Alliance For Change Press Conference – Wednesday December 14, 2011

1. The AFC calls for a tripartite partnership in fighting poverty
Read by Khemraj Ramjattan, Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC)

Development for Guyana means economic, political and social transformation in the shortest period of time. This transformation implies not only rapid economic growth, but also political and economic freedoms, eradication of poverty, sustainable and eco-friendly use of natural resources, access to opportunities for all ethnic groups, and gender equality.

The AFC is also calling for the establishment of a tripartite Committee to address the vexing question of poverty reduction. As the AFC campaign in the run up to the November 28 election, images of Plastic City in Vreed-en-Hoop, Pigeon Island in Mon Repos, Tiger Bay in Georgetown, D Field in Sophia, Topoo in Albion and many more shanty towns around the country especially in the Hinterland, crowded hospital beds with two patients confined to a bed, and wholesale inequality in the distribution of the wealth of the nation abound. This lopsided developmental agenda of the PPP has resulted in an unacceptable high level of poverty in our homeland. What we found is even worse occurrences of poverty among the elderly and the hinterland villages.

It would not be recommended that the minority PPP Government continue to not seriously address the poverty concerns of these two vital communities – the pensioners and the Amerindian villages, to bring rapid relief to the growing number of poor in the society. In this regard we recommend that the PPP Government conduct production audits in all the Amerindian villages to help them set up cottage industries in which they have highest productivity and use the resources of the state (the GDF Sky Van) to bring these produce in a timely manner to the coastal markets for resale using the infrastructure of the NEW GMC. Most of these resources should be used to support the pensioners, disabled and those in need of social assistance at heavily discounted prices to survive the battle against poverty while earning critical dollars for the hardworking Amerindian people who genuinely need a financial break.

In addition to all the other areas already raise by the APNU and the PPP, the AFC strongly believed as we engage in Constitutional reforms, Police reforms, ethnic relations reforms and all other types of reforms, the poorest of the poor cannot wait for targeted assistance and thus we would must act now by providing real relief immediately, while we conduct our work in parallel channels at the other reforms of national importance.

2. APNU/AFC MEETING, Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Read by Raphael Trotman, Leader of the Alliance for Change (AFC)

Representatives of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC) met again yesterday to continue the exploratory process of a creating a sustainable framework for joint engagement in the National Assembly, and the shaping of a common agenda that takes into account the needs of the Guyanese people, their expectations, and the Parties’ commitments made during the just concluded campaign.

Most importantly, the representatives discussed a wide range of issues that address governance, and the economic wellbeing of the state and its citizens. These included wide-ranging parliamentary reforms leading to a strong and participatory National Assembly, support for the strengthening of the rule of law, the lowering of the Value Added Tax, and increasing public service wages, among the most urgent. Increases in Old Age Pension, increase of public sector wages and a re-examination of the Presidents’ Pension package were also listed for review.

In the interest of continuing the discussions with a view to arriving on a consensual agenda and building a healthy relationship within the National Assembly, two sectoral working groups, in the areas of governance and the economy, were established to fast-track the process. The issue of the appointment of the Speaker of the National Assembly, and other important roles and responsibilities, remain under active discussion for resolution not as isolated items, but as part of a fuller menu of agreed measures. The two parties agreed to continue to meet and deepen their engagement and remain committed to fulfilling the mandate the people of Guyana.

3. Be your brother’s keeper
Read by Gerhard Ramsaroop, Executive Member of the Alliance for Change (AFC)

The AFC condemns the incidents of verbal and physical intimidation between our main ethnic groups coming out of the recent elections, both in our daily physical lives and on the internet. The AFC wishes to remind all those intent on these practices that the main political parties in the recent elections, and the AFC most particularly, enjoyed multi-ethnic support. Therefore, no one’s political allegiance ought to assumed simply based on their appearance.

The African Guyanese supporter of APNU must recognise that had it not been for high profile Indians such as Rupert Roopnarine in their leadership, and more importantly, the thousands of Indians who voted for the AFC, and not forgetting the overseas keyboard warriors and donors who dug deep in their pockets, we would not have had the opportunity we have today for political unity and curbing the corrupt and inept PPP. The Indian Guyanese supporter of the PPP must recognise that had it not been for the blatant marginalisation and injustices meted out to African Guyanese by successive Jagdeo administrations, they would not have felt so excluded and hurt.

The AFC urges African Guyanese to continue to be on the right side of history, as when they were side by side with Indian Guyanese under Walter Rodney, when they showed compassion for the political plight of Indian Guyanese and said, “Give Jagan a chance” in 1992, when they voted for the AFC in 2006, again in 2011, and last but not least, those protestors who continue to hold the peace. Indian Guyanese, in turn, must recognise the right of African Guyanese to peaceful protest and show compassion for a people who have suffered the most in our history – not only during the colonial period, but also under both the PNC and PPP. It must also be recognised that GECOM’s shortfalls, such as the last minute changing of polling stations, and misguided arrogance, such as when they failed to state that the Statements of Poll will be made accessible on the first day objections were raised, is equally to be blamed for the tension that exists today.

However, the AFC takes pride that those who voted for the AFC lie in almost perfect proportion to the ethnic makeup of our country, African, Indian, Amerindian, and together they prevented either of the main ethnicities from dominating as they have done in the past. The AFC therefore repeats to the nation, the war is over - we must be our brother’s keeper.

End.

AFC should not be allowed to use this website as theirs. Let them start their own website, wait..... they closed down their own and now post here bullying and try to silence folks who speak the truth. Admin, the election has ended and AFC needs to use their own resources to prop up their seven seats.
G
Originally posted by Guyana1:
AFC should not be allowed to use this website as theirs. Let them start their own website, wait..... they closed down their own and now post here bullying and try to silence folks who speak the truth. Admin, the election has ended and AFC needs to use their own resources to prop up their seven seats.

Where were you when this place was littered everyday with PPP propaganda? The same thing over and over, absolutely nothing new. You musta missed that.

AFC should not be allowed to use this website as theirs.

Everyone can post information that meet GNI's rules and guidelines.

There are no indications that these annoncements/information, past or current, are inconsistent with the guidelines for this site.
They closed down their own website. Ask Gerhard.

Why are you so vindictive, when President Ramotar is trying to bring national unity among the political parties in Guyana ?
This has nothing with President Ramotar.

Are you talking about a different Guyana ?

It is people like you who will make Ramotar work that much more harder.

Guyana1,

A forum for the widest dissemination of information is by far the most beneficial to all Guyanese. When was the last time have you clicked on New Nation or The Mirror sites?
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Was AFC really a member of APNU in disguise? Wink

It could be, however the reason that the AFC didn't join the APNU partnership was because they would have lost the Indian votes. This was a shrewd decision by the PNC to set up this fake party to cannibalize the PPP base. I believe that the AFC leadership hates the PPP enough to give the country over to the PNC once again. If the Indians and Amerindians who voted AFC don't ketch sense then this may very well happen in 2016, especially if Granger gets more of his people to the polls rather than the dismal 73%.

Why don’t you start your own forum with people of your ilk with you. You don’t know anything about this forum and you have the audacity to come here and speak of banning people. Look mate the admin should ban your silly ass for even suggesting this. You speak of the ills of Burnham and the PNC yet you want to do the same thing he did. Why don’t you run along to the backdam where you belong.
The AFC condemns the incidents of verbal and physical intimidation between our main ethnic groups coming out of the recent elections, both in our daily physical lives and on the internet.

The man talking about GNI. Amral, the man say yuh slack for allowing this Big Grin
TI
curbing the corrupt and inept PPP

Verbiage like the above by flower shop gofer boy is not conducive to cooperation among the 3 parties. This is clearly an antagonistic approach and they expect the PPP to bend over backwards to their will. You can't expect cooperation with dunces like this fool making such hateful statements without any evidence.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
GR, you should caution Ramjattan and ask him to apologise for threatening to beat up Jagdeo..

Rama,is this how you are helping Ramotar to build National Unity ?
Members of the opposition are acting irresponsible.

It is strange that you say this because I see some of the most progressive suggestions coming from the opposition !.....
GR full of SHIT. THIS CHAP CONTINUES TO SELL BLOODY SNAKEOIL. SHAMELESS POLITICAL PROSTITUTE!!!
However, the AFC takes pride that those who voted for the AFC lie in almost perfect proportion to the ethnic makeup of our country, African, Indian, Amerindian
Originally posted by Tola:
GR, you should caution Ramjattan and ask him to apologise for threatening to beat up Jagdeo..

Rama,is this how you are helping Ramotar to build National Unity ?

Criminals must be put behind bars..
Originally posted by Nehru:
GR full of SHIT. THIS CHAP CONTINUES TO SELL BLOODY SNAKEOIL. SHAMELESS POLITICAL PROSTITUTE!!!

However, the AFC takes pride that those who voted for the AFC lie in almost perfect proportion to the ethnic makeup of our country, African, Indian, Amerindian
Before I agree with yu, I want to know his background. Whe ee went to school? I know ee know a little bit about flower plant, so he should be minister of agriculture.

GR is the AFC's shadow minister for Information, youth, sports and culture.

Congrats GR.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dhall:
Before I agree with yu, I want to know his background. Whe ee went to school? I know ee know a little bit about flower plant, so he should be minister of agriculture. [QUOTE]

He never bin to school like Iman, Iman uses to teach English, yasuh. GR larn all that he know from dese here forums.
LOL and he has no seat in parliament. Big Belly thug.

Congrats GR.
G
LOL and he has no seat in parliament. Big Belly thug.

Congrats GR.
Bro ease up on the personal. Gerhard worked for a party as was his right as a citizen and there is nothing thuggish in that. Your facile attempt to disparage the man will not make him so. His character shines through.