Fireworks in the background this morning after the Golden Arrowhead was hoisted at D'Urban Park marking the 48th anniversary of the country's Republican status. (Ministry of the Presidency photo). 

Address of His Excellency Brigadier David Granger President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana on the 48th Republic anniversary of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

God bless the Republic

The independent state of Guyana assumed the title ‘Cooperative Republic’ on this day, 48 years ago.

The Republic severed vestigial constitutional bonds with the United Kingdom of Great Britain. Guyana became fully sovereign, no longer subject to external authority.

The Republic vested sovereignty in our people. It charged Guyanese with exercising this sovereignty by assuming responsibility for defending their motherland and developing the economy.

We, Guyanese, celebrate our 48th republic anniversary, happy that our efforts to defend our homeland have not been in vain. We have lived under the shadow of threats to our territory since Independence in 1966.

Guyana moved closer towards a juridical settlement of the territorial controversy this year.  The United Nations Secretary General in January indicated his choice of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) as the means to resolve the controversy.

We, Guyanese, intend to pursue our case before the ICJ in coming months with the same determination as we rejected the unwarranted claim to our territory in past years. We are confident that our cause is just and our case is sound.  We are committed to defending our motherland.

Guyana’s Constitution stipulates that:

“The State’s defence and security policy shall be to defend national independence, preserve the country’s sovereignty and integrity and guarantee the normal functioning of institutions and the security of citizens against any armed aggression.”

Our citizens’ safety is the State’s paramount objective. Our people must be safe in their homes, villages and places of work. Their property, must be protected against crime.

Guyana’s Government is enhancing the delivery of services to its most distant communities, both on the coastland and in the hinterland, in good times and bad.

Guyana’s Government is augmenting its resources to render assistance to regional administrations and villages in times of flood, drought, threats to public order and other emergencies.

Guyana looks forward to the intensification of cooperation with friendly, foreign states, especially in building capacity for the Defence Force’s technical corps to improve the national infrastructure in every part of the country, to defend our territorial integrity, to protect our citizens and to respond to emergencies.

International cooperation is essential to preserving this continent as a zone of peace; to preventing and interdicting transnational threats such as drug-, gun- and human-trafficking, the spread of contagious diseases, terrorism and to mitigating the adverse effects of climate change and natural hazards.

Guyana’s green grandeur must be protected. Its grasslands, highlands, islands, wetlands, lakes, coastal mudflats, rainforests, rivers and waterfalls are wonderful – not a mere figment of its citizens’ imagination.

We, Guyanese, are proud of our country. Our national anthem sings of a “…land of rivers and plains, made rich by the sunshine and lush by the rains, set gem-like and fair between mountains and seas…”

We, Guyanese, in the exercise of our sovereignty, are defending the Republic. We are protecting our patrimony. We are ensuring that future generations will be able to inherit this beautiful country, to live in peace and to enjoy the good life and prosperity which this bountiful country has to offer.

Guyanese! I extend greetings to you on the occasion of the 48th anniversary of the republic. Happy Republic Day!  Happy Mashramani!  May God bless the Republic!

We live in a faux republic. True republics elect representatives of their choice where the choice is their own and not some party honcho. We are celebrating a fraud perpetuated on us by LFSB and later the PPP and now the APNU. We need a republic but what we have is a fake one where we elect ethnic affiliated dictators.

For East Indians of Guyana there is absolutely nothing to celebrate.

Dem coolies use to prapa wine downk during PPP time.  Now a Black man time.  Coolies staan back!  Abie no mo pon tap!

True back then and still mostly the same now. I was out there yesterday. Moh party today!!!

Bhaiji, when is the last time you visited Guyana? You should see dem lil coolie boys and girls how dem can wine, grind and back baal.

We live in a faux republic. True republics elect representatives of their choice where the choice is their own and not some party honcho. We are celebrating a fraud perpetuated on us by LFSB and later the PPP and now the APNU. We need a republic but what we have is a fake one where we elect ethnic affiliated dictators.

I bet you that most Guyanese don't care /know about living in a 'faux Republic' Their immediate concern is to themselves and their family.It's about surviving in this shytehole created by what passes for politics.

Bhaiji, when is the last time you visited Guyana? You should see dem lil coolie boys and girls how dem can wine, grind and back baal.

These guys need to quit pontificating from afar. Instead, come and witness for themselves. 

Dem get lawliss!

Sparky posted:

These guys need to quit pontificating from afar. Instead, come and witness for themselves. 

Meh guh come soon!

The PNC NOT capable of running a Lil Cake Shop, a small Pig Pen, so why Al YUh think Guyana is a Country under those IDIOTS???

They made 20000 people UNEMPLOYED and you expect the same people to celebrate with those INHUMAN IDIOTS?????????????

You watchin some porn deh baseman?

Bai wah yuh guh do?  Nah keep busy till da real ting come along......again!

Try fuh get a video of Stormy Daniels. 

What in the world is going on with this Base dude?  

Seems like the poor brother does not have an actual dance partner right now. These things happen sometimes. The brother will pull through alright. Stormy Daniels may be a good substitute.

Thanks to Trump, Stormy Daniels can now make money fully dressed. 

Hillary destroyed Monica. Poor girl has been hiding.

Hillary did but so did Bill. Hillary had the unfortunate circumstance of having to look the other way regarding Bill's womanizing behavior. That is why I think she should just go and be a grandmother and leave politics to others. Monica was like any young impressionable person who can easily become victim of unscrupulous people. That was quite unfortunate.

All of Trump’s escapades now have a 2nd career even in their old age.  Monica is a pitiful soul who lost everything but her life. She has no career, no relationships, no marriage, no family of her own.  

Her story is sad for a mistake having an affair with the wrong person.  I saw her interview, sad!

Bill and Hillary went unto bigger and better things, but Monica is left to drift.  Good she lost to Trump.  She got what she deserved. Bill is also wicked.  

Good she lost to Trump.  She got what she deserved. Bill is also wicked.  

The irony is that Trump is wust than Bill and Hillary. Bill was a ruthless womanizer and Hillary was complacent to them. But those women were all over 18 years old. Trump used to insist on walking through dressing where female kids were getting dressed.

Clinton gave away American jobs to China. In return American Corporations donated to Clinton Foundation millions of dollars, all of which is wages of the millions of American workers. 

Trump, is like Moses the Law Giver, he is the Job Giver to Americans.

Sex is a preoccupation for some men, women are great to view, the most beautiful of all creation. However, gloating after children is sick, did Trump do that?

Clinton gave away American jobs to China. In return American Corporations donated to Clinton Foundation millions of dollars, all of which is wages of the millions of American workers. 

Sex is a preoccupation for some men, women are great to view, the most beautiful of all creation. However, gloating after children is sick, did Trump do that?

Check this out. Miss Teen USA Pageant

Take note of Ivanka's alleged comment.

All the issues regarding Trump and women were grown women. No woman has come forward and accused him of any misbehaving while they were young.  

The CLintonites will do their  best to upstage Bill and Hillary wutlissness.  

The Democrats have done some good, but on the job front, they embraced the flat world too liberal.  

The latest move by Trump on steel is an unwinding of the perfectly flat philosophy!  Trump sees it for what it is, imperfect!

Trump is turbo boosting the economy from the bottom up. There is nothing artificial about what’s Happening. No ”engineered” reality, this is augmented reality!  He thinks tangible!

All the issues regarding Trump and women were grown women. No woman has come forward and accused him of any misbehaving while they were young.  

The CLintonites will do their  best to upstage Bill and Hillary wutlissness.  

Like yuh tun into Sarah F uckabee Sanders now bai? Since when is a 15 years old a grown woman?