Govt refuses to send embattled GPL CEO on leave
January 1, 2016 By GuyanaTimes
– says he will stay on during probe
There is no need for interim Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Power and Light Company (GPL), Colin Welch, to be sent on leave while he is being investigated, Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson has announced.
The Ministry is currently conducting internal investigations of alleged misconduct, fraud and corruption that surfaced recently against Welch.
However, at the Public Infrastructure Ministry’s year-end press briefing, Minister Patterson said the acting GPL CEO would not be sent on leave unless the findings of the investigations proved otherwise.
“I have not found it necessary to move him until that investigation is completed… his current status there doesn’t impede the investigations,” Patterson pointed out.
Asked whether it is procedural for someone under investigations to remain on the job, the Public Infrastructure Minister explained that it depended on the nature of the probe.
Welch was elevated from Deputy CEO Technical following former CEO Bharat Dindyal being relieved of his duties in August. At that time, Welch was accused of forging his credentials.
The acting CEO has once again found himself in hot water after allegations surfaced of his alleged involvement in the tendering process for a multimillion-dollar meter contract. However, Welch told Guyana Times that the allegations being levelled against him were totally fabricated, and, as such, he saw no “validity” in the accusations.
This newspaper understands that fraud was detected in the tendering process for about 28,000 prepaid meters being supplied to GPL at a cost in excess of US$4 million.
In April last, the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) closed the bids with Tesco PLC, a British company that won the contract and undertook to supply the prepaid meters to Guyana.
Tesco was going to procure the meters from Shenzhen Clou Electronics Company Limited of China to supply to GPL.
Subsequently, one bidder raised objections about the evaluation and award, claiming that Tesco’s supplier, Shenzhen Clou Electronics Company Limited, does not manufacture the 100amp meters required by GPL.
This resulted in the tender board writing both Tesco and Shenzhen, seeking clarifications.
It was during the waiting period for responses that the controversially appointed Welch allegedly contacted the Chinese company, stating that it must lie about having the 100amp prepaid meters available in other countries.
Since the allegations came to light, Transparency Institute Guyana Inc (TIGI) had issued a statement, denouncing the ‘cavalier treatment’ by the APNU/AFC coalition on the matter.
It stated that as a result of non-action by the Administration, the CEO is being given the chance to “correct himself in future, if not completely absolve him from any consequences of his actions”.
Welch seems never devoid of a controversy. In early August, Welch had clashed with Dindyal at GPL’s Sheriff Street offices after the then CEO overturned a decision to send home two senior staffers.
Prior to that, his actions had landed him under the microscope when he reportedly instructed a metering crew to conduct a search of Freedom House for the purpose of investigating.
Dindyal had acknowledged there was a ‘trend’ or ‘pattern’ being developed which indicated that Welch had been sending GPL crews to properties of persons who were/are affiliated with the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C).

This is blatant Racism. This will be one of our biggest problems in 2016.

Are you aware that the tender and his employment was under. the PPP gov't  ,as for Dindial  he was highly overpaid.

Acting GPL CEO would not be sent on leave unless the findings of the investigations proved otherwise.

“I have not found it necessary to move him until that investigation is completed… his current status there doesn’t impede the investigations,” Patterson pointed out.

Are you aware that the tender and his employment was under. the PPP gov't  ,as for Dindial  he was highly overpaid.

So now you have an underpaid, incompetent idiot who barely has any education telling consumers that they need to pay for six months of electricity before he can connect disconnected lines.  He is asking for payment for services not yet provided.  According to Ramkarran, Dindial was one of the best state managers Guyana has ever seen.  You get what you pay for.

Ask the former Gov't where they find that chap from,i hope the fire him the question is if he signed a contract,any way they were not renewing Dindial contract.

apparently u were busy doing street wuk at night when that 'endorsement' famously blew up in Ralph Ramkarran's face

lol

Try to make sense.  Dindyal was also employed by the PPP. If he cheated, was corrupted with the "PPP" Tender, is he exempt from prosecution??

Are you saying one can only be punished depending on which Party in Govt??  Either I am misunderstanding you or you are one confused Fella.

Try to make sense.  Dindyal was also employed by the PPP. If he cheated, was corrupted with the "PPP" Tender, is he exempt from prosecution??

Are you saying one can only be punished depending on which Party in Govt??  Either I am misunderstanding you or you are one confused Fella.

nehru, what incoherent shyte are u babbling here?

just because u can doesn't mean that u must post skont in this lame effort to validate your miserable nothing existence

tek a douche, go back outside and try harder to hustle up some rough trade . . . i know it's cold outside tonight, but do it anyway

redux posted:

just because u can doesn't mean that u must post skont in this lame effort to validate your miserable nothing existence

tek a douche, go back outside and try harder to hustle up some rough trade . . . i know it's cold outside tonight, but do it anyway

I dont expect a DUMB ASS like you to understand ABC---Z!!!!!!!!

redux posted:

I dont expect a DUMB ASS like you to understand ABC---Z!!!!!!!!

it cold outside nuh