Granger was right to say the youths of Guyana belong in school

The government should take initiatives to provide adult education throughout Guyana and encourage the youths, mothers, fathers, and school dropouts to uplift their education standards. This makes Guyana look worst than I once thought.  

Guyana has a wide divergence is who gets an education and those who don’t.  A class system has developed where those with money send kids to private school or few elite schools.  The rest are left to scrounge.  

Many kids migrating today end up in remedial education.  In the past, kids from Guyana, even the most remote schools, were competitive here and many times even skipped levels.  

We work in this field in Guyana and was surprised at the high rate of functional illiteracy we encountered.  But you could not say anything to the Gov’t, dem ready fuh buse yuh down and throw the foreign thing in your face!

She should test couple people here on GNI, then you will hear Joke.

Like you want expose Warrior and Django

You shouldn't be joking about your country's illiteracy. I know you came after me about spelling typos, but that doesn't put me in the category of these youths. I am well established in business, wife, children and make decisions every day without your knowledge involved. So, watch who toes you're stepping on and stop being a show off artist. You should help to educate people rather than pissing on them. 

Dear Editor,
The rise of illiteracy in Guyana can be observed daily. I travel to Georgetown about four times a week and other parts of the country and I observe that more than 40% of our young people are street corner and market vendors. Most are school dropouts and illiterates.
On my way to Georgetown last week, I saw a very young teenage girl selling water in the middle of the road. This young lady about fifteen years old, who ought to be in school, was risking her life in the middle of the road selling bottles of water to earn a living. As I traveled another few blocks down the road, I counted about ten more boys and girls as young as ten years old selling water. 

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...lliteracy-in-guyana/

This article was written since 12/05/2013

Riff posted:
Amral posted:

I do not know about now. But if my memory serves me correct in the 70's and early 80's Guyanese school children were among  the brightest kids in the Caribbean 

yeah...during Burnham time...PPP tek ova and everything went to the dogs...ask Nehru

Did someone say DOG?? Crabdaag?? or Namakram Crabdaag???/))):0:0

Riff posted:
Amral posted:

I do not know about now. But if my memory serves me correct in the 70's and early 80's Guyanese school children were among  the brightest kids in the Caribbean 

yeah...during Burnham time...PPP tek ova and everything went to the dogs...ask Nehru

Did someone say DOG?? Crabdaag?? or Namakram Crabdaag???/))):0:0

You had a chance to educate your Buxtonian neighbors but you run away to America and leave them behind. Now, look at the results?   

Remember the song, mama send you to school to learn to spell dumpling?  

I cant wait for someone to test abee coolie drunkies.  

I went through the exercise books of a child studying for the common entrance examination the last time I was there and found something very startling. One of the prep questions for this entrance exam is how many railroad stations in Guyana. The answer is 16. Why would the ministry of education come up with such question when the railroad nor the stations existed anymore? 

Nehru bhai, it's time you bruk a whip and going into the education ministry and whip the minister and the entire staff. 

I went through the exercise books of a child studying for the common entrance examination the last time I was there and found something very startling. One of the prep questions for this entrance exam is how many railroad stations in Guyana. The answer is 16. Why would the ministry of education come up with such question when the railroad nor the stations existed anymore? 

Nehru bhai, it's time you bruk a whip and going into the education ministry and whip the minister and the entire staff. 

maybe it's a history question...

You shouldn't be joking about your country's illiteracy. I know you came after me about spelling typos, but that doesn't put me in the category of these youths. I am well established in business, wife, children and make decisions every day without your knowledge involved. So, watch who toes you're stepping on and stop being a show off artist. You should help to educate people rather than pissing on them. 

The illiteracy rate shot up after 1986 because ms goody-two-shoes abandoned her teaching job fuh Amerika!

yuh nah see, even β€œdevide” is a challenge!

Imagine how prolific it must be when the PPP scribers cannot even spell!

Watch your language.  The plural of youth is youth.  NOT youths.  In particular, when used as a collective noun.

Riff posted:

maybe it's a history question...

Read between the lines.  The teacher, realizing that the students didn’t know about Guyana’s historic railway system, came up with a way of telling them how the PNC destroyed the first railway system ever built in the continent of South America.  Students are curious.  One question leads to another.

Watch your language.  The plural of youth is youth.  NOT youths.  In particular, when used as a collective noun.

But was he being collective?  I believe he was referring to the multiple individuals interviewed, as such, youths is appropriate!  Not so?

Amral posted:

Guyana is now the basket case of the Caribbean and no longer the bread basket it once was. No one but the present day politicians and their own greed for money and power to be blamed

This is not true.  The Guyanese kids who migrate and are placed in high school are way higher than their counterparts in Richmond Hill High School.  I have a family member who migrated and kept skipping grades and ended up in College at age 16.

Amral, for 28 years they destroyed Guyana and made Guyana a 4th world country NOW the illiterate Guyaneseput them back in. These FOOLS love tek punishment for Massa!!!

Datt don’t reconcile with yuh didi Bibi comment sometime ago when she seh burnham gi abie the best education.  Juss looko she!!  Today nuff Guyana pickney start in remedial and ESL!!

Base, most of the bright people out of Guyana and the ones left (which are in the minority) are doing well. I have families who have better houses, cars, sweethomen better than I have!!! The illiterate POOR stupidly brought Massa back!!!

Me know, da wah mi seh.  Me was deh! Any and everybody wid lil money put kids on private school. And there are the naturally bright kids for sure.  

But don’t fool yourself, school dropouts and functional illiteracy is high!

Some have kids in high school who are the oldest in their class and struggling to graduate because of poor parenting.  Empty vessels make the most noise.

There are them too. I went to my son’s school meeting recently and met kids 2-3 years older than him. But dem same kids got siblings making it through very well.  So not sure how the parenting thing worked there!

Some have kids in high school who are the oldest in their class and struggling to graduate because of poor parenting.  Empty vessels make the most noise.

There are them too. I went to my son’s school meeting recently and met kids 2-3 years older than him. But dem same kids got siblings making it through very well.  So not sure how the parenting thing worked there!

LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I tend to believe AFC's Charrandas Persaud for cautioning cane cutters to send their children to school and stop playing politics with their education. 

If parents don't want their children to go through the hardship they endured, then they shouldn't deny them from going to school for political reasons. 

All of us who were brought up from our parent's labor of love must understand Mr. Persaud point of view on education. 

Amral posted:

Guyana is now the basket case of the Caribbean and no longer the bread basket it once was. No one but the present day politicians and their own greed for money and power to be blamed

This is not true.  The Guyanese kids who migrate and are placed in high school are way higher than their counterparts in Richmond Hill High School.  I have a family member who migrated and kept skipping grades and ended up in College at age 16.

this is true happen with my daughter 

Granger was right to say the youths of Guyana belong in school

The government should take initiatives to provide adult education throughout Guyana and encourage the youths, mothers, fathers, and school dropouts to uplift their education standards. This makes Guyana look worst than I once thought.  

WTF!  Is that the new Guyana?  The PPP and the PNC really educated the nation.  NOT!  backwards.

Priya Sitirya Gyal messed up the education system under the PPP and now we not another dummy in office called Nicole Phagwali doctor TON TON in office.

These ladies help to destroy Guyana.