Former Attorney General Mohammed Shahabudeen dies.

Dr. Mohammed Shahabudeen

Former Attorney General of Guyana, Mohammed Shahabudeen has died, sources confirmed.

He was in his mid 80s.

Shahabudeen was also a former judge at the International Court of Justice (ICJ) from 1988 to 1997.

He has worked as an Arbitrator and Consultant in international law.

Since 1959, he worked for the Guyana government and in politics until 1962 as a lawyer of the crown, then until 1973 as Attorney General and thereafter as Attorney General until 1978. From 1978 to 1987 he was Minister of Justice and Acting Minister Of Foreign Affairs, and since 1983 he was Deputy Prime Minister and Vice President of Guyana.

Judge Shahabuddeen was a member of the Institut de droit international and of the Societé française de droit international.

Riff posted:
randolph posted:

This Gadaha framed the Burnham Constitution. One wonders how he was on the ICC after framing such a document.

rather unfortunate that PPP did not have anyone to adjust the constitution during their tenure

PNC and PPP aren't interested in breaking the powers given,by unprogressive illegal Burnham Constitution.

The current PPP embraced it,more than the PNC.

nna li-l-lΓ’hi mΓ’ akhadha wa li-l-lΓ’hi mΓ’ a'tΓ’, wa kullu shay'in 'indahu bi-ajalin musammΓ’n... Fa-l-tasbir wa-l-tahtasib. A'zama l-lΓ’hu ajraka, wa ahsana 'azΓ’'ka, wa ghafara li-mayyitika.
"Verily to Allah, belongs what He took and to Him belongs what He gave, and everything with Him has an appointed time…and then he r ordered for her to be patient and hope for Allah’s reward.(May Allah magnify your reward, make better your solace and forgive your deceased.)"
nna li-l-lΓ’hi mΓ’ akhadha wa li-l-lΓ’hi mΓ’ a'tΓ’, wa kullu shay'in 'indahu bi-ajalin musammΓ’n... Fa-l-tasbir wa-l-tahtasib. A'zama l-lΓ’hu ajraka, wa ahsana 'azΓ’'ka, wa ghafara li-mayyitika.
"Verily to Allah, belongs what He took and to Him belongs what He gave, and everything with Him has an appointed time…and then he r ordered for her to be patient and hope for Allah’s reward.(May Allah magnify your reward, make better your solace and forgive your deceased.)"

Damn Nehru. Like yuh bin masjid yesteday? 

Inna lilaahi we inna ilihi rajiun.

RIP.

He was a brilliant Guyanese.

We all agree that he was brilliant. What amazes me is that a country that produced such fine legal minds like this banna still have a primitive and corrupted justice system that does not work. The PNC had a rigged   majority in parliament which allowed them to amend the constitution or draft a new one. The PPP never had 2/3 support on its on own to amend the constitution. They got little support from the opposition to change the Shaha constitution.  Shahabudeen left us with  a bitter legacy that will haunt us for generations to come. 

May Allah ask him why he did not advocate change in Guyana's constitution while he was alive. 

RIP in Peace brother

Riff posted:
randolph posted:

This Gadaha framed the Burnham Constitution. One wonders how he was on the ICC after framing such a document.

rather unfortunate that PPP did not have anyone to adjust the constitution during their tenure

These and other specific amendments require as a minimum two-thirds of the MPs support to make such changes.

Burnham developed the constitution when he "miraculously won" more than two-thirds of the MPs in parliament.

Now Riff, there no cooperation by the PNCR, when in opposition and now in the government, to join with the PPPC to make such amendments.

Shahabudeen was a stanch Burnhamite PNC. He chaired Burnham's funeral service at the National Park in Guyana.  I heard it on the Guyana radio.  He was a senior member of the PNC party and a member of the party leadership elite for most of his life. Of course he will always write a constitution that favors the PNC party. It is like asking Maggie Thatcher to write a liberal constitution.  It will never happen.