And yes shortly after Cheddi won in 1992 he embarked on a strategy of demoralizing Afro Guyanese with his infamous "blacks at the bottom" rant.

When his tactics were uncovered he pretended as if he was referring to African Americans. 

Well aside from the fact that he was a FOREIGN head of state who didn't care one fig for black Americans the context where this comment was made was tied to an attempt to convey an image of the "illiterate Afro Guyanese".  This by citing a study which showed functional illiteracy to be statistically the same as it was among Indo Guyanese. Though Cheddi wanted to show a difference of less than one percentage point in favor of Indians to pretend that blacks were considerably more functionally illiterate than Indians.

This and he was exposed by some Afro Guyanese who had a quarterly magazine at the time.

So Gilbakka spare me your "Cheddi is a god" nonsense. Cheddi was  a monster who unleashed his PYO dogs of war in 1964 to destabilize the country because he did NOT want an election under the PR system!  In this he was no better than were Burnham and D'Aguiar who did the same in 1962/3 when they also wanted to destabilize the country in the hope of forcing early elections!

The only verifiable proof of who organized and committed the violence in the 1960's was what was presented by two sets of documents. One was the papers released by the American government that detailed how the CIA and American government organized and funded opposition groups to disrupt the PPP government and foster disturbances and the resulting violence. The second was the inquiry into the Wismar massacre and expulsion from Wismar. Another other is speculation and opinion on your part that you seem to want us to believe is fact. 

Please post the stuff about Jagan's supposedly rant against Africans so we can make our own judgments.. I do not trust you to make judgments for me, especially thru your ethnic lens.

Z

I have argued that Carib is a racist and he propagates racism here. He says that East Indians make statements regarding how they are scared that Afro Guyanese will rape their daughters or that Afro Guyanese will murder them, etc. You all know the starkness of the statements. What he is doing is making the same statements in a round about way so he can say, if accused, that he was just repeating what was said. 

Z
Zed posted:

I have argued that Carib is a racist and he propagates racism here. He says that East Indians make statements regarding how they are scared that Afro Guyanese will rape their daughters or that Afro Guyanese will murder them, etc. You all know the starkness of the statements. What he is doing is making the same statements in a round about way so he can say, if accused, that he was just repeating what was said. 

Zed, prior to Carib attacking Gilly on racial grounds after I declared my renewed support for the PPP, I never expressed "racial" views in this forum or elsewhere. On the contrary, I had stated a while back that my father and I had [he is dead] and have close Afro friends up to this moment. Some of them ate and slept in our homes. But my father and I had many valid reasons to shun black people, if not dislike them.

In 1964 black men from Uitvlugt Casbah stoned my father's house in Uitvlugt Pasture. My father never retaliated. In 1963 a gang of black thugs beat me up and dashed me in a D'Urban Street gutter while I was returning to my uncle's home from school. Between 1970 and 1992 black men choked and robbed me 5 times in Georgetown, getting away with my wristwatches, money etc. One Saturday night in 1977, while I stood on Ogle Public Road waiting for a hire car, a well-dressed black man approached me with a palm-sized revolver and grabbed my watch and wallet. I had $21.50 but when I asked him for the 50 cents for my car fare he said: "F___K YOU." I guess he wanted to go to a fete but had no money.

Despite those harrowing experiences with blacks I never harbored ill feelings against them. But, lately, Carib's racially motivated attacks against me have caused me to ponder. There's a letter in today's Chronicle in which a writer named Joseph spews spitfire because he thinks Ralph Ramkarran is returning to the PPP. Just as how Carib is spitting racial fire against me. Seems like pro-PNC people are very angry at people who are moving back to the PPP. 

Zed posted:

Zed, prior to Carib attacking Gilly on racial grounds after I declared my renewed support for the PPP, I never expressed "racial" views in this forum or elsewhere. On the contrary, I had stated a while back that my father and I had [he is dead] and have close Afro friends up to this moment. Some of them ate and slept in our homes. But my father and I had many valid reasons to shun black people, if not dislike them.

In 1964 black men from Uitvlugt Casbah stoned my father's house in Uitvlugt Pasture. My father never retaliated. In 1963 a gang of black thugs beat me up and dashed me in a D'Urban Street gutter while I was returning to my uncle's home from school. Between 1970 and 1992 black men choked and robbed me 5 times in Georgetown, getting away with my wristwatches, money etc. One Saturday night in 1977, while I stood on Ogle Public Road waiting for a hire car, a well-dressed black man approached me with a palm-sized revolver and grabbed my watch and wallet. I had $21.50 but when I asked him for the 50 cents for my car fare he said: "F___K YOU." I guess he wanted to go to a fete but had no money.

Despite those harrowing experiences with blacks I never harbored ill feelings against them. But, lately, Carib's racially motivated attacks against me have caused me to ponder. There's a letter in today's Chronicle in which a writer named Joseph spews spitfire because he thinks Ralph Ramkarran is returning to the PPP. Just as how Carib is spitting racial fire against me. Seems like pro-PNC people are very angry at people who are moving back to the PPP. 

Thanks for sharing these. Many of us have gad harrowing experiences such as you had. And, many of us have moved on. I have always respected your comments and continue to value what you share.

Since the coalition assumed power, the divisions in Gutana has become worse and comments about and against Indo Guyanese have become more hateful and aggressive. Because some of the work we do in Guyana entail lots of travel over a large part of Guyana, I have encountered some racism to the point where I am thinking that I need to curtail activities because of safety concerns.

ee were thinking of doing a micro credit scheme, but at this point, I do not know about recommending us going forward because it will entail lots of travel and my family is concerned about the recent racial attacks I have experienced.

Z
Keffer posted:

Joey should run as an independent Presidential candidate in 2020 Prime Minister Collymore 

.... and you should run as head of the shithouse cleaners' party !!

Keffer, listen up here to some tips from Prashad. You have to go after the very skinny Arab girls.  This is because those 500 pounds Arab girls are seen as being sexy by those Arab men. So lots of competition in that area.

Jagan said these words in November,1996.

"Because we know Black people are at the lowest scale of the social ladder"

https://books.google.com/books...20GUYANA&f=false

Django, by isolating that phrase from the entire quote, the context is lost. This is what Jagan said in November 1996 in Canada: "The PPP is not an Indian party. The British and the Americans did not remove me from power and put Burnham in because of race. In fact, if they were using race, I should have been kept there and Burnham should have been kept out forever. Because as we know, black people are at the lowest scale of the social ladder."

Later, after Afros criticized him, Dr Jagan explained what he meant:

'In a statement issued yesterday, President Jagan said that the reference to black people "must be viewed in the context in which my speech was delivered."

He said that anyone who had listened to the entire address and had an iota of logic and common sense would have noted that the last sentence could not have been a reference to Afro-Guyanese but to Blacks in the United States of America.

"I lived in Washington, New York and Chicago and my personal experiences and views about the social alienation of Blacks in the United States of America are well known and documented in my book, The West on Trial," the President observed.'

Read THE WHOLE STORY

Correct Gilbakka.

Context and specifics of a story, statement, etc., are extremely important.

I think me wutliss chota bhai Django deliberately omitted the other words. Another thing: that google book he extracted the quote from was written by Dr Keane Gibson, a notorious anti-Indian racist.

Bhaiya,i did a search and came up the quote from Google Books,it appears there was an article in the Guyana Chronicle, November,1996.

In multi-racial societies politicians have to be careful how they address issues regarding other ethnicity,especially Guyana.

Why worried over Joey Jagan? He did what he had to do in a different time in politics. Even if he has regrets of endorsing the coalition government, he did it with good intentions. Joey is not the only one get shafted. I hope he is doing well. The woman that he posed with during election is very beautiful. She's still fresh in my mind. 

Keffer is trying to find his Arab identify lets hope that he does not run into Lawrenc of Arabia. Because Lawrence of Arabia will show Keffer how he found his Arab identity by giving Keffer some love.

Keffer posted:

Joey should run as an independent Presidential candidate in 2020 Prime Minister Collymore 

Keffer, listen up here to some tips from Prashad. You have to go after the very skinny Arab girls.  This is because those 500 pounds Arab girls are seen as being sexy by those Arab men. So lots of competition in that area.

What would you know about girls ? I have no doubt that you were with a few men. That apart, the only other subject you would be familiar with is  cleaning toilets !  

Keffer posted:

Keffer is trying to find his Arab identify lets hope that he does not run into Lawrenc of Arabia. Because Lawrence of Arabia will show Keffer how he found his Arab identity by giving Keffer some love.

Keffer posted:

What would you know about girls ? I have no doubt that you were with a few men. That apart, the only other subject you would be familiar with is  cleaning toilets !  

When I catch you your head will be going into a toilet but then again it would be the right place for you because every time you open your mouth Sh-t comes out.  

What does a dumb K-K-Hole  shit-house cleaner know about identity ? Jackass, how and why should one seek an identity as an Arab when one is not an Arab ? To much fumes from your daily handling of excrement are in your miniscule brain !! 

Keffer posted:

You woefully dunce K-K-Hole, instead of writing the rubbish that pervades your poor little undersized brain, why don't you try finding a man ? Oh, by the way, have you met any Pathans or Iranian ladies lately ? You lying SOB, someone should squeeze you balls for the trash  you keep writing ! 

Django, by isolating that phrase from the entire quote, the context is lost. This is what Jagan said in November 1996 in Canada: "The PPP is not an Indian party. The British and the Americans did not remove me from power and put Burnham in because of race. In fact, if they were using race, I should have been kept there and Burnham should have been kept out forever. Because as we know, black people are at the lowest scale of the social ladder."

Later, after Afros criticized him, Dr Jagan explained what he meant:

'In a statement issued yesterday, President Jagan said that the reference to black people "must be viewed in the context in which my speech was delivered."

He said that anyone who had listened to the entire address and had an iota of logic and common sense would have noted that the last sentence could not have been a reference to Afro-Guyanese but to Blacks in the United States of America.

"I lived in Washington, New York and Chicago and my personal experiences and views about the social alienation of Blacks in the United States of America are well known and documented in my book, The West on Trial," the President observed.'

Read THE WHOLE STORY

Gilly I'm gonna be a pain in de arse here. I admit I never read "The West on trial" however what I read here it seems Jagan conned people with that. The banna was speaking of the PPP (Guyana) Burnham(Guyana). He spoke of being removed from power by the Americans and the British (Guyana)

What does this statement have to do with Black Americans and what do black Americans have to do with Guyana?

Isnt this akin to someone mentioning the C word and when cornered just pass it off as "I was speaking about those poor souls in India?"  

Keffer posted:

What does a dumb K-K-Hole  shit-house cleaner know about identity ? Jackass, how and why should one seek an identity as an Arab when one is not an Arab ? To much fumes from your daily handling of excrement are in your miniscule brain !! 

Keffer you having trouble living as a brown man? No white Arab princess want you?

Gilly I'm gonna be a pain in de arse here. I admit I never read "The West on trial" however what I read here it seems Jagan conned people with that. The banna was speaking of the PPP (Guyana) Burnham(Guyana). He spoke of being removed from power by the Americans and the British (Guyana)

What does this statement have to do with Black Americans and what do black Americans have to do with Guyana?

It's well known and documented that the Kennedy & Johnson administrations in the USA played a massive role in destabilizing the 1961-64 Jagan government. At that time blacks in the USA were at the lowest scale of the social ladder. Martin Luther King and others in the civil rights were still fighting for black voting rights, equal employment opportunity, desegregation of schools and buses, etc. Why? Precisely because successive US administrations kept blacks down low through Jim Crow laws, police brutality etc. 

So, what Jagan was saying is that the US Kennedy-Johnson administration removed his PPP government because of communism and NOT because they wanted a black man in government as they were oppressing blacks big time in their own country. They decided to put Burnham in government not because he was black but because he was the lesser of the two evils. And they insisted that the Portuguese businessman Peter D'Aguiar must be a key figure in the Burnham government. Without American intervention the Jagan government could not be removed in 1964.

While speaking in Toronto in 1996, Jagan assumed that his audience was aware of that historical background. BIG MISTAKE.

Cain, you should read THE WEST ON TRIAL.

Django, by isolating that phrase from the entire quote, the context is lost. This is what Jagan said in November 1996 in Canada: "The PPP is not an Indian party. The British and the Americans did not remove me from power and put

Isnt this akin to someone mentioning the C word and when cornered just pass it off as "I was speaking about those poor souls in India?"  

Cain,

Totally in agreement with your thoughts,Jagan was out of line with the last statement,he was speaking about, defending the PPP as not being an Indian Party and the ploy of his removal from office in Guyana.

Django, by isolating that phrase from the entire quote, the context is lost. This is what Jagan said in November 1996 in Canada: "The PPP is not an Indian party. The British and the Americans did not remove me from power and put

Cain,

Totally in agreement with your thoughts,Jagan was out of line with the last statement,he was speaking about, defending the PPP as not being an Indian Party and the ploy of his removal from office in Guyana.

Django, did you read my reply to Cain? Please do, and comment on it. Jagan was a man who reasoned dialectically, ie, he saw the inter-relatedness of things. He saw a linkage between US policy against blacks in the domestic front and communism in foreign affairs. Most socialists reason things out dialectically. Do some deep research on Marxist dialectics.

Cain,

Django, did you read my reply to Cain? Please do, and comment on it. Jagan was a man who reasoned dialectically, ie, he saw the inter-relatedness of things. He saw a linkage between US policy against blacks in the domestic front and communism in foreign affairs. Most socialists reason things out dialectically. Do some deep research on Marxist dialectics.

Bhai,you digging red ants nest,

what were the US policy against blacks and during which period ?

I found this paper "Federal policy toward minorities: 1787-1980"

see attachment and take a read.

Cain,

Django is like a backyard cow.

Anyway, I was required to read one political book in high school and chose Dr. Jagan's West on Trial. It sparked my political interest and I supported the PPP till this day after reading that book. I do not agree with everything that the PPP or Jagan did but no party or individual is perfect.

Django's digging mud on Jagan shows his political ignorance and lack of deeper understanding of who Dr. Jagan really was. I wished if slow boy had dedicated as much energy in educating us about Granger, Burhnam and Hoyte. 

Burnham and Hoyte were riggers and dictators and were both Black and now another Black leader Granger seems to be headed in the same direction.

Calling a spade a spade.

Cain,

Bhai,you digging red ants nest,

what were the US policy against blacks and during which period ?

Django, in the 1950s and 1960s the news was full of names like Rosa Parks, Dr Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Stokely Carmichael, Eldridge Cleaver, George Jackson, Angela Davis, Muhamad Ali, the Black Panthers etc. Why? They were leading massive marches, strikes, sit ins and other protest demonstrations against entrenched US government policy against Blacks. Federal and state laws legalized discrimination against Blacks. There were separate seats for blacks and whites in buses, restaurants, cinemas etc. Separate churches for blacks who were barred from white churches. Black students were barred from studying in universities. All sanctioned by federal and state laws and enforced by the police, national guard and KKK.

Thousands of blacks were beaten, lynched, jailed, murdered etc during that period. 

USA has a very dark and brutal history of racism. It still exists till this day but not to the extent as it did in the past.

I travelled across the USA and shake my head as I watched in horror at the conditions in which some African Americans still live in day and age.

Obama did very little to lift them up. He gave them hope but that was not enough.

Anyway, I was required to read one political book in high school and chose Dr. Jagan's West on Trial. It sparked my political interest and I supported the PPP till this day after reading that book. I do not agree with everything that the PPP or Jagan did but no party or individual is perfect.

Django's digging mud on Jagan shows his political ignorance and lack of deeper understanding of who Dr. Jagan really was. I wished if slow boy had dedicated as much energy in educating us about Granger, Burhnam and Hoyte. 

Burnham and Hoyte were riggers and dictators and were both Black and now another Black leader Granger seems to be headed in the same direction.

Calling a spade a spade.

Banna haul yuh ass,

do you read what you write before hitting the enter button.

Calling a spade a spade.

Banna haul yuh ass,

Yes I do.

The question is: Do you read what you write ? Your handlers provide you with slop and you seem to fetch and post it with pride.

Shame on you !!!!

USA has a very dark and brutal history of racism. It still exists till this day but not to the extent as it did in the past.

I travelled across the USA and shake my head as I watched in horror at the conditions in which some African Americans still live in day and age.

Obama did very little to lift them up. He gave them hope but that was not enough.

You keep thumping your chest you traveled the US ?,wanna bet you never traveled thru the New England States.

Calling a spade a spade.

Banna haul yuh ass,

Yes I do.

The question is: Do you read what you write ? Your handlers provide you with slop and you seem to fetch and post it with pride.

Shame on you !!!!

Stop making yourself a fool on GNI.

You can do better than making false accusation.

@Django, forget yuji22 for now. Read my reply to you on US policy against blacks. Recommended reading: books on the civil rights movement 1950s-60s and on those names I mentioned. The accounts are hair-raising and eye-opening.

Also, read A PEOPLE'S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES by Howard Zinn. Check Amazon.com

@ Django. You are the one making a fool of yourself here at GNI on a daily basis. I advise you to carefully pick your political fights, do not expect PPP supporters to roll over and tolerate your nonsense.

You sir took what Dr. Jagan said totally out of context and provided the position and opinion of an anti Indo hater and racist.

Django, in the 1950s and 1960s the news was full of names like Rosa Parks, Dr Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Stokely Carmichael, Eldridge Cleaver, George Jackson, Angela Davis, Muhamad Ali, the Black Panthers etc. Why? They were leading massive marches, strikes, sit ins and other protest demonstrations against entrenched US government policy against Blacks. Federal and state laws legalized discrimination against Blacks. There were separate seats for blacks and whites in buses, restaurants, cinemas etc. Separate churches for blacks who were barred from white churches. Black students were barred from studying in universities. All sanctioned by federal and state laws and enforced by the police, national guard and KKK.

Thousands of blacks were beaten, lynched, jailed, murdered etc during that period. 

Bhai, i know all of that,most of those atrocities was in the South,most Northern States did not have such policies.