AFC wants urgent action on women

As the world celebrated International Women’s Day yesterday under the theme ‘Connecting Girls Inspiring futures’ The Alliance for Change (AFC) hopes that social issues affecting Guyanese women would be looked at with urgency by the authorities.

“The Alliance For Change calls on all the leaders to examine the true position and conditions of the majority of our women and to act immediately to help them” said AFC parliamentarian Cathy Hughes at a press conference the party held at the Ariantze Hotel on Wednesday.

Hughes and other fellow party executive Valerie Garrido-Lowe, while mentioning the strides women would have made over the decades, condemned the  suffering of their Guyanese sisters as they related alarming statistics of exploitation mostly  Amerindian women endured.

“At a recent caucus on women it was highlighted that one in every three women was molested at some time in her life. This is an astonishing revelation and does not speak well to the way our women are protected. Every day in the newspapers we read stories of women who were physically abused, more often than not it would have been at the hands of their spouse or partner. Many have lost their lives and many of these were young women still in their productive years. This country cannot afford to have our women killed/disabled at the rate it is happening“, Hughes said.

She said that her party will be petitioning the National Assembly to have adequate funds set aside in this year’s budget for the procurement of additional safe houses for abused women and their children, funds for transitional financial support and is demanding that there be special tax benefits for single parents.” “It is not enough to say that we have some of the more progressive legislation. Legislation without action is worthless”, she said.

However it was once again noted that government is yet to meet with the opposition to discuss the national budget. Questioned about the AFC’s move should  a budget presentation date be set without  consultation, party executive Moses Nagamootoo said he would not comment on the hypothetical scenario but that his party would wait to see what the next move on the budget would be.

Meanwhile Garrido-Lowe expressed disgust at the exploitation of Amerindian women by persons who trick pauperised teenage girls and women into thinking they would be given legitimate jobs as cooks in their mining camps. The cases she said were “too many” to single out and many times she receives complaints from families whose women left home for remote  areas to work and were used as sex slaves either at camps or in the capital where they are told they would work as domestic servants or waitresses.

In addition she highlighted the plight of women, of the hinterland village called Chinese Landing in the Barama River, who are left to the mercy of the rainfall for potable water since their once drinkable creek water has been polluted by mining waste. The nearby river that the community, of approximately 180 uses has also become ”white” with sediments from mining done up river. Lowe also hopes that issues of healthcare and education would also be looked at in the riverain village.

AFC proposes shelters, fund for trafficking victims

MARCH 10, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Persons who are trafficked could be helped if shelters and a special fund are set up, Opposition Parliamentary party the Alliance for Change (AFC), has suggested.
In addition, the AFC sees the need for a massive public awareness campaign informing persons of this social plight.

Cathy Hughes, a Member of Parliament for the AFC, emphasised that the United States has identified human trafficking as a real problem in Guyana and stressed that Government should be least worried about “rankings” in reports and focus on finding solutions for this real issue.

Hughes stated that with the exception of the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security persons are unaware of other government agencies where they can go for assistance. She noted that this situation has been ongoing for years with officials emphasizing that money is being spent on social services programmes but the crux of the matter is that there is limited emphasis on public awareness.

“If you stop a woman on the street and she hasn’t been empowered to know that if I’m in this situation (sexual or labour enslavement) I go to this, call this or I could do that’ then we have failed. The reality is that we have continued to fail. It is time we put something else in there,” Hughes said. She added, “Trafficking in persons is a very real situation and wasting time debating with the US about ‘rankings’ is a waste of time and clearly that has not provided a solution.”

The Member of Parliament emphasised that many females, adult and minors, are lured to the mining districts to be gainfully employed but they are forced into prostitution. According to her colleague, Valerie Garrido-Lowe, human trafficking is common in Amerindian communities where young women are looking for opportunities to earn a living and provide for their families. However, when they arrive in their work environment they are tricked by their employers, who are foreigners, into sexual enslavement.

She stressed this situation exists because the majority of the residents in Amerindian communities are poor. In addition, those communities lack appropriate skills training programmes to empower women. Lowe acknowledged that Government has a Women of Worth programme which provides financial assistance to single parent women to establish businesses. She claimed that its benefits are not being equally distributed and as such many women are disenfranchised.

Meanwhile, Hughes emphasised that there are some women who are willingly working as Commercial Sex Workers and suggested that women are opting for this ‘line of job’ because of the absence of economic empowerment. “We need to re-address those situations and the playing field needs to be constituted differently and that is why the AFC is talking about providing more services and benefits to single women and agencies and financial support that could deal with some of those issues,” Hughes noted.

She pointed that there needs to be a fund that could provide these women with financial resources, perhaps for about three months, while they are being transitioned into a ‘normal’ life.

If I was part a decision part of AFC I would recruit and train women to take to take over . Women outperform  men in every respect of socio-economic political matters issues etc .

There are lots of opportunities for women in Guyana but the least path of resistance is spreading the legs for some. You can't expect govt to provide jobs for women in isolated communities. This is the realm of the private sector. Maybe gmoney should show them how to plant and decorate flowers. 

BG_S, true but da PPP cud help mek it easy fuh business set up ting fuh gi woman jabs.  Food pocessing and prep fuh export ah wan gud way.  Di prablim is cazz ah infrastructa and powah cost, mekkin' it tuff foa abie mek di numbas wuk.

There are lots of opportunities for women in Guyana but the least path of resistance is spreading the legs for some. You can't expect govt to provide jobs for women in isolated communities. This is the realm of the private sector. Maybe gmoney should show them how to plant and decorate flowers. 

Bai like you getting stupidee or wuh? Pre PPP/PNC days is who yuh tink used to subsidize sugar workers income fuh send dem pickney to high school in Gt? mothers ! who used to raise poultry, farm , goat cow etc and open small shops fuh mek money. Without dem coolie homan moms most coolie bai and gurl dem wouldnt have made it to higher education. The men used drink out most ah dem salary come home eat dhal rice and curry and tear chaddar whole night and dem wife had fuh put dem ah hammock in bottam house fuh sleep.

After three years of continuous abuse – Woman hospitalised after being ‘stomped’ by husband

March 11, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

…Kicked down stairs, but is charged with assault

A Kitty, Georgetown, woman was not among those who observed the International Women’s Day on Thursday. She was instead confined to a hospital bed after a ‘brutal beating’ from her estranged husband.

The woman, 20-year-old Priya Callender, spent a second day at the Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital yesterday where she was being treated for internal injuries.

The woman claims that she was abused by her husband, Adrian Callender, and that this has been the case for the past three years. They have a two-year-old son together.

Priya Callendar

She explained that during the three years, she would move in and out of her husband’s home because of the beatings she received.

She explained that most of the problems were started by her mother-in-law who would frequently interfere in “our affairs.”

Her husband’s home is situated at the back of her mother’s. She (Priya) was forced to move to her mother’s home early this year after her husband filed for custody of their child.

She said that she went to court and last Tuesday won custody of her child.
“Wednesday night around midnight, he called me and tell me that he wants to discuss the welfare of our child and he wants me to go over by him.”

She explained that she left her mother’s home, and went over to his home. “He left the door open and I went straight up to his room where I see that he was drunk and was lying on the bed so I left. When I reached near the step I feel a shadow.”

She explained that as she was about to turn her husband pushed her down the stairs. She said that she tried to grab on to him to avoid falling, but she only managed to hold on to his chain which eventually burst and that angered him more.

“He kick me down the step and start stomping me on my chest and kicking me.”
She said that after a while, her mother-in-law came and held on to her, allowing her abusive son to continue the “bashing.”

Mrs. Callender was eventually rescued by her brother-in-law.

A report was made at the Kitty Police station. The abused woman was charged for damage to property (the chain) and assault while her husband was charged for assault. Both were placed on $10,000 bail when they appeared in court.

After several hours, the woman was admitted to the hospital and was being treated for internal bleeding.

She emphasised that her husband would “hardly” work and that it is her mother who supports her family.  She said that it was her mother who bought the wedding ring she placed on Callender’s finger three years ago.

When Kaieteur News contacted Priya’s husband for a comment he replied that he did not do anything and discontinued the conversation, saying “I’m a little busy right now.” (Romila Boodram)

Originally Posted by kidmost:

Bai like you getting stupidee or wuh? Pre PPP/PNC days is who yuh tink used to subsidize sugar workers income fuh send dem pickney to high school in Gt? mothers ! who used to raise poultry, farm , goat cow etc and open small shops fuh mek money. Without dem coolie homan moms most coolie bai and gurl dem wouldnt have made it to higher education. The men used drink out most ah dem salary come home eat dhal rice and curry and tear chaddar whole night and dem wife had fuh put dem ah hammock in bottam house fuh sleep.

Apparently you don't keep up with what is going on in Guyana. The PPP have all these systems in place as they race to capture the Amerindian votes. There is Amerindian boarding school in GT and all kinds of scholarships given out to these folks. If some choose not to take these opportunities and their parents sell them into prostitution then there is very little govt can do. 

Originally Posted by kidmost:

Apparently you don't keep up with what is going on in Guyana. The PPP have all these systems in place as they race to capture the Amerindian votes. There is Amerindian boarding school in GT and all kinds of scholarships given out to these folks. If some choose not to take these opportunities and their parents sell them into prostitution then there is very little govt can do. 

Normally I would have responded to your last remarks but then I realize you guys more time and effort lamenting rather then tabling solutions and curatives. The AFC has another great opportunity to moblise the women in Guyana to create "cottage industries" , open discussions with the private sector to engage ideas to expand and diversify their businesses to as to create opportunities . The PNC and PPP have been total and complete failures.