Why can’t our politics be like our cricket fans and children?

Aug 23, 2017 Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...t-fans-and-children/

The Caribbean Premier League came to Guyana this past week. The support given by Guyanese was overwhelming. Full houses packed in almost all nights.

In fact, in some matches the crowds were so thick that people began to wonder whether more tickets were sold than seats or whether unauthorized persons were allowed into the ground. But that is another issue for another time.

For every person in the ground, there were about five persons who wanted to be inside – but either could not get a ticket to buy or could not afford it. People were begging all around for tickets. They just wanted to be part of the support brigade for the Amazon Warriors.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors enjoyed tremendous support. Forgotten in the patriotic fervour which swept Guyana over the past week was the owner of the franchise. It did not matter to Guyanese who owned the franchise; they were there to support the local team and they did.

Why can’t Guyanese politics be like our cricket? Guyanese support their team, regardless of whether it is Harper, Hooper, Sarwan or Chanderpaul as the captain. Race does not matter. The Guyana team is supported.

It should be that way in politics. Why should it matter that it is the PPPC or the PNCR in government. Once the teams play by the rules and there is a democratic winner, then all Guyana should support the winning team. This is what democracy is about.

Unfortunately, we have seen what has happened in Guyana whenever the PPPC has won elections. The supporters of the PNCR take to the streets in violent protests. We have seen what has happened when APNU wins elections. The PPPC supporters feel marginalized. They do not support the winning team.

We have to put that aside. We have to cheer for Guyana so that an election does not continue to be such a traumatic event. Whoever wins must enjoy the support of the other side. And if next time around, the other side wins, the same must happen.

Guyana needs the results of elections to be respected. If this happens, then the people can justly feel that if the government does not perform, then they can remove them without fear of ethnic or political insecurity.

This may seem to be a simplistic way to deal with a very complex problem. But the fact is that if we can unite around our cricketers, especially when their performance was almost rock bottom, then we can stop being disruptive in the wake of elections.

The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) results also came out this past week. A number of students did very well, but the majority of students did not do well. But as usual, the top performers will be showcased, as they deserve to be.

The authorities should refrain from announcing, at this stage, who were the top ranked performers. The government’s ranking is not the CXC’s ranking. Last year, the person with the most Grade Ones was not awarded as the Best Overall Student by the CXC. The regional examinations body has its own system of ranking and that ranking is not known until the end of the appeals period which is about a month from now.

The relevance of this is that there are Guyanese, adult Guyanese, who are undertaking ethnic censuses of the top students. They are counting how many persons of one ethnicity are in the top ten and how many of another are. Do not let anybody fool you, as sickening as it is, this is happening, and has happened on both sides of the ethnic divide.

But look at the excited faces of the children. They are not prejudiced at all. They are not into ethnic head counting. They are just happy for each other.

Why can’t our politics be like these children? Why can’t it be free of racial bigotry and prejudice? Why can’t everyone be happy for an old man like Mr. Granger to finally get his chance at becoming the President of Guyana in his twilight years, just as how some persons were delighted when Mr. Jagdeo became the youngest President?

Guyana’s politics can learn from our cricket fans and our children.

RiffRaff posted:

was it Jagdeo's money or taxpayers money?

Would the PNC have built a stadium?  What has the PNC built since they have been in office for the good of the Guyanese people? You all love to preach that the PPP never did anything for the Guyanese people!!

20953757_362525064178893_2114120049518464773_n[1]

• 20953757_362525064178893_2114120049518464773_n[1]
Tola posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Jagdeo might regain some face, if he use some of his millions to help the people who voted for him to become rich.  

Utter nonsense!!!!!!! 

These jackasses brayed day and night about white elephant Providence stadium. They even revolted and keep the 50th anniversary at a slap dash construction in Durban park instead of the stadium that jaggy built. 

a month from now.

The relevance of this is that there are Guyanese, adult Guyanese, who are undertaking ethnic censuses of the top students. They are counting how many persons of one ethnicity are in the top ten and how many of another are. Do .

And why shouldn't they. If a particular group (ethnicity or gender) is under represented among the best academic performers then it makes sense to find out why.

So both Indians and Africans/mixed are well represented, but where are the Amerindians?  They don't even get into the best schools much less be represented among the best performers 5 years later.

However all of this attention on a dozen or two kids obscures the fact that once again Guyana's average performance is below par. In addition only 37% of the kids taken CXC are boys, vs on average of 43% throughout the Caribbean. So not only do Guyanese under perform but our boys seem to be especially bad state.

Now proceed to argue about "who come first" in the CXC when it is apparent that most Guyanese came last!

And Karma isn't making joke.  When Jagdeo showed up at the game, the Amazons win.  When God is on your side, who needs the PNC?!

Yes bow down and worship your Lord.  Had Amazon lost and someone suggested that it was Jagdeo's fault you would have been screaming that poor performance by the cricketers had nothing to do with him.

These jackasses brayed day and night about white elephant Providence stadium. They even revolted and keep the 50th anniversary at a slap dash construction in Durban park instead of the stadium that jaggy built. 

It is still a white elephant.  But I thought we weren't supposed to be talking about Jagdeo because he hasn't ruled Guyana for long ago. In fact not since Burnham died given the frequent screams about Burnham we hear, even as you wail that we shouldn't discuss Jagdeo.

RiffRaff posted:

Would the PNC have built a stadium?  What has the PNC built since they have been in office for the good of the Guyanese people? You all love to preach that the PPP never did anything for the Guyanese people!!

how exactly has the stadium helped people?

btw, I supported the stadium

RiffRaff posted:

how exactly has the stadium helped people?

btw, I supported the stadium

It provides a venue that all Guyanese can be proud of to host regional events. Your hatred of Jagdeo and the PPP should not negate the impact of the stadium on Guyana. 

One has to call a spade a spade.

Afro dictators Hoyte and Burnham did shyte for Guyana and a third and emerging Afro Dictator Granger will do worse than Hoyte and Burnham combined.

Development does not exist in their vocabulary or DNA.

Development projects take about three years to materialize and given that Jackass Granger has done nothing except sport up and big raises, he will definitely be remembered as Guyana's biggest Jackass.

Calling a spade a spade, who vex, vex. Facts are facts.

It provides a venue that all Guyanese can be proud of to host regional events. Y.. 

Yes while the previous government couldn't even provide proper labs at UG and had a library which was embarrassing and toilet facilities that smelt like a sewer.

But be "proud" that Guyana can host CPL for a few days of the year.  Guyanese only. This while St Lucia and St Kitts get the international matches and tourists who arrive spending money.

Development projects take about three years to materialize 0

And the PNC has been in power for just over 2.  You don't even credit them for the plethora of oil & gas investment that is occurring now. 

You will note that Exxon waited until the PPP was tossed office before they began to seriously invest.  No doubt because they didn't trust the PPP to protect them against Maduro.

It provides a venue that all Guyanese can be proud of to host regional events. Y.. 

Yes while the previous government couldn't even provide proper labs at UG and had a library which was embarrassing and toilet facilities that smelt like a sewer.

But be "proud" that Guyana can host CPL for a few days of the year.  Guyanese only. This while St Lucia and St Kitts get the international matches and tourists who arrive spending money.

Nonsense, there is always a naysayer among the critics that will find a fault in what the PPP did and dig up all sorts of needs in the country to make a point.  What about the US, billions spent on arms and yet people are homeless in America, especially Blacks, but we don't hear you complaining as the welfare check is on time every month and section 8 apartment is paid for. 

Druggie seems to know a lot and talks a lot about welfare chqs and Section 8 housing. It's great to see someone in the system explain it so well.

Maybe caribj is one of my tenants. Section 8 tenants are a guaranteed income as the check comes directly to the landlord from the govt. 

Druggie seems to know a lot and talks a lot about welfare chqs and Section 8 housing. It's great to see someone in the system explain it so well.

Maybe caribj is one of my tenants. Section 8 tenants are a guaranteed income as the check comes directly to the landlord from the govt. 

Could very well be. I saw a lot of this when I travelled in the USA.

Druggie seems to know a lot and talks a lot about welfare chqs and Section 8 housing. It's great to see someone using the system explain it so well.

Nonsense, there is always a naysayer among the critics that will find a fault in what the PPP did and dig up all sorts of needs in the country to make a point.  What about the US, billions spent on arms and yet people are homeless in America, especially Blacks, but we don't hear you complaining as the welfare check is on time every month and section 8 apartment is paid for. 

That goes without saying on both sides of the spectrum. Now, when are you people going to stop that asinine comparing of Guyana to other countries especially the United States? The US has 324 Million people. Over 450 times that of Guyana given Guyana's population is around 700,000. Is Guyana's Economy and GDP 1/450th of the United States?

Again as member of the pnc/afc sympathizers at all cost, you completely missed the point. Development must be balanced in all nations. The comparison is not at a population level but rather a 1st vs 3rd world comparison. If the US can spend money on wars, walls, Israel, Pakistan etc and forgo our crumbling infrastructure, poverty, then this proves that the strategy of development is more balanced. Not to drop every other area of development and concentrate on one area as Cribby suggests. 

Nonsense, there is always a naysayer among the critics . 

I see that you are daily expressing praise for what Granger is doing so cannot call others naysayers about other eras.

Given that this doesn't describe you then don't call others naysayers.

Why don't you address the disgraceful condition of Guyanese educational institutions?  In 2011 Guyanese kids were using latrines and even the toilets at QC and UG were a disgrace. That was Jagdeo's lack of priorities.

Providence is a white elephant. It doesn't generate employment or foreign exchange and those ought to be the priorities.  On the other hand Guyana needs to repay that Indian loan and they don't accept GY$ in payment so Providence is a drain!

At least Granger had the good sense to shake down people like BK to build his own white elephant so scarce foreign exchange isn't being used to service debt connected to that white elephant.

Again as member of the pnc/afc sympathizers at all cost, you completely missed the point. Development must be balanced in all nations. The comparison is not at a population level but rather a 1st vs 3rd world comparison. If the US can spend money on wars, walls, Israel, Pakistan etc and forgo our crumbling infrastructure, poverty, then this proves that the strategy of development is more balanced. Not to drop every other area of development and concentrate on one area as Cribby suggests. 

Do you actually think before you write or are we taking our chances on what comes out next? How the hell can you compare a 1st World Country with a 3rd World Country in any instance? By the way I see you missed the letters GDP.

DrugB always thinks before he writes, and even if he didn't, his response would be a grade above the spectrum.

I see that you are daily expressing praise for what Granger is doing so cannot call others naysayers about other eras.

Given that this doesn't describe you then don't call others naysayers.

Why don't you address the disgraceful condition of Guyanese educational institutions?  In 2011 Guyanese kids were using latrines and even the toilets at QC and UG were a disgrace. That was Jagdeo's lack of priorities.

Providence is a white elephant. It doesn't generate employment or foreign exchange and those ought to be the priorities.  On the other hand Guyana needs to repay that Indian loan and they don't accept GY$ in payment so Providence is a drain!

At least Granger had the good sense to shake down people like BK to build his own white elephant so scarce foreign exchange isn't being used to service debt connected to that white elephant.

Apparently you have no idea about budgeting or otherwise. In the beginning of the fiscal year the parliament passes a budges which allocates money to various sectors. Then throughout the year these allocations are the bases for spending. In your world there should be no budget but rather an ad hoc approach to spending, where only the problem areas with the most need are given resources. Clearly your inexperience shows what a knuckle head you have become over the years. 

In fact you are the one who lacks analytical skills. You jump up and shout just for the sake of argument. The fact remains that any nation must take a balanced approach to development. If a 1st world nation like the US can neglect poverty over war mongering and you bottom feeders stay quiet then Guyana can also balance its approach to development. 

Sorry cuz, wrong person. This isn't the first time you and some others here compare Guyana with the United States. As I said before, you CANNOT compare Apples and Oranges. To compare something to another there has to be some shared standard to measure each. One example, you're trying to compare a country who can't defend itself militarily to another that has assumed the responsibility of policing the world. Slow down and think a little. A few months ago you were trying to compare the Health Systems.

So you saying that the Brigadier can't defend his country militarily or the Pentagon can't mek the match?

You may wiggle but you caught in a trap. I am not comparing the entire US to Guyana, just one aspect, its approach to allocation of budget, a balanced approach, rather than rushing to only solving issues such as poverty, failing schools etc. 

What about the US, billions spent on arms and yet people are homeless. Your own words. This is what you're calling a balanced approach?

DrugB always thinks before he writes, and even if he didn't, his response would be a grade above the spectrum.

Spelling error....surely you meant' "a grade above his sputum"

What about the US, billions spent on arms and yet people are homeless. Your own words. This is what you're calling a balanced approach?

It seems that your head hard, if the US can have homelessness and still spell billions on arms. Why is it not reasonable to expect Guyana to have some aspects of needs not addressed in its society? Every democratic country has homelessness and people that fall through the cracks like caribj. Does it mean they should stop everything else and rush to their aid? Close down ball parks, amusement parks, stop giving tax breaks to businesses etc? The problem with small minded folks like you is that you don't see the big picture, you don't know history. How do you think the pyramids were built?

Apparently you have no idea about budgeting or otherwise..

You cannot even balance your checking account and are rambling like a mad man. What the hell does budgeting have to do with the fact that Jagdeo found money to build a white elephant while Guyanese kids must put up with leaking toilets because the PPP "had no money"?

If the budget was so tight then why incur a need for debt service using scarce foreign exchange for a venture that its unused most of the time.  A glorified Thirst Park its become?  The only CARICOM countries that have less international cricket than Guyana are St Vincent and Dominica.

It seems that your head hard, if the US can have homelessness and still spell billions on arms. .

Arms are manufactured in the USA and employ thousands of people and keep alive sections of the industrial sector that would have otherwise outsourced to China or Mexico.  There are whole regions in the South which are very dependent on the defense industry.

Now describe employment and foreign exchanged earned by Providence stadium.  It was built using Indian materials and professional expertise and its construction was funded through Indian loans.  So Guyana must find US dollars that it doesn't have to pay back the Indians.

.. Does it mean they should stop everything else and rush to their aid? Close down ball parks, amusement parks, stop giving tax breaks to businesses etc? .

Those are entities owned by private owners and they generate revenues and employment.  And in fact it is now widely agreed that tax subsidies given to sports stadiums in the USA are wasteful corruption, and the remains is that Guyana is much poorer so can ill afford such waste.  At least the tourist islands can recoup some of the costs to run these entities from the tourism generated, but Guyana cannot do so.

QC, its leading school has many resource limitations. Most assuredly the best secondary schools in NYC are in excellent shape.  We have QC kids who spend as much time doing extra lessons as they spend in school, because conditions are sub par.  But yet you applaud the construction of a white elephant which is used for its main purpose no more than 4 weeks a year.

You have yet to tell us how much employment and foreign exchange the white elephant generates.  

In fact Banks DIH could have built it and operated it as in fact its main use is as a replacement of Thirst Park.

Here you scream at Granger's white elephant when Providence is even more wasteful.  That Durban lands monstrosity wasn't built using foreign loans and in fact much of its financing came from the local private sector. So the fact that it is a waste has less impact.