There is no wishing away the attitudes most Indians in Guyana grew up with in the generation before the millennials. It was one where the party they mostly voted for may have been anathema to their interests except the industrial sugar belt. It was easy to see the discomfort among rural Muslim Indians with an atheistic party with a non-free-market approach to economic development. However the fear of an unruly party supported by the other major race kept the Indians, as baseman would say "at home".

When the PPP won in 1992 there was a change in world view ans Dr. Jagan pursued a more market-oriented approach. Well, the state-dominated sectors were already dismantled somewhat by the IMF-World Bank dictats to Hoyte (liberalize trade, currency and internal licensing). Cheddi died and then came a fresh invigorating new approach. First though Guyana had to get past the angst felt for Janet Jagan.

The Jagdeo coup within the PPP was admired by the younger generation. The older generation came on board following the Mash Jailbreak in 2002. Then came the Phantom-FF era. Indian chests were puffed and Indians were packing and blacks were on the payroll to silence those who mek theh selves mannish.

Guyanese in the diaspora pumped remittances home and gold prices soared while foreign investors shifted Guyana's production methods from alluvial to strip mining with heavy capital. The nascent narcotic business made laundering fuel a boom in construction. Contracts were awarded without the usual transparency and new industries like IT were neglected. But Indians saw only one dimension of this - the one being peddled here by Pavi, base, Rev and so on.

But then gold prices dropped, rice production costs ballooned, the cocaine intercepts increased, the enfant terrible (for those francophile) behaved the way that Bouterse's son did in Suriname and a few others by the way, the remittances slowed (economic difficulties abroad you see), etc. Then came the high profile defections from the PPP and the cuss down against icons like Yesu Persaud. As Guyanese in the Diaspora see the insulting behavior they started protesting to their families back home.

The "home" that baseman refers to started to become less hospitable. Even with tired forecast of stormy weather outside (the AFC and APNU) they were pushed out of the house, really. Not that they ran - they were pushed.

You can sense this paradigmal shift in attitudes of a long-gone PNC era of kick-down-the door bandits and long lines for scarce items and having to have a party card, etc. You see the world has changed so much that the scary bear outside migrated into the annals of history and the Indians in Guyana became liberated from the confines of a "home" that was beginning to crack and fall apart.

Some inside that house don't see the dilapidated state of the house because they never ventured in to the bright sunlight of reason. You see Pavi and base were busy marsaray daro and winng to daca walay, while most Indians decide to join the civilized world.

Free at last.......free art last.......thank Babu John we're free ay last!!!!

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

That's why the Coalition with Moses, Ramjattan, Ramayya, Charrandass, Abel Seetaram, the Punalall's etc. is essential in moving forward.

PPP will steal Guyana if you give them 5 more years.

PPP needs a timeout.

Let's build a new Guyana where our people are united against corruption and evil.

Never again the PNC wickedness will ever take hold in Guyana.  Emancipation day, 1992, no to re-enslavement.

Dream on big mouth.

This is a last ditch effort by the likes of Kari to keep a demoralized PNC to remain relevant.

The election is over for the PNC. They can pack their tent and go home and Kari can help them along.

Baseman is stronger than Kari, he will go home, baseman is "home".

Dream on big mouth.

This is a last ditch effort by the likes of Kari to keep a demoralized PNC to remain relevant.

The election is over for the PNC. They can pack their tent and go home and Kari can help them along.

Eh, eh Yuji bhai leh we guh knack some tassa deh when abee coolies finally throw off the yolk of our embarrasment (don't worry all will be forgiven for not understanding what this PP cabal has wrought on Guyana)

Dream on big mouth.

Eh, eh Yuji bhai leh we guh knack some tassa deh when abee coolies finally throw off the yolk of our embarrasment (don't worry all will be forgiven for not understanding what this PP cabal has wrought on Guyana)

Listen Kari

You will not vote in Guyana's election and can blow as much smoke as you want to. You are a complete failure with your predictions.

Your wold cup predictions were the worst and now you engage to embarrass yourself further by hooking up with a losing PNC.

Listen, Yuji is always a winner and Kari will forever remain a loser.

Indos will never embrace a racist and violent PNC. A PNC which denied that it rigged and frigged Guyana for 28 years.

Now gwan suh.

Bring out the tassa and let us celebrate a massive PPP victory.

Dream on big mouth.

Listen Kari

You will not vote in Guyana's election and can blow as much smoke as you want to. You are a complete failure with your predictions.

Your wold cup predictions were the worst and now you engage to embarrass yourself further by hooking up with a losing PNC.

Listen, Yuji is always a winner and Kari will forever remain a loser.

Indos will never embrace a racist and violent PNC. A PNC which denied that it rigged and frigged Guyana for 28 years.

Now gwan suh.

Bring out the tassa and let us celebrate a massive PPP victory.

Kari will come "home" on May 12.

That's why the Coalition with Moses, Ramjattan, Ramayya, Charrandass, Abel Seetaram, the Punalall's etc. is essential in moving forward.

Jay, given what you know of Guyana can you really only mention those names and say "coalition"?

1.  The bulk of the votes received by the coalition will not be brought in by those folks.  Aside from Ramjattan and Nagamootoo, how many of the people mentioned are even known tonight (two weeks before the election) by non Indians?  And in fact were Nagamootoo not in a coalition with Granger, how many African/mixed voters would bother with him?

2.  In a multi ethnic society can you have a coalition with only one ethnic group?

Jay you keep in proving that those who feel that Indians are ethnically EXCLUSIVE, and lack an ability to empathize with other ethnicities are correct.

Your behavior bodes ill if the coalition wins.  This isn't how you get people to trust you.  And believe me that will be a big issue in the early days of a coalition gov't as people seek to discuss true motives of the various people involved.

Get to understand how African and mixed Guyanese think.  They will form the BULK of those who support the coalition, so you ignore their perspectives at your peril!

The PPP/C is the bastion of freedom and progress. We know how to run a government for the people. Just cast your votes for the PPP/C and leave the heavy lifting to the PPP/C. We have the Hydro power on a shovel ready mode, the extension of the airport on a Mahendra trajectory, the Hospital on a build must platform. Just sit back and take pictures. We ave your every wish covered. We are an experience government, with 22 + years on our resume. It's a win win situation. All you people from north America will be cruising on the Carnival cruise line to Bharat port on the Corentyne River.

Carib:

That list is for our Berbice crossover supporters to be aware that there are  Indos in the Coalition.  The Coalition's media photos are not showing enough diversity.

You know the PPP is telling them the Coalition is a black man party. How about jingles with sme Indian rhythms?  Would that be strategic?

It's like the media in the USA where minorities are underrepresented.

The majority of people has always voted PPP/C that is not about to change. Indians will vote the PPP/C and that is their right to do so, if that's who will represent them best. The PNC is a racist party. Moses and Ramjattan don't change a thing. PPP/C is A+ eat your heart out. Migrate to Hag island and swallow sea air.

Carib:

That list is for our Berbice crossover supporters to be aware that there are  Indos in the Coalition.  The Coalition's media photos are not showing enough diversity.

You know the PPP is telling them the Coalition is a black man party. How about jingles with sme Indian rhythms?  Would that be strategic?

It's like the media in the USA where minorities are underrepresented.

You need to learn that in a coalition EVERY one matters.  You have this habit of focusing on the Nagamootoo AFC.

Your best sales pitch should be to suggest that this coalition is Guyana's best chance to move beyond the quagmire of ethnic insecurity.  If people object to that please ask them to describe a scenario where Indians might be 35% of the population in another 10 years, and can ignore the rest of the population without consequences.

Its is the "black man party," which by joining with a party which will attract decent numbers of Indians, which is attempting to rise beyond its history of ethnic conflict.

Now how is the "coolie man party" attempting to grow beyond its own history of ethnic conflict?

Do Indians really think that their narrative is the only one to be considered.  How so as their numbers dwindle?. 

Guyana's NUMBER ONE problem is the ethnic insecurity of the two major groups.  Until Guyana gets beyond this, it has no where to go.

The PNC created the ethnic insecurity dilemma. But we have a plan to fix that. The army and police force will have to be representative of the people. We can only deal with the current situation. The next generation will have answers to what ever problems arise. Don't count your chickens before they are hatched. The mix people will vote for their interest just as they do in Jamaica. We going to lead both parties in the future. Your nightmares have just started my boy. If Moses can make the kind of demands he made with trickery just imagine what the PNC will be in 3 years. The PNC/APNU will be extinct and we going to pay roll a new weaker party called SAP.

Originally Posted by simple:

The PNC created the ethnic insecurity dilemma. But we have a plan to fix that. The army and police force will have to be representative of the people. We can only deal with the current situation. The next generation will have answers to what ever problems arise. Don't count your chickens before they are hatched. The mix people will vote for their interest just as they do in Jamaica. We going to lead both parties in the future. Your nightmares have just started my boy. If Moses can make the kind of demands he made with trickery just imagine what the PNC will be in 3 years. The PNC/APNU will be extinct and we going to pay roll a new weaker party called SAP.

The PNC did not create anything. Gladstone et al did when they brough in indentured to undercut slaves.

The PPP had three and a half decade and did nothing. Further, what is necessary to fix it is something the PPP disavow, constitution reform.

Mixed people in Guyana are not Jamaicans. They self identify as black. They are called "douglas" meaning bastards or the disinherited. Mixed people know well who they are and none would see themselves as Indian.

If the APNU loses this time it will be by the tiniest of margins. The PPP are crooks so they will not change. In 5 years they will certainly get the boot. This election is a benchmark. It will determine many things not limited to if the opposition is a one seat minority they will be shut out completely. 

I've noticed this disturbing tendency of some in the Coalition to portray this election as Us Good Guys v. The Evil Racist Coolies.

Even a little self-interest would tell you people not to demonize the group that ya'll need to attract some significant level of support form so as to prevail.

An Indian who votes for the PPP is not automatically an Honorary Brown Member of the KKK. He has an absolute right to his vote. Same goes for a Black person who wants to vote PNC.

In the same vein, it is just as reprehensible to label any Indian who chooses to support the Coalition. It is this absolute and unquestioned right.

The campaign waged against the ordinary Indian is vile. He's either a neemakharam daag or an unredeemable dalit racist. Shame there isn't a third choice anymore so they can vote against you both.

I've noticed this disturbing tendency of some in the Coalition to portray this election as Us Good Guys v. The Evil Racist Coolies.

I will do that until the PPP comes up with an attempt to resolve Guyana's NUMBER ONE problem, which is our ethnic tensions.  This is why Guyana is the laughing stock of the Caribbean. 

Even today some one was telling me about how every time she goes to Barbados (she married a Bajan) she hears negative comments about Guyana and Guyanese.  Note that Bajans used to be the most positively oriented people to Guyana and Guyanese.

BOTH the PNC and the PPP have made a contribution towards our ethnic tensions.  BOTH now face a quandary where the fact that no one ethnic group dominates the vote means that victory is best assured with cross ethnic votes.

The PNC recognizes that it must show good faith if it wants to attract some Indian support through a coalition.  So it gave Nagamootoo a poison pill.  If Moses gets into a tantrum he can quickly bring down the APNU AFC govt.  This, rather than pretty rhetoric, or "kumba ya" posturing assures that it will not become a one race dictatorship.

Over to the PPP. What have they don't to force themselves into becoming ethnically inclusive?

What has the PPP done to assuage the angst of African and mixed voters towards them?  Clearly selecting token blacks didn't help, so what else do they plan to do?  

Are they even admitting that this problem exists. Every year Babu John brings chills down the spine of blacks as they contemplate continued PPP (Indian) rule.

So yes the APNU AFC are the good guys because at least they are trying.

The PPP, rather than attempting to resolve the problem, makes it worse by engaging in race panic.  All they have done is heighten the anxieties on BOTH sides.

Any Indian who supports the PPP needs to tell me how sustainable will an Indian dictatorship be in a land where Indians are now a minority group!

Even a little self-interest would tell you people not to demonize the group that ya'll need to attract some significant level of support form so as to prevail.

An Indian who votes for the PPP is not automatically an Honorary Brown Member of the KKK. He has an absolute right to his vote. Same goes for a Black person who wants to vote PNC.

In the same vein, it is just as reprehensible to label any Indian who chooses to support the Coalition. It is this absolute and unquestioned right.

The campaign waged against the ordinary Indian is vile. He's either a neemakharam daag or an unredeemable dalit racist. Shame there isn't a third choice anymore so they can vote against you both.

Well said Shaits; but you're missing one thing. It IS in the PPP's interest to maintain this narrative of the coolie being vilified either way. That's its only hope to get a majority of them to not only vote for it but5 turn out in greater percentage than the other ethnic groups.

This may be the agenda of the AFC but is it the same with the new team?

They have sold their identity for potential power sharing.

Can this be classified as pure selfish motive?

PPP will steal Guyana if you give them 5 more years.

PPP needs a timeout.

Let's build a new Guyana where our people are united against corruption and evil.

Vish M
. That's its only hope to get a majority of them to not only vote for it but5 turn out in greater percentage than the other ethnic groups.

And that breeds heightened insecurity among blacks/mixed and more of them will vote, fearing a PPP which will be even MORE racist than they were in the past.

So where does that leave Guyana?

No analysis is acceptable if it only speaks to one part of the population.  What happens in one group impacts the other.

Granger is a product of the most racist organization in Guyana , the GDF. The army was created by the PNC to kill Indians. It is the only organization in all of Guyana that is 99 % Africans in a country that is 43 % Indians. In any other country of 6 races this will stand out as wrong and need to be addressed with urgency. The PNC is in the way of changing this. We want change in this taxpayers force. The PNC and now the  AFC/Moses must help to change this. That will be meaning full change. Any thing short of this most important change is making mockery of the word change.

The GDF is now branded as a racist organization by the OAS and Caricom. We must bring all non racist organization to force change. Carter must see this as a human rights issue. He should insist that the GDF be disbanded if it cannot balance the ethnic make up of the force. This is a critical need to move the debate of healing going forward. This army has not fought any successful foreign invasion. It was formed to control and punish opponents of the PNC. Rodney was a threat to Burnham and the PNC so he had to pay the ultimate price. Rodney wanted the GDF to have more diversity to it. He would have still be alive today if there wer more Indians in the force. A balance force is good for all the people. Indians will feel more secure to even to vote have a more balance force. We are not calling for a 99 % Indian force. All we is asking for is fairness. That is not an unrealistic expectation or change.

The GDF is now branded as a racist organization by the OAS and Caricom.

Carter is in Guyana to ensure what he did in 1992.  That the free will of the people, tired of suffering under a gov't which was in power way too long, is respected.  Carter does NOT like the Jagdeoite PPP.  He threatened never to return to Guyana.  He is only back as he thinks that the PPP will be defeated!

The Commander in Chief of the GDF is Donald Ramotar.

You really need to stop posting as it makes you seriously look like simple Simon.

I bet you cannot find any source which says that the Prime Ministers of Jamaica, Barbados, St Kitts, St Vincent, etc think that the GDF is a racist organization.

The GDF is still 99 % African and must change. It must be representative of the population. Donald cannot do it alone. The PNC and AFC speak of change like it will magically happen. This racist make up of the GDF is where change is needed most. Granger should apologized for swearing allegiance to the PNC while in the GDF as a Brigadare. Carter will be requested to visit the GDF compounds to see for him self the racism being practiced by the army. Don't speak of change if the GDF is not included in this effort.

The GDF is still 99 % African and must change. It must be representative of the population. Donald cannot do it alone.

Donald Ramotar is Commander in Chief of the GDF.  He HEADS it.  As did Cheddi Jagan, Janet Jagan, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar.

Are you suggesting that Cheddi Jagan, Janet Jagan, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar have prevented Indians from joining the GDF?  Why after 22 years of PPP rule do Indians still refuse to join the GDF?

If Indians do not want to join the GDF do you suggest that they be kidnapped from their homes and forced to join?

And why aren't you interested in discussing areas where blacks are under represented?  Do you hate black people?  Don't be ashamed to admit that you are a racist.

It's in the interest of all of Guyana that racism not be practiced in the GDF. It should be a national concern of all the parties in Guyana. Is there any other organization in Guyana that has 99 % of one race? This is not a case of under representation it's a case of 99 % representation. What other case of of tax payer money being spent on 99 % representation. You are defending racism. It's wrong on all level.

The majority of people has always voted PPP/C that is not about to change. Indians will vote the PPP/C and that is their right to do so, if that's who will represent them best. The PNC is a racist party. Moses and Ramjattan don't change a thing. PPP/C is A+ eat your heart out. Migrate to Hag island and swallow sea air.

I would not classify all PNCites as racists however, clearly if the PNC ever gains power, they will nevr leave.  Their alliance with the military will ensure PNC forever by hook or by crook.  This will see (by attrition) the eventual relegation of Indians to 3rd class citizens carrying all that goes with it.

THOSE WHO FORGET THE PAST ARE CONDEMNED TO REPEAT IT.

So Kari now you are civilized since you joined PNC!   You seem like a case of low self esteem, just saying.

'Some inside that house don't see the dilapidated state of the house because they never ventured in to the bright sunlight of reason. You see Pavi and base were busy marsaray daro and winng to daca walay, while most Indians decide to join the civilized world'

Granger is a product of the most racist organization in Guyana , the GDF. The army was created by the PNC to kill Indians. It is the only organization in all of Guyana that is 99 % Africans in a country that is 43 % Indians. In any other country of 6 races this will stand out as wrong and need to be addressed with urgency. The PNC is in the way of changing this. We want change in this taxpayers force. The PNC and now the  AFC/Moses must help to change this. That will be meaning full change. Any thing short of this most important change is making mockery of the word change.

RE: "Granger is a product of the most racist organization in Guyana , the GDF. The army was created by the PNC to kill Indians."

If there was any truth to this, Pradoville would have never happened. PPP running the country into the latrine would never have happened. Those scum would have been dead.

You are full of shit and a liar.

Originally Posted by alena06:

You see Pavi and base were busy marsaray daro and winng to daca walay, while most Indians decide to join the civilized world'

You mean daca walay not civilized?

I betcha Kari does eat his dholl and rice with his fingers..

When was the last time you saw your whole body in the mirror?

So the GDF is not 99 % African? Granger is not from the GDF?

So what?

If there was any truth to the shit you are peddling, you might not be here, Pradoville would have never happened. PPP running the country into the latrine would never have happened. Those scum would have been dead.

You are full of shit and a liar.

It's in the interest of all of Guyana that racism not be practiced in the GDF. It should be a national concern of all the parties in Guyana. Is there any other organization in Guyana that has 99 % of one race? This is not a case of under representation it's a case of 99 % representation. What other case of of tax payer money being spent on 99 % representation. You are defending racism. It's wrong on all level.

So basically you are saying that the PPP is racist as it wishes that only blacks be involved in a job which is both low paid and dangerous.

Because the PPP controls the GDF through the role of the President, and so clearly influence what goes on there.

BTW reports are that both the police force and the GDF are under staffed due to high turn over.  So why is the PPP preventing Indians from joining?

What is interesting is that you frequently hear the whining that the GDF and  GPF are too "African".  Yet we NEVER hear Indians complaining that they tried to join and had their applications rejected!  And given that the GDF is under the control of the President clearly it is the PPPs fault if there is racism.

Do you know who Joe Singh is?

When Indians want to succeed in the GDF they have had the opportunity to do so.  While one can understand they would have been reluctant to join during the PNC era, what has prevented them from joining since?

One might as well scream that 99% of the rice farmers are Indian (probably as inaccurate as the claim that 99% of the GDF is African).  So what should people do?  Go to Tiger Bay and bring in blacks at gun point to grow rice?

People do what they wish to do.  Ethnic imbalance should only be of concern when there is evidence that there is discrimination.  While many Africans complain about racist treatment in the private sector, with DDL sometimes cited as an example, we do NOT hear Indians wanting to become policemen or soldiers and told that they cannot be.  Certainly NOT since 1992!

The military saved the PPP's ass in Buxton, and had been loyal to the govt of the day.

The new attitude we need from our Indian folks is to embrace the need for better, the need for change, and to repudiate the PPP that wants us to hate black people. Every Race Punishing! WE unite against a pernicious system that rules in favor of the rich and the parasitic.  We embrace each other regardless of race and vote for change.  PPP needs a timeout.

Do you know who Joe Singh is?

When Indians want to succeed in the GDF they have had the opportunity to do so.  While one can understand they would have been reluctant to join during the PNC era, what has prevented them from joining since?

One might as well scream that 99% of the rice farmers are Indian (probably as inaccurate as the claim that 99% of the GDF is African).  So what should people do?  Go to Tiger Bay and bring in blacks at gun point to grow rice?

People do what they wish to do.  Ethnic imbalance should only be of concern when there is evidence that there is discrimination.  While many Africans complain about racist treatment in the private sector, with DDL sometimes cited as an example, we do NOT hear Indians wanting to become policemen or soldiers and told that they cannot be.  Certainly NOT since 1992!

No one can be blamed because Indians did not want to join the army.Our own anta was a member of the forces,one or two Portuguese may have joined, my cous who anta also know of did, he was part putax.

Nobody's fault if others didn't want to partake.

These PPP guys cry race every turn, dam.

You see Pavi and base were busy marsaray daro and winng to daca walay, while most Indians decide to join the civilized world'

I do, and love it.....and it's dhall (not the anglicized Dholl - phonetically like doll. It's dah-lll)

These westenized Indian cannot even pronounce the word dah-lll.  Thank for teaching them Kari.