Granger says the Presidency must be protected regardless of who is in power

-Receives COI report into alleged assassination plot
President David Granger receiving the Commission of Inquiry (COI) Report into the alleged assassination plot on the Head of State from Head of the Commission, Paul Slowe

President David Granger, today, said that it is in the national interest that the Office of the Presidency be protected regardless of who is in power adding that the Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into the alleged assassination plot of the Head of State is aimed at identifying the weaknesses and deficiencies, which may exist that can compromise the safety of the sitting President and his family.

President Granger made these remarks after receiving the Report of the CoI from Head of the Commission, Paul Slowe at State House and noted that these Commissions of Inquiry are important since they help to uncover the truth and to correct malpractice and abuses in the system. “I think the Office of the President is one that should enjoy the protection of the security services and any reports of threats or any risks to the President’s life or immediate relatives of the President, such as the First Lady or the President’s children deserve to be properly and thoroughly investigated. It is about ensuring that the President is safe and if there are any threats to that safety then it should be investigated,” he said.

The President’s sentiments were shared by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, who said that it is a matter of public interest and it is the prerogative of the President to establish a Commission of Inquiry where he sees it fit, to protect the people of Guyana.

“It’s an investigation into an alleged attempt to assassinate the sitting President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and, therefore, it is not a laughing matter. This is a very serious matter and it is taken very seriously by this Administration. The Inquiry is provided for under Section II of the Commission of Inquiry Act, whereby the President may issue a commission appointing Commissioners to inquire into any matter, which in the opinion of the President may be in the public’s interest,” he said.

Slowe, while not venturing into any details of the recommendations or findings of the report, said that “it was a very involved and lengthy process, which enabled the Commission to gather enough evidence so that the Terms of Reference could have been fully answered.”

The Commission’s Terms of Reference had included investigating and reviewing the full range of the actions and responses of the Guyana Police Force (GPF) to the reports and the extent to which such actions were conducted or executed with due diligence. It was also asked to determine whether any person, and, in particular, officers of the GPF, had information before and after the reports were made of the alleged assassination plot and whether that information was communicated to any superior authority; and report on what official action was taken on information received and if there was due diligence by GPF officers in the investigation.

Additionally, it was tasked with reviewing all actions taken by the GPF and examining whether there was “failure, neglect or omission to thoroughly and properly investigate” and to determine whether this was intentional. It is to also determine the “blameworthiness for failure or neglect of officers or persons involved in the investigation” and to recommend action to be taken against anyone found culpable, as well as to recommend steps that can be taken to prevent a recurrence.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/gra...-of-who-is-in-power/

Nah DAAG right.

How will Granger assess his statement of protecting his presidency with the killing of an opposition leader like Walter Rodney? Why Granger life is so important than an opposition leader's life. He believes in democracy, right?

Granger headed the GDF, of which the only purpose was to marginalized Indians. There were no other enemies.

What a great career to have?

And what does he tell God when he prays.

I hope he give the nation a Testimony. 

Nah DAAG right.

How will Granger assess his statement of protecting his presidency with the killing of an opposition leader like Walter Rodney? Why Granger life is so important than an opposition leader's life. He believes in democracy, right?

Isn't this for all Presidents, not just Granger?

Look banna, Even yall lil spoilt boyTrump is being protected.

I certainly agree that the presidents, their family, and the presidency must be protected regardless of which party is in power. More important for me is that the constitution,until changed must be protected, something that this president seems to have some difficulty with considering the issue of the GEOCOM chairman, the letters to the various ondependent commissions.

Z

The Constitution was fine under the PPP/C regime. Why change it now? 

Mits,

The constitution need to be changed,the PPP were not interested in major changes hence only few amendments was made,the post alliance of parties to form a government amendment was blocked by a prominent PPP stalwart,we all know the reason.

Conman Moses, Idiot Ramjattan and the entire AFC were calling for changes to the constitution prior to the election. What happened now ?

Conman Moses, Idiot Ramjattan and the entire AFC were calling for a changes to the constitution prior to the election. What happened now ?

Did you noticed anything,they are not working towards the changes ??

the coalition gov't is merely 2+ yrs,you were silent when the PPP were in gov't for 23 yrs.

Ironic!!!

Conman Moses, Idiot Ramjattan and the entire AFC were calling for changes to the constitution prior to the election. What happened now ?

You have been like Kumkaran for the past 25 years. The President is supreme to the Constitution. For you,  that was fine under the PPP regime. What happened now?

Hey Slop Boy,

PPP made changes to the constitution. What party amended the constitution to term limits for Presidents again ?

All of that PNC slop is getting to your head.

Duncee,

all you thinking of "Shit" !!! maybe your head is full of it.

They few amendments "were not the real core changes" that is needed.

"SHIT HEADS" cant see that.

Hey Slop Boy,

What changes have the AFC/PNC made to the constitution ? Please do not start with that two/three years shyte here.

Talk is cheap.

You have been like Kumkaran for the past 25 years. The President is supreme to the Constitution. For you,  that was fine under the PPP regime. What happened now?

Let me repeat,

Clown Granger is quite happy with his Idol Burnham's constitution and Idiot Ramjattan, Clown Moses, you nor the AFC can't do shyte about it.

Hey Slop Boy,

What changes have the AFC/PNC made to the constitution ? Please do not with start that two/three years shyte here.

Talk is cheap.

Banna,

go play with the lil children,

no time to waste with "mediocre"

Hey Slop Boy,

What changes have the AFC/PNC made to the constitution ? Please do not start with that two/three years shyte here.

Talk is cheap.

Speaks the racist idiot. Time has to be factored in. That's like giving a man a week to paint a house and then complain when he can only paint one room in another house in half a day.

Yall tek it easy deh pun djangy, the man only finish primary school. But yet the pnc chose him as their chief slop can carrier and political commentator.  These are the types of Indos they attract, gullible and impressionable. 

Let me repeat,

Clown Granger is quite happy with his Idol Burnham's constitution and Idiot Ramjattan, Clown Moses, you nor the AFC can't do shyte about it.

You should stay in kindergarden a bit longer. All you can think about is shyte. You is one fake Brahmana. 

Yall tek it easy deh pun djangy, the man only finish primary school. But yet the pnc chose him as their chief slop can carrier and political commentator.  These are the types of Indos they attract, gullible and impressionable. 

Be happy that the slop can carriers are able to carry turds like you and your family as your private Uber.