Originally Posted by Mars:

Have you ever written anything on this board that did not revolve around race?

I see.  The AFC and APNU have a campaign based on "Unity".  Now what is that UNITY all about.  Seems like it is about race, so it also seems to me that talking politics or about Guyanese society without mentioning race is dishonest.

I challenge you to pull ANY description of Guyana where the African vs. Indian frictions aren't very highlighted.

Have you started writing on GNI only after the merger between the AFC and APNU?

I've been on this board for many years now and I've never seen you make any contribution here that did not involve race so spare me the bullshit about the Unity campaign.

Don't you have interests in anything else but race? You must live a very dull and sheltered life.

I've written here on various topics covering everything from sports, cars, politics, music, religion and other current events. What is your obsession with the color of a man's skin?

An why you like lie so much?

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The PPP/C Government didn't have to rent a crowd they have true supporters and they came out in their numbers

They didn't rent the crowd. They bought them for a day's pay at Guysuco, a free fry rice, and a ride aboard Guysuco trucks to GT. 

lots of them just went for the fun,never see GT BEFORE

He means that he believes 60% non-Indian population = 60% non-Indian voters. A quite novel proposition indeed.

If this was the case, the PPP would be begging the AFC and selling out half the Cabinet to the AFC to hold onto office for their full term.

Let's be clear, the PPP is the one gambling on elections here. Not the Opposition. The PPP could have at anytime bartered a piece of Cabinet action to the AFC and I doan think these hungry belly daags would have refused

They claim that they are looking at past results.  Well 2011 is the most relevant as it is based on a voting population most like what we have now in size, ethnic composition, and age profile.

The net increase in votes in 2011 was only around 8k.  APNU increased its votes by 26k. The AFC increased its votes by 8k, due heavily to the 10k increase in its Berbician votes. The PPP lost lost 16k votes, of which 10k were lost to the AFC in Berbice.

It looks to me as if in 2011 APNU did the best job in recapturing alienated voters who decided not to vote in 2006.  Yes there are more of them who can be enticed to vote, but to suggest that they represent enough to offset the 10k+ votes that the AFC took from the PPP last time is being a tad optimistic.

In 2015 any political party in Guyana claiming that their natural base is a majority, so that they don't need cross ethnic votes, is being extremely stupid.  In fact this is the trap which the PPP has set for itself as it beats the drum of racial panic, and calls itself the "coolie party".  That might well be its demise.

PNC failure to support government initiatives in the 10th parliament will cost them great political mileage in the upcoming elections. FLAPNU have no vision for Guyana and our youths. After May 11th there will be a mass exodus of its members, high and low. Don’t be surprise that another PNC member will be formulating another third force party with some form of reform agenda like the AFC and then rejoined the PNC again hoping to win Indian votes and Guyanese will be fooled all over again in 2020. Many more PNC and AFC members will be crossing over to the PPP/C in droves because they have seen real progress. For a party in opposition, the loss of even one minor member is tragic and rather ironical. They always make it seem like they know better and all is well in their camp. Right now, FLAPNU=PNC have a lot of internal issues with their leadership. David Granger have blood on his hands and committed crimes against humanity for which he can be prosecuted. Can you imagine the PNC supporters are fully aware about the crimes committed by David Granger in the 70’s, 80,s and early 90’s but publicly they do not want to admit to it? It is clearly bad politics for them to admit for Granger=Danger. Shame at you FLAPNU supporters!!! Do the right thing like Africo Selman!!!

I've written here on various topics covering everything from sports, cars, politics, music, religion and other current events. What is your obsession with the color of a man's skin?

To be frank with Mars maybe you have been on social as I have never seen any comments from you prior to this.

Now write about politics in Guyana, and you will note that this is the POLITICAL thread.  Tell me how long it will take you not to get into a discussion of race, because politics in Guyana is 100% about race.

Talking about race is NOT racist. Especially in a society like Guyana where the MOST IMPORTANT social construct is RACE!

When you babble like that you sound like those FOX News idiots who scream racism every time blacks complain after some cop shoots an innocent black!

The PPP/C Government didn't have to rent a crowd they have true supporters and they came out in their numbers

Repeat this enough and you might well believe this.

There aren't enough Indian votes for the PPP to win on this alone and yet Rohee and Jagdeo call the PPP the "coolie party" and the turn out in Kitty certainly gave evidence of this.

PNC failure to support government initiatives in the 10th parliament will cost them great political mileage in the upcoming elections. FLAPNU have no vision for Guyana and our youths. After May 11th there will be a mass exodus of its members, high and low. Don’t be surprise that another PNC member will be formulating another third force party with some form of reform agenda like the AFC and then rejoined the PNC again hoping to win Indian votes and Guyanese will be fooled all over again in 2020. Many more PNC and AFC members will be crossing over to the PPP/C in droves because they have seen real progress. For a party in opposition, the loss of even one minor member is tragic and rather ironical. They always make it seem like they know better and all is well in their camp. Right now, FLAPNU=PNC have a lot of internal issues with their leadership. David Granger have blood on his hands and committed crimes against humanity for which he can be prosecuted. Can you imagine the PNC supporters are fully aware about the crimes committed by David Granger in the 70’s, 80,s and early 90’s but publicly they do not want to admit to it? It is clearly bad politics for them to admit for Granger=Danger. Shame at you FLAPNU supporters!!! Do the right thing like Africo Selman!!!

selman was the mole that the ppp was going to pay off,boy freedum house full of house slaves

To be frank with Mars maybe you have been on social as I have never seen any comments from you prior to this.

Now write about politics in Guyana, and you will note that this is the POLITICAL thread.  Tell me how long it will take you not to get into a discussion of race, because politics in Guyana is 100% about race.

Talking about race is NOT racist. Especially in a society like Guyana where the MOST IMPORTANT social construct is RACE!

When you babble like that you sound like those FOX News idiots who scream racism every time blacks complain after some cop shoots an innocent black!

You probably only read the threads that relate to race because that's what you are obsessed with. I've written extensively on this board (Political) for a long time now on various topics. My life does not revolve around race and the feeling that I'm being constantly oppressed because of the color of my skin. 

There are many different topics that are discussed here on Political from every facet of life. Also, there are many other angles from which you can discuss politics beyond race. How is it that the only thing you talk about is race? If it's not the Indian man oppressing you it's the white man. You must be the most oppressed man in the world right now if that's all you can talk about.

And most importantly you haven't answered me yet on this one. Why you like lie so much?

Ramjattan is a crook and you're foolish enough for believing his lies 

Yeah you mean Ramjattan thief 4.5 Billion from the treasury and cannot explain where he spend it?

Or does Ramjattan claim that NICIL is not tax payers money? 

If ramjattan is a crook the PPP should mek him their presidential candidate because that means he is fully qualified, by PPP standards of course.

You probably only read the threads that relate to race because that's what you are obsessed with. I've written extensively on this board (Political) for a long time now on various topics.

OK your comments are probably trivial one liners too nonsensical to read.

You clearly aren't a very intelligent person as your descent into vulgar cursing of go "fvck yourself" indicates.

Any way too much time wasted with you.  Good night.

You probably only read the threads that relate to race because that's what you are obsessed with. I've written extensively on this board (Political) for a long time now on various topics.

OK your comments are probably trivial one liners too nonsensical to read.

You clearly aren't a very intelligent person as your descent into vulgar cursing of go "fvck yourself" indicates.

Any way too much time wasted with you.  Good night.

I reserve intelligent discussion for leaders who can think and not for dumbass followers like you. Especially when you have to resort to cheap lies to score points. It is further compounded when you're not only a sociopathic liar but an ideological racist. Then I can only tell you where to get off because it does not make any sense having a civilized conversation with you.

Both sides had good crowds.  Of the two, the Coalition's crowd is more voluntary because they do not have the kind of $$$ the Kleptos have to provide incentives to people to attend meetings.

Don't be worried about the diversity.  That's the face of national unity.  It causes the PPP to tremble.  Get used to it.

Moses and Granger did what Jagan and Burnham were not able to do.

Mark will not get one seat.

How do you know? You might think he is a loud mouth blow hard but when young black youth have been victimized by the cops, or PPP cronies have tossed them out of their tenement buildings, it was Benschop and not Granger who showed up.

Benschop has the potential of being a spoiler and the coalition just need to stroke the man's ego and give him some attention which he so obviously craves. At least until May 11th.

Believe in Stormy's prediction. He visits Guyana every couple of months. The man left Guyana as a juvenile and never returned. Now he is an expert on all components of Guyana's affairs. He should go back and run for Prime Minister or president. Maybe in losing someone in the government will make him a vice president(may #250).

Repeat this enough and you might well believe this.

There aren't enough Indian votes for the PPP to win on this alone and yet Rohee and Jagdeo call the PPP the "coolie party" and the turn out in Kitty certainly gave evidence of this.

Whoa!  oPPOSITION WINNING NOW.

Carib, you are going about this the old way, many of us on this BB are trying to remove the race card from this election. Don't you think the wave that's happening in Guyana right now is the way it should have been when we were living in Guyana?

Chances are, had this occurred way back, we would still be there enjoying the beautiful weather and all that Guyana has/had to offer.

I don't know if I speak for most but it is my belief that members who are on the side of the merger are looking at this as the beginning of a healing process and when others try to stifle this, we are upset and for good reason.

We all have to get on the bandwagon spreading the vision of what is on the coat of arms of Guyana and what Guyanese have never lived up to, regardless of who is in Government.

"One people, One Nation, One Destiny"

Oh yea I forgot that the most popular man among the heavily populated Black areas of non-elite Georgetown is Mark Benschop who is actually liked and trusted by ordinary Blacks.

That he turned down a guaranteed seat from the Coalition says that he firmly believes that he can get 1 or more seats on his own. And he shows no sign of succumbing to the pressure to join the Coalition.

Mark is going to poach at least 1 or maybe more PNC seats.

The PPP has to hold its base and convince 10 to 11 percent of others to come over. The APNU-AFC natural base are already numerically superior to the PPP. I do not know what you and caribj are looking at but it certainly is not the numbers.

The APNU-AFC natural base

....and, just what is this natural base you so assertively speaketh of?

I am using generally accepted terms when one speak of a demographic that leans to a party or candidate. In the US, the term used as the base demographic that leans of conservatives or liberal defined by certain belief ideological of positions of the group identity. 

In Guyana, the demographics break down by race. One group is expected to gravitate to one party identified as representing their racial demographics. It is not an unnatural expectation of an Indian to be aligned with the PPP. Actually it is so natural the idea of departure is not seen as simply being swayed by the better platform position but a de facto defection. That person like Moses is deemed a traitor or a nimakharam. 

It is therefore logical to speak of a party's ceiling expectation to correlate with the turnout of their expected constituency Indian or Black. That is in all descriptive a natural expectation given voting habits.

It is disingenuous to think we ever had any different mediating driver to the polls for a party except race....until now with the APNU-AFC. They are a unity movement not merely because they coalesced but because they campaign on a unity of the races.

However, everyone of us to a man and woman expect the joint opposition to not garner much of the Indian vote. Why? That is the answer to your question. My previous three paragraphs were preamble.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Both sides had good crowds. were not able to do.

Also Kitty is within close range of over 30% of Guyana's population.  The fact that the PPP had to bus in people in disturbing (for the PPP that is).

They did the same thing last time, and the goal then was to prove that they were making inroads into the African population.  This time they don't even know what their goal is because it was widely reported that people were bused on.

Carib, you are going about this the old way, many of us on this BB are trying to remove the race card from this election.

Reality is that race exists and to pretend otherwise doesn't resolve the problem.

Look at how the campaigns are going.  It is an attempt to woo enough votes from various ethnic groups.  Split the Indian vote, maximize turn out in the African vote, and make inroads into the Amerindian vote.

And to win an election this is what people have to do, so please stop the pretense that race isn't an issue in Guyana.  It is.

When the AFC started they built a premise based upon ethnic rotation of the presidential candidate.  Acknowledging the importance of race in Guyana, even by the party which tried to rise above it. 

They abandoned that and went with Nagamootoo out of a need to split the PPP (Indian) vote.  Obviously the don't think that the very articulate and charismatic Nigel Hughes can do this.

When APNU had their protest in G/town over the proroguing of parliament, the AFC sent its African leaders, while the Indian ones stayed away.  Why?  Fear of the PPP and how it will impact their Berbice target base.

So don't tell me that race isn't a very strong construct in Guyana in how people vote, who they marry, who they hire and who they do business with.

And not talking about it doesn't mean that it will stop. If you really think so take a trip to Brazil and see how skin color matters in that country, even though they deny that it does.

I am using generally accepted terms when one speak of a demographic that leans to a party or candidate..

The issue isn't your use of ethnicity to determine the natural bases of the various parties, or the fact that ethnic outreach will be an important part of their strategy.

The question is your assumption that the over 18 ethnic composition is the same as the over all ethnic composition. 

APNU AFC will have to find some Indians votes some where.  Either from the Jaganite faction who are disturbed by the Jagdeoite domination of the PPP.  Or from young Indians who aren't as vulnerable to tribal appeals.

Mark will not get one seat.

How do you know? You might think he is a loud mouth blow hard but when young black youth have been victimized by the cops, or PPP cronies have tossed them out of their tenement buildings, it was Benschop and not Granger who showed up.

Benschop has the potential of being a spoiler and the coalition just need to stroke the man's ego and give him some attention which he so obviously craves. At least until May 11th.

Believe in Stormy's prediction. He visits Guyana every couple of months. The man left Guyana as a juvenile and never returned. Now he is an expert on all components of Guyana's affairs. He should go back and run for Prime Minister or president. Maybe in losing someone in the government will make him a vice president(may #250).

He is a political reject and is of no use to any political party in Guyana.

....and, just what is this natural base you so assertively speaketh of?

And yet the natural base didn't deliver a victory over the PPP last time, and its not guaranteed that it will this time.

Stormborn claims that he is a quantitative person, yet seems unable to interpret election data.

So I don't know what majority natural base Stormborn is talking about.

You do not know because you do not listen. You already got to fifty percent on your own. 50 percent plus 1 voter is the win number. That is all any campaign cares about! Surely the APNU-AFC with a hardened base due to ethnic intelligences can persuade 1 voter to cross over!

I specifically said that in this new Unity campaign there is a reorientation from race baiting as is usually the case to racial accommodation for the APNU-AFC. Obviously there is a pool of people naturally drawn to this view as a right and proper one! It exists for both parties to pull from but the AMNU-AFC need only to pull a few to take them to the ideal win number.

Note well, I did not count Amerindians for the PPP either. The PPP has to compete for them! It means the PPP is starting our from a base of 41 percent or less and white knuckling it to the end.

You do not know because you do not listen. You already got to fifty percent on your own. 50 percent plus 1 voter is the win number. That is all any campaign cares about! Surely the APNU-AFC with a hardened base due to ethnic intelligences can persuade 1 voter to cross over!

I specifically said that in this new Unity campaign there is a reorientation from race baiting as is usually the case to racial accommodation for the APNU-AFC. Obviously there is a pool of people naturally drawn to this view as a right and proper one! It exists for both parties to pull from but the AMNU-AFC need only to pull a few to take them to the ideal win number.

Note well, I did not count Amerindians for the PPP either. The PPP has to compete for them! It means the PPP is starting our from a base of 41 percent or less and white knuckling it to the end.

You are the one who isn't listening.  Why do you insist in using the total population, when 40% of the population is too young to vote, and where probably 60% of the mixed population is located?

Composition of the 1991 population, people who will be 24 and over (basically almost all the people who will vote).  Indians 49%, Africans 32%, Mixed 12%, Amerindians and others 7%. 

Deduct a few for the Indian vote to account for the fact that migration rates are highest in that group.  Add a little bit for the mixed to account for the fact that the youngest voting cohorts (18-25) will be more mixed than the oldest.  Leave the Amerindian vote as is, given the much lower voter turn out which will offset the growth of that population over the past 20 years.

You still don't get to a 50% "natural base for the APNU AFC". 

The AFC has no natural base as in the past two elections it attracted those alienated from the parties which they normally vote for. The APNU natural base is the African (32%) and a PORTION of the mixed vote.  The Amerindians who bother to vote aren't loyal to anybody, so aren't part of any natural base.

So it appears to me as if the PPPs natural base is 45%, which is slightly more than APNU's base.  And the rest of the population are swing voters.  Swing voters by definition aren't part of any natural base.

You need to prove that the APNUs natural base is 50%. Obviously neither APNU nor the AFC think so, which is why they took the biggest gamble of uniting. APNU having to give up quite a bit to the AFC, and Nagamootoo risking the loss of the 10k votes which he brought in for the AFC in 2011.

The election will be won by the party which does the best job in getting people out to vote, and which proves most exciting to the 40% of the voting age population which is under 35.

You are the one who isn't listening.  Why do you insist in using the total population, when 40% of the population is too young to vote, and where probably 60% of the mixed population is located?

Composition of the 1991 population, people who will be 24 and over (basically almost all the people who will vote).  Indians 49%, Africans 32%, Mixed 12%, Amerindians and others 7%. 

Deduct a few for the Indian vote to account for the fact that migration rates are highest in that group.  Add a little bit for the mixed to account for the fact that the youngest voting cohorts (18-25) will be more mixed than the oldest.  Leave the Amerindian vote as is, given the much lower voter turn out which will offset the growth of that population over the past 20 years.

You still don't get to a 50% "natural base for the APNU AFC". 

The AFC has no natural base as in the past two elections it attracted those alienated from the parties which they normally vote for. The APNU natural base is the African (32%) and a PORTION of the mixed vote.  The Amerindians who bother to vote aren't loyal to anybody, so aren't part of any natural base.

So it appears to me as if the PPPs natural base is 45%, which is slightly more than APNU's base.  And the rest of the population are swing voters.  Swing voters by definition aren't part of any natural base.

You need to prove that the APNUs natural base is 50%. Obviously neither APNU nor the AFC think so, which is why they took the biggest gamble of uniting. APNU having to give up quite a bit to the AFC, and Nagamootoo risking the loss of the 10k votes which he brought in for the AFC in 2011.

The election will be won by the party which does the best job in getting people out to vote, and which proves most exciting to the 40% of the voting age population which is under 35.

At  2012           

Total
popul ation

Afros    223,224  29.8%      
Ameri ndians    78,683  10.5%      
Indos    298,279  39.9%      
Mi xed    141,166  18.9%      
Others    6,532  0.9%
5123 chinese
imported from
China

I advise you look at these numbers.From what I am told these are the real ones.

At  2012           

Total
popul ation

Afros    223,224  29.8%      
Ameri ndians    78,683  10.5%      
Indos    298,279  39.9%      
Mi xed    141,166  18.9%      
Others    6,532  0.9%
5123 chinese
imported from
China

I advise you look at these numbers.From what I am told these are the real ones.

Stormborn are you so stupid as not to understand that in a country where 40% of the population is under 18, and where the mixed population  increased by 60% in 20 years, even as the overall population increased by a mere 3% that a large % of this mixed population is NOT of voting age?

Obviously EVERY ONE WITH ANY MODICUM of intelligence will conclude that the population which is under 18 contains a much higher % of mixed people than does the population which is OVER 18.  And that to guess what the voting age ethnic break down is, one needs to look at the 1991 census, and then make some adjustments to it.

What do you intend to prove by reposting the same census data again.  That you are too senile to understand that the TOTAL population is MORE MIXED than the voting age population is?

Plus even as we speak the PPP is buying the ID cards of young poor black males, who prefer the cash than the right to vote!

I am not going to answer you because I am going to cuss you. And it is my guitar practice time so I have to get in my zen mode.

Cuss me about what. 

Your inability to comprehend that if the mixed population increased by 60% between 1991 and 2012, while the overall population increased by a mere 3%, then obviously the voting age population must be LESS mixed then the total population, meaning that the Indian (and to a lesser extent African) must be bigger!

Explain how the mixed population could have increased by 60% in the past 20 years, without this being due to a tremendous level of miscegenation, meaning that many of them ARE TOO YOUNG TO VOTE!