Three held at CJIA over handbag cocaine.

Feb 15 2018

Three persons including a female outgoing passenger at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA), Timehri were last evening arrested after a quantity of suspected cocaine was found concealed in her handbag.

The Customs Anti-Narcotic Unit (CANU) in a statement last evening said that its ranks stationed at the airport in Timehri conducted a search on the 19-year-old woman during which the illegal drug was found.

It was weighed and amounted to 2.660 kilogrammes.

The woman who hails from the East Coast Demerara was destined for the USA, the agency said.

She was accompanied to the airport by her mother and other relatives.

Her mother and another individual were also arrested and are presently in custody assisting with investigations.

Mother and daughter charged after CJIA cocaine bust

Feb 17,2018

Kavita Persaud

A mother and her daughter were hauled before a city court yesterday to answer the charge that they trafficked 5.8 pounds of cocaine found at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) in the latter’s handbag as she was going through a security check.

Kavita Persaud, 40, also known as β€˜Natasha,’ and her daughter, Rachel Narine, 19, were both charged with trafficking 2.660 Kilogrammes (equivalent to 5.8 pounds) of cocaine on February 14th, at CJIA.

Persaud and Narine, both of Lot 55 Ramsingh Street, Annandale, East Coast Demerara, denied the charge, which was read to them by Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan.

Rachel Narine

Customs Anti-Narcotic Unit (CANU) prosecutor Konyo Sandiford objected to bail being granted to either woman, while noting that they have both given statements admitting their involvement in the crime.

According to the CANU prosecutor, on the day in question Narine was an outbound passenger at CJIA and while going through the internal scanner at immigration, she was intercepted, her handbag was examined and the suspected cocaine was uncovered.

CANU, the prosecutor noted, contacted Persaud along with a taxi driver who had transported them to the CJIA. They were then escorted to CANU headquarters, where Sandiford said a detailed caution statement was given by both defendants underlining their involvement in the attempt to smuggle the cocaine. The taxi driver was also interviewed and gave a statement, she noted.

Attorney Everton Singh-Lammy later requested reasonable bail for his clients, while noting that the suspected cocaine was found in a bag that could have been accessed by at least three persons. The attorney’s bail request was denied and the two women were remanded to prison until February 22nd, when the case is to be called again.

Only Afros would make such statement.

It is true if it were blacks some here would have stupidly jumped on it as PNC fundraising. I wonder who this couple is fundraising for?

I cannot understand why anyone would put themselves in a position like that and this goes on in many countries not just Guyana.

A while back my buddy busted one guy at the airport as he was bringing in a surfboard with the powder stuffed inside. Now where the heck would he use a surfboard here?

Jail dem Mudda Kunt. These are the people who want to shop at Macy;s every weekend and show that they rich!!!!!

They have to make a living, [FAIR]

them too UGLY to prostitute. [UNFAIR. When you go to Gaumont a nice face is minimal consideration. Nice boobs, nice hips, nice thighs and even nice bamsy are the important and appealing features. ]

Even though it is wrong, we shouldn't be harsh or jump to conclusion. I was looking a recent video on prices or food in a local market. I was shocked to see what food items are costing a poor man in Guyana. Vegetables are the only reasonable items people can buy to survivor on a salary of an ordinary man. 

That said, people are taking risk to bring small amounts of cocaine abroad to exchange and send back that money to their family at home.

I am not condoning wrongdoing or support breaking the law, but we have to look at each case individually and not be harsh on this family. 

This is when a bad situation turns worst for a family. Guyana is in a survival state where everybody wants to get in on the get rich quick scheme. 

Cobra posted:

Even though it is wrong, we shouldn't be harsh or jump to conclusion. I was looking a recent video on prices or food in a local market. I was shocked to see what food items are costing a poor man in Guyana. Vegetables are the only reasonable items people can buy to survivor on a salary of an ordinary man. 

That said, people are taking risk to bring small amounts of cocaine abroad to exchange and send back that money to their family at home.

I am not condoning wrongdoing or support breaking the law, but we have to look at each case individually and not be harsh on this family. 

This is when a bad situation turns worst for a family. Guyana is in a survival state where everybody wants to get in on the get rich quick scheme. 

Dude,are you for real ?

2.660 Kilogrammes (equivalent to 5.8 pounds) of cocaine.

These people could be supporters of APNU or AFC.  If Riff is charged with a serious wrong-doing would it be fair to say he is Nehru's people based on the fact that he is Indian?  

Banna is like you pullin a Trumpski pon we, shift the blame. APNU/AFC does not need to raise funds as you guys constantly say they will be rigging the elections.

These people could be supporters of APNU or AFC.  If Riff is charged with a serious wrong-doing would it be fair to say he is Nehru's people based on the fact that he is Indian?  

Banna is like you pullin a Trumpski pon we, shift the blame. APNU/AFC does not need to raise funds as you guys constantly say they will be rigging the elections.

They doan have to rig,

some East Indians sinking the ship,with their diatribe against Afro Guyanese.

They doan have to rig,

Look like they are getting too personal with you and family.

They doan have to rig,

Look like they are getting too personal with you and family.

Who getting personnel Bhai ?