Access limitations removed as Gov’t opens squash, lawn tennis courts

Georgetown, GINA, November 11, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo, assisted by two young ladies unveil the plaque to the building that houses the squash court

Sports enthusiast desirous of becoming active participants in the games of squash and lawn tennis now have the means to realise their true potential as President Bharrat Jagdeo today commissioned the public squash and refurbished lawn tennis courts.

The newly opened facility joins the list of modern sports infrastructure government has been investing in, given the room now available financially to build on existential issues, according to President Jagdeo.

The new facilities emanated out of talks between President Jagdeo and members of the squash association of Guyana a few years ago and are located at the same Woolford Avenue venue where, for decades, a neglected lawn tennis court existed.

The squash court building

President Jagdeo said that the neglect was due to the fact that the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) was on a path to returning solvency to the economy and had to prioritize the social services sectors.

Diligent work to repair Guyana’s bankrupt economy facilitated the room now available and, according to President Jagdeo, the increase in allocations in the national budgets to sports stands as evidence.

Squash and lawn tennis however, had their own bureaucracies but the Head of State said that the time has long gone when a person’s true potential to develop in sport is impeded by affluence.

“We are decentralizing, because we want more access by more people right across Guyana. The squash court particularly that we constructed, we wanted to overcome that problem… where lack of income could be an inhibiting factor to entry into a particular sport,” President Jagdeo said.

The refurbished tennis court was constructed with two training areas and an expanded spectator pavilion while the squash court comes with a specially built floor.

The refurbished lawn tennis court, Woolford Avenue

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony said that the direct beneficiaries will be school children attending schools in the vicinity and announced that the Sport Ministry has outlined a calendar of structured training programmes.

The facility will provide a niche for training seminars some of which will include training for refereeing and officiating. A slot will also be available for reading and electronic materials on sports.

Minister Anthony announced that there have been talks with representatives of the Guyana Table Tennis who are exploring the idea of a headquarters and have expressed willingness to partner with Government for this to be realized.

A youth practicing in the new squash court as President Bharrat Jagdeo, accompanied by Sport Minister Dr Frank Anthony and other officials are taken on a tour of the building.

A home for badminton is also envisaged and, according to Minister Anthony, those plans will come to fruition in the near future.

The squash and lawn tennis courts join the recently commissioned National Aquatic Centre and will soon be joined by a synthetic track on the West Coast of Demerara and a velodrome on the East Coast of Demerara.

The newly opened facility joins the list of modern sports infrastructure government has been investing in, given the room now available financially to build on existential issues, according to President Jagdeo.

Diligent work to repair Guyana’s bankrupt economy facilitated the room now available and, according to President Jagdeo, the increase in allocations in the national budgets to sports stands as evidence.

Rass bai, like I got to take a trip back soon fuh christen the tennis courts. Every week I play tennis for 4 hours, even in the winter. Bai caribj , it look like guyana looking more and more attractive to retire. haahahhhah, A world class pool to swim my laps, buddies gym, a casino to gamble and now a tennis court? hgahahahahaha
Originally posted by cain:
Lotsa coke for yall snort, yessss!!!

You are one bitter creature. YOu should at least be happy for Guyanese for having access to such a facility. Will the AFC tear it down should they by some miracle ascend to office? I don't think so, in fact I believe Ramjattan and the pack of elites would covet this facility for themselves and other big ones. hahaahahahah