Riff posted:

If yuh point is that the PNC don't have the skills and ability of this farmer, then I agree with you....but to call the place a wasteland when this farmer proves otherwise is sheer nonsense

The PNC has NOTHING to do with the Gentleman's sacrifice, determination and hard work, NONE!!!

you bringing the PNC into the discussion...not I

The Govt of the day is incompetent, dumb and selfish so people like this Gentleman are using their God giving abilities to survive.

“Fruit-man”, who has been living alone for a number of years, said he’s faced trying times, because all of his children are successful professionals in the US and he has no immediate family in Guyana to turn to when in need of help.
“My son tell me come over to Florida and he will buy land for me to farm and do what I love.

“But when I went up to get de artificial foot and suh, I stayed sixteen weeks over deh and realise that I can’t make it to live there; it is nothing like home,” Vow said, adding that he believes that the foreign food was one of the leading causes of his heart attack.

Read the above,Vow love his country of birth.

Times are changing in Guyana, presently you have a generation that are waiting for oil royalties, then you have another set waiting for papers to go Overseas and you have the realist study hard, work hard to make a better life. But, no young person wants to do farming, even if the farm is passed on to them, they will sell to the highest bidder, so Mr. Vow is a relic, one of a kind, he has farming in his veins. So when Nehru says that Guyana is wasteland, look at the sugar belt, with the closure of several Estates, the cane fields are over grown with bush, many rice farmers are complaining and not planting as much due to heavy flooding and poor markets.

You can buy many of the tropical fruits vegetables cheaper than in Guyana overseas.In Toronto, there are several West Indian and Chinese shops that sell all those stuff and cheap.

Gone are the days when people would have a vegetable garden in their yard,everybody wants concrete yard, so who is doing the farming, it is not encouraged by this PNC government, no incentives.

Last edited by kp

Because I was surrounded by such persons while growing up and in most of my Adult life, I can attest to the dignity and humanity of such persons. THe current Govt and their Namakaram Crabdaag are void of all the qualities these people possess!!!!

The majority of them are products of the PPP regime. Go to Rosehall, or Port Mourant. You will find young men hanging out by the culverts and not willing to work for $100, but they will turn around and ask you for  a raise for the same $100 to buy rum or drugs. 

There are many more like Vow, but of his generation. The new breeds are just plain lazy.

Because I was surrounded by such persons while growing up and in most of my Adult life, I can attest to the dignity and humanity of such persons. THe current Govt and their Namakaram Crabdaag are void of all the qualities these people possess!!!!

The majority of them are products of the PPP regime. Go to Rosehall, or Port Mourant. You will find young men hanging out by the culverts and not willing to work for $100, but they will turn around and ask you for  a raise for the same $100 to buy rum or drugs. 

There are many more like Vow, but of his generation. The new breeds are just plain lazy.

You may have a point here but 100 dollars is 50 US cents, think about it.

I think you missed the point that the younger generation finds it more dignified to beg than to work.

In my opinion, Vow should be thinking of retirement. Working the farms is not like us working in a comfortable air conditioned office. Ideally, the tenure should be shorter. And since his kids are grown, in professional capacities and living overseas, it would be wonderful if he can spend his now years doing things of fun natures that he didn't have the chance to do earlier. My mom is in her 70s and she hasn't worked since 1988 (nearly 30 years). She is not rich but she is not in need either. She traveled much earlier in her retirement and less now that she is older. But she doesn't have the burden of worrying about work and hadn't for nearly 30 years. But it is always beneficial to remain active because it helps to keep one healthy so it would also be good for Vow to remain active but probably not with the full responsibility for manning a farm.

I think you missed the point that the younger generation finds it more dignified to beg than to work.

Some of them are I am sure. The ones I know are struggling to find food and shelter.

In my opinion, Vow should be thinking of retirement. Working the farms is not like us working in a comfortable air conditioned office. Ideally, the tenure should be shorter. And since his kids are grown, in professional capacities and living overseas, it would be wonderful if he can spend his now years doing things of fun natures that he didn't have the chance to do earlier. My mom is in her 70s and she hasn't worked since 1988 (nearly 30 years). She is not rich but she is not in need either. She traveled much earlier in her retirement and less now that she is older. But she doesn't have the burden of worrying about work and hadn't for nearly 30 years. But it is always beneficial to remain active because it helps to keep one healthy so it would also be good for Vow to remain active but probably not with the full responsibility for manning a farm.

dude...the man can obviously do whatever he wants...and he is doing what he wants to do

How do you know what he is doing is not fun? Fun means different things to different people...

Riff posted:

dude...the man can obviously do whatever he wants...and he is doing what he wants to do

How do you know what he is doing is not fun? Fun means different things to different people...

Actually according to the article Vow's fun comes from being on his farm. My concern is that his farm seems to be against him lately.

I really admire Vow for his optimism, determination and his love for what he does. When he lost his foot because of the snake bite, he said that he wanted to be dependant on no one. He told me how he modified and learnt to drive the tractor and how he was determined to continue farming. He was always full of optimism. He is a true representation of what I see as the human spirit.

Z