They had it hard under the rule of the PNC. Life for the opposition under Bharat Jagdeo was heaven. Some changes are not good.

So much so that Guyana's population DECLINED under Jagdeo. Even as the USA and Canada had tightened up their immigration forcing Guyanese to flee to coral reefs and volcanic peaks.

What is interesting of this period is that all of the decline is due to a drop in the male population.  This is due to the fact that it was heavily males who went to the islands working in construction or the canefields or as gardeners.   They lived crowded many men sleeping on mattresses on the floor, eking as much as they could to send $$$ back to Guyana.

Yes reports in Barbados that PPP Indians were ordered out of their seats by Bajans who just wished that they would leave the island.  These folks, desperate as ever, didn't even when Bajan cops began to wake them up in the middle of the night and threaten to send them on the first LIAT back to Guyana.

I can only wonder why they went through this, and why did so many PPP supporters flee.  Even as the overall population dropped the Indo population dropped even faster.

Now Bunmham is a hero, these slop can carriers have no shame.

You jumped too quick.

Burnham also fought to kill coolies, rig elections and fought to be dicktater for life. He accomplished all of what he set out to do.

Jagdeo fought to kill blacks and tried to rig the last elections, but his plan to stick in fake ballots was caught.  Under Jagdeo para militias controlled by the wealthy roamed the land, PPP ministers and other senior officials had their US, Canada and UK visas revoked. A PPP minister was killed ad Jagdeo refused to arrest the killers, even as he screamed that he knew who they were.

But for Hoyte's reforms which reduced the role of the state in the economy, and the soaring levels of remittances, considerably higher than in the 70s and 80s, and soaring gold prices one can only wonder where Jagdeo would have crashed the economy.  A clue is Skeldon factory which even Peeping Tom, a PPP supporter, concedes is a colossal failure and a behemoth.

ba$eman posted:

Burnham's name should never be revered, this is the campaign that the Granger and AFC are launching, to sanitize Burnham as the current generation did not live under his rule.

Burnham fought for equality the same as Hitler fought for peace...or was that piece!!

And Jagdeo, ever the loyal student, copied Burnham.  He even went better.  Rather than having the House of Israel with its sticks and stones Jagdeo had the Phantoms with machine guns. Both used to kill "anti government traitors".

You jumped too quick.

Burnham also fought to kill coolies, rig elections and fought to be dicktater for life. He accomplished all of what he set out to do.

You does shoot goat poop hoping it will stick,how much coolies were killed under Burnham comparable to your hero Baby Kong Jagdeo ????

Give the numbers.

You jumped too quick.

You does shoot goat poop hoping it will stick,how much coolies( were killed under Burnham comparable to your hero Baby Kong Jagdeo ????

Give the numbers.

If you can tell me how many times you waxed Harmun goady, I will be able to answer your question. Make that "how many coolies".

You jumped too quick.

You does shoot goat poop hoping it will stick,how much coolies( were killed under Burnham comparable to your hero Baby Kong Jagdeo ????

Give the numbers.

If you can tell me how many times you waxed Harmun goady, I will be able to answer your question. Make that "how many coolies".

Snide remarks doesn't bolster your argument.

How many Coolies were killed under Burnham,give a number.

ba$eman posted:

Burnham's name should never be revered, this is the campaign that the Granger and AFC are launching, to sanitize Burnham as the current generation did not live under his rule.

Burnham fought for equality the same as Hitler fought for peace...or was that piece!!

And Jagdeo, ever the loyal student, copied Burnham.  He even went better.  Rather than having the House of Israel with its sticks and stones Jagdeo had the Phantoms with machine guns. Both used to kill "anti government traitors".

Well said!

Let me see you refute any of this or even try to!

"And Jagdeo, ever the loyal student, copied Burnham.  He even went better.  Rather than having the House of Israel with its sticks and stones Jagdeo had the Phantoms with machine guns. Both used to kill "anti government traitors".

should we forget the record of

Lamumba, Kwame, Hamilton,

Kit Nascimento, Norman McClean,

Edgehill, Witicka and Bynoe

and Keep Supporting and Voting for the PPP?

Or should we distance ourselves

from those Black Thugs,

Killers, Rapist,

Kick-down-door Bandits

and Ballot Box Thieves?????

"And Jagdeo, ever the loyal student, copied Burnham.  He even went better.  Rather than having the House of Israel with its sticks and stones Jagdeo had the Phantoms with machine guns. Both used to kill "anti government traitors".

Even a DUMMY, which in your case will be an improvement knows that Jagdeo EXTERMINATED a Group that killed BABIES, WOMEN, CHILDREN in their SLEEP!!!  You are beyond dumb, stupid and illiterate!!!

Using a "DRUG LORD" to do the Exterminating.

I thought the Extermination was before the Lusignan massacre.

Let us get this straight. RK was snatched before the Lusignan murders.  Jagdeo cried, screamed and wailed, and threaten to leave CARICOM howling at Suriname and T&T for cooperating with the US in the rendition of an "outstanding" Guyanese citizen.

Now Jagdeo is yet to tell us who was responsible for the murders connected to Sat Sawh, and the massacres in Lusignan, Bartica and other places, and the invasion of Kaieteur News, at murders connected to that as well. Let us note that KN was vociferous in its condemnation of the PPP at the time.

Let us also discuss why Burnham was a hooligan because of certain violent characters, yet when these SAME thugs joined the PPP at the invitation of the PPP Jagdeo isn't similarly condemned.

Django posted: How many Coolies were killed under Burnham,give a number.

32 years after Burnham's death it's mighty hard to provide a number. But we can start counting killed coolies from memory and add them up. Lemme start the ball rolling with #1: VINCENT TEEKAH. 

Allegations are that an Indo PPP minister was killed by people who Jagdeo knows.

32 years after Burnham's death it's mighty hard to provide a number. But we can start counting killed coolies from memory and add them up. Lemme start the ball rolling with #1: VINCENT TEEKAH. 

#2: BHOLANAUTH PERMANAND

#3: JAGAN RAMESSAR

Good going. We have 3 so far. How many more we need?

#4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 - the seven members of the Jaikarran family of Chance, Mahaicony in August, 1964.

Keep counting,

Skelly can help with some names,

this what he said "Burnham also fought to kill coolies"

Eight in Family Are Killed in British Guiana Bombing

GEORGETOWN, British Guiana, June 12—Arthur Abra‐ham, 47 years old, who was once permanent secretary in Premier Cheddi B. Jagan's of‐fice, and seven of his nine chil‐dren died today when their city home was burned down after terrorists had thrown two bombs into it. The children, four girls and three boys, were from 6 to 10 years old.

Mr. Abraham was transferred to the Ministry of Works six months ago after documents disappeared from his office.

The bombs were thrown as the family slept. Mrs. Abraham escaped by jumping through a window. The other two children were away from home.

Terrorists also tried to burn down the home of Senator Ann Jardim, a member of the

United Force party of Peter D’Aguiar.

Today's deaths brought to 46 the number of persons killed in the 121-day‐old strike of sugar workers.

(Over 30 of those killed in this number were Indians.  I don't have their names or the exact number.)

"In December 1964, the PNC became the major party in a coalition government with the United Force and Burnham became Premier of British Guiana. He led the country to Independence on May 26, 1966, becoming under the constitution, the first Prime Minister of Guyana, as the country was now called. On February 23, 1970 Guyana became a Co-operative Republic."

fsburnhamfoundation.org/bibfb.php

Bibi take note.

Two from Sooknanan family. 4 from Ally family.

"To date there has been no closure for the massacre of the three unarmed Indian families at Mahaicony, East Coast Demerara, Guyana. Police dog Rio tracked the Ally's murderer to the Sergeant at Mahaicony Police Station. He was flown away to Lethem. The murder of the Sooknanans remained uninvestigated. The murderers of the Allys and Jaikarans were 'legally' identified and arrested; yet they were never brought to justice. The death toll among the three families alone was thirteen."

Keep counting,

Skelly can help with some names,

this what he said "Burnham also fought to kill coolies"

Bibi start padding de list wid coolies killed during the 1960s riots, Jagan time before December 1, 1964. She no comprende.

The Burnham coup d'ÃĐtat was in motion in 1964. Let these coolies be counted.  My father know the whole Mahaicony clan and all those houses that were burnt down on Branch road and Central Mahaicony.  He saved many lives during that time.  These stories were told at our dinner table.  I know my history.

Arright, leh we add de 13. So 3 + 13 = 16. How many more we need?

Suh tha is all the Coolies killed and East Indians was the majority in 1985.

r@ss i thought it was a genocide,me think Baseman does seh suh.

What? You think Burnham should have killed more coolie?

Hold it, banna. We still counting. I scratching me head bad-bad fo rememba. In 1972 a coolie man named Victor Yassin, owner of Carib Hotel at Liliendaal, was murdered. So 16 + 1 = 17.

What? You think Burnham should have killed more coolie?

You deh pun stupidness,lighten up.

Drunk again?

There should be some control for Nehru he should never Post While Drunk!

But you forgot to add the 5 coolies killed in Wismar in 1964. But then again, you have to square that up with the Son Chapman black martyrs, dozens of them. 54 to be exact. 

Since the history of Guyana was never accurately recorded, we will never know the exact number of people who were political martyrs.  On the ECD, every single Indian person was removed from the villages of Bachelor's Adventure, Victoria, and Belfield.  Some were killed.  Others were driven out.  Many of their houses were burned to the ground.  By the end of 1966, there were no Indians left in those villages.  A few returned to sell their land cheaply.  Only to never return again.

Suh the "Commission of Inquiry" did not give a true picture of what happened.

Did you read it ??  http://www.guyana.org/govt/wynnparry_report.html

Refresh your memory.

24.The two largest ethnic groups of the population of British Guiana are the East Indians and Africans. At the end of 1961 the East Indians formed 49 per cent of the total population and Africans 32.7 per cent. The East Indians it may be mentioned are the descendants of the indentured labour originally imported from India to work on the sugar cane farms. More than a quarter of a million of them were brought over between 1844 and 1914, and of these 65,000 were repatriated to India, while the rest remained to make a permanent home for themselves in British Guiana. The Africans are the descendants of the slaves who were brought by European settlers to work on the land and were later emancipated. They and their descendants adopted British Guiana as their homeland. In addition to these two ethnic groups, there are some Chinese, Portuguese and Amerindians, who are the descendants of the original Red Indian residents. As is inevitable in a country of several races, there is a substantial element of what is now known as "mixed population"'. The East Indians are for the most part agriculturalists and, therefore, residents of villages. They work on the sugar cane and rice farms. The Africans, for the most part, are factory workers and, therefore, town dwellers. Thus we find that according to tire Census of 1946 the Africans comprised 53.6 per cent of the population of Georgetown and East Indians numbered only 15.5 per cent. it would appear that a similar state of affairs also obtains in New Amsterdam. The Portuguese are mostly town dwellers and are employed in commerce, and almost all the Chinese and Europeans live in the towns. The Amerindians are to be found in the Savannahs.

25. The initial aloofness of the Indians, springing, perhaps, from a nostalgic attachment to their native land, is no longer observable and the present generation of East Indians have not only accepted British Guiana as the country which they inhabit and to which they owe allegiance, but they have without qualification or reservation identified themselves with every aspect of its life. Their inherent habits of hard work and thrift have enabled many of them to rise above the humble status of manual workers and enter the professions of law, medicine, commerce, and the civil service.

26. The Indians now take a prominent part in the social and political life of the country. There are several able lawyers. including more than one Queen's Counsel, and a number of highly qualified doctors. Dr. Jagan, the Premier and several of the Ministers in his Cabinet are East Indians.

27. With regard to the political affiliations of the various ethnic groups, although there is no sharply defined classification, the Indians, for the most part, support the People s Progressive Party, of which Dr. Jagan, the present Premier, is the leader. The Africans support, for the most part, the People's National Congress, which was inaugurated comparatively recently. Mr. Burnham, a local barrister, is the leader of this party. Until a few years ago he was a colleague and supporter of Dr. Jagan. The Portuguese, for the most part, support the party known as the United Force, of which Mr. D'Aguiar, and important businessman of Georgetown is the leader. It is difficult to escape the hypothesis that considerations of race are to some extent responsible for political affiliations and loyalties, although it must be stated that many East Indians support Mr. Burnham's party and many Africans owe allegiance to Dr. Jagan's party. The various political parties are of recent birth and, being still in the formative period, the convictions and loyalties of their members are somewhat superficial and personal.

28. We found little evidence of any racial segregation in the social life of the country and in Georgetown, East Indians and Africans seemed to mix and associate with one another on terms of the greatest cordiality, though it was clear that the recent disturbances and the racial twist given to them by some of the unprincipled and self seeking politicians had introduced slight, but it is hoped, transient over-tones of doubt and reserve. Among the inhabitants of Georgetown there is, of course, always present the danger that hostile and anti racial sentiments may be aroused by a clash of the hopes and ambitions of rival politicians. We draw attention to this possibility because there have been indications of such friction in the past, although, as will appear in the course of this report, the disturbances of February 16th did not originate in a racial conflict, nor did they develop into a trial of strength between the East Indians and the Africans.

You are absolutely correct. But the obverse is also true. By the end of 1964 not a black man was left in Leonora, Enterprise and Enmore. Dem get chase out.