought leave of the court to lay over and serve further written submissions in response if necessary to the submissions made by counsel for Jagdeo by the 13th day of January, 2017. “The Attorney General never filed the Affidavit in Answer, never argued his case orally or in written submissions as a legal luminary and eminent counsel,” she said.

She dismissed the claim that Nandlall, a former AG, represented the other parties in the cases she had mentioned. She called the suggestion that she was colluding with him nothing more than “a wicked conspiracy.” Of the five cases, she said Nandlall appeared in two.

Kissoon had previously said that given that she was on indefinite administrative leave, the Public Service Commission (PSC) was the body she had to report to. In addressing the claims of her leaving the country without notifying the Chambers, she said Public Service Commission Secretary Marvalyn Stephens had advised that if she intended to travel overseas, the PSC must be informed and provided with contact details. “As a result of receiving this written advice I wrote to the PSC, as per their instructions, that I would be travelling out of the jurisdiction and provided two contact numbers and an email address for any pertinent communication regarding their enquires,” she said.

The AG’s Chambers, in its release, had made mention of the high salary that Kissoon received. Responding to this, she said that the remuneration for the position of Deputy Solicitor General is one which is “not fixed or determined by my hand or negotiation but rather set and approved by the Honourable members of the National Assembly.”

Kissoon called the Commission of Inquiry set up to hear her complaint as “unlawful, unconstitutional and illegal” and said that there “copious notes and recordings of what transpired at the Commission of Inquiry.” She called to the AG to not pre-judge this matter as it is subject of an appeal.

Zed posted:

Please support this conclusion of yours that she goofed up with facts. Maybe you are aware of things of which I am unaware. 

You seem to be jumping on some bandwagon  but whose I do not know. Maybe Basil?

Zed,no band wagon jumping,as i mentioned i am no fan of Basil,from the beginning Basil was blaming Pratima,that's what i got from the media hence i mentioned goofed up,more of this story are revealed,saw on media from Guyana,there is an interview with Pratima,will have to look at it.