November 29,2017.

The government will in 2018 introduce several “innovative rice varieties” in a quest to increase productivity in the rice sector.

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan announced on Monday during the presentation of Budget 2018, that government will partner with the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB), through the Malaysia Agricultural Research and Development Institute (MARDI), in updating the expertise and technology in rice production, through a Reverse Linkage Project to the tune of US$863,000.

The project will see  the introduction of innovative rice varieties from MARDI that are more resilient and will significantly increase rice yields per unit.

According to Jordan’s presentation, the rice industry is expected to record an output of 602,087 tonnes for 2017, an increase of 12.7 percent over 2016. This is due mainly to an additional 14,000 hectares planted for the 2017 spring crop and a further 74,481 hectares planted in the autumn crop as well as an improvement in the yield.

He stressed that Government is committed to improving the livelihoods of rice farmers and noted that they recognise that one important aspect of strengthening stability and sustainability of Guyana‘s rice sector is to increase productivity per unit area.

Output from the rice industry is expected to expand to 617,353 tonnes in 2018, an increase of 2.5 percent.

"Minister of Finance Winston Jordan announced on Monday during the presentation of Budget 2018, that government will partner with the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB), through the Malaysia Agricultural Research and Development Institute (MARDI), in updating the expertise and technology in rice production, through a Reverse Linkage Project to the tune of US$863,000.

The project will see  the introduction of innovative rice varieties from MARDI that are more resilient and will significantly increase rice yields per unit."

So what happened to the Agriculture Minister?  Why is the Finance Minister announcing an agro venture in Parliament during budget discussion?

Perhaps, with the 26-plus ministers in government, they do not know what are they responsibilities; hence each tripping over the other.

So what happened to the Agriculture Minister?  Why is the Finance Minister announcing an agro venture in Parliament during budget discussion?

Perhaps, with the 26-plus ministers in government, they do not know what are they responsibilities; hence each tripping over the other.

Cowboys running the cake shop.

Why don't you people just admit you do not like to read any positive news coming out of Guyana just because it is being done as the PPP sit in opposition? How about for once feel good for your fellow man/woman and put aside your dislike for the coalition govt.

That"s what you gather at the fund raising dinner recently held in NY,looks like Jaggy raising funds for a comeback.

Why don't you people just admit you do not like to read any positive news coming out of Guyana just because it is being done as the PPP sit in opposition? How about for once feel good for your fellow man/woman and put aside your dislike for the coalition govt.

Bhai,they don't care about any development of the country,every achievement is nada.They are a pack of sourpusses.

I chuckled when I listened to the so called cake shop Finance Minister while he was speaking, it was very ordinary and he sounded like an dunce. Same thing happened when I listened to the dumbo AG.

The Agriculture minister does not know the difference between Rice and "Murina"

PNC: Dumb and Dumber, taking the new variety of rice to farmers.

images

• images

Bhai,they don't care about any development of the country,every achievement is nada.They are a pack of sourpusses.

What development?  Show me one.

You sound like them Preacher man at the podium on Sunday Marning, and when them done preaching, they go screw the congregation. What you saying, the PNC reinventing the WHEEL??

What development?  Show me one.

Django and Cain running them Cake Shop better than the Guyana Government. Minister of Finance doing Minister of Agriculture Job, Harmon doing President Job, Moses is poster Boy representing Dutty coolies, and Rumjaat, his office is in the Rum Shop ,drinking his sorrows. Them all playing with them fingers waiting for OIL.

November 29,2017.

The government will in 2018 introduce several “innovative rice varieties” in a quest to increase productivity in the rice sector.

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan announced on Monday during the presentation of Budget 2018, that government will partner with the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB), through the Malaysia Agricultural Research and Development Institute (MARDI), in updating the expertise and technology in rice production, through a Reverse Linkage Project to the tune of US$863,000.

The project will see  the introduction of innovative rice varieties from MARDI that are more resilient and will significantly increase rice yields per unit.

According to Jordan’s presentation, the rice industry is expected to record an output of 602,087 tonnes for 2017, an increase of 12.7 percent over 2016. This is due mainly to an additional 14,000 hectares planted for the 2017 spring crop and a further 74,481 hectares planted in the autumn crop as well as an improvement in the yield.

He stressed that Government is committed to improving the livelihoods of rice farmers and noted that they recognise that one important aspect of strengthening stability and sustainability of Guyana‘s rice sector is to increase productivity per unit area.

Output from the rice industry is expected to expand to 617,353 tonnes in 2018, an increase of 2.5 percent.

RESILIENT to what, for the past years , the main problem for rice farmers is flooding, also breaching of the sea defense causing salt water to come into the rice fields. The agriculture school in Mon Repos had developed many varieties of paddy which the farmers tried over and over again. But when you have poor irrigation and exceptional high rain fall the crops are wiped out. ANYWAY, SMALL THINGS EXCITE SMALL MINDS.