A TRAGIC DAY FOR GUYANA

Written by

Thursday, 26 April 2012 02:14

Source - Guyana Chronicle

‘FULL HOUSE’: All the seats in the National Assembly were occupied yesterday. (Adrian Narine photo)

FINANCE Minister, Dr. Ashni Singh yesterday referred to the evil intent behind the draconian budgetary cuts imposed on various entities, especially Office of the President and Office of the Prime Minister, as a wielding of ‘tyrannical scissors’.

The tyranny of the AFC/APNU partners is apparent when one considers the scant regard they have shown for the welfare of the nation’s working-class people, especially ordinary staff members of all the entities, the budgetary allocations of which have been de-gutted.

GINA and NCN employees were tearful and apprehensive about their future, because many of them are sole bread-earners of their families; some are single parents with little children and babies; and through the facilitating mechanisms initiated by government many have acquired homes and cars, so they have mortgages and loans to repay, as well as scheduled hire purchase payments.

A young first-time supporter of APNU, currently employed at GINA, tearfully said yesterday “Thank you, Mr. Granger and Mr. Ramjattan. You promised the young people of this country that you will provide us with employment opportunities; today you are taking away our jobs.”

One young man, also from GINA, who recently graduated from the Kuru Kuru vocational college and can now contribute to help his single parent mother to provide a better life for his siblings poignantly asked:  “What do I tell my mother, that just when life was beginning to get better for us, with a steady income available every month, that I have suddenly become jobless?” One mother of three employed by NCN tearfully asked what she will tell her children when they ask her for food that she would not be able to supply.

These are not figures on paper, but real people that the joint opposition have suddenly wielded their “tyrannical scissors” upon.

Hinterland communities, where Guyana’s first peoples are now enjoying the benefits of upgraded facilities that were denied them under the PNC regime, are now facing a retraction of the development in their communities that have been so ably piloted by a Bharrat Jagdeo administration; and recently poised for expansion under a Donald Ramotar presidency. Whether Dr. Ashni Singh, brilliant financial strategist that he is, will be able to pull a rabbit out of a hat to save the hinterland programmes from folding is a question that is in the heart of every Amerindian citizen in this land. Way to go, Garrido-Lowe and Dr. Norton.  One would expect betrayal of the indigenous peoples by Granger and Ramjattan, but when their own leaders that they trusted helped to wield the “tyrannical scissors” to cut budgetary allocations meant for hinterland development, then the betrayal cuts deeper than the scissors can.

Today is a sad day for Guyana, because today marks the day when the PNC, in its re-configured form of APNU, has once more trodden on the working-class peoples of the land. The vendetta of AFC members is a vainglorious attempt by PPP/C rejects to demonstrate to their former comrades that they have power despite not being able to ascend to the presidency.

And thus, once more, the Guyanese working-class people are held hostage to the power-drunk elitists, who earn millions of dollars, yet begrudge the ordinary employees of state entities mere bread-and-butter salaries. What a tragic day for Guyana.

PNC?KFC dont care RAT ASS about THE GUYANESE PEOPLE. They are ONLY concerned with their EGO, POWER and STATUS. Twenty eight years these THIEVES proved to us what they are capable of and still they are receiving 40% of the Votes. Those who voted for them, I have no sympathy for. When are you going to learn and be able to think for youeselves!!!???. I see a SNAP ELECTION before November. May the People be WISE this time.

Hinterland communities, where Guyana’s first peoples are now enjoying the benefits of upgraded facilities that were denied them under the PNC regime, are now facing a retraction of the development in their communities that have been so ably piloted by a Bharrat Jagdeo administration; and recently poised for expansion under a Donald Ramotar presidency.

Whether Dr. Ashni Singh, brilliant financial strategist that he is, will be able to pull a rabbit out of a hat to save the hinterland programmes from folding is a question that is in the heart of every Amerindian citizen in this land. Way to go, Garrido-Lowe and Dr. Norton.

One would expect betrayal of the indigenous peoples by Granger and Ramjattan, but when their own leaders that they trusted helped to wield the “tyrannical scissors” to cut budgetary allocations meant for hinterland development, then the betrayal cuts deeper than the scissors can.

PNC?KFC dont care RAT ASS about THE GUYANESE PEOPLE. They are ONLY concerned with their EGO, POWER and STATUS. Twenty eight years these THIEVES proved to us what they are capable of and still they are receiving 40% of the Votes. Those who voted for them, I have no sympathy for. When are you going to learn and be able to think for youeselves!!!???. I see a SNAP ELECTION before November. May the People be WISE this time.

-----------
Ok...back to cussin as usual

1965-1992 = PNC cum United Force = Quite cohesive.

2012-???? = PNC cum Alliance for Change = Quite cohesive.

Will there be a need for the Alliance for Change at the next election?

Man learn to read nah. Ah weh yuh see Cuss. Ah BRITE yuh BRITE suh?Originally Posted by Tar_K:

-----------
Ok...back to cussin as usual

Hinterland communities, where Guyana’s first peoples are now enjoying the benefits of upgraded facilities that were denied them under the PNC regime, are now facing a retraction of the development in their communities that have been so ably piloted by a Bharrat Jagdeo administration; and recently poised for expansion under a Donald Ramotar presidency.

Whether Dr. Ashni Singh, brilliant financial strategist that he is, will be able to pull a rabbit out of a hat to save the hinterland programmes from folding is a question that is in the heart of every Amerindian citizen in this land. Way to go, Garrido-Lowe and Dr. Norton.

One would expect betrayal of the indigenous peoples by Granger and Ramjattan, but when their own leaders that they trusted helped to wield the “tyrannical scissors” to cut budgetary allocations meant for hinterland development, then the betrayal cuts deeper than the scissors can.

This is bull. This government always had Amerindians on a string. The idea that cutting their fat salaries will impact Amerindians is PPP propaganda as usual. Note with every cut there is excess cash. Do you think the opposition only have a scissors in hand? It is re allocation!

A young first-time supporter of APNU, currently employed at GINA, tearfully said yesterday “Thank you, Mr. Granger and Mr. Ramjattan. You promised the young people of this country that you will provide us with employment opportunities; today you are taking away our jobs.”

Hundred of working class Guyanese are now jobless

This is bull. This government always had Amerindians on a string. The idea that cutting their fat salaries will impact Amerindians is PPP propaganda as usual. Note with every cut there is excess cash. Do you think the opposition only have a scissors in hand? It is re allocation!

British Government??

PPP Government??

PNCR Government??

British Government??

PPP Government??

PNCR Government??

Age has you on a time delay so before  you will get   as your processing mechanisms come on line at their own pace

British Government??

PPP Government??

PNCR Government??

Age has you on a time delay so before  you will get as your processing mechanisms come on line at their own pace

As usual, you are asleep and suffers from gross delays??

The PPP said that calling a snap election is "taking the easy route". They prefer to sit and watch the APNU and AFC destroy Guyana. It looks to me that the PPPs inaction puts them equally with the APNU and AFC. 

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

The PPP said that calling a snap election is "taking the easy route". They prefer to sit and watch the APNU and AFC destroy Guyana.

Time and patience.

One needs, not only to see, but also to feel the developments.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Hundred of working class Guyanese are now jobless

He is a Blackman. Donald will find him a job quickly. Coolies people continue to suffer under PPP=APNU=AFC.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The working class will be out of bread, due to the AFC/APNU parisan politics

Are you suggesting that the PPP is not playing partisan politics? 

A concerned employer who makes the decision to terminate staff would always have a conscience and feelings for the departed employees.

There are also many employers with feelings only for themselves.

Spamming the board with tear jerkin stories will not make it true. You are on the nation's dime and you post Party Poop all day here. That is what is being stopped. You are also on the bread line.

The PPP gov't is facing a fierce parliamentary battle due to the complacency of their supporters in the last election. In time things will pan out. The people will speak again and they will send APNU and the AFC running.

Conscience,

I don't know where you are... Guyana or US.  I called an old friend in Guyana and queried him about the current political situation. He told me that the opposition is acting in such a power-hungry fashion that the public in general is getting disgusted with this whole thing.

Is there any truth in this?

Pure and simple REVENGE by PNC and AFC because these state workers put out government information as does happen in very country in the world. Notice that the Guyana Press Association that normally cry over little things like is now dumb all of a sudden. This is the democracy Gerhard Ramsaroop want.

Great news.

Why should the taxpayers pay to fund the dissemination of PPP propaganda? Let them use the Mirror or one of their cronies can buy the NCN equipment and broadcast all the garbage they feel is necessary. The Opposition should now focus on forcing the Government to privatize the Chronicle.

Imagine paying a crew to post PPP propaganda on GNI with taxpayers' money. And during the period leading up to elections, the opposition parties cannot get any airtime on NCN. Deal with it now.   

Originally Posted by SUN-G:

Pure and simple REVENGE by PNC and AFC because these state workers put out government information as does happen in very country in the world.

Worthwhile to clearly remember.

Also, the AFC-2012 has clearly demonstrated that they are absolutely tied to the PNC and it-AFC is not independent as it professed during the pre-2011 elections.

Then it not too late to bring charges against those from the PNC. PPP does play too moral with the opposition and does bend over to please them. Notice what the opposition doing with a one vote majority. If they ever win they will fire every PPP supporter. Dat is what they mean by non-discrimination.

Originally Posted by SUN-G:

Then it not too late to bring charges against those from the PNC. PPP does play too moral with the opposition and does bend over to please them. Notice what the opposition doing with a one vote majority. If they ever win they will fire every PPP supporter. Dat is what they mean by non-discrimination.

Wah alyuh talk bout, if da PPP bin gah only one vote majority, nobady gah nuttin fuh seh, dem bin do wah dem waan an abie just gafa wach dem.  PPP nah goa bring no charges pon PNC, dem goa wuk out arrangement cazz ah dah dem bin do since CBJ dayzz in di 70's.

Ethnic relations is a farce. I do not know the clearly what the others do but if they cannot explain themselves and account for their existence; slash them.I do not see what CANU is doing since drug crime is on the increase. The PPP killed  the tactical unit so this is not great loss either.

Note with every cut there is excess cash. Do you think the opposition only have a scissors in hand? It is re allocation!

Re allocation to whom?

Originally Posted by Henry:

Note with every cut there is excess cash. Do you think the opposition only have a scissors in hand? It is re allocation!

Re allocation to whom?

Obviously not to the PPP fat cats, that's why there's lots of crying and knashing of teeth. Dem boys took away their rattle.

Originally Posted by Henry:

A substantial list or re-allocations are as  is already  in wide circulated.

As is already in wide circulated to whom?

big suck teeth ssssttteeewhhhhh!!!!