Strategy mapped out for 2020 polls –Jagdeo

-sends signal to civil society

March 12 2018

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday went into full campaign mode as he laid out plans for the his People’s Progressive Party (PPP) which he urged supporters to follow as he believes it was key to ensuring a victory at the 2020 General and Regional Elections.

Using the centennial birth anniversary of late PPP founder and President, Dr.Cheddi Jagan, which was held at Babu John, Corentyne, Berbice yesterday. Jagdeo, whose party lost the 2015 general elections by under 5,000 votes, told attendees that he forecasts a PPP win by 50,000 votes come 2020 but that it would not be realized without hard work and the following through of his plan.

Part of the gathering at Babu John

Opposition Leader and PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo speaking yesterday.

From right are former President and Prime Minister Sam Hinds, former President and current PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo and former President and former PPP General Secretary, Donald Ramotar.

One of the performances on the programme.

The march from Bloomfield Village, Corentyne

“I want the media and our supporters to know that we will not be lying down. We will be looking for every loophole,” he told the over 1,500 attendees at the event.

He would later add, even as he reminded that the next election will be one of the most critical in the country’s history, “We will wage the fight until the PPP is victorious. And no matter what (President David) Granger does, we are sending the message that this is a different time.

Jagdeo said that he knows that the country zooms in on his annual address at Babu John to gain insight to his thoughts and wanted everyone to know that he had mapped out a strategy which has already been activated and the party will work to implement until 2020 and also a list of policies and programmes that will be on the elections manifesto.

On the eve of the hearing of the presidential third term case at the Caribbean Court of Justice which will decide whether or not he can run for the presidency again, Jagdeo made no mention of who will be the party’s next presidential candidate but pleaded with supporters to be vigilant and on the lookout for possible plans to rig the elections while also promising constitutional reform.

“Given the nature of the PNC, there is a fear that they will rig the next elections…we must never allow this fear to paralyze us,” he said. The PNC is the key party in APNU which is part of the governing coalition.

“We are not lying down. We are not taking it as granted that they will rig the elections, we are looking out for every single method that they will use and we will block those so that the PPP can emerge victorious,” he added.

And expressing dissatisfaction with the number of registrants during the Guyana Elections Com-mission’s (GECOM) last registration cycle, he said that one aspect of the plan was to get every eligible supporter out to vote.

“We have just concluded a registration exercise in many of our strongholds, when we look at the numbers people are eager to come out but the numbers who went to the registration centres do not match the numbers although we have had the highest amount of people who have registered in this cycle than ever and most of them are in our stronghold. So that’s a good sign but we need to step up the work in the next cycle,” he said.

“We have to start preparing the logistics to bring every single voter out,” he added.

And at the level of GECOM, he said that the party’s commissioners would be watching to see “how they hire election day staff” because he believes there needs to be a racial balance in the hiring.

And if there is no electronic voting system in 2020, the PPP/C’s commissioners would also see that there is independent verification of the 2015 database with the next database as well as another independent verification of the digitized birth certificates. He informed that this would be done because the party does not trust Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Winston Felix. “We don’t trust Felix and the others…so we have to have an independent verification of that list,” he said.

“If we don’t have an electronic way of voting we have to find a way of scrubbing that list…getting dead people off that list and getting a transparent list,” he added.

And when he was done taking supporters though the plan of outreach and being vigilant at the polls, the PPP/C leader turned to engagement with civil society.

He said that this was a category by itself as he believes that interfacing with civil society was another way of gaining the support of voters.

“We must form a compact with civil society as the basis for the future,” Jagdeo said as he contended that it will bridge the gap of possible racial and class-based distractions of politicians.

There is a space for civil society and they need to know that there are some things that the PPP will put in the future.

And listing promises that will be in his party’s next manifesto, Jagdeo told laid-off Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) workers that the PPP will ensure that they are given stipends until they can find permanent jobs. “The first day the PPP gets into power, each sugar worker will get a stipend until they can get a job,” he said to the applause and cheers of attendees.

Promises were also made to remove Value Added Taxes from 46 items that the APNU+AFC had implemented for everyone and another 200 that was directly related to the Private Sector.

He said that there would also be the reintroduction of subsidies for senior citizens and educational school grants for children.

While not listing any specific aspects of the constitution that he or his party feels needs changing, he said that the PPP/C will be supportive of constitutional reform and campaign financing reform.

“Whatever people want we will support in the constitution,” he said.

He did not go into the oil and gas sector but promised that the PPP/C will also formulate an apolitical system for management of the emerging sector since he believes that there is or will be no solid plan on the way forward for an industry said to be the backbone of the country’s economy. “We would initiate a study for the natural gas offshore to see how it can be incorporated here for use,” he said.

Taking jabs at governing coalition partner, the Alliance for Change, Jagdeo said that the party would be a non-entity in the 2020 elections and does not foresee them gaining any parliamentary seats.

However, he believes that the APNU faction of the coalition would gain about 30% of the votes and that would mean that a winning PPP/C would have to engage with them. He promised if that was the case the party would look at having amicable relations with the APNU for the good of the country.

But after giving his roadmap to 2020, Jagdeo reminded that it would be a difficult task but given that the rewards would be sweet, to not lose faith.

“Don’t think it is going to get easier. They are going to get more desperate as they lose support…I know the nature of the beast,” he said while adding that winning will not come “by gaff” but unified work between supporters and their leaders.

I watched it over YouTube. Was not bad. Clearly he is running in 2020, not some new leader. 

His appeal to all races to join the PPP was fine.  He referred to the class struggle in Guyana saying it’s not about race, but then immediately referred to discrimination mostly against Indians.  

There is a perception among blacks that they were discriminated against during the PPP time. So not sure how much mileage he gets there.  

What we see is the PPP we just had for 23 years.  What will they do differently than in the past?  What lessons have been learnt? What perceptions and misperceptions will be rectified? What concerns will they put to rest?  

He again referred to this 50k victory margin!  Does he really believe that?   

Getting out the vote is critical. They are working the ground.  I agree with him on the possibility of voter fraud.  

Not sure why he hang his hat on the Americans does or does not want the PNC for 10 years.   Does he believe the US will say that?  I believe he is more the issue, not the overall PPP!

it was a call to the base. I did not see or hear anything transformational. If he is hanging his hat that a bad PNC is the formula for PPP success, he might be disappointed!

I watched it over YouTube. Was not bad. Clearly he is running in 2020, not some new leader. 

His appeal to all races to join the PPP was fine.  He referred to the class struggle in Guyana saying it’s not about race, but then immediately referred to discrimination mostly against Indians.  

There is a perception among blacks that they were discriminated against during the PPP time. So not sure how much mileage he gets there.  

What we see is the PPP we just had for 23 years.  What will they do differently than in the past?  What lessons have been learnt? What perceptions and misperceptions will be rectified? What concerns will they put to rest?  

Getting out the vote is critical. They are working the ground.  I agree with him on the possibility of voter fraud.  

Not sure why he hang his hat on the Americans does or does not want the PNC for 10 years.   Does he believe the US will say that?  I believe he is more the issue, not the overall PPP!

it was a call to the base. I did not see or hear anything transformational. If he is hanging his hat that a bad PNC is the formula for PPP success, he might be disappointed!

Can there be another political movement in 2020. Let us not consider the AFC as/was another political movenment. I knew and they proved their devisious ways as the PPP and PNC, from where they came.

Can men like Ram, GhK Lall, Alexander and other letter writers come forth on a platform. 

Jagdeo forming  a government ain going to be good for the country.

Can there be another political movement in 2020. Let us not consider the AFC as/was another political movenment. I knew and they proved their devisious ways as the PPP and PNC, from where they came.

Can men like Ram, GhK Lall, Alexander and other letter writers come forth on a platform. 

If you really and truly believe that Glenn Lall should run for public office then you should ask your doctor to change your medication.  Clearly, the side effects are devastating.  This could turn out much worse than your bid for the AFC in 2015.

Dis bai Jagdeo mek a good speech. He din cuss out people. He give he people wan positive message. He stand strong how he na go back down in case riggin. He need wan plan foh shut down de kuntry if dey rig. 

Labba,not wan word mentioned about Cheddi Jagan.

All Dr. Doom sayin about how PPP will win by 50,000 votes and Rigging.I am working on some data that 50,000 isn't possible,what you think?

If you really and truly believe that Glenn Lall should run for public office then you should ask your doctor to change your medication.  Clearly, the side effects are devastating.  This could turn out much worse than your bid for the AFC in 2015.

Why the personal attacks on poor Siggy who is recovering from a recent medical procedure?  The PPP can't win the 2020 elections.

All Dr. Doom sayin about how PPP will win by 50,000 votes and Rigging.I am working on some data that 50,000 isn't possible,what you think?

Bai doh is nuff maths. Me na know dem ting da. Jagdoe dey pon de ground everyday. He gat a good sense. 95% of dem coolie and black peopkle go vote for dem racial massa. Dem AFC mix peopkle and Amerindian go make de diffence. If yuh figure out dat yuh crystal ball go be better than Uncle Mr DG balls. Me doan care bout race but if me get wan sense Ganger goh rig de eleckshun I supportin Jagdoe. I go hold me nose and support de man. 

Doh is the key to win,more on that later when the race heats up.

Looks like you suppurtin Commie Democracy,two tap country got leader fuh life.

Looks like you suppurtin the Commie Democracy,two tap country got leader fuh life.

Well if de eleckshun go be rig abie gat foh support de commie democracy. 

Looks like you suppurtin the Commie Democracy,two tap country got leader fuh life.

Well if de eleckshun go be rig abie gat foh support de commie democracy. 

Arright bhai Labba,as you seh suh.

Frenno Gilly does seh "Let us wait and see",suh lemme see if the PNC guh change them ways.

alena06 posted:

He needs to step aside and allow fresh new minds to get that 50k votes. Will not happen under him.

How laaaang me sehin’ dah and you and yuh psycho sissy tell me aff!

Seriously, he can stand and make a good speech.  But do can others if they take the lead. I listen to the speech, it’s same old.  

He will not broaden the base.  His appeal to Afros was so fleeting, followed by a comment on anti Indian discrimination.  He does not come across genuine to skeptics.  

He is a man of the base, a “Baseman”....... #2!

Jagdeo's smoking something very strong if he really thinks the PPP will win by 50,000 votes. Sounds like a D_G prediction. 

Burnham Hydro seed engineer probably was thinking Burnham running in the election.

from what I am observing the PNC is very AFRAID of the popularity of Jagdeo/ The man is really appreciated by MOST Guyanese and is preaching the right things, doing the right things and speaking in language all can understand. These are all ingredients of a PPP victory. However, as I stated many times, the Presidential Candidate should not be Dr Jagdeo, he can be the Leader of the Party, the spokesperson and Chief Strategist.

Why the personal attacks on poor Siggy who is recovering from a recent medical procedure?  The PPP can't win the 2020 elections.

She knows he is recovering. It’s her style.  

Base, Dem Gals right to tell yuh Baxside off Dem Gals dat are Professionals of the highest quality Good fuh yuh Baxside

Me know da gyaal good good bai.  Nah worry.  

I was referring to the PPP leadership, nothing else!

Dem Gal ah meh Didis, just be careful:0;):

I know who they are to you and it matters not to me! As long as anyone throws shit at me, I will return it in full glory.  No one bothers me.

I had left this site in peace just to be attacked unprovoked.

Calling me and my family demeaning things will not go without a response.  Who don’t like it, well too bad, their problem!

Base, you will be fighting a losing battle. Dem gal that are way intelligent and sophisticated. I doubt they will attack your Family.

You need not worry, it’s not your issue. I will deal with any infractions as and when I chose to!

Base, you will be fighting a losing battle. Dem gal that are way intelligent and sophisticated. I doubt they will attack your Family.

You need not worry, it’s not your issue. I will deal with any infractions as and when I chose to!

But as dem Bhia I will be involved.):

warrior posted:

i feel so sad for the ppp i was looking for the 15000 they use to get at these rally i think indian people wake up 

I was also surprised to hear it was only 1,500 people.  I thought it was 10,000!

But as dem Bhia I will be involved.):

Up to you!  

from what I am observing the PNC is very AFRAID of the popularity of Jagdeo/ The man is really appreciated by MOST Guyanese and is preaching the right things, doing the right things and speaking in language all can understand. These are all ingredients of a PPP victory. However, as I stated many times, the Presidential Candidate should not be Dr Jagdeo, he can be the Leader of the Party, the spokesperson and Chief Strategist.

you is a fool what more can i say 

I would prefer the PNC to rig the elections than let Jagdeo run again and win. IF HE COULD AS HE BOASTS.

Those ppl in the PPP doan care one iota about the country Dem juss wan to be in a position to thief. And if the PPP get in again, dey will never get out. A recipe fuh killing Indians mercilessly and dat prick wont care an azz.

The solution is for Maduro to juss cross over the border and observe how he is welome and that is even better than Jagdeo as president, AGAIN.

warrior posted:

i feel so sad for the ppp i was looking for the 15000 they use to get at these rally i think indian people wake up 

I was also surprised to hear it was only 1,500 people.  I thought it was 10,000!

I thought at least 5,000. 

I would prefer the PNC to rig the elections than let Jagdeo run again and win. IF HE COULD AS HE BOASTS.

Those ppl in the PPP doan care one iota about the country Dem juss wan to be in a position to thief. And if the PPP get in again, dey will never get out. A recipe fuh killing Indians mercilessly and dat prick wont care an azz.

The solution is for Maduro to juss cross over the border and observe how he is welome and that is even better than Jagdeo as president, AGAIN.

Siggy, yuh rass bad yuh know.  Now datt kantankarus Queen bee guh put sting pun yuh rass!

Anyway, I watched that speech yesterday, it’s not a winning formula. It had an element of divisiveness and anger.

My contacts in the coalition says the have big plans and not rigging or anything nefarious.  I don’t know if to believe because the PNC bais wutliss no ass!