1. Many minor changes were made to the constitution.

And one "minor" change that the PPP could have done was to put the Carter formula into the constitution but they did NOT do so.

Do you really think that the PNC would have been angered if the PPP amended the constitution to allow Hoyte sole rights to determine who the GECOM chair would have been?

And do you really think that the PNC would have gone so far as to ensure a reasonable Indian who the PPP would find comfortable.

Don't you think that it flies in the face of what you know of Guyana for the PNC to select only Indians to be the GECOM chair?

The PNC knew full well that Jagdeo had the right to veto and act unilaterally and so did their best to minimize that risk.

And Jagdeo himself full well knows about this right to act unilaterally, but those of who trapped on the PPP slave plantation can fool yourselves!

In fact were you not locked up in your Indo KKK cabin you would have known that when Burnham died Hammie Green had the muscle within the PNC and he and Viola Burnham were hardliners.  Hoyte at the time lacked any pull within the PNC so had to mouth whatever pleased that faction until he was able to develop his own clout. 

He was viewed as a technical and not a political minister and was far away from the hardline apparatus of the PNC. This being the YSM, the House of Israel (both Green controlled) and the WRSM controlled by Viola. She was adamant in not allowing Hoyte to "destroy" her husband's legacy by dismantling his socialist mess.

Please research how Hoyte arrested the House of Israel mobsters and how Janet freed them and invited them to join the PPP.  Those were Hammie Greene's muscle which is why Hoyte ridded the PNC of them as soon as he had the clout to do so. And when he had the clout he moved Guyana away from socialism and began to begin the process of privatization.  This was around 1989.  This when he was able to sideline the PNC hardliners and develop a more moderate constituency within the PNC apparatus.

I also suggest that you research the fact that Hoyte was called "Desi Persaud" by Hammie Green hardliners.

More make believe. Hoyte had to be bitchslapped by the IMF and WB before he made any adjustments.

Hoyte was bitch slapped to hold free elections. Even during the Burnham era he was not noted to support socialism which is why Hammie Green was angered when he was made president.

Padnah, link reposted below in case you didn't see it. 

When President Desmond Hoyte took power in August 1985 after the death of Forbes Burnham, he declared his intention to speed up "the pursuit of socialist construction" in Guyana. He re-emphasised this assertion after he reinforced his power at grossly rigged elections four months later.

Furthermore, Green was still the PNC Prime Minister when the PNC lost the only free and fair elections held under their watch. So you saying that Green was upset that Hoyte was made President in 1985 is more of your make believe fantasies.  Green was expelled from the PNC in 1993 because he was upset that the PNC lost the 1992 elections because the elections was free and fair. Neither Hoyte nor Green cared for a free and fair elections but Hoyte was forced by the IMF and WB to do so.

Bai, yuh don't get tired making stuff up. 

Hoyte at the time lacked any pull within the PNC so had to mouth whatever pleased that faction until he was able to develop his own clout.

Bai Carib, Hoyte never got any stronger from where he started in 1985. He got progressively weaker by virtue of Guyana sinking into total desperation and bankruptcy coupled by the IMF and WB putting the screws on he and the PNC to hold free and fair elections. Remember also that his term lasted 7 years from 1985 to 1992 instead of a standard 5 years term. You are giving Hoyte too much credit. Especially after his sore loser "slo fiah mo fiah" mentality after 1992.

Hoyte at the time lacked any pull within the PNC so had to mouth whatever pleased that faction until he was able to develop his own clout.

Bai Carib, Hoyte never got any stronger from where he started in 1985. He got progressively weaker by virtue of Guyana sinking into total desperation and bankruptcy coupled by the IMF and WB putting the screws on he and the PNC to hold free and fair elections. Remember also that his term lasted 7 years from 1985 to 1992 instead of a standard 5 years term. You are giving Hoyte too much credit. Especially after his sore loser "slo fiah mo fiah" mentality after 1992.

Kaz,

me thinks you left Guyana before 1985,the country did picked during 1985 to 1992,due uplifted restriction on imports and divestment of State Enterprises.The Guyana dollar still had some power,

The Guyana dollar was also systematically devalued; the exchange rate of $US1 in 1986 was G$4.37; in 1987 - G$10; 1989 - G$33; and 1990 - G$45. This process of devaluation was an essential feature of the ERP on the belief that it would destroy the parallel economy and also improve the country's export competitiveness.

Hoyte era was discussed here on GNI,as a refresher take a peek

here     http://www.guyana.org/features...dence/chapter18.html

Kaz,

me thinks you left Guyana before 1985,the country did picked during 1985 to 1992,due uplifted restriction on imports and divestment of State Enterprises.The Guyana dollar still had some power,

The Guyana dollar was also systematically devalued; the exchange rate of $US1 in 1986 was G$4.37; in 1987 - G$10; 1989 - G$33; and 1990 - G$45. This process of devaluation was an essential feature of the ERP on the belief that it would destroy the parallel economy and also improve the country's export competitiveness.

Agree with Djanjo, he move away from Burnham system, hence the confidence in people. Because of this stance , Hamilton Green and  some racist pnc was pushing back at him. He kick Green out the party . 

And one "minor" change that the PPP could have done was to put the Carter formula into the constitution but they did NOT do so.

Do you really think that the PNC would have been angered if the PPP amended the constitution to allow Hoyte sole rights to determine who the GECOM chair would have been?

And do you really think that the PNC would have gone so far as to ensure a reasonable Indian who the PPP would find comfortable.

Don't you think that it flies in the face of what you know of Guyana for the PNC to select only Indians to be the GECOM chair?

The PNC knew full well that Jagdeo had the right to veto and act unilaterally and so did their best to minimize that risk.

And Jagdeo himself full well knows about this right to act unilaterally, but those of who trapped on the PPP slave plantation can fool yourselves!

Continued long-winded statements with no relevance to the topic.

Kaz,

Agree with Djanjo, he move away from Burnham system, hence the confidence in people. Because of this stance , Hamilton Green and  some racist pnc was pushing back at him. He kick Green out the party . 

Hamiltoon Greene and supporters went nuts with rage when the PPP won in 1992, They called Hoyte a Sunday school boy.

Kaz,

Actually, I left Guyana for New York on Saturday, February 21, 1987. Still have my passport showing that date. At the time, we bought US$ for 18G$ on the black market. The exchange about a year later when we went back for my wedding was about 20G$. It was sometime in 1989 that the IMF hammer came down devaluing the GD$ to the point where the black market price was somewhere close to 200G$. Bank rate didn't matter because you couldn't go into a bank and buy FX. When we left in 1987, we were legally allowed to travel with a 25USD gift voucher. In New York, we had to deposit it as collections which means that the money was only going to be available after it was fully cleared. Couldn't even use outstanding balances as collateral for that. Even when I was there in early 1989, you couldn't buy FX at a bank. That ability only came after the 1992 elections when we were able to go into Scotia Bank and wire out the proceeds of our Prashad Nagar house that we sold in 1994. Hoyte does not get any credit for being bitchslapped by the IMF and WB into behaving in a decent manner. However, he does get credit for finally stop behaving like his arrogant predecessor. But after the 1992 elections, he went back to his old PNC hooliganism behavior with his "slo fiah, mo fiah" terroristic threats against the nation. For the record, I left Guyana in February 1987, spent part of December 1987, January and part of February 1988 there. Spent December 1988 and part of January 1989 there also. Went back in August 1992 for my sister's wedding and then again in the summer of 1994. My last trip to Guyana was in 1998. Didn't need to go back as the people most meaningful to me were no longer living in Guyana.

Kaz,

The record shows that Green was the PM up to the PPP winning the elections in 1992. It was after the PNC was kicked out of office in 1992 that Green was upset that they lost BECAUSE Hoyte ran a free and fair elections (which he was bitchslapped to do by the IMF and WB). Even so, it wasn't until 1993 that Green was kicked out of the PNC party. By the time, neither he, Hoyte nor the PNC had anything worthwhile to hold on to. They had already ran Guyana into the grave.

Kaz,

The record shows that Green was the PM up to the PPP winning the elections in 1992. It was after the PNC was kicked out of office in 1992 that Green was upset that they lost BECAUSE Hoyte ran a free and fair elections (which he was bitchslapped to do by the IMF and WB). Even so, it wasn't until 1993 that Green was kicked out of the PNC party. By the time, neither he, Hoyte nor the PNC had anything worthwhile to hold on to. They had already ran Guyana into the grave.

You are correct ... if you recall it was Green who had mobilize his supporters ( black ) marching up south rd from Stabroek market (1992 )and they were on the verge of burning down GT . It was Carter who call on Hoyte to get his people (black) of the street . 

I have live through the turbulent times of PNC leadership and in opposition  and have experience first hand what black did to Indians.

was personally involve in helping a Indian girl with clothes after the goons strip her and she was running down Regent street . 

There is so much I can relate to , especially when I was personally    Involve and have suffer brutality at the hands of blacks . But, life goes on . You can forgive but NEVER forget.

i also witness blacks helping out Indians in times of need when Indians refused to provide a helping hand to their own .

racialism raises its ugly head during political campaign . 

More make believe. Hoyte had uto be bitchslapped by the IMF and WB before he made any adjustments.

Hoyte was bitch slapped to hold free elections. Even during the Burnham era he was not noted to support socialism which is why Hammie Green was angered when he was made president.

When President Desmond Hoyte took power in August 1985 after the death of Forbes Burnham, he declared his intention to speed up "the pursuit of socialist construction" in Guyana. He re-emphasised this assertion after he reinforced his power at grossly rigged elections four months later.

Furthermore, Green was still the PNC Prime Minister when the PNC lost the only free and fair elections held under their watch. So you saying that Green was upset that Hoyte was made President in 1985 is more of your make believe fantasies.  Green was expelled from the PNC in 1993 because he was upset that the PNC lost the 1992 elections because the elections was free and fair. Neither Hoyte nor Green cared for a free and fair elections but Hoyte was forced by the IMF and WB to do so.

Hamilton Green as Prime minister fought Hoyte every moment that he could. That is the reason why Hoyte needed Corbin, Joe Singh and Larry Lewis.

There were two factions during Hoyte tenure,the Hamilton Green faction and the Desmond Hoyte faction,after the death of Burnham,in August 1984,Hammie was sidelined and Hoyte was selected to become Prime Minister.

http://www.guyana.org/special/...nd%20Hoyte%20Chapter

Hoyte was born in Georgetown on March 9, 1929 to Gladys Marietta Hoyte and George Alphonso Hoyte of Georgetown.He received his primary education at St Barnabas Anglican School and went to Progressive High School both in Georgetown.After leaving school in 1948, he began his career in the Civil Service. He was also a teacher and taught at home and subsequently outside of Guyana, at the Grenada Boys Secondary School.In 1950, Hoyte passed the external examinations and obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of London.

Later, he proceeded to London to read law and in 1959, obtained the LLB degree from the University of London, completing his professional examinations the same year and was called to the Bar at the Honourable Society of Middle Temple.Hoyte returned to Guyana in 1960, entered private practice, and played an active role in the Guyana Bar Association, of which he was the Secretary for many years.

His legal career was marked with success, and in 1964, he became a member and Chairman of the Legal Practitioners Committee, the statutory body dealing with disciplinary matters related to the legal profession.

In 1966, he was appointed to the National Elections Commission.

From 1966-1968, Hoyte served as Chairman of the Customs Tariff Tribunal. In 1967 he was appointed Chairman of the Timber Grants Wages Council. The same year he was also elected Vice-President of the Guyana Bar Association.

In 1970, as a result of his successes and leadership at the Bar, he was appointed Queens Counsel (QC) and in 1970 when Guyana became a Republic, he was appointed to the new dignity of Senior Counsel (SC).

Hoyte was also actively involved in the Trade Union Movement, being Legal Advisor, from time to time, to the Guyana Trades Union Congress (TUC) and several other bargaining bodies.

He also represented the bargaining agencies at conciliations and arbitration proceedings and in wages and other negotiations.

Hoyte’s keen mind, academic prowess, and his sense of commitment to his country, all contributed to his election to Parliament in the People’s National Congress (PNC) government in 1968. This was the beginning of his active political involvement and his subsequent rise to prominence.

He held a number of key portfolios in the PNC. He was a member of the General Council since 1962, and became a member of the Central Executive Committee in 1972. He was also legal adviser to the General Secretary from 1973, and Chairman of the Production Sub-Committee of the Central Executive Committee in 1984.

As a Minister of the Government, he held the portfolios of Home Affairs Minister from 1969-1970; Finance Minister 1970-1972; Works and Communications Minister 1972-1974; and Economic Development 1974-1980.

In 1980 he was appointed Vice-President with responsibility for Economic Planning and Finance, and in 1983 he was re-designated Vice-President, Production.

In August 1984 he became Prime Minister and First Vice-President, a post, which he filled with dignity and a high level of political maturity projecting his indomitable will as well as his clear insights, on national and international issues.

The following year, he was appointed President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and PNC Leader on Tuesday August 6, 1985 after the death of President Forbes Burnham and less than six months after his two children died in a road accident on the Linden/Soesdyke Highway.

Literature and Historical Research were among his special interests. Hoyte also liked reading, music, swimming and walking.

He led the PNC to successive general election defeats in October 1992, December 1997, and March 2001.

Four paragraphs of continued nonsense and irrelevance.

FACT. Cheddi, Janet, Jagdeo and Ramotar did NOTHING to remove the Burnham constitution.

Your statement of FACT is incorrect.

2. The major changes require, as a minimum, two-thirds of the MPs.

Of note ... when Burnham "miraculously" obtained more than two thirds of the MPs, that was when he prepared the initial constitution and included two-thirds criteria.

3. When PNCR and AFC were the opposition, they showed any intentions to work for the needed changes.

What were the proposed changes can you  list them,specifically what were the changes, when the AFC  won seats in the parliament,dont't beat around the bush,show us.

Do the work/research to obtain your needed information.

Point 3. should be ... correction highlighted.

[[Quote]]

3. When PNCR and AFC were the opposition, they showed NO intentions to work for the needed changes.

[[Unquote]]

An expected  response.

Typically pissing in the wind.

You better not stand downwind when he is pissing in the wind. You might get part of Freddie's potion. Try it, you might like it.

An expected  response.

You better not stand downwind when he is pissing in the wind. You might get part of Freddie's potion. Try it, you might like it.

You could not resist from backing your buddies,hitting below the belt.

More make believe. Hoyte had to be bitchslapped by the IMF and WB before he made any adjustments.

Like I said you were locked in your Indo KKK cabin and so remain ignorant of the state of the PNC after Burnham's death.

Now everyone else knew that there were two PNC factions.  A moderate one with people like Hoyte, Greenidge and Winston Murray, and a militant one with Hammie Green, Viola Burnham, Corbin, and all of the black thugs who are now in the PPP. 

The moderates were technocrats so initially didn't have any muscle within the PNC.  They weren't part of the political arm of the PNC which included the YSM, WRSM, People's militia, House of Israel and assorted Hammie Green thugs.

The radical element had the violent thugs behind them when Burnham died and so Hoyte couldn't immediately move against them. Eventually he did and he locked up some of the thugs and the PPP immediately released them when they came into power, the rest being history. 

Joe Hamilton boasted about how many people who beat up and maybe even killed when he was one of Green's henchmen yet he is now a proud PPP MP.

Its with interest that its the radical PNC goons like Joe Hamilton who ended up with the PPP.  In fact in the 1997 election Hammie Green was very friendly with the PPP.  This because he wanted to frustrate the PNC which was then led by Hoyte.  If you don't know that Green left the PNC after Hoyte told him to accept the fact that the PNC had lost in 1992 then you are truly lost.

An expected  response.

Notice the vulgarity that we have become accustomed to getting from the PPP, especially the Indo KKK faction.

Like I said you were locked in your Indo KKK cabin and so remain ignorant of the state of the PNC after Burnham's death.

Now everyone else knew that there were two PNC factions.  A moderate one with people like Hoyte, Greenidge and Winston Murray, and a militant one with Hammie Green, Viola Burnham, Corbin, and all of the black thugs who are now in the PPP. 

The moderates were technocrats so initially didn't have any muscle within the PNC.  They weren't part of the political arm of the PNC which included the YSM, WRSM, People's militia, House of Israel and assorted Hammie Green thugs.

The radical element had the violent thugs behind them when Burnham died and so Hoyte couldn't immediately move against them. Eventually he did and he locked up some of the thugs and the PPP immediately released them when they came into power, the rest being history. 

Joe Hamilton boasted about how many people who beat up and maybe even killed when he was one of Green's henchmen yet he is now a proud PPP MP.

Its with interest that its the radical PNC goons like Joe Hamilton who ended up with the PPP.  In fact in the 1997 election Hammie Green was very friendly with the PPP.  This because he wanted to frustrate the PNC which was then led by Hoyte.  If you don't know that Green left the PNC after Hoyte told him to accept the fact that the PNC had lost in 1992 then you are truly lost.

The record shows that Hoyte was the PNC president until he lost the 1992 elections. Likewise Green was the PNC Prime Minister until 1992. The record also showed that Green did not leave the PNC after they lost the 1992 elections. Rather the record shows that he was kicked out of the PNC in 1993, way after the 1992 elections loss.

The rest of what you wrote has no bearing on when and why Green and the PNC were separated. They are just more deflection. Right now Granger is the President and he is showing signs that he has illegal intentions regarding the governance of Guyana. Joe Hamilton is small fries compared to where Granger was in 1973 and where he plans to be by 2020. So you can continue being obsessed with Joe Hamilton as well as your deflection.

An expected  response.

Notice the vulgarity that we have become accustomed to getting from the PPP, especially the Indo KKK faction.

Words of wisdom from Black Ian Smith.

An expected  response.

Words of wisdom from Black Ian Smith.

Bai, na worry wid the Kaffir Black KKK Carib. He worse than a garbage bin overflowing with stench. 

Kaffir (alternatively kaffer; originally cafri) is an ethnic slur used to refer to a black person. In the form of cafri, it evolved during the medieval era as a non-derogatory equivalent of "negro". In Southern Africa, the term was later used as a neutral exonym for Bantu peoples.

No wonder I use to hear my mother and other older coolies calling blacks "Capri or Caphar". I think they meant "Cafri" and "Kaffer".

Kaffir (alternatively kaffer; originally cafri) is an ethnic slur used to refer to a black person. In the form of cafri, it evolved during the medieval era as a non-derogatory equivalent of "negro". In Southern Africa, the term was later used as a neutral exonym for Bantu peoples.

No wonder I use to hear my mother and other older coolies calling blacks "Capri or Caphar". I think they meant "Cafri" and "Kaffer".

Kaffir

Pronunciation /ˈkafɪə//ˈkafə/

noun

• 1 South African offensive An insulting term for a black African.

• 2 offensive An insulting term used by some Muslims for non-Muslims.

• historical A member of a people of the Hindu Kush mountains of north- eastern Afghanistan, who did not convert to Islam until the 19th century.

In hindi it's prounonced, kaaphir

Locals will say,kaaphar

Kaffir

noun

• 1South African offensive An insulting term for a black African.

• 2offensive An insulting term used by some Muslims for non-Muslims.

• 3historical A member of a people of the Hindu Kush mountains of north-eastern Afghanistan, who did not convert to Islam until the 19th century.

In hindi is

काफिर kaaphir

I would think they meant the insults for the negroes.

Kaffir

noun

• 3historical A member of a people of the Hindu Kush mountains of north-eastern Afghanistan, who did not convert to Islam until the 19th century.

In hindi is

काफिर kaaphir

That's is correct.

Locals say,kaaphar

Kaffir

noun

In hindi is

काफिर kaaphir

That's is correct.

Locals say,kaaphar

They also say caphree.

Whatever it is --- kaffir, kaaphar, caphree, caffrinia --- we who are unjustly accused of being Indo KKK and PPP/Jagdeo slaves living in Indo KKK cabin and the PPP plantation that has allegedly consigned Sam Hinds to a "bantustan" according to that Bantu Carib must stop his eyepass.

All those words Carib uses to describe us are loaded and explosive, ethnically charged with malice and prejudice. Gilbakka will never accept such confounded nonsense. Prior to Carib's racial offensive against me, I never uttered 'Afro KKK' or 'Kaffir KKK' to any black person. He started this thing.

The record shows that Hoyte was the PNC president until he lost the 1992 elections. Likewise Green was the PNC Prime Minister until 1992. 

Continue to bleat your ignorance.  Those who know the politics of Guyana in the 1985-1992 era would know what I am discussing.

All you "know" is that blacks are inferior losers so couldn't be bothered to find out the facts.

Carib thinks he is smartman but all he is doing is exposing himself.

Carib knows that he is considerably more intelligent than a jackass like you he thinks that he is superior to blacks.

The record shows that Hoyte was the PNC president until he lost the 1992 elections. Likewise Green was the PNC Prime Minister until 1992. 

Continue to bleat your ignorance.  Those who know the politics of Guyana in the 1985-1992 era would know what I am discussing.

All you "know" is that blacks are inferior losers so couldn't be bothered to find out the facts.

Well, since you make stuff up here, clearly that "those who know" group doesn't include you.

Bai, na worry wid the Kaffir Black KKK Carib. He worse than a garbage bin overflowing with stench. 

Yes I noted that Gilbakka uses a version of the "N" word to describe me.  I think that hanging out with the PPP (Indo KKK) is now turning him into one of them.

Oh the power of Jagdeo to fool naïve people.

Well, since you make stuff up here, clearly that "those who know" group doesn't include you.

The fact that you are locked in your Indo KKK cabin, screaming "me hate blackman" so was ignorant of Guyanese politics in 1985-1992 is your issue.

Those who know are fully aware that there were factions within the PNC. A moderate faction and a militant Burnhamist faction.  Now if you didn't know that, and the power dynamics which ensued I cannot help you.

Ponder about the enmity that ensued between Green and Hoyte to the point where Green's goons became members of the PPP thug force.  And how Green tried to cooperate with Jagan in the 2006 election to weaken the PPP.  In the process destroying his GGG party!

Do you know who the GGG is?

Yes I noted that Gilbakka uses a version of the "N" word to describe me.  I think that hanging out with the PPP (Indo KKK) is now turning him into one of them.

I guess the PNC treats Indians so bad that we are forced to keep company with bad behaving ppl. In a way, the PNC gives Jagdeo life and I hope he kick their azzes.

All those words Carib uses to describe us are loaded and explosive, 

And when people come here and scream that blacks are savage, violent, ignorant, culturally inferior I guess you think that I should agree.

Why do you think that I am the only openly black identified poster left on GNI.  The others leaving disgusted by the anti black racism which is tolerated on this site.  This site even being flagged at times as being an anti black hate site.  That this racism is now less obvious is because I confront it so those who peddle this have become more subtle.

Giully you have gone over to their side.  If the cap fits then wear it.  I note that you use the South African "N" word to describe me.  I expect soon you will be screaming "blackman a kill ahbe".

Carib knows that he is considerably more intelligent than a jackass

You haven't said anything more accurate than this.

Glad that you admit that you are a jackass. You see only a jackass would so glaringly attempt to distort a comment and think that they can get away with it.

But continue to scream "me better dan blackman".  That is what you are good at.  You and druggie.

Don't make Jagdeo a scapegoat for your outright racism, kaffir.

Indo KKK. Indo KKK cabin, PPP plantation, PPP massa, Jagdeo's slaves, bantustan --- all these are concoctions of your racist mind. When you stop, Gilbakka stops.