AFC MP “buy out” was fabricated – Granger hints

September 19, 2014 1:03 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Kurt Campbell

Opposition Leader, David Granger. [iNews' Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Opposition Leader and Leader of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), David Granger says he is very confident that all his Parliamentarians will vote solidly in support of the No – Confidence Motion against the Donald Ramotar led Administration when the time arises.

His comment comes a day after Alliance for Changer (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan claimed that there were attempts by the government to buy the support of three opposition MPs at $30M each.

At his weekly press briefing this morning, Friday, September 19, Granger said he is very confident that it was none of his MPs.

While he did not state what led him to hold such a strong position, Granger sought to hint that the claim may very well be a fabrication.

“I don’t know if there is an offer at all… I don’t know who made it up or where it came from,” he told reporters; adding that there is no discussion between the ruling People’s Progressing Party and his opposition coalition to hold off on the no confidence vote.

When Ramjattan made the starling disclosure yesterday, he did not reveal which opposition Party members the PPP is in talks with for their support but stated that the AFC has put measures in place to ensure its members do not buy into the PPP’s plot.

To this end, Ramjattan believes his MPs will hold true to the Party’s position.

He said he could not speak for APNU but said from all indication, that Party’s membership in the House will vote ‘yes’ on the Motion.

Opposition members in Parliament

Ramjattan has since been called upon by the government and the ruling Party to disclose fully the details of this alleged “buy out” even as it categorically denies the allegation.

The  Office of the President says it views with utter shock the latest public revelation by the Ramjattan; adding that this startling disclosure follows a long line of reckless and baseless utterances emanating from the AFC.

“The Office of the President rejects this outrageous allegation and challenges Ramjattan to disclose, forthwith and publicly, the names of these three Parliamentarians to which he makes reference and to further make a full and frank public disclosure of all or any information which he claims he has received in relation to this matter,” the statement added.

The AFC on August 07 hardened its position in going forward with a vote of no – confidence against the Donald Ramotar led administration by submitting the document to Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs. Granger had given the AFC all assurance that his Party will support the motion in the House when it is put to a vote.

Where did he deny that such an offer could have been made? He said he did not know of it. He had to look into the case where one of his mysteriously disappeared from the floor at a crucial moment that allowed the waste of the nations money on the specialty hospital. He publicly stated he was not for it but his party allowed it to happen. It is therefore not remote that something untoward occurred here. Many in the media and the public were not convinced on the explanation of how it happened. They suspected foul play ie a buy out by the PPP of a representative.

“I don’t know if there is an offer at all… I don’t know who made it up or where it came from,” he told reporters".

Where are the passenger on run away train?

Why is "I don't know if there was an offer"...a lesser statement?

“I don’t know if there is an offer at all… I don’t know who made it up or where it came from,” he told reporters".

If you want to entertain an alleged claim that is still unproven, be my guests. The main opposition disagree with AFC on this matter.

Bhai, These Chaps are capable of appearing as lead Witnesses to MURDER despite not having any knowledge of it. This is the type of people the PPP has to deal with. Yuh ever heard the term "White Mouth LIARS"???

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The AFC's red herring has backfired on them...

Like I stated earlier today, the KFC is made up of LUNATICS!!!!!

They all live in the wild, wild west, where they shoot first and ask questions later. They're afraid of something that I can't explain.

Having complete lack of trust; knowing they have attempted to buy off Amerinds, and knowing they have their backs to the wall I most certainly can entertain the possibility of these corrupt fellows spending a few coins to maintain their thieving fingers in the cookie jar.

The AFC is just being mischievous, in an attempt to attract a ray of limelight, both the A.P.N.U and AFC knows to their gut, the worst case scenario is another P.P.P minority gov't. No wonder A.P.N.U wants to abandoned the snap election idea and push for local government elections instead. super ego-centrism has clouded the already blared vision of the AFC. 

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The AFC is just being mischievous, in an attempt to attract a ray of limelight, both the A.P.N.U and AFC knows to their gut, the worst case scenario is another P.P.P minority gov't. No wonder A.P.N.U wants to abandoned the snap election idea and push for local government elections instead. super ego-centrism has clouded the already blared vision of the AFC. 

dude...another minority government is in the works most likely but a boot in the ass is not unlikely either. Another minority government means another two years then out goes the lot of you and then for good. Meanwhile...your thievery is in check.

Where did he deny that such an offer could have been made? He said he did not know of it. He had to look into the case where one of his mysteriously disappeared from the floor at a crucial moment that allowed the waste of the nations money on the specialty hospital. He publicly stated he was not for it but his party allowed it to happen. It is therefore not remote that something untoward occurred here. Many in the media and the public were not convinced on the explanation of how it happened. They suspected foul play ie a buy out by the PPP of a representative.

EH eh, look who defending Mr Grainja now, Mr Conscience?

Hmmm????

What really going on now?

I confused?

The PPP protecting the PNC and the PNC protecting the PPP?

Well well.