You must be dreaming if you think that crime was under control when the PPP left in 2015. It is bizarre that you people would support state sponsored murder, but then again, the PPP is God in your eyes so you will justify anything they do even if it's unconstitutional to the highest degree. Bin Laden was not an American citizen committing a crime in America. The US was at war with Al Qaeda and in a war, the rules of engagement are different. I'm surprised that you wouldn't know something as elementary as this. Then again, why am I even surprised? I tend to forget who I'm speaking to at times. The US DEA and Scotland Yard offered their assistance but the PPP turned them down because they were working in co with the drug lords. Those international agencies would have detected the collaboration between Khan and the PPP in a heartbeat. All their illegal dealings such as government land sold to Khan for pennies, providing him with the spy equipment, etc, would have been exposed. The PPP also didn't mind having high crime to deal with since they were locked away in their mansions at night. The drug trade was bringing in massive amounts of foreign exchange so the PPP turned a blind eye to it, leaving citizens to face violent crime brought on by drug lords competing for turf.

I didn't say that crime was under control when the PPP left office in 2015. I was referring to the situation between 2003 and 2008 when Fineman and his murderous criminal compadres were terrorizing the neighborhood. Every locality has their way in how they deal with murderous criminals and the method used to deep six Fineman and his compadres is perfectly fine with me. I don't know if any other method would have been as effective but this one worked so no need to lose sleep over it. 

I'm not surprised that you would support state sponsored murder but only when used by the PPP. Would you now support the current government using death squads to control crime? These are methods employed by brutal dictators and are usually found in countries where democratic principles are not adhered to. Authorized law enforcement personnel, like every other country around the world uses, would have been sufficient. Violent crime was not brought under control by the time the PPP left in 2015 so the Phantom Squad was basically ineffective and very illegal. For every Fineman killed, there were many more who took their places so to claim that the Phantom Squad worked is simply not true. Once again you showed that you are clueless when it comes to Guyana's politics. It is grossly inaccurate to associate the killing of Fineman with the Phantom Squad since he was pursued and killed by authorized members of the joint services. They should have been using the Police and Army effectively all along instead of using hitmen in the employ of drug lords to control crime.

By all means, I would support the current government using death squads to control the kind of crimes that Fineman and his murderous compadres perpetrated between 2003 and 2008. Crime is crime and whoever is able and willing to work to control it is welcomed by me.

I guess you have no regards for the law. People like you do not belong in civilized societies. 

The reason I am still here while criminals like Fineman and his murderous compadres are deep sixed is because I do abide by civilized society's laws and rules. Therefore I don't care to lose sleep over whatever methods are employed to remove criminals from society. Them being dead is icing on the cake.

Hey Kaz, yuh feel 21st century Guyana should be like 19th century Arizona with vigilante justice, eh? We have to be more humane. Criminals are entitled to due process, not powpowpow till dem drap dead.

Gilly, Fineman and his murderous compadres were operating like any century criminals so any century method to deep six them is perfect.

The reason I am still here while criminals like Fineman and his murderous compadres are deep sixed is because I do abide by civilized society's laws and rules. Therefore I don't care to lose sleep over whatever methods are employed to remove criminals from society. Them being dead is icing on the cake.

Fineman met his demise in a confrontation with law enforcement officers and that's the way it should be. How do you know that the people removed from society were in fact criminals? 

You do not belong in a civilized society, not because you obey the laws but because you support the use of death squads to maintain law and order. Civilized societies do not control crime by using hit men to murder suspected criminals.

Zed posted:

On the ESsequibi coast, there was no violence as experienced in other parts of Guyana. However. I think that both groups were involved in violence. The PNC 's was organized as was evident by the report on the Wismar rapes and killing, the x13 plan. I think that the ppp's were reprisals at a local level.

it makes no sense to me that if the British or Burnham had evidence of violence .

And the PPP couldn't furnish any proof that it was the PNC which blew up the Son Chapman, as has been their propaganda.  This in their usual way to paint the PPP/Indians as virginal saints with the PNC/blacks as being vessels of the devil.

I note as usual your attempt to show the PPP view.

1.  The PNC was organized.

2. The PPP was only local "reprisals".

Listen PYO members were being trained by Castro who was also shipping them arms. BOTH sides were proxies in the Cold War and BOTH sides were both engaged in organized activity and in local revenge based violence.