Joey Jagan predicts PPP victory at 2020 polls

– urges party to address public perceptions

Victory may have just eluded the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) in the last General and Regional Elections in 2015, but according to Dr. Cheddi “Joey” Jagan, the son of the party’s late founder, that party is likely to return to governance.

Speaking recently during an Indian Action Committee-sponsored event in honour of his father, former President Dr. Cheddi Jagan, “Joey” pointed to the party’s track record of bouncing back stronger than ever from defeat.
“I come from the PPP. I grew up in the PPP. So I have sympathy for the PPP. I will

Opposition Leader and PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo

always have sympathy for (them). I feel the PPP is the birth of politics in this country, and will end up as the party to carry this country forward eventually. Everybody will come back to the PPP, just like it started. That’s what is going to happen,” he predicted.

“If you understand history, the PPP is like the Romans. The Romans took a beating from Hannibal in one afternoon and the Romans came back with two armies three months later. So the PPP are like the Romans. You can knock them down, you can hit them down. They will come back.”

He urged the party in the meantime to address the perceptions of the party held by the public. According to the junior Jagan, addressing these issues will be key to the party’s return to the seat of governance.

Also speaking during the event was PPP Member of Parliament Vickram Bharrat, who fielded questions as to whether the party had moved away from Jagan’s founding principles. He had refuted suggestions that the party no longer reflected

Late former President Dr. Cheddi Jagan

Jagan’s ideologies, while noting that as time progressed, the PPP has evolved.
“I know this has been a burning question, something finding its way around the media and the circles: that the PPP is moving away from Cheddi Jagan’s principles and teachings. But as a young person within the PPP, I want to say the party is grounded along Cheddi Jagan lines. Sometimes we tend not to differentiate between government and party.

“Sometimes we tie the party and Government actions into each other, and we say that the Government between 97 and 2015 did not act in this way and that way. But it is a different era, and we often say, maybe if Jagan was alive he would have taken these decisions that our leaders are taking today.

“One famous comment he (Jagan) made is: we must learn to walk within raindrops. It means that as time moves, as people change, it may require different ideological thinking, policies, and you must adopt it. As time changes, we have to change with it too.”

Taking on suggestions of a fraction within the party, Bharrat noted that, like any “family”, there will be disagreements and dissenters among the party leaders. But he noted that when the party shows its face, it is a united one.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, who is also the PPP General Secretary, has

Dr. Cheddi ‘Joey’ Jagan, son of one of Guyana’s founding leaders, Dr. Cheddi Jagan
Jagan

long been publicly confident of a PPP win at the polls. He has repeatedly referred to large numbers of persons formerly loyal to the coalition making the crossover to PPP out of disillusionment over the Government’s actions.

The IAC event was in honour of Dr. Jagan’s 100 birth anniversary. Cheddi Berret Jagan was born on March 22, 1918, at Plantation Port Mourant, British Guiana. He was a politician and union activist who, in 1953, became the first popularly-elected Prime Minister of British Guiana (now Guyana).

He headed the country’s Government again from 1957 to 1964, after which the People’s National Congress (PNC) retained power. That was until late former President Desmond Hoyte ran and lost to the PPP in 1992, after which Jagan returned to power until his death in 1997.

From there, the PPP/C’s grip on political power remained strong, until the 2011 General and Regional Elections when it lost parliamentary control. As a result, a few years before the 2015 election, then President Donald Ramotar ruled Guyana in a minority Government.

The APNU/AFC narrowly won the 2015 General Election, securing 206,817 votes, while the PPP/Civic accumulated 201,457 votes, a difference of 5360 votes, which brought an end to over two decades of PPP dominance in government. The APNU/AFC secured 33 seats in the 11th Parliament of Guyana, while the PPP/C received 32 seats.

Prince was opening his loud mouth day in and day out about the PPP losing in 2020. He should be the one actually taking note of what Joey predicts for 2020.

We welcome home we Bhai Joey, I have to bring out the thali, lota, milk, sweets and a garland for we own brother Joey.

Prince was opening his loud mouth day in and day out about the PPP losing in 2020. He should be the one actually taking note of what Joey predicts for 2020.

We welcome home we Bhai Joey, I have to bring out the thali, lota, milk, sweets and a garland for we own brother Joey.

The same Joey that throws the PPP under the bus and embraces the coalition? Yeh, right. I read predictions that the world will end about five times before, but thankfully, we're still here. 

I would put my trust in DG's predictions overJoey anytime. I know this one will definitely excite you until 2020. I am not. 

Joey sends a strong message to people like Prince, Mitwah, Django and Cain etc:

“If you understand history, the PPP is like the Romans. The Romans took a beating from Hannibal in one afternoon and the Romans came back with two armies three months later. So the PPP are like the Romans. You can knock them down, you can hit them down. They will come back.”

No wonder we Bai Gerhard ran away to Germany. 

The same Joey that throws the PPP under the bus and embraces the coalition? Yeh, right. I read predictions that the world will end about five times before, but thankfully, we're still here. 

I would put my trust in DG's predictions overJoey anytime. I know this one will definitely excite you until 2020. I am not. 

You can run and dance all you want but the PPP is united and is like a THUNDER. Stay away and massage you Uncle Moses Big Belly in 2020.

This will be the BIGGEST victory in it's History. Take that and smoke it in your pipe or please go back to planting your black baigan.

Joey sends a strong message to people like Prince, Mitwah, Django and Cain etc:

No wonder we Bai Gerhard ran away to Germany.

Joey should revisit his history. Romans will die with honor in battle than to live in shame of losing. Which Indian fought and die for what they believe in? He is a former president's son and some people may believe him. What he did is nothing less than what Moses did. If you see Moses as a neemakaram, I see Joey as a neemakaram. 

We Berbicians sacrificed our lives. You are so blunt, read up on the resistance at the 1973 Elections. I witnessed it with my own eyes while you were busy planting black baigan.

Moses is a Chammar who will be spit on by the Guyanese whom he betrayed.  He has to hide under President Granger's skirt for the rest of his life, he just does not have the nerve to face the people when he so betrayed.

Moses is Naamakharam incarnated.

Lets not kid ourselves here....Joey Jagan is the quintessential political idiot. The only thing he has going for him is his father's name, and that did not prevent him from being kicked out the PPP. He is unstable, He is not trustworthy among the PPP leaders, thus making it difficult to move back into the party, even if he wants to. 

This IAC event is a feel good display of emotions based on the memory of the late Cheddi Jagan. It was not a forum which was designed to critically analyze the impact of Jagan and the PPP. Joey does not have the hutzpah to do this kind of analysis. He should keep his mouth shut....and he really believes the coalition has screwed up, he should go public with his criticism.

So Joey's prediction that the PPP will win in 2020 is nothing but fiction....the numbers are not there for the PPP, and there is the element of the PNC rigging to keep themselves in power.

Thats my 2 cents.

Granger never warmed up to any Indians who endorsed his bid for the Presidency. His first act was to recognized Hamilton Green. I believe Granger is confident of a 2020 victory in his favor, by hook or crook.

I don't know what to believe.  He spends at least a weekend at my brother and sister-in-law whenever he comes and he said he want's more Indians with him.  They make bake and salt fish and roti and curry for him and his wife.  They love it!

@ Vish

You too should not be kidding yourself. The AFC/PNC boasted about and utilized Joey's support for the coalition at last election. Why the sudden change in your opinion, the grape is now sour ? 

Like it or not, Joey does have an impact.

Talking about numbers, we need to learn from the U.S. Presidential election. Think again.

The AFC/PNC shunned their closest allies, disregarded the youth base who worked tirelessly to help them by giving all of the positions of old men who should be enjoying retirement. The Dougla people will not blindly vote PNC as Blacks did in the past. The AFC has lost their support base. Blacks will not turn out in large numbers as they did the last election, they are feeling a bigger squeeze than they ever did.

The populace were conned by the AFC/PNC coalition, no questions about it. Do some some people really believe that Guyanese are foolish enough to vote for any party just because ?

I do not want to name any names but here were many here at GNI who were supporting the AFC 1000 percent and none of them except Gil who had the decency to admit that they were wrong by supporting the AFC. 

Now that the PPP is poised to win, the very persons who have utmost hate for the PPP or Jagdeo are showing up with different hats and making excuses for the liars and crooks in the AFC/PNC.

Carry on.

Politicians say things to the effect when they are in a certain company. Wanting and needing Indians are different. I believe in giving people the benefit of the doubt, but what Granger has portrayed himself to be by his own actions have left many Indians who supported him wondering. I am not telling anyone to give up hopes on Granger, but to make your own judgment. I would not wait for my princess to come along and quench my thirst in winter, waiting in the cold. Lol

Joey is looking for a job for his son.  Looks like the PNC thing did not work out too well!

Excellent observation. His son was not black enough to get a Job. This is the issue at heart for Indo Guyanese today and Joey realized that he made a terrible mistake by supporting the PNC Scorpion.

I can name many names, Gerhard ran away to Russia or France or god knows where, TK was shunned and put in his place. Congress Place does not need them anymore.

A great opportunity awaits the PPP but they must never resort to the PPP of the Past. All Guyanese regardless of race must have a full seat at the table and have access to the same plate.

The PPP must also become more multi ethnic. 

All six races must be given an equal opportunity to prosper. And the arrogance of some of the PPP ministers must come to an end. Some of them behaved as if they were greater than Krsna.

Will the PPP make the same mistake again or will they learn for the good kick that they were given ? Time will tell.

Failing to do so will destroy Guyana forever.

I remember seeing Joey standing next to Forbes daughter. She amazes me how pretty she really is. Her father's lips on a female are so sexy and appealing. I hope when she is being kissed on those luscious lips, her husband or b/f in not thinking of the Kabaka. Lol

Joey is looking for a job for his son.  Looks like the PNC thing did not work out too well!

Lots of folks got screwed by Granger and his cabal. Even Moses realized very quickly that Harmon is his shadow. Ramjattan on the other hand hasn't sobered up enough to realize anything. Roopnarine has been relocated to an assisted living home, courtesy of Granger. 

I remember seeing Joey standing next to Forbes daughter. She amazes me how pretty she really is. Her father's lips on a female are so sexy and appealing. I hope when she is being kissed on those luscious lips, her husband or b/f in not thinking of the Kabaka. Lol

Looks like Prince hangout too much with Burnham Hydro seed engineer DG.

When Baseman gets a hotshot job in Granger's cabinet, I hope he remembers his GNI colleagues.  

Nah gyaal. I ain’t looking for that. If I wanted I could have in 2015 when I was offered to meet!

Baseman believed in the PPP and wanted them to continue regardless how I felt about some individuals. I still felt they were better and I never trusted the PNC!

When Baseman gets a hotshot job in Granger's cabinet, I hope he remembers his GNI colleagues.  

Again I tell you, it's easier for a camel to go through an eye of a needle..........!  

Excellent observation. His son was not black enough to get a Job. This is the issue at heart for Indo Guyanese today and Joey realized that he made a terrible mistake by supporting the PNC Scorpion.

I can name many names, Gerhard ran away to Russia or France or god knows where, TK was shunned and put in his place. Congress Place does not need them anymore.

A great opportunity awaits the PPP but they must never resort to the PPP of the Past. All Guyanese regardless of race must have a full seat at the table and have access to the same plate.

The PPP must also become more multi ethnic. 

All six races must be given an equal opportunity to prosper. And the arrogance of some of the PPP ministers must come to an end. Some of them behaved as if they were greater than Krsna.

Will the PPP make the same mistake again or will they learn for the good kick that they were given ? Time will tell.

Failing to do so will destroy Guyana forever.

Joey's son and daughter are both practicing attorneys raising their young family in New York.  What job do they want with the Guyana govt?

Lets not kid ourselves here....Joey Jagan is the quintessential political idiot. The only thing he has going for him is his father's name, and that did not prevent him from being kicked out the PPP. He is unstable, He is not trustworthy among the PPP leaders, thus making it difficult to move back into the party, even if he wants to. 

This IAC event is a feel good display of emotions based on the memory of the late Cheddi Jagan. It was not a forum which was designed to critically analyze the impact of Jagan and the PPP. Joey does not have the hutzpah to do this kind of analysis. He should keep his mouth shut....and he really believes the coalition has screwed up, he should go public with his criticism.

So Joey's prediction that the PPP will win in 2020 is nothing but fiction....the numbers are not there for the PPP, and there is the element of the PNC rigging to keep themselves in power.

Thats my 2 cents.

I add one cent to that and mek it three cents.  With the exception of the last paragraph.

@ Vish

You too should not be kidding yourself. The AFC/PNC boasted about and utilized Joey's support for the coalition at last election. Why the sudden change in your opinion, the grape is now sour ? 

Talking about numbers, we need to learn from the U.S. Presidential election. Think again.

The AFC/PNC shunned their closest allies, disregarded the youth base who worked tirelessly to help them by giving all of the positions of old men who should be enjoying retirement. The Dougla people will not blindly vote PNC as Blacks did in the past. The AFC has lost their support base. Blacks will not turn out in large numbers as they did the last election, they are feeling a bigger squeeze than they ever did.

The populace were conned by the AFC/PNC coalition, no questions about it. Do some some people really believe that Guyanese are foolish enough to vote for any party just because ?

I do not want to name any names but here were many here at GNI who were supporting the AFC 1000 percent and none of them except Gil who had the decency to admit that they were wrong by supporting the AFC. 

Now that the PPP is poised to win, the very persons who have utmost hate for the PPP or Jagdeo are showing up with different hats and making excuses for the liars and crooks in the AFC/PNC.

Carry on.

Screenshot at 2018-03-20 05-14-37

Lots of rambling,check the stats.

Don't worry with the PNC riggings.

• Screenshot at 2018-03-20 05-14-37

Again I tell you, it's easier for a camel to go through an eye of a needle..........!  

Gyaal, which side of the kingdom polar you roll out from this marnin’?  Tek it easy deh!

You know gurl! I hope he know I like salfish an bake too.

He's smart and hangs out with the right people. His family is busy bribing up DAG and Sandra! Maybe we'll hear next about Ambassador Baseman. Please don't kill me, Airport-man.   

When you have the hardest core anti koolie expect nothing less than anti-koolieism

Truth of the matter, PPP stands a good chance come 2020.  BJ was clever not to take the TK line on the PSA.  

With that, I don’t think the GDF will take part in any rigging  so DAG pon he own. And he private army getting shot daily as the try to sustain themselves by robbing!

Truth of the matter, PPP stands a good chance come 2020.  BJ was clever not to take the TK line on the PSA.  

With that, I don’t think the GDF will take part in any rigging  so DAG pon he own. And he private army getting shot daily as the try to sustain themselves by robbing!

Bai dat man Mr Jagdoe gat nuff nuff nuff street sense. Dirty Indian Mr TK only gat book sense. He only know theory. Ayoo Lard and Saviour know street practice. Ehehehe....

@ Vish

Carry on.

Screenshot at 2018-03-20 05-14-37

Lots of rambling,check the stats.

Don't worry with the PNC riggings.

Not sure what the stats are telling you here...it does not take anything away from the fact that the election will be race-based, the PPP does not have the numbers, out migration is higher among Indians, and rigging will take place...the PPP cannot control a chaotic city with Africans in majority...they have agreed to cutting their term of office in the past...

Thats my 2 cents.

I add one cent to that and mek it three cents.  With the exception of the last paragraph.

The last paragraph is the most important...why do you disagree?

Bai dat man Mr Jagdoe gat nuff nuff nuff street sense. Dirty Indian Mr TK only gat book sense. He only know theory. Ayoo Lard and Saviour know street practice. Ehehehe....

If I were you, I would not beat up on myself that bad.  Professors do bring perspectives     

It's really sad to see we bai TK morphing into a Labba. He got no friends left and hangs out at GNI. So sad.