Mahaica fruit vendor dies from multiple stabs

-money reportedly taken, jewellery left untouched

May 15 2018

Dead: Fareez Yassem

A 36-year-old fruit vendor was stabbed to death early yesterday morning during what appears to be a robbery at his Mahaica house and the police have since arrested a man for questioning.

Dead is Fareez Yassem, a father of three of Lot 25 Belmont, Mahaica. He reportedly sustained around fifteen stab wounds about his body.
The incident occurred around 1.45am.

The police in a brief press statement said that an investigation has been launched into the murder of Yassem, whose body was found in a northern drain in his yard.
Several calls made by this newspaper to Divisional Commander Edmond Cooper for an update went unanswered.
However, a police source related to Stabroek News that Yassem’s death is being investigated as a robbery/murder.

Yassem’s house. The yard was cordoned off as a crime scene yesterday

The source said a pair of slippers and a bicycle were recovered at the crime scene and that a man was detained for questioning yesterday. He remained in custody up to last evening.
When this newspaper visited the scene yesterday, Yassem house was tightly secured.

A section of the yard from the gate was cordoned off and spots of blood could be seen on a tree close to where his body was discovered and in parts of the yard.
His wife Davie Yassem was at the Mahaica Police Station providing investigators with a statement. She was accompanied by several relatives.

The drain inside Fareez Yassem yard where he was discovered.

Yassem’s death has left his entire family circle and community in a state of shock.
Farah Yassem, his eldest sister related to Stabroek News that based on what she was told, Davie and her children were asleep when the incident unfolded.
She said from all indications, her brother knew his attacker/s. According to Farah,

Fareez’s sales money from Sunday was missing. She also said although he was wearing several pieces of jewellery at the time of his death, they were all found intact.
Farah said while details surrounding her brother’s death remain unclear, it is suspected that he woke up and ventured to the lower flat of his house to use the washroom.

While there, she said he must have heard a strange noise and investigated and was then stabbed.
“All she (Davie) hear him saying was ‘ow bai, ow bai’ like when he was getting the actual stabbing”, Farah said.

Puddle
It was this sound she said that awoke Davie. “She was calling for him and screaming because after she called two three times and she not hearing him respond, she start screaming and calling for him. Now she don’t want to come outside, she was in the house, by time the wife is to come outside, her husband was already dead in a puddle of mud”, she explained.

Farah said her family is puzzled as to what was the motive of the attack since her brother was a peaceful individual who didn’t have any issue with anyone.
She added that she saw pictures of her brother’s body which showed that he sustained about fifteen to eighteen stab wounds to his body including his chest, back and neck.

The weeping sister related to this newspaper that she and her brother shared a very close relationship and they would communicate often. “That was my loving brother. We call, we communicate with each other, we regularly would have conversations”, she said.

“He was so happy. They (Fareez and Davie) was so happy, we does call them the love birds because they just work, they are a power couple”, she added.
Davie had called her neighbour Onika Wilson for assistance to locate her husband during the time that the stabbing was believed to be occurring.

Wilson explained to Stabroek News yesterday that she received a call from Davie who told her that she was calling out for Yassem but was not getting any answer. “She (Davie) told me she husband (Fareez) go downstairs and she aint getting he, she calling and he not answering”, Wilson said.

She said as a result, she woke her husband and they both went into their yard and watched over Davie, who she told to check for Fareez in the yard. “So me and meh husband come outside to give an eye leh she come outside and call to see if he deh in the yard”, Wilson noted.

“We stand up right hay suh (in their yard) so she wouldn’t be so frighten. So I call for her and I tell she come by the door and call for he (Fareez) and when she call fuh he, she seh she aint getting no responses”, she explained.

She said it was then that Davie made the discovery. “I heard her screaming from over here. So I call her back on the phone and ask her what happen and she seh somebody juk him up”, she added.
Fareez was already dead.
The woman said she did not heard any strange noise that may have alerted her that something was wrong.

Another resident said “When we got there, we just saw him lying motionless. He get tremendous stab up man, terrible, they cruel this boy, like all over”, she said.

“We are not sure about what really happen. Everybody want to know what happen but the garage door was open and the money he had downstairs was gone, we find he outside this morning and all his jewellery was on”, the woman related, while noting, “so these people came, they took the money and left all the jewellery. So we just left baffled right now”.

Yassem had plied his trade on the Mahaicony Public Road in front of a supermarket while Davie sells at the Mahaica market. He would have celebrated his birthday tomorrow.

GNI idiot on de rampage...because no one got killed when PPP was in govt.

jACKASSES LIKE YOU WERE braying EVERY MINUTE WHEN THE ppp WAS IN GOVT. SUDDENLY EVERY JACKASS FOUND JESUS!!

It is not about hangman or long sentences. It is about the complete failure of crime prevention and crime fighting. Add to that a we have a junkie zombie infestation in all village and the sense of morose depressing hopelessness  of being trapped in poverty and the full crablike instinct is constantly being fed. I am holding our for another couple of years and selling out completely. Too old to plan for anything there in light of no horizon from our present discontents. 

GNI idiot on de rampage...because no one got killed when PPP was in govt.

jACKASSES LIKE YOU WERE braying EVERY MINUTE WHEN THE ppp WAS IN GOVT. SUDDENLY EVERY JACKASS FOUND JESUS!!

You are so good at telling us you are the only jackass here with this constant braying...check it out...any post of yours can replace any other on any issue! That is the pinnacle of jackassery!

Parfaite Harmonie family brutalised in bandit attack

May 17 2018

Three armed bandits early yesterday morning broke into a La Parfaite Harmonie home, where they brutalized a businessman, before making off with a quantity of cash and other items.

Owner of the N&S General Store Naresh Persaud, 43, of lot 546 La Parfaite Harmonie, was beaten in the presence of his wife and children, including his four-year-old daughter. Persaud received stitches for three lacerations to the head.

The robbers, who had their faces concealed and were armed with two guns and a knife, reportedly accessed the flat by cutting into the zinc of the shop adjoining the building and then prying open the grill bars. The incident, which reportedly began at around 2.am, was said to have lasted for more than an hour.

Naresh’s son Sachin Persaud, age 19, who is a final year Economics major at the University of Guyana, while recounting yesterday’s events to this newspaper, called the encounter “a nightmare”.

He related that around 2 am yesterday, he was awoken from sleep by a loud sound, which turned out to be the door to his bedroom being kicked open. Two of the perpetrators entered his room, a gun was pointed in his face and he was ordered to keep quiet.

“They pointed the gun to my head and then they walked…they ushered me to the room that they (his parents) were in and when I reached there, they pushed me down on the ground. They were like, “lie down, lie down next to he”—that’s my father right—he was in blood. My mom was sitting, her face was swollen. My sister was on the bed looking over everything,” Sachin related.

Sachin said that from the information he received about what occurred prior to him being taken into the room, the bandits had first entered his parent’s room, where they pounced on his father and began gun butting him in the head and choking him while the man was asleep.

His mother, Samantha Thakurdeen, reportedly screamed and was hit in the face. They later scotch taped her mouth shut to keep her quiet.

Sachin’s sister was not harmed in the ordeal, or tied up with the rest of her family.

“Apparently two of them were so aggressive and the other one was a bit lenient and that’s what we’re thankful for because before they didn’t collect me yet, they were hitting him, trying to shoot him…” Sachin related.

“It was life and death, I was like, this is it…I can’t do anything about it,” he said, while recalling the graphic event. “…they started hitting him and asking him, “this is all the money you have? This is all the money you have? And he’s crying and telling them, yeah uncle, yeah.”

He said they kept asking, “where all the green money deh?” and requesting to know the location of the “lotto money”. His father, he indicated, was at this time being constantly kicked, slapped and hit in the head, in a torture-attempt to get him to hand over cash.

“…That moment, I was thinking, okay, one of us, we’ll be going now…but I told them I’ll cooperate, we’ll give them whatever,” Sachin stated.

Sachin said they asked him whether he had any money in his room and he directed the bandits to the locations where he kept cash.

“The last time he called me and he was like…are you sure them ain got nothing more in this house here? Just be honest, tell me the truth and I won’t hurt you. I tell he, buddy that’s all that I have,” he related, stating that the individual had been “lenient” compared to the other bandits.

He said the man enquired as to where his iPhone was. Sachin admitted that it was a peculiar question to be asked, and later, when asked whether he felt that the attackers were known to the family, said it was not unlikely that they may be affiliated.

“He emptied out my clothes. He seh wow, you have a very nice closet and he even put on a shirt of mine and a ¾ pants of mine and they were trying out my perfume…” he revealed.

The perpetrators took with them his haversack, laptop and cellphone, colognes, a quantity of cash, his mother’s handbag, and items from the shop, including phone cards, cigarettes and bottles of oil. Sachin could not speak to the amount of cash stolen, but indicated it was not a significant amount.

Although the location is equipped with cameras, the men took the DVR from the residence.

Before leaving, they tied the victims’ hands and legs and left them on the bed, before escaping around the back of the house.

The young man related that they attempted to call 911 twice but said the number rang out. They did, however, manage to make contact with the La Grange Police Station, and ranks arrived within 15 minutes.

“What this place needs is a police outpost because robberies going on…everybody round here experiencing some sort of theft, only thing is ours was worst because they probably think we had money” he stated.

The police, in a press release yesterday, related that Superintendent Rishi Das and a team of officers visited the scene and assured the family that all efforts were being made to bring them justice.

"The robbers, who had their faces concealed and were armed with two guns and a knife, reportedly accessed the flat by cutting into the zinc of the shop adjoining the building and then prying open the grill bars. The incident, which reportedly began at around 2.am, was said to have lasted for more than an hour."

Nothing stops these miscreants.

Severe penalties are needed

"The robbers, who had their faces concealed and were armed with two guns and a knife, reportedly accessed the flat by cutting into the zinc of the shop adjoining the building and then prying open the grill bars. The incident, which reportedly began at around 2.am, was said to have lasted for more than an hour."

Nothing stops these miscreants.

Severe penalties are needed

Junkies are addicts hence compulsive criminals. Thieves and bandits are all opportunistic including the professional thieves and white collar criminals who  are also opportunists but who are strategic hence harder to capture and convict.Poor criminal systems also act unfairly to the poor and are tinged with racism because there is no comprehensive and efficient planning. Our crime fighting also has front and back end problems in the justice system itself.

Every group of crook will be stopped if they can be prevented from stealing by beat cops, constant patrols and an good criminality who collects and process evidence so the thief can be caught and convicted when prosecuted.  Heavy penalties are for failing crime prevention systems. The Netherlands house their criminals in communities and have the shortest sentences yet boast a low crime rate and recidivism. Same in Scandinavian countries and Japan. All of these places have low prison population.

Fellow villager charged with murdering Mahaica fruit vendor

-deceased was stabbed over 40 times

May 8 2018

Fareez Yassem

A fellow villager, said to be a drug addict, was yesterday charged with the murder of Belmont, Mahaica, East Coast Demerara fruit vendor Fareez Yassem, who was stabbed over 40 times about his body on Monday during a suspected robbery at his home.

The unemployed Malcolm Brown, 30, is accused of murdering Yassem on May 14th.

The charge was read to him when he appeared before Magistrate Wanda Fortune at the Mahaica Magistrate’s Court.

Brown was not required to plead to the capital offence and he was remanded to prison and the matter was adjourned until June 8th.

Yassem, 36, a father of three of Lot 25 Belmont, Mahaica, East Coast Demerara, died early Monday morning after he was stabbed about his body.

The police had said that the attack occurred around 1.45 am and Yassem’s body was found in a northern drain in his yard.

An autopsy performed on Yassem’s remains on Wednesday revealed that he died as a result of multiple stab wounds.

Farah Yassem, Fareez’s sister, yesterday told Stabroek News that her brother sustained 43 stab wounds about his body.

This newspaper understands that Brown was the first suspect who was taken into custody on Monday, shortly after the fatal attack.

A bicycle and pair of slippers, which were recovered at the crime scene, reportedly belong to him.

Brown, this newspaper was told, is allegedly part of a gang of drug addicts who are known for lurking in the yards of Belmont residents in search of valuables they can sell.

Yassem was attacked after he opened his door to investigate a strange noise that was coming from his yard on Monday morning.

It was alleged  that after Yassem opened his door, Brown whipped out a knife that he had in his possession and repeatedly stabbed Yassem.

Three other persons were also detained for questioning about the murder but they have since been released.

Farah had related to Stabroek News that based on what she was told, Fareez’s wife, Davie and the couple’s children were asleep when the attack occurred.

She said from all indications, her brother knew his attacker/s.

According to Farah, money from Sunday’s sales was missing. She, however, also said although her brother was wearing several pieces of jewellery at the time of his death, they were all found intact.

Farah had said that it is suspected that he ventured to the lower flat of his house to use the washroom.

While there, she believes he must have heard a strange noise and investigated and was then stabbed. “All she (Davie) hear him saying was ‘Ow bai! Ow bai!’” Farah said.

Davie subsequently discovered his body. By that time, Fareez was already dead.