A missed opportunity

What was expected to be a historical event at the D’Urban Park arena where the Government and Opposition would have sat side by side to celebrate Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary turned out to be a huge blunder and embarrassment for the Administration.

The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) was no doubt insulted and disrespected when they, just like other Guyanese, committed to patriotism, put politics aside and joined the Government in celebrating the country’s significant milestone.

Rather than being welcomed for this act of partnership, the country’s Opposition were given a cold shoulder and left standing, with no proper accommodation for them at the country’s premier event. This act defies all calls of unity and social cohesion. As a matter of fact, the ill-mannered act comes 24 hours after Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo in his address to the National Assembly said Guyanese need to work together in order for the country to truly prosper.

In his speech, the Opposition Leader also pointed out that the Party wants the country’s people to live together in harmony and not be divided by history and by current circumstances.

More importantly, the Opposition Leader said that “regardless of the robust debates that we have; regardless of the numerous encounters we have wherever we go in the streets or on television or in the debates, we are all children of this soil. We all share its history.”

The sincerity of this speech was demonstrated when Jagdeo and his MPs turned up at D’Uban Park on Wednesday night. However, this act by the Government now raises the question of their genuineness when calls are made for unity and social cohesion. The President on numerous occasions outlined that the country’s future depends on deeper social cohesion and political inclusiveness.

Only recently in his address to the National Assembly, the Head of State said, “Social cohesion is about fostering greater integration in our nation. Integration can increase a sense of belonging. It can give recognition to all groups and to allow them to freely practice their culture… Our nation’s future stability depends, also, on wider political inclusiveness…”

As a matter of fact, no other than the Head of State himself, in his independence message to the nation said that the country has made headway in uniting its people. To give lip service to such an important issue in a delicate nation, by all means should be rejected by Guyanese.

The political Opposition’s acceptance of the invitation to participate in the events at D’Urban Park demonstrates maturity and seriousness towards inclusiveness as Guyana moves forward. However, to leave the Opposition standing at such an event sends a message of pure disregard and disparage.

The President should launch an immediate investigation into such humiliation especially given the fact that the Opposition Leader spoke to the Attorney General and Minister responsible for culture about the concerns of the PPP/C MPs being seated.

Both Ministers should be held accountable for the utter disrespect since although requesting an intervention, the concerns aired by the Opposition Leader fell on deaf ears. It can be recalled that at past independence celebrations that were held at the National Park, the VIP sections were reserved for all MPs, diplomats and special invitees.

Such uncouth behaviour was not extended by the previous Administration and the President should not condone it either. As a matter of fact, a public apology should be extended to the People’s Progressive Party and the President should reprimand those responsible for such callous, irresponsible and destructive behaviour extended to the political Opposition.

Hmmm.  They arrive late, and don't follow instructions as to where to enter, and then they want drama.

Jagdeo, you aren't Julius Caesar.

Be stronger than your strongest excuse.  Reserved seats are reserved seats regardless of where you enter from. 

If we want to be recognized in civil society we need to act civil.  This is a disappointment for all Guyanese.

Hmmm.  They arrive late, and don't follow instructions as to where to enter, and then they want drama.

Did you read the minister's response??

He aint Julius Caeser but he is the leader of the opposition...still representing a large chunk of the population.

alena06 posted:

Be stronger than your strongest excuse.  Reserved seats are reserved seats regardless of where you enter from. 

If we want to be recognized in civil society we need to act civil.  This is a disappointment for all Guyanese.

Go to late to an event in the USA. Think that you can disturb the proceedings.

They will seat you at the back, or tell you that they cannot accommodate you.

Jagdeo thinks that his name is Julius Caesar, and his antics have become very predictable and boring.

Did you read the minister's response??

He aint Julius Caeser but he is the leader of the opposition...still representing a large chunk of the population.

Yes.  I read the part when she said that they arrived late, and entered through the wrong entrance, and that despite that, she inconvenienced other attendees by having them change seats to accommodate the PPP.

And when that was happening Julius Caesar stormed out.

So what else did she say that justifies Jagdeo's impish behavior?

And being the Leader of the Opposition doesn't give him the right to behave like a jackass.

Why would the minister have to ask people to vacate seats they were in when those seats were reserved for the members of the Opposition? No one should be asked to give up a seat that was assigned to them. Unless they were assigned seats previously reserved for others.

Those seats were not reserved for the opposition.  When the PPP arrived they decided that they didn't like the seating arrangements. She tried to accommodate then, and they had to create a scene.

They didn't want to be there in the first place as they still refuse to believe that they lost the election.  So they exited, creating unnecessary drama.

After a while people get tired of trying to dialogue with those who play hard to get.

If an event is going to be crowded, for those who insist in specific seating need to get there early enough so that they can control the seating.

You don't arrive late, scream that you don't like the seating, force people to get up, and then walk off in a rage because you just got an excuse to not be at an event that you felt forced to attend, but didn't want to.

The seats were not reserved in a block specifically for the opposition members or specifically for anyone in that section. There were 200 (whatever the number is) seats reserved for 200 guests. As you showed up with your VIP ticket, you were seated in the VIP section. There were no seat numbers and assignment to a special seat. The Opposition showed up late and then demanded that they all sit together. The Minister trying to accommodate them, asked people who were already seated to shift around a bit. While this was happening, the Opposition chose to walk out.

The PPP feel that the coalition gov't has to beg them to become involved in any activity.

When some one is always difficult and plays hard to get others get bored with them.   The PPP is fast reaching that point.

The seats were not reserved in a block specifically for the opposition members or specifically for anyone in that section. There were 200 (whatever the number is) seats reserved for 200 guests. As you showed up with your VIP ticket, you were seated in the VIP section. There were no seat numbers and assignment to a special seat. The Opposition showed up late and then demanded that they all sit together. The Minister trying to accommodate them, asked people who were already seated to shift around a bit. While this was happening, the Opposition chose to walk out.

Look I on vacation in GT partying and blogging.  You scrunt deh in Ramjattan Office wuking for the taxpayers, but instead of doing yu wuk, you blogging.

These low flyers propagandist daags who claiming they love Guyana.  They love them own pocket.

So the securing people in Ramjattan Office tun seating specialist.  

Brian Teekah posted:

Look I on vacation in GT partying and blogging.  You scrunt deh in Ramjattan Office wuking for the taxpayers, but instead of doing yu wuk, you blogging.

These low flyers propagandist daags who claiming they love Guyana.  They love them own pocket.

You must be a loser if you're on vacation and spending it on GNI. If i'm on vacation, I'd be out and about and this is the last place where you'd find me.

Dude, stop talking piss for you don't know me or my whereabouts. The Government of Guyana cannot afford to pay me to work for them. 

Brian Teekah posted:

You must be a loser if you're on vacation and spending it on GNI. If i'm on vacation, I'd be out and about and this is the last place where you'd find me.

Dude, stop talking piss for you don't know me or my whereabouts. The Government of Guyana cannot afford to pay me to work for them. 

LIKE YU' ASS NAH GET QUALIFY YET TO KNOW ABOUT CELL PHONE. DUMMY!

Brian Teekah posted:

So you're spending your vacation posting on GNI from your cell phone? What a loser! Like I said, I'd be out and about and the only use for my cell phone would be to in contact with happening people and events.

Brian Teekah posted:

So you're spending your vacation posting on GNI from your cell phone? What a loser! Like I said, I'd be out and about and the only use for my cell phone would be to in contact with happening people and events.

Beer and girls and phone.  That is life in order of priority.  LOL

Brian Teekah posted:

Beer and girls and phone.  That is life in order of priority.  LOL

Well you can't afford beers. No girls are coming around. Your friends are not there to mooch some beers from them. I guess the next best thing to you is to post on GNI with your phone while on vacation. That's what I call a Loser with a capital "L".

At first, when I heard this story, I was pissed and thought that, even though Drugdeo is a jackass, he should not have been disrespected like that. After all, he is the Leader of the Opposition. Well, after hearing the Minister's version, I believe Drugdeo screwed up. He always thinks he is bigger than even the Law. Remember, when he refused to stand in the accused box when he went to court in Berbice. Here is a man that under his watch, Guyana became a drug-running country with many drug related killings. He could never get the respect he craves. I wonder when he is gonna come up for all those unsolved crimes.

Brian Teekah posted:

But who is paying you to write CRAP on GNI, must be more than the Guyana government.

It is very clear that any East Indian Guyanese who rules Guyana will encounter extreme racial hate. So instead of having wasted time fighting to rule Africans who clearly don't want to be ruled by a koolie why not combine your efforts into establishing a sovereign independent country for the East Indian people of Guyana so that we can rule ourselves.

But who is paying you to write CRAP on GNI, must be more than the Guyana government.

At least I'm being paid to write as you morons are claiming. You're so dumb that no one would invest a penny in the bilge that you spew here every day.

It is very clear that any East Indian Guyanese who rules Guyana will encounter extreme racial hate. So instead of having wasted time fighting to rule Africans who clearly don't want to be ruled by a koolie why not combine your efforts into establishing a sovereign independent country for the East Indian people of Guyana so that we can rule ourselves.

Prash,me thinks both sides are to be blamed,partition duh guh be a tough one,the major problems are the politicians the fellas like it that way,look at their behavior typical third world mentality,no change same old.

At least I'm being paid to write as you morons are claiming. You're so dumb that no one would invest a penny in the bilge that you spew here every day.

Money is the last thing on my list. You only write on GNI to seek attention, which maybe you don't get at home. As for being dumb, you can only wish to be ME.

Why would anyone want to be a dumbass like you?

If this is how Granjhaat is hoping to achieve unity government they better think again.  

Bibi give up. Donald and Sam weren't embarrassed.  The PPP planned this before hand, and now the facts are being revealed.

The Minister was quite clear in what happened. Jagdeo continues to behave like a child. He reduces what ever shred of credibility that he might still have remaining.

You as a fervent PPP supporter needs to be urging that party to find now leadership. One not tarnished by contact with drug lords (Roger Khan and the others who made Teixeira upset.  And one not tarnished by using his office to accumulate massive sums of wealth, way beyond what would have been possible on the compensation that he received.

It is very clear that any East Indian Guyanese who rules Guyana will encounter extreme racial hate.

This is how a man who is the ONLY Indian in his household speaks. I wonder if he encounters extreme racial hate from his in laws.