The Alliance for Change (AFC) says it has uncovered massive fraud at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) as it relates to the award of contracts.

At a press conference today, Thursday July 17, Executive Member, Cathy Hughes told reporters senior officials may be using their office to perpetuate fraud against CJIA.

“The AFC was made to understand that a senior employee who had attempted to defraud the company by identifying an imposter as a contractor to whom large sums of money were payable, is still on the job”.

Hughes further alleged that the individual was blacklisted by a local bank and can no longer transact business with the financial institution after their attempts were thwarted.

The AFC member noted that, “In almost every other organisation this employee would have been dismissed immediately but, according to reports reaching the AFC, the employee acts in collusion with senior colleagues in a tight knit circle committing various acts of fraud against the company including siphoning off building supplies to the construction and renovations of the homes of the same senior officials. Reports also point to a possible abuse of the Duty Free Concession.”

The Party is calling for a thorough investigation into “this massive illegality and for justice to be served.”

The AFC is yet to hand over this information to the Police to conduct its investigations and Hughes noted that this will be done until after all the information is gathered.

“The Alliance For Change is gathering evidence of the multitude of wrongdoings and while we understand that employees fear victimisation if they should report what is happening at the airport, we call on them to speak and help stop fraud.”

Hughes, also plans to “name names” if the matter is not investigated and persons are not held accountable for this type of illegality.

It was Hughes who uncovered the massive irregularities at the National Communications Network that led to the resignation of senior employees at the state run television.

"chief crook" . . . really??

whose dutty wata yuh carrying bai?

harseman . . . please point us to this massive tiefin that Kathy Hughes is supposed to have engaged in

thanks in advance

harseman . . . please point us to this massive tiefin that Kathy Hughes is supposed to have engaged in

thanks in advance

Jumbie asking Jumbie.......

where is De Beef

thanks in advance

where is De Beef

u fetchin dutty wata too, eh punk?

thanks in advance

where is De Beef

u fetchin dutty wata too, eh punk?

Being called a Punk by a PNC Crab Louse cannot be a Bad thing.

OOooooooh Raaaaaaaaani.

We will support your PNC Monkey Mountain Dreams.

Crook doan mean teefin only Redux, you need to get a proper dictionary.

Like you already forget Cathy and her husband being paid by Amalia falls principals and then going to parliament and voting on the very said bill to benefit these gangsters. You doan remember that do you?

I can go on but do your own research and shock your memory back into reality.

Crook doan mean teefin only Redux, you need to get a proper dictionary.

Like you already forget Cathy and her husband being paid by Amalia falls principals and then going to parliament and voting on the very said bill to benefit these gangsters. You doan remember that do you?

I can go on but do your own research and shock your memory back into reality.

dude, (i) for all kinds of complex reasons, the AFC as a party supported the Amaila Falls boondoggle when it came down to crunch time . . . to place that unfortunate decision at the feet of NIGEL HUGHES (not an MP) and his wife is an exercise in INVIDIOUS scampishness

(ii) please provide the evidence that Nigel Hughes (lawyer) profited beyond transactional remuneration for his ['un-secret'] turn as incorporating secretary to the AFHP local subsidiary

(iii) being a "chief crook" requires some kind of scale to be credible and outside the boundaries of petit slander . . . so please explain how Kathy Hughes' ['un-secret'] early PR work for the same local AFHP outfit (i was one of the early, most vociferous and outspoken critics of this tone deaf political blunder) rises to the (PPP??) level of criminality u are slyly portraying here

What you call political blunder is scampishness and unethical.

The situation involving Hughes and the Mae's school situation as well is yet another example of less than above board behavior that allows the PPP to attack the party they represent.

Cathy Hughes insistence that she did nothing wrong and her refusal to apologize for her unethical behavior demonstrates she is not very different than the PPP.

Cathy Hughes also as a senior executive of the Party was involved in a lot of shenanigans during the elections where she was being paid for "campaign work" she could not produce any bills for her work.

All of this points to a pattern of unethical behavior which must not be tolerated at any level. That is of scale.

The situation involving Hughes and the Mae's school situation as well is yet another example of less than above board behavior that allows the PPP to attack the party they represent.

Cathy Hughes insistence that she did nothing wrong and her refusal to apologize for her unethical behavior demonstrates she is not very different than the PPP.

Cathy Hughes also as a senior executive of the Party was involved in a lot of shenanigans during the elections where she was being paid for "campaign work" she could not produce any bills for her work.

All of this points to a pattern of unethical behavior which must not be tolerated at any level. That is of scale.

banna, i see u in full retreat on the AFHP thing for all the OBVIOUS reasons

now u shamefully resorting to un-provable allegations of "shenanigans" over petty cash for party work by Kathy Hughes

and, explain the "Mae's School situation" for abee suh dat we can appreciate de 'crime' that (lawyer) Nigel Hughes commit deh

scrape the bottom of the barrel much, eh?

hope da bucket of dutty wata yuh toting deh doan break yuh back

who is retreating on AFHP? Nigel Hughes lied to the public he did not tell anyone in the AFC he was on Amalia falls payroll.

The fact that he was making millions and his wife was making millions and they convinced Ramjattan and the AFC to go along with their shenanigans to then go and vote to repeat another jagdeo scam demonstrates that these people are crooks. Full out crooks you cannot escape from that.

You are a fool if you are going to step out and defend characters like this, these are the problems with Guyanese they worship politicians as gods and therein lies the problem.

You are full of it.

who is retreating on AFHP? Nigel Hughes lied to the public he did not tell anyone in the AFC he was on Amalia falls payroll [idiot! his work for the company was/is a matter of public record; ask Prakash Ramjattan].

. . .

"Nigel Hughes lied to the public" . . . when?

listen to yuhself . . . are u that dumb?

. . . The fact that he was making millions and his wife was making millions and they convinced Ramjattan and the AFC to go along with their shenanigans to then go and vote to repeat another jagdeo scam demonstrates that these people are crooks. Full out crooks you cannot escape from that . . .

more nonsense . . . reducing the entire AFC leadership to infants with no agency beyond the desires of the Hughes

are u for real?

put down dat bucket of dutty wata u fetchin and think hard about how u embarrassing yuhself hay

The Alliance for Change (AFC) says it has uncovered massive fraud at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) as it relates to the award of contracts.

At a press conference today, Thursday July 17, Executive Member, Cathy Hughes told reporters senior officials may be using their office to perpetuate fraud against CJIA.

“The AFC was made to understand that a senior employee who had attempted to defraud the company by identifying an imposter as a contractor to whom large sums of money were payable, is still on the job”.

Hughes further alleged that the individual was blacklisted by a local bank and can no longer transact business with the financial institution after their attempts were thwarted.

The AFC member noted that, “In almost every other organisation this employee would have been dismissed immediately but, according to reports reaching the AFC, the employee acts in collusion with senior colleagues in a tight knit circle committing various acts of fraud against the company including siphoning off building supplies to the construction and renovations of the homes of the same senior officials. Reports also point to a possible abuse of the Duty Free Concession.”

The Party is calling for a thorough investigation into “this massive illegality and for justice to be served.”

The AFC is yet to hand over this information to the Police to conduct its investigations and Hughes noted that this will be done until after all the information is gathered.

“The Alliance For Change is gathering evidence of the multitude of wrongdoings and while we understand that employees fear victimisation if they should report what is happening at the airport, we call on them to speak and help stop fraud.”

Hughes, also plans to “name names” if the matter is not investigated and persons are not held accountable for this type of illegality.

It was Hughes who uncovered the massive irregularities at the National Communications Network that led to the resignation of senior employees at the state run television.

What has the lady done that is crooked? She worked for motilal in a PR role and while that is unseeingly from where I stand it is not illegal and as a matter of fact it is openly allowed practice by all. Romatar squatted on OMAI board while they purported never made a profit in 20 years and while they got sweetheart deals as buying state enterprises for 5 million and reselling it 4 years later for 45 million.

To frame Cathy as an AFC crook is being disingenuous. You may have personal ethical concerns with her and it is best you say so in clear and cogent terms than label her an AFC crook. It is the same kind of character assassination  one is fighting against with the PPP race baiting in their framing of  PNC as congenital thieves.

who is retreating on AFHP? Nigel Hughes lied to the public he did not tell anyone in the AFC he was on Amalia falls payroll.

The fact that he was making millions and his wife was making millions and they convinced Ramjattan and the AFC to go along with their shenanigans to then go and vote to repeat another jagdeo scam demonstrates that these people are crooks. Full out crooks you cannot escape from that.

You are a fool if you are going to step out and defend characters like this, these are the problems with Guyanese they worship politicians as gods and therein lies the problem.

You are full of it.

You have a point.  They cannot be playing both sides of the same coin. Amalia falls was a bad deal for our people since if it came to fruition it would have resulted in the highest cost of electricity in the region. It would have done us no good and both of these people on the side of trying to make this happen reeks of the same thing that give us Skeldon or the selling of DEMBA to OMAI for 4 million and OMAI reselling it ( under a different name) for 45 Million

If you think Skeldon is bad as the finances are being laid out today.

Amalia fall would have been 1000 times worse for the children of Guyana. That is what Nigel and Cathy were hideously pushing for with Ramjattan like a goat licking from the same trough.

Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, was appointed as the ‘Secretary’ of the Amaila Falls Hydro Inc., the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.
Executive Member of the AFC, Cathy Hughes, the wife of Nigel Hughes, as recent as yesterday issued a press statement in which she was identified as the Public Relations Officer for Sithe Global, locally.
Party Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, when contacted said that he was aware that Hughes has an association with the company but said he did not know that he was Company Secretary.

Excerpts from the Kaieteurnews

Is Cathy Hughes above public scrutiny?

September 4, 2013 · By Staff Writer · 10 Comments    Next Article »

Print

Dear Editor,

Perception is everything in politics. Mrs Cathy Hughes being on the payroll of Sithe Global and making decisions in the AFC on Sithe does not seem right.  I as an ordinary person have forgiven Mr Nigel Hughes since he did the honourable thing and resigned from one of the entities he has been involved in, and even issued a public apology.

However, none of this was forthcoming from Mrs Cathy Hughes and it has been a month now.  Is she above public scrutiny?

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

extracted from the Stabroeknews

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, was appointed as the ‘Secretary’ of the Amaila Falls Hydro Inc., the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.
Executive Member of the AFC, Cathy Hughes, the wife of Nigel Hughes, as recent as yesterday issued a press statement in which she was identified as the Public Relations Officer for Sithe Global, locally.
Party Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, when contacted said that he was aware that Hughes has an association with the company but said he did not know that he was Company Secretary.

Excerpts from the Kaieteurnews

You should stay off the conversation since the PPP is the worse plague of crooks ever to infest the place.

Well Danyael I agree the PPP are worst parasites that is why I am frankly surprised that Cathy is not a PPP minister.

And Cathy is not Surprised....

you are busy Drafting the PNC Action Plan

to move Congress Place to Monkey Mountain.

Both Cathy & Nigel wish

you and Mamoo well....

in your new Home....

Hope you settle down nicely in Monkey Mountain.

and you are allowed to the front of the cage...

I see our principal AFC Goon Harseman alluded to Cathy Hughes' suspect "campaign work" bills over a year ago.

Missed it.

Shaitan

if your intimate knowledge

has any truth to it,

And now you claim

your truth 

is based on One of the reasons

cited by many "foreign" places.

why are you refusing to expose Cathy....

I AM SAYING

LET US LOCK HER UP...

Bhai I taught you had proof

so we can Jail Cathy...

Now you story is like De Venezula Claim,

another man say .......

that anotherman say...

in 1899

Now yuh ah tell abee yuh proof is wan top AFC man

who say something a long time ago....

and he change eee story.....

and where da leff you with your claim

and (1) your intimate knowledge

and

(2)Your reasons cited by many "foreign" places.

Is Cathy Hughes above public scrutiny?

SEPTEMBER 4, 2013 · BY STAFF WRITER · 10 COMMENTS   NEXT ARTICLE »

Print

Dear Editor,

Perception is everything in politics. Mrs Cathy Hughes being on the payroll of Sithe Global and making decisions in the AFC on Sithe does not seem right.  I as an ordinary person have forgiven Mr Nigel Hughes since he did the honourable thing and resigned from one of the entities he has been involved in, and even issued a public apology.

However, none of this was forthcoming from Mrs Cathy Hughes and it has been a month now.  Is she above public scrutiny?

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

If you think Skeldon is bad as the finances are being laid out today.

Amalia fall would have been 1000 times worse for the children of Guyana. That is what Nigel and Cathy were hideously pushing for with Ramjattan like a goat licking from the same trough.

OK.