Home / National News / Putting Respect In Effect: Blacks Should Respect Themselves And Community Members

Putting Respect In Effect: Blacks Should Respect Themselves And Community Members

By Yvonne Sam
Social and Political Commentator

yvonne-samOnce upon a very long time, Blacks respected each other. They were our grandparents, great grandparents or even further back than that. And today, although there are some of us who respect ourselves and each other, yet there is still something terribly amiss.

The effects of slavery programming and brainwashing are no longer acceptable excuses for the blatant disrespect that our people repeatedly show towards each other. Blacks, as a whole, expect less of ourselves and each other than we do of other ethnic groups.

We expect to be on colored people’s time when we have to be somewhere, and we are outraged when white folks talk and treat our people the same way we treat each other.

Plainly put, respect has been lost. Respect begins in the mirror, for when you respect yourself, it shows in how you dress, act and react.

Guys, when you respect yourself, you know to pull up your pants without having to be told, and always be there for your children. Girls, when you respect yourself, you know not to dress like Kim “Kartrashian” or Nikki “Mirage”, because nowhere on God’s green acre, do you have to show everything you have to everybody and everything that sports a pair of eyes.

The difference must be understood between being respectable and respectful. Being respectable is walking with honour, honesty and integrity and behaving with good character, strong values and morals. Being respectable is setting a consistent example, regardless of how people treat you. Being respectable says a lot about you – not about the other person.

Self – respect demands respect, and by the same token, when you disrespect yourself and our people, it sets the tone that other races or ethnic groups follow suit, although they should be held accountable as well.

Commentary LogoHas any thought been given as to why some white police officers believe they can get away with abusing and killing Blacks? They see certain behaviors in us.

Plainly and clearly put, when we respect ourselves and each other, it will send a strong message and signal to every race, color, creed or national origin that we will not tolerate an atom of disrespect.

Until such time, we are more a part of the problem than the solution.

There is a lesson to learnt from the LGBTQ community or the Muslims of the Middle East (not that I am promoting them), but as a group, they do not tolerate disrespect, period. When we respect ourselves and each other, we can demand respect from the police and the courts – and get it.

We must also be careful in trying to impress other races or ethnic groups by putting down one of our own. Do not think that by so doing, you will be favorably thought of by the other ethnic group.

During World War 11, some Germans escaped to Russia and furnished the Russian government with information about Hitler’s plans. After listening, the Russians then executed the German defectors. They knew, for a fact, that they could never place trust, and have confidence in, those who would turn on their own kind. A simple point in question: if you will turn on your own kind, other groups know that you will do likewise with them, just as easy, and at less than the snap of a finger—therefore you cannot be trusted.

Also, as people of African ancestry, we must do better in business towards each other. If you are a Black business owner, please do not sell junk to our people or price-gouge them. Also, as customers, we must strive to handle disagreements with the utmost of respect—not by getting loud, rambunctious or behaving as if you have lost your mind.

It is amazing how negative programming can continue to make us work against each other. Let us strive to treat others, especially our own people, the way we want to be treated. It has been called the Golden Rule — to do unto others the way you would have them do towards you, but far too many of our people still do not get it. If you mistreat people, it will come back to you.

So whether we want to call it Karma, reaping and sowing, the boomerang effect or what goes around comes around – our people need to realize that what we do comes back around ,and hard. If you run a scam, it’s coming back. If you speed up when you see someone trying to get over in traffic, it’s coming back. If you take a parking space you know someone else was waiting for, it’s coming back. If you have your “baby daddy” locked up or refuses to let him see his child, only because he is with a new woman, its coming back. And guys, if you cheat on a good woman who loves you – oh yes, that too is coming back.

Another unsettling thing that I have noticed is, so many cases where Blacks will not sit next to each other on the transit system. They will leave an obvious seat vacant and stand up instead. How sad! At the same time I also notice white folks, Asians and Indians sitting where ever there is an available seat.

Now more than ever before, we see more Black men trying to date white women. Likewise, we see more Black females dating white men and putting down Black men, than ever before. One should be able to date whomsoever you want, but not for whatever reason you want. If you are dating a person of another race or ethnicity because you are shunning your own race, then right there lies a problem.

Before we can expect any other race or ethnic group to respect us, our people must set the tone by respecting our own. Respect has to begin in the mirror or we will have none to give to anyone else; it has to be given in our churches, schools, homes, neighborhoods and black-owned businesses.

We cannot afford to hustle each other, overprice our products and services, provide inferior customer service or fail to stand by what we offer.

My intended message herein is quite simple: respect yourself, respect our people and do not tolerate when any other race or ethnic group fail to do so. Then and only then, will it show, as we grow and onwards go.

Yvonne Sam, a retired Head Nurse and Secondary School Teacher, is Vice-president of the Guyana Cultural Association of Montreal. A regular columnist for over two decades with the Montreal Community Contact, her insightful and incursive articles on topics ranging from politics, human rights and immigration, to education and parenting have also appeared in the Huffington Post, Montreal Gazette, XPressbogg and Guyanese OnLine. She is also the recipient of the Governor General of Canada Caring Canadian Citizen Award.

http://pridenews.ca/2018/04/18...t-community-members/

Who are you again ?

A person who knows how deeply insensitive you are to blacks. You can't escape the sins that you committed against them.

This article fits him. He has no respect for himself.

Exactly how much self-respect can someone retain after being beaten down and brutalized year after year, century after century. Yes, there is room for self-improvement in black people. But let's start the respect with the whites showing a little humane consideration. Perhaps we can start with an apology for slavery, the hangings, the despicable discrimination that continues to today since emancipation.

Glad that this was written by a black person. Because in reality only a black can tell a black how to act and behave. If someone of a different race tries telling them that is trouble 

Amral
antabanta posted:

Exactly how much self-respect can someone retain after being beaten down and brutalized year after year, century after century. Yes, there is room for self-improvement in black people. But let's start the respect with the whites showing a little humane consideration. Perhaps we can start with an apology for slavery, the hangings, the despicable discrimination that continues to today since emancipation.

Many Blacks are trapped in an endless cycle of poverty in the US. I don't think that an apology did any good so far. The congress apologized in 2009 but this didn't seem to have an effect as we still see racism in the killings at the hand of police and also recently discrimination at Starbuck and La Fitness. 

Listen to them two Pusser, Pusser. nothing to contribute.

Blacks cannot for the rest of their lives complain about the white man enslaving them. Some choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty. Why is it so many other races who choose to migrate do well in other countries?

Help them with a hand up and not constant hand outs. Sometimes it takes pride to put your shoulders to the wheel and do menial jobs to get a good start.

Almost every black man that I see in Canada is hugging up a white woman. What type of message is that sending to young black women. I don't see that happening often in America.

I overheard an American black guy saying that he prefers Indian women because they're prettier than blacks. I was stunned at how he dissed his womenfolk. 

Most black men do not care for black women. Years ago, my wife was walking downtown when a black man yelled at her and said, "Hey mama". My wife turned and asked him, "Do I look like your mother?". The dude bent his head and kept walking.

Most black men do not care for black women.

interesting . . . makes me wonder why dem 'other race' women "care" so much for black men

this is true, I see so many white cdn women with black men as their spouse or partner. I guess black man gat more to put out than the white man or any other race. I think also that the white woman got the money and the black man holding pun she

Amral
Amral posted:

this is true, I see so many white cdn women with black men as their spouse or partner. I guess black man gat more to put out than the white man or any other race. I think also that the white woman got the money and the black man holding pun she

My friend tell me Black men like screw around and black women are vicious. See what happens here .D51FB406-48D5-455E-8121-463CC1984699

• D51FB406-48D5-455E-8121-463CC1984699
sachin_05 posted:

It is a money thing..I see most Guyanese coolie woman [including my relatives] who hook up with white ended up having to mind/providing fuh dem rass...

Admin , would you ban this banna for using the word coolie . Lol

Amral posted:

Glad that this was written by a black person. Because in reality only a black can tell a black how to act and behave. If someone of a different race tries telling them that is trouble 

I only wish that Guyanese Indians had similar conversations about what ails their communities rather than criticizing blacks as they try to pretend that they are better.

Among the indentured ethnic groups that came to the Caribbean Indians rank LAST. Why did Indians trail their fellow Asians, the Chinese?  That is what you all should be chatting about instead of pretending that you all are better than blacks.

Listen to them two Pusser, Pusser. nothing to contribute.

Blacks cannot for the rest of their lives complain about the white man enslaving them. Some choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty. Why is it so many other races who choose to migrate do well in other countries?

Help them with a hand up and not constant hand outs. Sometimes it takes pride to put your shoulders to the wheel and do menial jobs to get a good start.

There they go. Guyanese Indians doing far worse than Guyanese Chinese and Guyanese Portuguese, their fellow indentures.  They didn't endure the destructive aspects of slavery and yet none other than Ravi Dev claims that Guyanese Indians aren't any better off than are Guyanese blacks!

But you cannot engage in that conversation, because the fundamental racist that you are you prefer to fool yourself that you are superior to blacks.

And I heard a bunch of Indian women claim that they prefer black men to Indian men.  Your point?  The vast majority of blacks in the USA marry black women. Of the marriages within the past 5 years 75% of black men married black women!  It is clear that the preference of most black men in the USA is for black women.  So leave the USA out of that discussion.

It depends on which part of America it is. There are black women who grew up in the American North West who felt like outcasts when they saw that both black and white men were only interested in White women. The Carib most likely has a very large white woman that he has to answer to every night.

put any indian woman top to toe and there is a black woman to match her in all aspects. This thread is about bias not reality. Women comes in all shapes and sizes and beauty is a very subjective thing.

It depends on which part of America it is. There are black women who grew up in the American North West who felt like outcasts when they saw that both black and white men were only interested in White women. The Carib most likely has a very large white woman that he has to answer to every night.

and you are authoritative on this! you are talking pure crap. Yes, there are discussions about successful black women not finding successful black men because they out number them.

Why don't you go and tend to your wife before she kicks you out?   You didn't marry an Indian woman. so cease with your hypocrisy. No white woman wants you so you found a half white one.

and you are authoritative on this! you are talking pure crap. Yes, there are discussions about successful black women not finding successful black men because they out number them.

The problem of successful black women is because women (of all races) don't marry down.  If 60-70% of the college educated blacks are women and black women prefer black men then clearly many will not find the type of black man that they wish.  They don't want a less successful mate so they are more likely not to marry.  There was a movie, starring Sanaa Lathan, "Something New" which dealt with this.

Amral posted:

Yes Guyanese Indians have a huge complex about whites.  They worship them and feel so self fulfilled if they marry one.

And here are the usual hypocrites pretending as if blacks love whites more than Indians do.   I bet that most of the college educated US born Guyanese Indo females marry white men.

sachin_05 posted:

It is a money thing..I see most Guyanese coolie woman [including my relatives] who hook up with white ended up having to mind/providing fuh dem rass...

How unfortunate. In some cases this is true. However, I have seen white men who are married to Guyanese women treat their wives better than most Guyanese men, and no, they don't live off their wives.

Some choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty.

That statement is beyond ridiculous. Please get it through your thick, ignorant coolie skull that there is centuries-old institutionalized discrimination against non-white people of whom blacks are treated the worse. There is constant propaganda pounded into minds that black people are inferior and good for nothing. This propaganda is most effective when spread through the medium of idiots who arbitrarily make inane, unsubstantiated pronouncements claiming an entire race of people choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty.

antabanta posted:

That statement is beyond ridiculous. Please get it through your thick, ignorant coolie skull that there is centuries-old institutionalized discrimination against non-white people of whom blacks are treated the worse. There is constant propaganda pounded into minds that black people are inferior and good for nothing. This propaganda is most effective when spread through the medium of idiots who arbitrarily make inane, unsubstantiated pronouncements claiming an entire race of people choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty.

You seem to have gone off the cliff. Who said anything about black people? Your negro brain seems to have a lot of gray matter. Have you ever seen whites and other races begging for a handout? What a fcking moron! Gwan dah side you idiot!

antabanta posted:

Imagine, in this day and age your thinking is like that. This is the 2018, perhaps the most liberal times in the world. It is on the Bell Curve and soon we all will experience white domination like when the whiteman roamed the world. The whiteman is being threatened, expect them to react. 

antabanta posted:

You seem to have gone off the cliff. Who said anything about black people? Your negro brain seems to have a lot of gray matter. Have you ever seen whites and other races begging for a handout? What a fcking moron! Gwan dah side you idiot!

My apologies. Perhaps you got confused and posted to the wrong thread? Are you now claiming other races do not have beggars?

Topic of thread: Putting Respect in Effect: Blacks Should Respect Themselves And Community Members.

Your post: Blacks cannot for the rest of their lives complain about the white man enslaving them. Some choose to live in an endless life cycle of poverty.

Go ahead... weasel your way out now.

antabanta posted:

You seem to have gone off the cliff. Who said anything about black people? Your negro brain seems to have a lot of gray matter. Have you ever seenwhites and other races begging for a handout? What a fcking moron! Gwan dah side you idiot!

I does see it in my State,not very prevalent.

antabanta posted:

Imagine, in this day and age your thinking is like that. This is the 2018, perhaps the most liberal times in the world. It is on the Bell Curve and soon we all will experience white domination like when the whiteman roamed the world. The whiteman is being threatened, expect them to react. 

WHAT??? Are you begging for white domination? How is the white man being threatened? This IS 2018. Which hole are you in? How ignorant can you be?

Could the threat be that the black man is not meekly accepting his position as slave?

Could it be that the rest of the world don't appreciate being invaded and subjugated and having their resources plundered?

Are these the threats?

Last edited by antabanta