62-year-old vegan powerlifter in Arizona smashes world records

Posted: Oct 13, 2017 1:07 AM EDTUpdated: Oct 13, 2017 2:24 AM EDT

62-year-old power lifter powered by plants

Rocky Luedeker is a 62-year-old, completely vegan, record-breaking powerlifter. [Source: 3TV/CBS 5)Rocky Luedeker is a 62-year-old, completely vegan, record-breaking powerlifter. (Source: 3TV/CBS 5)

Luedeker has 13 world records and 26 state and national records. [Source: 3TV/CBS 5)Luedeker has 13 world records and 26 state and national records. (Source: 3TV/CBS 5)

She loves bean and rice and eats lettuce every day.Β [Source: 3TV/CBS 5)She loves bean and rice and eats lettuce every day. (Source: 3TV/CBS 5)
COTTONWOOD, AZ (3TV/CBS 5) -

Forget every preconceived notion you have about weightlifters; one Arizona athlete defies all expectations. She is a 62-year-old, completely vegan, record-breaking powerlifter.

Armed with ambition and fueled by foliage, Rocky Luedeker of Oak Creek started lifting competitively four years ago, after wanting to follow in her family's footsteps. 

"I was sitting there and was like, 'Why am I sitting here? I have arms and legs. I can do that, too,'" she said.

She continues to reach new records.

"My best curl is 45 pounds, my best squat is 124 pounds, my best deadlift is 184," Luedeker said.

Luedeker has 13 world records and 26 state and national records, to be exact.

"It feels good knowing you got that weight up, putting it back down, seeing the white lights knowing you got it," Luedeker said.

She does all of this on a plant-based diet. She loves bean and rice and eats lettuce every day. 

"A common myth is we don’t have enough protein, and we have more than enough protein," she said.

But it takes more than just protein to become a high-performance athlete. It takes the right attitude. 

"If I don't get it this time, I will practice harder and get it next time," she said.

It's an attitude Luedeker passed to her daughter, Bianca Luedeker. 

"Definitely, lifting has greatly increased my confidence," Bianca said.

She is a vegetarian and now training for the 2024 Olympics. She said she is proud to be part of the "Lifting Luedekers," and proud of her powerlifting mom. 

"Her deadlift is twice her weight," Bianca said. "Her weight is 90 pounds. She's deadlifting 182, and I think about how long it took me to get to that point. It was really hard."

Of course, Rocky is also on a steady diet of dairy-free humble pie and craves competition over crushing records. 

"It'd be nice to see more ladies my age doing things," Rocky said. "I'd really like to see that."

She'll be competing in Las Vegas in November, hoping to break the bench press record.

She said she hopes she inspires others to questions their own limits. 

"I'm doing it! If I'm doing it, they can do it!" Rocky said.

http://www.azfamily.com/story/...mashes-world-records

Yugi here is "food for thought". Your vehicle is not vegan' the only vehicle close is the BMWi3. Even tires are not vegan..steraic acid is used in its production...the only tire using vegan products is Michelin. Check it out dude, you have to get rid of your ride and get yourself a horse.

Thanks for the heads up. I honestly never knew.

I had an X3 that I just traded in and it had no leather, just fake leather (leatherette). I went for the 2018 Jeep Compass Trailhawk, perfect size. Very nice. I got tired of the X3. I may never take it on a trail but I like Jeeps and finally decided to get one.

Funny, I like Michelin tires and unknown to me that it has vegan products.  The Jeep has continental tires, will replace them with Michelins when they wear out. Thanks for the heads up.

Too bad that the horse cannot get me around especially in the winter. I honestly have to live with compromises but try to make the best of decisions regarding cruelty to animals whenever I buy any product.

I live and learn every single day.

yuji22, on Valentine's Day 2012 I stopped eating chicken 'cold turkey'. One month later I stopped eating egg yolk. I had stopped eating beef since July 2005.

Now, buddy, 6 months after I stopped eating chicken in 2012 I got a stroke and spent 71 days in hospital. During that time I lost around 30 pounds in weight. Why? The kinda vegetarian foods the hospital fed me was revolting. Curried split peas whole with Basmattie rice-raisins, curried cauliflower and some tasteless small beans. One Saturday afternoon I threw up just after exiting the dining room. The next day I was afraid to eat and so I fasted. The following day the dietician put me on a scale and ordered me to eat. After some thinking, we worked out a diet of eggs, fish, tuna sandwich and fruits.

I was still losing weight after returning home. My family-relatives convinced me to return to protein-rich chicken and, my wife being Muslim, I would request a piece of beef once in a blue moon. I've picked up some weight but I'm still about 20 punds short of my pre-stroke reading.

yuji22, on Valentine's Day 2012 I stopped eating chicken 'cold turkey'. One month later I stopped eating egg yolk. I had stopped eating beef since July 2005.

Now, buddy, 6 months after I stopped eating chicken in 2012 I got a stroke and spent 71 days in hospital. During that time I lost around 30 pounds in weight. Why? The kinda vegetarian foods the hospital fed me was revolting. Curried split peas whole with Basmattie rice-raisins, curried cauliflower and some tasteless small beans. One Saturday afternoon I threw up just after exiting the dining room. The next day I was afraid to eat and so I fasted. The following day the dietician put me on a scale and ordered me to eat. After some thinking, we worked out a diet of eggs, fish, tuna sandwich and fruits.

I was still losing weight after returning home. My family-relatives convinced me to return to protein-rich chicken and, my wife being Muslim, I would request a piece of beef once in a blue moon. I've picked up some weight but I'm still about 20 punds short of my pre-stroke reading.

Gil,

I eat a very balanced diet. Tofu, lentils and Soy together with flaxseed (Omega 3) is an important part of a vegan or vegetarian diet. We use less spices and cook both West Indian and Indian style of meals 

One of my neighbours is Indian and they love our West Indian style of foods. One of my white neighbours look forward to our Indian style of foods. My son's best friend parents are Jamaican and they come over often to join us for dinner, they are amazed at our vegan/vegetarian meals and their daughter is now 100 percent vegetarian. She took all of the receipts from my wife and now shows off her "Indian" style of cooking to her friends.

My daughter taught her how to wear a sari and she dresses up and attends functions at our Iskcon temple for religious occasions wearing a sari or Gopi skirts. I now tell everyone that I have two daughters and two sons. 

Never had fish, meats or eggs and I am still going strong at 51. My entire family including children are the same and are very healthy. 

As part of our religious requirement, we also do not use onions, garlics, coffee, tea or alcohol. We use mainly ginger tea.

My family doctor told me that she is amazed at how well I am doing health  wise. Heart disease is genetic on my fathers side of the family and it scares me a lot but my cholesterol and blood pressure are excellent.

It all depends on each individual. I do not promote my lifestyle to anyone, it is just that I was born this way. 

Gilly, as I was reading your comments above, I remember that while my mother in law didn't eat beef, I was surprised shortly before she passed away, she asked my wife to make her cook-up rice with beef. Not that my mother in law never eat beef before because she was born in a Christian home but began following Hindu practices after she married my father in law. Asking my wife to make her the cook-up is not because she couldn't cook but perhaps she was not feelin that well or she did not want to cook it at home.  The lesson is that most times we don't know why people do what they do and it is always a good idea to not be too judgmental.

I am glad that you are doing better now. At least you can still be a keyboard warria   I remember when you came back with the new that you were ill.

By the way, I hardly eat beef anymore. Being on the other side of 50 requires making better choices. I don't care for cooked fish so I rely a lot on the boneless breast of chicken. 

Fish is good fo yuh brain, bai. Both salt-wata and sweet-wata fish good fo yuh heart too. Provided yuh ent get vex wid de bones.

Meh nah like de smell ah fish bai. Unless it is wrapped in wan panty, it nah gun be good fuh meh brain eitha. 

By the way, I hardly eat beef anymore. Being on the other side of 50 requires making better choices. I don't care for cooked fish so I rely a lot on the boneless breast of chicken. 

Fish is good fo yuh brain, bai. Both salt-wata and sweet-wata fish good fo yuh heart too. Provided yuh ent get vex wid de bones.

Meh nah like de smell ah fish bai. Unless it is wrapped in wan panty, it nah gun be good fuh meh brain eitha. 

Bai, I am surprised that you don't make these comments when some one uses the word "pork or poke". I hear you though. That's the animal in human beings. Every attractive woman for a man is fair game.

No beef or pork here. Fish, chicken, turkey, eggs, lamb once in a while. I usually stay from shrimp and duck. The health has been good so far for my age. The doctor said if only my hand and feet are the issues, he has no problem with that. I just put too many miles on them and now is time for maintenance.

Good for you bhai,take care of the limbs,at older age you want them functioning.

Bai, I am surprised that you don't make these comments when some one uses the word "pork or poke". I hear you though. That's the animal in human beings. Every attractive woman for a man is fair game.

Bai, I wouldn't know what pork is. Never even cared to look at it in the grocery. Now I do find poke interesting though and have looked at quite a few of those.