President says he's

not aware permission was needed to repaint State House

President David Granger earlier today (Wednesday) stated clearly that he is not aware that permission needs to be sought from the National Trust for Government to repaint monumental buildings around Georgetown and as such, maintained that he has not broken any law.
State House being repainted

Just last week, the APNU/AFC Administration came in for heavy criticisms after it bypassed the National Trust and began changing the colour of State House from white to green – the dominant colour of the People’s National Congress and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), both of which the president is leader.

In response to a question from a member of the media, Granger, today, said he is concerned about “preserving heritage” which is why a decision was taken to have several significant structures in the city repaired and repainted.

“I am not aware that repair, there is lots of rot and some of the windows have fallen out and the decision was taken to repair the rotting board and repaint it… We have historical buildings all across the country [and] some of them are collapsing. I weep when I see the condition of the city, St George’s Cathedral, and I am very concerned about preserving heritage; that is why I am repairing State House,” he told media operatives during a side interview.

On Friday last, when asked whether State House was going green, Granger stated “Guyana is going green” as he walked away from media operatives, chuckling.

Since the APNU/AFC coalition came into Government, it has been actively repainting several public buildings using the colour green.

The National Trust of Guyana was established following the passage of the National Trust Act, No 7 of 1972. The Act “makes provision for the preservation of monuments, sites, places and objects of historic interest or national importance”.

According to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Trust, Nirvanie Persaud, while repair works are welcomed, major construction and repainting must be communicated to the entity, in accordance with the law.

As such, she told media operatives that a letter was penned to the Ministry of the Presidency (MotP) seeking an explanation as to the reason for the colour change at State House.

However, today, Granger told media operatives that he has not seen such a letter.

“I have not received a letter from the National Trust.  I am not aware a law has been broken, I am not aware,” he maintained. (Ramona Luthi)

Inewsguyana.

Granger stated “Guyana is going green” as he walked away from media operatives, chuckling.

Should we take it that Guyana is going back to the PNC since green is the party color? 

A year ago Guyana was painted in green and yellow. Why yellow is missing today? 

Quote:

"On Friday last, when asked whether State House was going green, Granger stated “Guyana is going green” as he walked away from media operatives, chuckling."

Translation: I intend to Rig and there is nothing you can do about it. PNC flags will be flying at all courts across Guyana after the 2020 election and the courts will also be painted green. The reason for not adding yellow is that the AFC is now like belly wuk, it started to smell. 

End of Translation.

This chap is worse than Burnham and Hoyte combined.

Quote:

"On Friday last, when asked whether State House was going green, Granger stated “Guyana is going green” as he walked away from media operatives, chuckling."

Translation: I intend to Rig and there is nothing you can do about it. PNC flags will be flying at all courts across Guyana after the 2020 election and the courts will also be painted green. The reason for not adding yellow is that the AFC is now like belly wuk, it started to smell. 

End of Translation.

This chap is worse than Burnham and Hoyte combined.

Coming events cast their shadows beforehand. The rigging shadow first appeared with Granger's personal pick of Patterson. Now, just about 2 years before next election, Green-shirt Granger paints this state-owned property green as if it's his personal property for a long period to come. I wonder what that project is costing taxpayers.

Cobra posted:

President says he's

President David Granger earlier today (Wednesday) stated clearly that he is not aware that permission needs to be sought from the National Trust for Government to repaint monumental buildings around Georgetown and as such, maintained that he has not broken any law.
Inewsguyana.

Perhaps, PNCR honouring Hamilton Green by re-painting the buildings.

I think dictatorship is good for Guyanese who are hard of hearing and knew there's no turning back as long as PNC gets a foot hold on power. Dealing with the PNC is like seeking reperation for slavery. Granger is street smart and mature to win everytime. You don't put a boy to do a man's job. 

Former PNC member[?] Rickford Burke against a GREEN-COLORED STATE HOUSE.

Wanted to post the article,you noticed frenno,PNC-ites will condemn their own.

Yuh neva see Gilly condemn PPP? YUH BLIND LAKA BAT.

Former PNC member[?] Rickford Burke against a GREEN-COLORED STATE HOUSE.

Actually that's a nice avocado green. 

It would be good if it was an avocado but it is a large building which makes it look ridiculous. 

alena06 posted:

Heard Granger has his face already printed on the pension books.  

Can you post a pic of the pension book.

She HEARD.

Gilly heard Django got this man's face on his vehicle dashboard wid 2 hibiscus flowas. 

Suh....is dem seh..he seh..she seh,just like Chris Ram heard about the US $20M signing bonus.

Not necessarily signing bonus. Chris HEARD that part wrong. I heard the US$20M is to defray cost of World Court case against Venezuela. And later on I heard that Harmon deny like how he had denied something bout dat China trip wid BKT. If yuh keep yuh ears wax-free you'll hear plenty things. Gilly shalln't be surprised if some email leak out bout de 20M greenback.

Suh....is dem seh..he seh..she seh,just like Chris Ram heard about the US $20M signing bonus.

Not necessarily signing bonus. Chris HEARD that part wrong. I heard the US$20M is to defray cost of World Court case against Venezuela. And later on I heard that Harmon deny like how he had denied something bout dat China trip wid BKT. If yuh keep yuh ears wax-free you'll hear plenty things. Gilly shalln't be surprised if some email leak out bout de 20M greenback.

That would be like a Tsunami if the email is revealed. I hope that it is eventually leaked because these AFC/PNC scamps need to be exposed.

That banna Tameshwar might blackmail them and it may never be leaked, he might demand a big cut. There were reports about a potentially damaging email in someone's possession.

Interesting times ahead.

alena06 posted:

Heard Granger has his face already printed on the pension books.  

Can you post a pic of the pension book.

She HEARD.

Gilly heard Django got this man's face on his vehicle dashboard wid 2 hibiscus flowas. 

Those books will be in circulation once again but this time it will be Granger's and Django's pictures on the cover.

Cobra posted:

President says he's

Inewsguyana.

Perhaps, PNCR honouring Hamilton Green by re-painting the buildings.

..... honoring a useless, dishonest, incompetent, inefficient shyte like Green ? It is no wonder that so many things in Guyana are so rapidly going down the toilet ! 

Last edited by Keffer