Wife, friend sentenced to death for murdering US man.

From left are Surojinie Tirmaul and Hemwattie Abdulla

Hemwattie Abdulla, also known as ‘Annie’, 42, and her friend, Seerojini Permaul, known as ‘Usha,’ 49, were yesterday both sentenced to death for murdering the former’s husband.

The two women were found guilty earlier this month of murdering Abdool Shakeel Majid, a United States citizen, in 2012.

After probation reports were read for the women, Justice Sandil Kissoon handed down the death sentences at the Berbice High Court.

Before reading sentencing, he said it was unfortunate that both accused engaged in such conduct after overcoming so much in their lives.

Abdool Shakeel Majid

However, he said the court could not turn a blind eye to the circumstances which led to the death of Majid.

He noted that the facts of the case spoke of the calculated events that were set in motion by the women, with the singular objective of bringing about the death of the victim.

According to the judge, for obvious reasons the widow was not willing to commit the act in the United States, but then involved Permaul to identify an individual to kill Majid, who was a father of one.

He said, Permaul for US$5,000 permitted Abdulla to use her and her (Permaul’s) family, and had it not been for that the victim may have been alive.

Abdulla fainted as she was waiting to be transported to the New Amsterdam Prison. She was revived shortly after.

According to the probation report on Abdulla, which was read in court yesterday, she was a domestic worker at a young age until she met a man, whom she would go on to marry.

The mother of six gave birth to her first child at the age of 15. However, after the birth of her children, she and her family migrated to the United States, where they were residing in her in-laws’ basement.

She then acquired a job and met the now deceased, Majid, who was a taxi driver. After her husband became suspicious, he accused her of having an affair, which led to his parents asking her to vacate the home.

Shortly after, she moved in with Majid, who she then went on to wed, according to Islamic rites.

According to the report, Abdulla was described as a quiet person, who kept to herself most of the time. She has served as an orderly while in prison and was said to behave in a respectful manner.

The report also noted that despite the verdict, Abdulla continued to claim her innocence, noting that she had no reason to kill Majid, who she claims she was in love with.

Meanwhile, according to the probation report read for Permaul, she began to work at an early age to help send her siblings to school because her father had started to drink regularly and was unable to contribute to improve their financial situation.

After she was married and had three children with her husband, he left suddenly without giving any explanation.  The report said she later saw her husband and she told him that she would leave the children in his care but he refused and later died in May of the same year.

Permaul was described as a person with good qualities by her fellow villagers, and it was noted that she was an orderly at the prison, as she was well mannered and very respectful of her fellow inmates and the prison authority.

Permaul also continued to deny the allegation of murder, according to the report, which said she maintained that she had no reason to kill Majid, since she did not know him nor had she ever met him.

At yesterday’s sentencing, the courtroom was packed to capacity with relatives of the two women and the dead man.

As the judge read the sentence, the accused’s relatives began to weep instantly, while Majid’s relatives looked at each other and shook their heads in agreement with the sentence.

The case was prosecuted in by attorney Ganesh Hira.

Man gets life sentence for chopping neighbour who complained about music.

March 30 2018

Andy Boodram was yesterday handed a life sentence by Justice Navindra Singh after being found guilty by a jury of chopping his neighbour, who had asked him to turn down the volume of the music he was playing.

Boodram, 32, a father of three, appeared visibly shocked as did his relatives when the judge announced the sentence.

Given a chance to speak, Boodram called ‘Boy,’ said he was in a fight with the complainant, Deonarine Persaud, called ‘Anil,’ but maintained that he never chopped him.

“It was a fight, but I didn’t chop Anil,” the convict said, while casting the blame on someone else, whom he claimed to have also been a part of the fight.

Boodram had been indicted for attempted murder and the jury found him not guilty by a proportion of 11 to 1. It was on the alternative count of felonious wounding that he was however, convicted by a proportion of 10 to 2. The jury found him guilty of wounding Persaud on September 24th, 2011, with intent to maim, disfigure, disable or cause him serious bodily harm.

Defence attorney George Thomas had begged the court for the most minimum of sentences, advancing that his client had no previous conviction.

For her part, however, Prosecutor Abigail Gibbs advanced that having been found guilty by his peers, Boodram needed to pay the full consequences of his actions.

She asked the court to consider the effect the injuries have had on the complainant, while highlighting the several surgeries he has had to undergo and the extent of those operations.

Of concern to the prosecutor also was the fact that Boodram used a cutlass to inflict the injuries. She impressed upon the court that the type of weapon used needed to be considered as well.

Before imposing the sentence, Justice Singh asked Boodram whether he was maintaining that it was someone else who had chopped the complainant, to which he responded in the affirmative.

Thereafter, the judge noted that for the offence committed, the law provides for life imprisonment and flogging.

“But I will not sentence you to flogging. I will sentence you to life imprisonment,” the judge declared.

“That is the sentence of the court,” Justice Singh told the shocked Boodram.

In his testimony, Persaud had recalled being chopped several times by Boodram, whom he had asked to lower his music as his sick infant son had been sleeping at the time.

Despite repeated appeals, however, the witness said Boodram, who hurled a series of expletives at him and refused to lower the volume of the music.

Persaud had told the court that as he stood conversing with a friend in front of his yard, he heard the friend exclaim, “Anil run! Boy coming with a cutlass!”

He said he did not run at that time and just as he turned towards the direction from which his attacker was coming, he encountered the man swinging a cutlass in front of him.

In the midst of inflicting numerous broadsides, Persaud said that Boodram chopped him twice on the head and once to his left thumb as he tried to bar the chops. He showed the court the scars which he said were the result of the attack.

Persaud said he fell to the ground and remembered clearly seeing the accused standing over, and still broadsiding him, moments before losing consciousness. He later woke in the Georgetown Public Hospital.

He recalled being hospitalised for some six months, during which time he had to undergo several surgeries and had to do numerous follow-up treatments.

The defence contended, however, that it was Boodram who was attacked by Persaud and another person.

According to Thomas, the other person in whose company Persaud was at the time, had been wielding the cutlass at Boodram but it missed and connected with Persaud instead, resulting in the injuries he sustained.

Under cross-examination, the complainant disagreed with counsel’s suggestion that it was a fight and that he was injured during a scuffle.

He also disagreed with Thomas’ suggestion that he was armed and that he was “making up the story” maintaining that it was Boodram who had chopped him.

West Coast Berbice man gets 65 years for raping two minors.

March 29 2018

A West Coast Berbice man, Krishna Tulapersaud of Bath Settlement, West Coast Berbice was yesterday sentenced to a total of 65 years on two counts of rape.

After the jury came back with a guilty verdict on both counts of rape, yesterday afternoon, Justice Sandil Kissoon sentenced the man to 14 years on the first count, and then gave him 51 years on the second count. The sentences will run consecutively.

According to the case, the incidents occurred on more than one occasion.

He was represented by attorney at law, Charrandas Persaud.

Man gets two life sentences for raping child.

March 28 2018

Sheldon Lynch was yesterday afternoon sentenced to two consecutive life sentences by Justice Simone Morris-Ramlall after he was convicted of raping a child on two occasions, beginning when she was 10.

Sheldon Lynch

After about three hours of deliberations, a 12-member jury returned its unanimous verdicts, convicting Lynch on two of the four counts levelled against him for raping the same child.

Lynch was convicted for raping the child in December of 2010 and November of 2011.

The jury was, however, unable to arrive at verdicts for charges that he had also raped the child on January 1st and December 31st of 2012; and then again on January 25th of 2013.

The judge ordered that Lynch spend a minimum of 35 years on each conviction before being paroled.

Given a chance to speak, the tearful 46-year-old father of two maintained his innocence, while he attempted to question the court on aspects of the evidence.

“The jury has found you guilty,” the judge, however, stated, even as she admonished him to wisely use the opportunity he had been given to address the court before sentencing.

Explaining to Lynch that the trial had already ended, Justice Morris-Ramlall further reminded the convict that he had been represented by counsel who had the leverage of cross-examining witnesses.

“My Honour, I am speaking the truth; I did not do anything,” Lynch maintained.

Meanwhile, in a plea of mitigation, defence attorney Clyde Forde begged on his client’s behalf for mercy, and the imposition of a sentence “as lenient as possible,” while noting that the man has two young children he would like the opportunity of seeing grow up.

Counsel advanced that a severe sentence would take Lynch away from his children.

Meanwhile, the victim, now 18, according to an impact statement read to the court, spoke of the trauma and fear she still experiences from the assault and her desire of seeing Lynch punished for what he did to her.

The statement was read by Social Worker of Blossom Inc., Renesha Calendar, who said the young woman spoke of being raped repeatedly by Lynch and the many threats he would make to her not to tell anyone. “My life changed after he raped me,” the statement quoted her as saying.

Because of the shame she felt from the assault, she reported that she dropped out of school and had tried to commit suicide.

The young woman also spoke of her childhood being destroyed and the difficulty and fear she has in having relationships.

Noting that she had considered the nature and circumstances under which the assault occurred, Justice Morris-Ramlall told the convict that the child had trusted and became fond of him “until you changed and treated her like your woman.”

“At age 10 you violated her repeatedly…,” the judge said. “She is still a long way from recovering, if ever,” the judge went on to say.

Justice Morris-Ramlall noted too that while counsel had begged for mercy, the convict showed no remorse nor regard for the verdict of his peers, neither personally, nor through his lawyer.

There must be a “balancing act” when weighing justice and mercy, the judge said.

The judge thereafter sentenced him to two consecutive life sentences, ordering that he spends a minimum of 35 years on each charge before becoming eligible for parole.

The state was represented by prosecutors Orinthia Schmidt and Seeta Bishundial.

The trial proceedings were held in-camera at the Sexual Offences Court of the Georgetown High Court.

What nonsense.  The justice system is one institution which have functioned independently. 

So is wah alyuh sayin, the new govt influencing court decisions! If so, is it really functioning?

Who woke up the justice system?  And when?

Looks like you nah see,recently some kriminals getting hevy sentences.

Bullshit!!   Didn’t granger free many prisoners?

What nonsense.  The justice system is one institution which have functioned independently. 

So is wah alyuh sayin, the new govt influencing court decisions! If so, is it really functioning?

The previous government turned a blind eye to drug runnings in the country in so doing the place became like the wild West. As we are all aware they even formed a group(s) to take out what the said were the bad guys while they made it smooth sailing for others to carry on their lucrative "business"

Bullshit!!   Didn’t granger free many prisoners?

Nonsense, you are being petty now.

The previous government turned a blind eye to drug runnings in the country in so doing the place became like the wild West. As we are all aware they even formed a group(s) to take out what the said were the bad guys while they made it smooth sailing for others to carry on their lucrative "business"

Last time I checked, Guyana still has a drug export problem. Should we blame the current government now? Why not? As long as poverty is a problem in Guyana, drugs will be there. This is true also in America.

Skelly,seriously in our days,most of us were poor and didn't turn to the business of drugs.Before i migrate that business was at minimum.

What do you say is that true?

Drugs were not in abundance making it a lucrative "business" as it was/is the last 10-15 years when Guyana became the hub. 

Lots of folks are in denial,the period it became wide spread.

Drugs were not in abundance making it a lucrative "business" as it was/is the last 10-15 years when Guyana became the hub. 

It’s been in abundance internationally not only Guyana .

widen your vision!! 

Skelly,seriously in our days,most of us were poor and didn't turn to the business of drugs.Before i migrate that business was at minimum.

What do you say is that true?

Rass Djanjo , PNC should hired you back to control the business . 

Was it you who guard the border with Norman Maclean .. good to know !!

widen your vision!! 

Focus on Guyana and the period it became widespread.

widen your vision!! 

Dude, we lean more of it because of tecnology . 

The last two decades, we saw drugs like opioid and fentanly becomes wide spread world wide . Should we blame the politicians of those era .

regarding Guyana , the younger generation don’t want to work , community centre are taken over by bushes. Religious leaders were involve sexually with church members .

Should PPP and PNC haul these young people to work or community activities if they don’t want to  ... banna haul you backside , the devil has taken over the world .. you en see 

widen your vision!! 

........The last two decades, we saw drugs like opioid and fentanly becomes wide spread world wide . Should we blame the politicians of those era ..

If they turned the other way/ encouraged it and if they turned down assistance by other countries ... yes.

widen your vision!! 

Should PPP and PNC haul these young people to work or community activities if they don’t want to  ... banna haul you backside , the devil has taken over the world .. you en see 

You reminds of a co-worker who was the vehicle driver and helper(an American).He was successful in the illegal activities from pimping etc,one raid he lost everything,upon reflection of his past,he will say the world will end soon.

By the way Gov't and community leaders sets the example,when there are a bunch of crooks chosen,what can you expect the population to become.

Just a few years back the crimes were modest, such as pick pocket, choke and rob, break and enter. Today the criminals have open season with the crimes being murder and rape, perhaps it's the political climate conducive.

widen your vision!! 

You reminds of a co-worker who was the vehicle driver and helper(an American).He was successful in the illegal activities from pimping etc,one raid he lost everything,upon reflection of his past,he will say the world will end soon.

By the way Gov't and community leaders sets the example,when there are a bunch of crooks chosen,what can you expect the population to become.

I gon make it simple fo you . How many of us are respectable parents , did the best for our kids .. but some kids went their own way . We should blame the parents .. right 

i hope you comprehend what I man saying .

i know u smart ... use it

Dave posted

I gon make it simple fo you . How many of us are respectable parents , did the best for our kids .. but some kids went their own way . We should blame the parents .. right 

If parents turned away from seeing the wrongs of their children and if the parents are offered assistance in order the kids are brought up in a decent environment...brought up to respect but the parents do not accept this help...yes they get the blame.

widen your vision!! 

Oww brother,that's too simple.

Question...does Guyana have capital punishment...i thought this was abolished?

The women above were given death sentence.

If Guyana has the death penalty, then by what method??

Just asking

We dozz hang dem rass....by dem neck!!

Question...does Guyana have capital punishment...i thought this was abolished?

The women above were given death sentence.

If Guyana has the death penalty, then by what method??

Just asking

We dozz hang dem rass....by dem neck!!

I don't think Granger will sign the order.

I posted this story before the sentence but I am shocked to hear they were given the death penalty. This is too harsh for two middle-aged women in my opinion. 

The Judge took into account that it was premeditated. 

I posted this story before the sentence but I am shocked to hear they were given the death penalty. This is too harsh for two middle-aged women in my opinion. 

What does that have to do with anything?  Hang dem rass!!

The Judge took into account that it was premeditated. 

How many murders are accidental? I don't think this is the first premeditated murder the judge ever ruled on. When thieves targetted your home for a midnight robbery it's premeditated. Why kill two healthy women and spare the men?