Sport Minister Frank Anthony on Thursday said that the National Aquatic Centre, at Liliendaal will be opened to experienced swimmers once a sufficient number of lifeguards have been hired.

He was at the time commenting to Stabroek News about a protest that had been staged earlier in the day by APNU and AFC activists as well as columnist Freddie Kissoon over the unavailability of the facility to the public.

“The pool at Liliendaal for the time being it is basically being used for the National Swimming Association… [but] we have been looking at the idea of opening [it] to the public and have advertised already for lifeguards but [are] yet to get the required amount,” Anthony said, while noting that the Olympic-standard pool is not intended for novice swimmers.

The Olympic size-swimming pool at National Aquatic Centre, at Liliendaal. (Stabroek News file photo)

“…Even when we get the required number [of lifeguards], we will not let people there to learn to swim because the pool is deep and cannot accommodate learner swimmers,” he added, noting that persons would be screened before being allowed to use the facility in order to ensure that they could swim properly.

Anthony also contended that the Colgrain pool is available to the public. Told by Stabroek News of reports that members of the public have had difficulty accessing Colgrain, Anthony said that demand may be the issue. “Colgrain pool you can go and register for one of the programmes and go swim… I am not aware of that (the difficulty). You have a programme there in the morning and the afternoon. If the class is filled, then that’s another story but we have right now that Japanese coach and that is what I know,” the Minister said.

Speaking about the Castellani House pool, Anthony said, “It’s a pool under the Office of the President and was used with the permission and discretion of Office of the President. The National Swimming Association used to use it at the discretion of OP since Cheddi’s (former President Cheddi Jagan) days. Before then, it was exclusively a private pool.” He added that now that the Association is using the Aquatic Centre, swimming clubs may ask for the same discretion and usage of the Castellani pool.

The minister stressed that since the focus now is on a warm-up pool for the aquatic centre, another public pool would have to wait. However, given the demand and the nationwide interest in having a public swimming facility, his ministry plans to look into it.

Members of the public have frequently complained of limited public facilities for swimming, forcing children and others to take deadly risks at the seawall and in canals. Several children recently drowned in such incidents.

On Thursday, AFC and APNU members and activists Freddie Kissoon and Mark Benschop protested outside of the aquatic centre, calling for full public access to at least one of the three pools.

“We are arguing that at least one of the pools, if not all three, should be opened to the public even if for a fee… if we are looking at youth development, then implement programmes for them. You have a pool that is idle here and children are drowning across the country because they don’t have a facility which they can go and learn to swim and be supervised,” said Gerhard Ramsaroop of the AFC. “When we ask about what is going on, we are referred to Neil Kumar, who has to himself give permission before anyone uses this pool. This is ludicrous …you hear members of parliament heckling go swim in ‘The Blacka’ and about who used to bathe in ‘The Blacka,’” he added, referring to the Lamaha Canal.

Another protestor, Michael Carrington, also of the AFC, lamented, “As a national swimmer in the ’80s, this is very upsetting to me. Since the ’80s, the state said they would rebuild a national pool after closing the Luckhoo swimming pool. We waited for that in vain and now we are still waiting. This pool can pay for itself if it is opened to the public. There are thousands of children who want a pool to go to. Charge a fee and maintain it and have it pay for itself and save the taxpayers some money.”

APNU activist Malcolm Harripaul, meanwhile, said “The Government of Guyana has literally spent close to $1B (on the aquatic centre) and now seeking over $300M to maintain it and it’s not being used. It’s a waste of taxpayers’ money. Open a pool for the children. A lot of kids have nowhere to go for recreation and now only the privileged few can access it and that should change immediately.”

Dear Editor,

I refer to a news item in the Stabroek News of Saturday, April 21, in which the Minister of Sport told the press that as far as he knows the Colgrain Swimming Pool is open to the public. He knows fully well that none of the three state-owned swimming facilities is accessible to the general public. The emphasis is on the word “general.”

Here are the facts. Colgrain – only members of swimming clubs; Castellani – only invited guests and those given permission by Office of the President; Aquatic Centre – for competitive swimmers only and invited guests. I live near the Aquatic Centre and I see that the favoured ones make use of it after sundown.

I have to pass that place daily and you should see how they enjoy themselves in the night. No one has mentioned that the Ministry of Sport built a gym with public money inside the National Service Sports Club on Carifesta Avenue.

I go on the seawall every afternoon and that gym is always closed. It is a total shame that APNU abstained in cutting the estimates for the Ministry of Sport. What needs to be said is that the political elite also swim at two private pools at Pradoville 1. None of the three state-owned swimming facilities has a walk-in privilege the way the National Park, the Botanic Gardens, the Promenade Gardens, etc, do. Why do I have to join a swimming club to attend Colgrain? Why should someone spend money to join a club when all they want to do on a hot day after a torrid day’s work is just walk into one of these facilities and have a swim as it was with the Luckhoo pool in the seventies?

When a group of us (Malcolm Harripaul, Mark Benschop, David Patterson, Gerhard Ramsaroop and Michael Carrington) protested the private operation of these pools our point was unambiguous – make all three into a walk-in place, but on different days.

So from Monday to Wednesday it is Colgrain; from Thursday to Friday it is Castellani; and from Saturday to Sunday, the Aquatic Centre. Alternatively, allocate one of them to function like the Luckhoo pool. We reject outright the edict that the public should not access these structures openly. You can charge a fee to support maintenance but one or all of these pools must have a walk-in privilege because they are owned by the state which acts on behalf of the Guyanese people.

I don’t have to join a gym to exercise in the National Park. I don’t have to belong to a Botanic Society to see the animals in the zoo. Why must I join a club to enjoy Colgrain? I am informing the Minister that all six of us plan to arrive at one of these three pools and just jump in and swim, and will refuse to be ejected. Let them call in the police. That is our intention. While we are doing this, APNU which has not pronounced on the issue can join us for a swim. It may clear the heads of the leadership when they go up to Linden to persuade the people there about their role in the electricity affair.

Yours faithfully,
Frederick Kissoon      

The dimwits in the AFC are misguided as usual. Such a facility is suitable for athletes not the general public. A separate facility for those looking to jump around in a public pool or those looking to exercise for health reasons is more suitable. 

mi gafa gree wid yuh bai.  Mi went n' look ah da place and yuh rite.  AFC ah pik too much lil lil fite wah nah mean nuff ting fuh di average coolie and blackman.  How much abie goa go da pool, mi cyan seh, da nah big ting wid abie.

The rise of the patrician class!

I remember running to Luckoo pool on Saturdays and Sundays and as long as you get there and had your dime you are in frolicking for your time period. That was a tiny pool. I was never turned away from the pool or told I had to be in a class to gain access.

There is too much "classism " in Guyana . There is NO reason why every community shouldn't have a recreation area inclusive of  pool ( doesn 't have to be olympic sized ) , playground , basketball court and open playing field available free of cost !

There should be such facilities in Buxton , Lusignan , Annnadale , Agricola ..EVERY community . It can be done . If the GOG is serious about human development , these facilities can be developed . Hire youths from the areas to build and maintain these facilities . TOO much siphoning of funds going on . 

And lets not forget Berbice , Linden , the Interior areas , Essiquibo etc . Guyana is more than just Georgetown .

Originally Posted by Guyanese4eva:

There is too much "classism " in Guyana . There is NO reason why every community shouldn't have a recreation area inclusive of  pool ( doesn 't have to be olympic sized ) , playground , basketball court and open playing field available free of cost !

There should be such facilities in Buxton , Lusignan , Annnadale , Agricola ..EVERY community . It can be done . If the GOG is serious about human development , these facilities can be developed . Hire youths from the areas to build and maintain these facilities . TOO much siphoning of funds going on . 

And lets not forget Berbice , Linden , the Interior areas , Essiquibo etc . Guyana is more than just Georgetown .

Wah alyuh tink, diss ah disney land.  Wenn PNC bin gatt alyuh swimmin in punt trench dam, all yuh dozz seh in howdy massa.  Now alyuh waan PPP fa put alyuh in wundaland.  Now alyuh geh wan swim pool and wah alyuh do, protest and waan mo soa no mo wuk, juss remittance and pool side party.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Wah alyuh tink, diss ah disney land.  Wenn PNC bin gatt alyuh swimmin in punt trench dam, all yuh dozz seh in howdy massa.  Now alyuh waan PPP fa put alyuh in wundaland.  Now alyuh geh wan swim pool and wah alyuh do, protest and waan mo soa no mo wuk, juss remittance and pool side party.

Dude/Dudette , quit using PNC as a benchmark . This is 2012 . It is financially feasible to develop a recreation area inclusive of a pool in each community . It is an investment that would repay infinite dividends . You know of the rampant stealing and financial corruption that goes on . Private persons have pools in their yard . Why not develop each community by providing recreational facilities . It is financially possible /feasible/achievable .

In 2012 , a community pool is not  viewed as a luxury . Maybe in Guyana it is , while much financial corruption takes place .

Dude/Dudette , quit using PNC as a benchmark . This is 2012 . It is financially feasible to develop a recreation area inclusive of a pool in each community . It is an investment that would repay infinite dividends . You know of the rampant stealing and financial corruption that goes on . Private persons have pools in their yard . Why not develop each community by providing recreational facilities . It is financially possible /feasible/achievable .

In 2012 , a community pool is not  viewed as a luxury . Maybe in Guyana it is , while much financial corruption takes place .

Di moo alyuh get, di moo alyuh want.  Dem mek one pool, dem a pickit and now alyuh waan pool in every village.  Di PPP muss fokus on reducing poverty and improving edukashun naat mekkin fun and frolich.  If dem village want datt leh dem get to gedda, sub up, build di pool and fund da maintenance.  Datt is natt central Govt wuk.  Nex ting alyuh want is dem build latrin and kitchen fuh alyuh.  Me natt no PPP fan but diss wan mi tink PPP gettin' wan bad rapp.

Yea, alyuh up deh tink is basic but alyuh poor wah cyant afford medical insurance ah leff fuh punish and drap dead.  Fix datt up deh, denn talk bout free swimpool donk hay.  Now read and shut up.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fabcnews.go.com%2FHealth%2Finsurance-24-year-dies-toothache%2Fstory%3Fid%3D14438171&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNHmNBkLPE6_yB1o0-faui8hagYPWw&sig2=YaYgJIj5K74REJClZRP2wQ

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CDoQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.washingtonpost.com%2Fwp-dyn%2Fcontent%2Farticle%2F2007%2F02%2F27%2FAR2007022702116.html&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNHmSNZK_-IpvTLCaQPPXhRFxJ1mKA&sig2=hVhwuUICf7ZNzgMXEBi5sg

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=3&sqi=2&ved=0CEAQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.washingtonpost.com%2Flocal%2F5-years-after-boy-dies-from-toothache-maryland-medicaid-dental-care-is-on-mend%2F2012%2F02%2F15%2FgIQANEJoGR_story.html&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNEsa0NQW6rXuWl1fJRO7GcUylyBaA&sig2=5lmVpsxHnvRnYdDW1j2GjQ

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=4&sqi=2&ved=0CEYQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theroot.com%2Fbuzz%2Funemployed-uninsured-man-dies-tooth-infection&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNE0o-UBCAoIpbl7eTeGnmGOxKdCpg&sig2=gDc3yVEHiS1E1WhnzVD53g

I remember running to Luckoo pool on Saturdays and Sundays and as long as you get there and had your dime you are in frolicking for your time period. That was a tiny pool. I was never turned away from the pool or told I had to be in a class to gain access.

Don't play dumb, this is an training facility for athletes, not a public pool like Luckoo used to be for the general public. That is another project that should be financed by private money, not govt. 

Yep, we are farming Olympic class swimmers!

Nah laff abie, dem goa come, it tek time, dah pool juss opan.  Abie goa senn abie lil coolie and black chilruns fuh kik alyuh fatt rass up deh, juss wait and see.

Di moo alyuh get, di moo alyuh want.  Dem mek one pool, dem a pickit and now alyuh waan pool in every village.  Di PPP muss fokus on reducing poverty and improving edukashun naat mekkin fun and frolich.  If dem village want datt leh dem get to gedda, sub up, build di pool and fund da maintenance.  Datt is natt central Govt wuk.  Nex ting alyuh want is dem build latrin and kitchen fuh alyuh.  Me natt no PPP fan but diss wan mi tink PPP gettin' wan bad rapp.

Yea, alyuh up deh tink is basic but alyuh poor wah cyant afford medical insurance ah leff fuh punish and drap dead.  Fix datt up deh, denn talk bout free swimpool donk hay.  Now read and shut up.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fabcnews.go.com%2FHealth%2Finsurance-24-year-dies-toothache%2Fstory%3Fid%3D14438171&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNHmNBkLPE6_yB1o0-faui8hagYPWw&sig2=YaYgJIj5K74REJClZRP2wQ

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CDoQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.washingtonpost.com%2Fwp-dyn%2Fcontent%2Farticle%2F2007%2F02%2F27%2FAR2007022702116.html&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNHmSNZK_-IpvTLCaQPPXhRFxJ1mKA&sig2=hVhwuUICf7ZNzgMXEBi5sg

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=3&sqi=2&ved=0CEAQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.washingtonpost.com%2Flocal%2F5-years-after-boy-dies-from-toothache-maryland-medicaid-dental-care-is-on-mend%2F2012%2F02%2F15%2FgIQANEJoGR_story.html&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNEsa0NQW6rXuWl1fJRO7GcUylyBaA&sig2=5lmVpsxHnvRnYdDW1j2GjQ

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=4&sqi=2&ved=0CEYQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theroot.com%2Fbuzz%2Funemployed-uninsured-man-dies-tooth-infection&ei=Nm2YT5WiGsTg6QGXt7SCBw&usg=AFQjCNE0o-UBCAoIpbl7eTeGnmGOxKdCpg&sig2=gDc3yVEHiS1E1WhnzVD53g

You act as though Guyana belongs to the government . It doesn't . It belongs to the people of Guyana , hence providing recreational facilities such as swimming pools should not be seen as  gifts .

In an era with unprecedented financial corruption and sudden explosion of wealth by corrupted leaders , are you saying that a swimming pool in every village can not be afforded ?  Its very easy . The land is free since its Government land , demarcate a 20 x 20 lot in every village and mandate that  contractors who win government contracts do the excavation free of cost . Thats the hardest part . The rest of the pool construction can be done quite easily . It should not be hard to also provide other facilities and a beautified environment

There is an inverse relationship between crime and youth development . Providing recreational facilities would be a solid investment in the people , the youth , allowing them a healthy outlet for their energies .

You lack the vision to see that this is entirely possible . 

Nah laff abie, dem goa come, it tek time, dah pool juss opan.  Abie goa senn abie lil coolie and black chilruns fuh kik alyuh fatt rass up deh, juss wait and see.

It takes more than a pool or even 10 pools to make an Olympic class swimmer. You need a fully developed intramural  and regional competition system  plus coaches, physical therapists, dieticians, physicians etc dedicated to the long term creation of that athlete.

Bai, abie waan lil kuntry wid unda 1 mio peeple, we nah gah nuff chance with alyuh fatt big bais up deh.  Yu see, diss is juss foa mek abie compete lil in caribbean.  Mi tink lil kuntry like Guyana betta wid trying for sprint and distance running.  Datt nah need nuff infrastructure, etc.  Yuh see how dem bais from Africa and Jamaica a mek it deh, dah wah we shud do, nah swim and all datt skytes.  Bu' da Govt a try wid dah anyway, bu' looku alyuh katahars ah behave.

Ting laka diss mek opposition look stupid, dem a loose credability on deh hard issues.  PPP ah out do alyuh, how cud alyuh be so stupit me nah knoo.

On yuh point up deh, abie gah nuff nuff adda priority, including basic edukashun and healthcare.  So alyuh have fun wid all datt skytes, and wenn e' nah gud enuff, try some steriods.

The AFC always put their foot in their mouth. We need these types of facilities for professional athletes, nothing wrong here.

Approach the private sector to build pools for the masses to use. I went to Guyana and saw so many youths who did not want to play outside, they prefer to watch TV like their counterparts in North America.

Set up basketball nets and other types of small sports facilities across Guyana where the youth of Guyana can be more active on a daily basis. This can be a public/private sector venture with ad revenue being used to maintain these facilities.

The AFC always put their foot in their mouth. We need these types of facilities for professional athletes, nothing wrong here.

Approach the private sector to build pools for the masses to use. I went to Guyana and saw so many youths who did not want to play outside, they prefer to watch TV like their counterparts in North America.

Set up basketball nets and other types of small sports facilities across Guyana where the youth of Guyana can be more active on a daily basis. This can be a public/private sector venture with ad revenue being used to maintain these facilities.

Don't be fooled yuji , it is very inexpensive to build basketball courts . It doesnt cost much . As an anecdotal example , a few years ago my cousin and I built a basketball court complete with hoop , backboard and net . We built it  in the backyard , concreted a good size plot and built the court all by ourselves . I don't see why the GOG can't do the same in every village in Guyana .

It is also very easy to install a public pool in every village . The land is there , just have contractors who win bids excavate the land pro bono  and then build the pool .

Our youths are our future . Developing recreational facilities in every village is  an inexpensive investment that will repay infinite rewards .

I agree with you Guyanese4ever BUT there need to be educating the Citizens. I believe MOST of these facilities if built will be destroyed in a few years.

Wah, mi nah bin kno abie coolies up deh bin soa smart.  Abie need peeple like alyuh foa cum donk hay an tell abie wah good fuh abie.