A few times the guys here hosed down each other on Phagwah Day and my neighbors looked at them like they were nuts. The water was freezing and the guys were shivering. I just looked and laughed.

One time after we returned home from a phagwah  mela in the park, our neighbor asked us if we were at a tie dye party. 

While passing through Security recently at a gov't building, an African guard said Namaste, I thought he said 'have a nice day.' He repeated it a few times until I realized what he was saying. Then he said he's from Uganda, they watch Indian movies, and he loved this one for its great family message.

Mississippi Masala was a movie about an Indian family from Uganda. 

Vish M posted:

The parade was a failure

the Temperature was at 72F

Yet less than 1/4 of the folks came out

Most know that Holi was 1 and 1/2 month age

Just a few mandirs and most businesses

Vish it is these same balahu Brahmins who preaches that such auspicious events should not be undertaken during Panchak. Note, I do not believe in this myth. 

Leonora, Indian Movies are BIG in Latin America. I did not know that but a colleague from Pru was telling me about the interest of Hindi Movies there.

I traveled to Latin America for a meeting and one of the attendees was a guy from Guatemala with the last name Ramakrishnan.  I expected to meet an Indian, instead he turned out to be pure Hispanic.  He told me his grandparents adopted Hinduism in the 50s and it's now a family tradition.  They have a family pandit who selects the names.  The way of life has been embraced by even their marriage partners.

I went to Rama Krishna School with a black dude name Ramkissoon but I don't think he was a Hindu. 

I thought only Hindus would attend that school.  Isn't it haram for a Muslim to attend a Hindu school?

Bai, res yuhself.  Didn't you read where I mentioned more than a decade ago that I used to help fix up de deities in the mandir for Sunday service. There was a storeroom behind the main assembly area where they stored the stuff they need for the service.  

I went to Rama Krishna School with a black dude name Ramkissoon but I don't think he was a Hindu. 

I thought only Hindus would attend that school.  Isn't it haram for a Muslim to attend a Hindu school?

He had he eyes pun some nice Hindu gyal, haram or no haram!

Why would anyone say that Hindu gyal are haram? 

People have already moved on from phagwah to other important dates on their religious calendar. It was a ill conceived idea.

I have to say, when I saw the thread, thought was an old recycled.  Got confused as phagwah done and gone.  Who ever thought of that?   

The date was a bad idea. Regarding the thread, that was Nehru's idea.