By Devina Samaroo

President David Granger Thursday evening declared that the Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo must accept his unilateral decision to appoint 84 – year- old Justice James Patterson as the new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission.

Jagdeo, during an emergency press conference on Thursday, had declared that he will withdraw participation from the Border Committee, which was established by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to discuss the border issue between Guyana and Venezuela. Jagdeo had also pledged the PPP’s non-cooperation with the government in the future.

“If that is Mr Jagdeo’s position on national issues, I can only say that it does not seem to me that it will be in the public’s interest for him to do so but he must account to his own supporters and he will be judged by history if he feels that in the performance of my constitutional duties he feels that it is a correct course of action to attempt to damage the public governance of this country.

“I cannot agree with him, I have acted constitutionally and he must accept that decision, I have not broken the constitution in any way,” the Head of State told reporters after the swearing-in of Justice Patterson at State House last night.

The Opposition Leader had also lividly declared that President Granger has proven that he is untrustworthy but the Head of State said he refused to respond to Jagdeo.

“I won’t respond to Mr Jagdeo about untrustworthiness. I don’t know what he knows about untrustworthiness,” the President said.

Meanwhile, Justice Patterson claimed that he was sworn in just hours after he was informed of Granger’s decision to select him.

Granger, however, told reporters that he consulted with possible candidates since September and there were no rejections of the offer. According to the President, the unilateral appointment was necessary given that Jagdeo was not submitting a list that made up of ‘fit and proper’ individuals, as stated in the Constitution.

The Chief Justice (ag), Roxanne George-Wiltshire had ruled that in the furtherance of good governance and democracy, the President should give reasons for rejecting each nominee submitted by the Opposition Leader.

However, last night, President Granger refused to do so.

“I have searched the Constitution and the only reason I found is that I am not obliged to appoint anybody who is not fit and proper,” he said.

President Granger maintained that he considers Justice Patterson to be ‘fit and proper’ and denied allegations that the consultation process was a window-dressing exercise. Meanwhile, Justice Patterson was nominated by the then Opposition Leader Desmond Hoyte in 1997 to serve as the GECOM chairman.

https://newsroom.gy/2017/10/20...my-decision-granger/

‘I, Khemraj Ramjattan, support what the President did’

Khemraj Ramjattan, Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC), a major partner in the Coalition government, has declared agreement with President David Granger’s unilateral appointment of the new chairman of the country’s elections body.

“I, Khemraj Ramjattan, support what the President did,” the AFC chairman told the News Room when contacted on Friday.

President David Granger Thursday evening appointed retired Justice James Patterson as the chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) .

He said that while the President did ask the party for its views, ultimately it was the President’s decision.

“The constitution says it is the President’s judgement call on the matter…it was his call,” Ramjattan stated.

He said that the leadership of the AFC will meet later this evening and issue a statement.

The AFC, which then had seven seats in the National Assembly, joined with the PNCR and other small parties of the APNU bloc to contest the 2015 general elections. That coalition won and rules the country with a one-seat Parliamentary majority.

Prince, yuh Namakaram Crabdaag Uncle and the man that has his head deep in GADAHA ass are the most cruel and inhuman BEASTS on this Planet!!!

It's too late to even worry what we knew all along. It just happens on Diwali night. Granger swore in Ram out of Banbas as Gecom's chairman and told Jagdeo he must accept his decision or else. He even made a mockery to Hindus on their celebratory night.  Let's go back to the DJ table and spin some discs.  

‘Jagdeo must accept my decision’ – Granger

By Devina Samaroo,

The Chief Justice (ag), Roxanne George-Wiltshire had ruled that in the furtherance of good governance and democracy, the President should give reasons for rejecting each nominee submitted by the Opposition Leader.

However, last night, President Granger refused to do so.

https://newsroom.gy/2017/10/20...my-decision-granger/

Interesting developments.

Perhaps Granger is steadfastly demonstrating; similar to Burnham; that the PNC party is highest stage of power and rule in Guyana.

As long as the ppp have the minority in parliament, they are powerless against the jackass Granger. Jaggy can swell up all he wants and huff and puff like a bull frog, but it will have no impact. 

Bigan was plenty at Hope Estates where Field Slaves were given Black Bush size Bigan. Massa Massa ghee me the Bigan shouted the Field Slaves!!!!

I  suppose u were there, that's how u know. tell me,  were u also shouting to be given this black bush size baigan as well?

As long as the ppp have the minority in parliament, they are powerless against the jackass Granger. Jaggy can swell up all he wants and huff and puff like a bull frog, but it will have no impact. 

You coming to your senses gradually.    salute, bhaiya.

Hmmm. Now if 3 years ago Granger threatened to take Guyana back to the 60s you would have lots to say.

This is why Granger's best friend is Jagdeo. By threatening violence Jagdeo just changed the subject.

It's important to know if the PPP lose, Jagdeo and his PPP  parliamentarians will still be employed. Granger know how to keep politicians quiet and happy. Grease their Palm with oil money, jail them, or make them disappeared. The choice is yours. Why Nagamootoo and Ramjattan seems happy and supportive of Granger?

Jagdeo does not have the balls needed to challenge Granger. He only as AceHole for taking it. Granger should have been gotten rid of by some means. Granger will do well now to rid himself of Jagdeo. Burnham got rid of Rodney and ruled to his death. Granger probably will

Amral
Amral posted:

Jagdeo does not have the balls needed to challenge Granger. He only as AceHole for taking it. Granger should have been gotten rid of by some means. Granger will do well now to rid himself of Jagdeo. Burnham got rid of Rodney and ruled to his death. Granger probably will

There is nothing that the tainted Jagdeo can do,a man who insert honorary degree of Dr.in front of his name to bolster his qualifications.

Hmmm. Now if 3 years ago Granger threatened to take Guyana back to the 60s you would have lots to say.

This is why Granger's best friend is Jagdeo. By threatening violence Jagdeo just changed the subject.

Dummy, Jagdeo did not threaten violence, just non cooperation. I know in your wicked mind, from a pnc perspective, non cooperation means "mo fiah slow fiah". This is clearly not what Jagdeo is advocating, think protesting the MLK way, except MLJ(Martin Luther Jagdeo). 

Drugb posted:.

Dummy, Jagdeo did not threaten violence, just non cooperation. 

He said that he doesn't care if this "non cooperation" takes Guyana back to the 60s.

No responsible Guyanese politician is going to be so cavalier about invoking the 60s given that almost 60 years later this country is still suffering from it.

MLK was about nonviolent protest. The 60s was the most violent period that Guyana has EVER gone through, so screaming indifference to this is hardly a nonviolent act.