Attorney General, Basil Williams issues alleged threat to Magistrate

reportedly says “the last Magistrate who did this to me was found dead.”

Attorney General Basil Williams

Attorney General, Basil Williams, SC, has reportedly issued an indirect threat to High Court Magistrate Justice Franklin Holder in today’s matter involving Carvil Duncan as it pertains to his suspension as Chairman of the Public Service Commission.

Duncan’s attorney Anil Nandall in a statement outlined that  Williams’ during the closing of cross-examinations of Duncan and his Confidential Secretary, became frustrated that he was not receiving favourable answers and “accused the Judge of not accurately recording the evidence.”

According to Nandlall, the “Judge rightfully took umbrage to the accusation. An angry Williams in a loud tone of voice repeated the accusations. The Judge, again admonished him about the accusation and about his tone of voice, Williams then blurted out loudly, ‘the last Magistrate who did that to me was later found dead… and I am saying so… that the last Magistrate who did this to me was found dead.’ In obvious shock, the Judge walked off the bench, without adjourning the matter.”

Nandlall said that no Judge should be the subject of “that type of assault” and noted that while it is up to Magistrate Holder to determine what course of action he will take, for him “by any standard, such a conduct by an Attorney-at-Law in the face of the Court is contumacious contempt and must be condemned in the strongest possible fashion.”

Nandlall’s statement on social media has since received various comments by persons inquiring whether Williams would be cited for contempt? Who is the identity of the Magistrate Williams made reference to? Would the police now re-open an investigation into the death of the mentioned Magistrate? among many others.

See Nandlall’s full statement below:

Did Basil Williams threaten to kill a Judge ? Read for yourself…

As you may recall, the legal challenge filed by Mr. Carvil Duncan against the attempt to remove him as Chairman of the Public Service Commission, a member of the Police Service Commission and a member of the Judicial Service Commission is being heard in the High Court by Justice Franklin Holder. A conflict of facts have arisen in the various affidavits filed. Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo contends that his office served Carvil Duncan with a letter dated 29th March 2016, which he claims was received at the Public Service Commission on the 14th April 2016, calling upon Duncan to show cause within fourteen (14) days why he should not be removed from the aforesaid positions.

Mr. Duncan and his Confidential Secretary in their affidavits swore that no such letter was every received at the Public Service Commission. They both contend that indeed a letter from the Prime Minister’s office was received on the 14th April 20176, but that letter, addressed to Mr. Duncan, informed him of a Public Service Conference which was to be held in London, England later that year.

In order to resolve this conflict in the affidavits, Justice Holder ordered the persons who swore the affidavits be crossed-examined. Duncan was first to take the stand two weeks ago. After about two hours of cross-examination on the first occasion and another hour today, by Attorney General, Mr. Basil Williams, Mr. Duncan held firm to his version. In fact, most of the questions asked of Mr. Duncan by the AG were wholly irrelevant to the issue. In the end, in my view, not a single favourable answer was elicited by cross-examination.

Mr. Duncan’s Confidential Secretary next took the stand. Again, most of the cross-examination was irrelevant. Again, no favourable answer was elicited.

As the cross-examination was coming to an end, a frustrated Mr. Williams baselessly and unfairly accused the Judge of not accurately recording the evidence. The Judge rightfully took umbrage to the accusation. An angry Williams in a loud tone of voice repeated the accusations. The Judge, again admonished him about the accusation and about his tone of voice, Williams then blurted out loudly, “the last Magistrate who did that to me was later found dead… and I am saying so… that the last Magistrate who did this to me was found dead.” In obvious shock, the Judge walked off the bench, without adjourning the matter.

It is a matter now for the Judge, in terms of what course of action, he will pursue against Mr. Williams. Speaking for myself, by any standard, such a conduct by an Attorney-at-Law in the face of the Court is contumacious contempt and must be condemned in the strongest possible fashion. That it comes from the Head of the Bar, compounds the travesty. Such exhibitions of crass disrespect for members of the Judiciary by the Attorney General, unfortunately, are not isolated incidents, but are becoming a pattern. No Judge should be subject to this type of assault. It is a fundamental principle of justice that Judges must be permitted to function in an environment that is free from intimidation, abuse and threats.

On the last occasion, the Prime Minister was forced to do damage-control when the Former Chancellor, Mr. Carl Singh, was the victim. Let us see if this type of conduct will be condoned again.

Basil Williams is a disgrace to APNU/AFC,this schmuck thinks this is the Burnhamite era,then on top of it Granger made him Senior Council,power flew to his head.

Let us see what action Granger will take against him.

Basil Williams is a disgrace to APNU/AFC,this schmuck thinks this is the Burnhamite era,then on top of it Granger made him Senior Council,power flew to his head.

Have you hit your head with a hammer to cause you to be dizzy?

Granger works 4 days a week from his house, he has made a cabinet room, an office, a ceremony room in State House.  He does not leave his house anymore.

Harmon running the government for him while he sleeps most of the day and read and sing and dance on the taxpayer money.  All he is interested is ceremonies like a ceremonial president.

Now Basil is the BOSS is Sophia and Harmon is the Boss in the Ministry of the Presidency and Moses is the POODLE.

No one can tell Basil anything.  Granger is the new Donald Raumtar.

KISHANB,

A hammer may have hit my head, not knock out still standing,warning to the schmucks in the current Government,ABC countries does watch you and soon you goofed up you are out,they are like a razor blade.

Guyana need a revolution the young people should start one,round up all the Burnhamite and Jajanite and put them on an Island in Essequibo River with an electric fence around it,so no escape for further contamination.The two parties PNC and PPP are a disgrace to Guyana,that is light treatment that what i really have in mind.

Saw "outburst by Basil" last night on Anil FB page,was waiting for further confirmation.

I think that this is unacceptable. He is the chief law officer of the country. He should face contempt of court charges, issuing a threat and should be fired as AG.

Also, I am wondering which magistrate that treated him like that and died, the one he was referring to. This should open a criminal investigation.

Z

KISHANB,

A hammer may have hit my head, not knock out still standing,warning to the schmucks in the current Government,ABC countries does watch you and soon you goofed up you are out,they are like a razor blade.

Guyana need a revolution the young people should start one,round up all the Burnhamite and Jajanite and put them on an Island in Essequibo River with an electric fence around it,so no escape for further contamination.The two parties PNC and PPP are a disgrace to Guyana,that is light treatment that what i really have in mind.

Saw "outburst by Basil" last night on Anil FB page,was waiting for further confirmation.

What about the AFC members? Should they not be there also.  They are a disgrace, a bunch of liars and soup drinkers. They lied to the electorate, the Cummingsburg Accord was made a fraudulent document, kept quiet about the excesses of the PNC/APNU, got a hefty pay raise, broke their promise to sugar workers and rice farmers, and only say something after they see where the wind is blowing. Left the youths high and dry, Harmon is the de facto prime minister. They have become PNC poodles. Not change, exchange! Why should they not be out there too?

Z
Zed posted:

KISHANB,

What about the AFC members? Should they not be there also.  They are a disgrace, a bunch of liars and soup drinkers. They lied to the electorate, the Cummingsburg Accord was made a fraudulent document, kept quiet about the excesses of the PNC/APNU, got a hefty pay raise, broke their promise to sugar workers and rice farmers, and only say something after they see where the wind is blowing. Left the youths high and dry, Harmon is the de facto prime minister. They have become PNC poodles. Not change, exchange! Why should they not be out there too?

The AFC is made up of disgruntled members of PPP and PNC,the ones that still portray the Burnhamite and Jaganite traits will fall in the group.

Some of these politicians have no vision,the world is advancing daily and these fools are regressing,backward dunces.

Django bhai, Good Mannin'. I see you taking a stance against your party...this is good. A threat like this is grounds for dismissal. Can you call David G and recommend immediate termination? Seriously, if this was a PPP member making this threat, he would have been in the lockups already. The PNC are like Donald Trump..a bully, the most lying, laziest and dishonest one can see in an administration. Please call David ASAP.

Banna you know i am not affiliated to no party,i give Jack his Jacket.

Zed posted:

I think that this is unacceptable. He is the chief law officer of the country. He should face contempt of court charges, issuing a threat and should be fired as AG.

Also, I am wondering which magistrate that treated him like that and died, the one he was referring to. This should open a criminal investigation.

Definitely they should open an investigation,the crime chief Wendell Blanhum is good at cracking some cold cases,toast this fool,make him an example.

Zed posted:

Definitely they should open an investigation,the crime chief Wendell Blanhum is good at cracking some cold cases,toast this fool,make him an example.

Not going to happen. Pardon is in the works if this goes to court.

Zed posted:

Not going to happen. Pardon is in the works if this goes to court.

Skelly,if they don't sanction Basil Williams,Guyana isn't heading in the right direction.Let us see the Political Maturity.

Judge walks off after threats from AG Williams

Carvil Duncan tribunal challenge

There was high drama in the High Court on Thursday as Justice Franklin Holder walked off the bench, leaving an uncertain outcome in the substantive legal case in front of him, following a fiery exchange and alleged implicit death threats from the Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister, Basil Williams.

Former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall

The imbroglio was prompted by a cross-examination regarding the conflicting stories submitted in affidavits by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and trade unionist Carvil Duncan about the tribunal which was established to determine his removal from several constitutional posts.

As the cross-examination was coming to an end, a frustrated Williams accused the Judge of not accurately recording the evidence, and Justice Holder took umbrage to the accusation.

An angry Williams in a loud tone of voice repeated the accusation, and the Judge again admonished him about the accusation and about his tone of voice.

Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Basil Williams

But Williams then blurted out loudly, “the last Magistrate who did that to me was later found dead… and I am saying so… that the last Magistrate who did this to me was found dead”.

Williams’ remarks prompted the Judge to walk off the bench, without adjourning the matter.

The legal challenge filed by Duncan against the attempt to remove him as Chairman of the Public Service Commission, and as a member of the Police Service and Judicial Service Commissions.

But a conflict of facts has arisen in the various affidavits filed as the Prime Minister contends that his office served Duncan with a letter dated March 29, 2016, which was received at the Public Service Commission on April 14, 2016, calling upon Duncan to show cause within 14 days why he should not be removed from the aforesaid positions.

Duncan and his Confidential Secretary in their affidavits swore that no such letter was ever received at the Public Service Commission. They both contend that indeed a letter from the Prime Minister’s office was received on April 14, 2016, but that letter, addressed to Duncan, informed him of a Public Service Conference which was to be held in London, England later that year.

In order to resolve this conflict in the affidavits, Justice Holder ordered the persons who swore the affidavits be cross-examined.

Commenting on the Attorney General’s outbursts, his predecessor, Attorney Anil Nandlall asserted that such a conduct in the face of the court is contumacious contempt and must be condemned in the strongest possible fashion. He said coming from the Head of the Bar, it compounds the travesty.

“Such exhibitions of crass disrespect for members of the Judiciary by the Attorney General, unfortunately, are not isolated incidents, but are becoming a pattern. No Judge should be subject to this type of assault. It is a fundamental principle of justice that Judges must be permitted to function in an environment that is free from intimidation, abuse and threats,” Nandlall stated.

Justice Holder, in October 2016, suspended the work of the presidential tribunal following an injunction, which was filed by Nandlall. At that time, Nandlall had argued that the tribunal was an unlawful and unconstitutional course of action, since Duncan at the time was not found guilty of the charges. However, President David Granger had suspended Duncan from several constitutional posts, which included being a member of the Judicial Service Commission and the Police Service Commission.

Subsequently, city Magistrate Leron Daly dismissed one of the charges against Duncan. Duncan was facing a charge which stated that on March 31, 2015 at Georgetown, he stole $984,900, property of the Guyana Power and Light (GPL).

Duncan still faces a conspiracy charge which stated that between May 7 and May 8, 2015, he conspired with then Deputy Chief Executive Officer (DCEO) of GPL, Aeshwar Deonarine to steal $27,757,547, property of the power company. Duncan had also alleged that he was offered money by both the President and Minister of State, Joseph Harmon to vacate his offices, a claim which the Government had denied.

Owing to the circumstances, it is unclear when the High Court case will continue.

I never thought I would say this BUt Bharat Jagdeo is the right man for Guyana and to deal with the Barbarians called the PNC!!!!!!!!!

No he is not,same happened under his rule,he was also disrespectful to the American Ambassador who visited his office when Green was to be appointed Commissioner of Police.

I think the America didn't took it lightly added to the fiasco at the Ambassador Residence,don't disrespect America the consequence is not healthy.

Django, YOU ARE AN ASS AND VERY STUPID!!! What the hell the American Ambassador has to do with what is discuss here. Why dont you go grow a brain, get an education, start at ABC level and then come back DUMMy!!!!

This man should be thrown in jail for threatening a judge.

This is evidence that Guyana has returned to a FULL dictatorship with the Blessings of Grainjaw.

These scumbags have no right to intimidate and threaten a Judge.

Shame on the PNC Dog Shyte Administration. Shame on Grainjaw, the buck stops at this desk.

As for Django, your country feelings were hurt when there appears to be evidence of foreign intervention in an election but they can intervene in others elections.

Think man.

I never thought I would say this BUt Bharat Jagdeo is the right man for Guyana and to deal with the Barbarians called the PNC!!!!!!!!!

No he is not,same happened under his rule,he was also disrespectful to the American Ambassador who visited his office when Green was to be appointed Commissioner of Police.

I think the America didn't took it lightly added to the fiasco at the Ambassador Residence,don't disrespect America the consequence is not healthy.

Apples and oranges here Django. Disrespect and death threat are two different subjects. Gay Boy Bryan Hunt had a couple too many cheese burgers and was not a good example of an ambassador. The man's guts was hanging to his knees, his neck and head were fused with fat to his collar bone. He is a poor example of an ambassador.

Heed that warning yourself Nehru.

Basil Williams has stepped out of line and should be turfed for his behavioir. I agree with Zed they should look into which magistrate died.

Yugi, dat Posey cleaner is brain dead!!!!!!!!!

Reading Django's posts and yours leave no confusion as to which of YOU is brain dead.

You are just below him. Did someone took your brain out or were you born brain dead IDIOT???

Yugi, dat Posey cleaner is brain dead!!!!!!!!!

Reading Django's posts and yours leave no confusion as to which of YOU is brain dead.

You are just below him. Did someone took your brain out or were you born brain dead IDIOT???

No further proof needed it is YOU.

Incompetent AG Basil Williams knows President Granger cannot fire him and get away with it. Basil Williams is PNC Chairman. Similarly, Mayor Patricia Chase-Green knows Granger cannot penalize her and get away with it. She is a big one in the PNC General Council.

If Basil and Patricia team up and round up their party followers and campaign against Granger's leadership at the next congress, Granger's goose is cooked. Is dem who put Granger deh as PNC Leader.

Django, YOU ARE AN ASS AND VERY STUPID!!! What the hell the American Ambassador has to do with what is discuss here. Why dont you go grow a brain, get an education, start at ABC level and then come back DUMMy!!!!

I addressed the claim,your hero Bharat Jajdeo is the right man for Guyana,i guess comprehension is not your forte,so you do what you know is the best, using the few words in your vocabulary to bolster your argument.

Talking bout Education "some one said you got a Phd" you are no match for Django the School Bottom House trained.

Basil Williams should be relieved immediately if he did say those words...as the most senior law enforcement office of the administration he should have known better , whether stressed or not......

Churchill posted:

Basil Williams should be relieved immediately if he did say those words...as the most senior law enforcement office of the administration he should have known better , whether stressed or not......

I am in agreement,Basil Williams is blundering badly.

His behavior unacceptable.

Churchill posted:

I am in agreement,Basil Williams is blundering badly.

His behavior unacceptable.

Oh Rass, yuh tek meh advise, glad to se you trying to learn your ABC.

KISHANB,

I fully agree. BOTH sides make mistakes and also had some success. The problem is, nobody wants either to acknowledge their party's mistakes or admit the other did anything good. It's all about the bad and pointing fingers and living in the past AND the, "is we turn", mentality.

Incompetent AG Basil Williams knows President Granger cannot fire him and get away with it. Basil Williams is PNC Chairman. Similarly, Mayor Patricia Chase-Green knows Granger cannot penalize her and get away with it. She is a big one in the PNC General Council.

If Basil and Patricia team up and round up their party followers and campaign against Granger's leadership at the next congress, Granger's goose is cooked. Is dem who put Granger deh as PNC Leader.

So you mean to say the PNC is imploding!  Hey, dem put Granger deh as PNC leader, but y'all put him deh as President of the country.

I say we getting goose for Christmas.  Or Easter.  Whatever - I don't know the difference

Zed posted:

Zed, you are in Guyana you should know.