I would have resigned if it was my fault – Ramjattan

Camp Street Prison break

…blames sugar industry for lack of funds

Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan has dismissed calls for his resignation following the jailbreak and conflagration at the Camp Street Prison on Sunday evening, and cited the state of the sugar industry and its annual bailouts as among the reasons Government is yet to make a heavy capital investment in the penitentiary.

Ramjattan was at the time addressing members of the media at an emergency press conference live at the National Communications Network (NCN) studio after the firew.
Chief Prison Officer, Gladwyn Samuels had earlier in the evening lamented the lack of capital investments in the Georgetown Prison, but when asked by Guyana Times, Ramjattan responded saying, “it’s because there is a lack of monies for these investments, we have to bail out sugar, we have to do so many other things.”

According to the Public Security Minister, “that is what is cramping our style in relation to what we have to do for others sectors.” He told media operatives “it’s $6 billion minimum to construct a new prison and that will take about three years.”
Asked about his resignation in light of the fire last year, which claimed the life of 17 prisoners, coupled with Sunday’s incident, Ramjattan said that decision will have to be made by the President.

According to Ramjattan, “If there is a fault on my part; well , the President can do that… I would have resigned if it was a fault on my part.” However, in dismissing calls for his resignation, Ramjattan questioned how fault can be laid at his feet.

Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan

Reminded of the Commission of Inquiry last year, couple with the fact that recommendations – including the need for substantial capital investments were never implemented – the Public Security Minister responded saying “we understand that indeed all of those little things (recommendations) were done.”

The Public Security Minister was adamant a number of the recommendations were in fact implemented and yielded success. He drew reference to several prison wardens that were caught attempting to transport illicit materials into the Georgetown Prison.

According to Minister Ramjattan, the small recommendations such as the installation of better close circuit television cameras were in fact installed.
“Most of the recommendations that we could have afforded have been implemented but we still have problems,” Ramjattan said.
Asked about his representation to Cabinet when it meets in light of the fire, Ramjattan said “I will make my case again just like I did last year.”

He posited however, “because of the crisis situation we will need more monies now for the prison system.”
The Public Security Minister indicated that the Camp Street Prison will have to be rehabilitated in an urgent manner and funds will be required to bring the facility to a level where prisoners can again be housed. According to Ramjattan, the Camp Street location notwithstanding the fire still holds the best base/foundation in order to rebuild a prison.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/i-wou...-my-fault-ramjattan/

Dishonest Willy speaks as if he was never at fault for anything since he became minister of national security. The COI inquiry in the first prison fire gone to waste because the PNC/AFC government never implemented the recommendations of that inquiry. 

Your programmers  should review your 20 word vocabulary and do what is necessary so you may have what we humans call " discussion."

Do you have anything to add to the story I posted here?

They see usefulness in building a 100 million dollar fence around State House while prisoners are left to starve and  suffer in an overcrowded prison.  This government treats its ministers and advisors royally and cares nothing about those at the bottom rung of society. It's APNU/AFC we are talking about. Guyana cannot prosper under these people.  Only two years into government and we are experiencing crisis after crisis while the economy is coming to a grinding halt. It's time for a revolt similar to what we saw in Georgetown the other day against the parking meters. 

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Rumjaat  does see one sided. He called for Rohee's sacking when Rohee did not perform to expectations, this Gadaha is worse and cant see the need to resign when he look he see it different. Yuh know what meh mean

It seems great sacrifice has made to facilitate a few chosen convicts to escape. The ones that understand the backlands well. The ones that are reliable to kill and bring in big profits for the police, army and balance the PNC budget. 

Randolph, and look at the DUMB, STUPID, SLAVE LIKE IDIOTS they have on GNI( AKA the FILTH HEAD GANG) One just posted after his neighba explained how to.

dude...direct your anger at the Govt instead of at people who really cannot do much except issue their opinions on GNI...

What does calling people names on GNI accomplish? If you want to have a serious discussion, you will have to elevate the discourse

Your programmers  should review your 20 word vocabulary and do what is necessary so you may have what we humans call " discussion."

No,not really unless you would like me to come up stuff that adds no value like Nehru's posts but I prefer to pass on that.

I would have resigned if it was my fault – Ramjattan

Camp Street Prison break
… blames sugar industry for lack of funds
According to the Public Security Minister, “that is what is cramping our style in relation to what we have to do for others sectors.” He told media operatives “it’s $6 billion minimum to construct a new prison and that will take about three years.”
Asked about his resignation in light of the fire last year, which claimed the life of 17 prisoners, coupled with Sunday’s incident, Ramjattan said that decision will have to be made by the President.
According to Ramjattan, “If there is a fault on my part; well, the President can do that… I would have resigned if it was a fault on my part.” However, in dismissing calls for his resignation, Ramjattan questioned how fault can be laid at his feet.
Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan

http://guyanatimesgy.com/i-wou...-my-fault-ramjattan/

It seems that he just woke up from months in slumber to babble about this serious happenings at the prison.

Also, by doing nothing since the incident last year, it could happen that he and the president "will hold hands and be singing kumbaya".

No,not really unless you would like me to come up stuff that adds no value like Nehru's posts but I prefer to pass on that.

NO is fine. If you and Nehru have issues, yall beat each other brains out on another thread.  

alena06 posted:

It's time for this Gov't to go!!!

ABSOLUTELY!!!!!!!!!

okay ******* you might be right but lets talk about the one in ppp time when guyana went through the worse crime   who did you call for to resign 

randolph posted:

Rumjaat  does see one sided. He called for Rohee's sacking when Rohee did not perform to expectations, this Gadaha is worse and cant see the need to resign when he look he see it different. Yuh know what meh mean

Teck a peep up yuh BT and smell.

RiffRaff posted:

Randolph, and look at the DUMB, STUPID, SLAVE LIKE IDIOTS they have on GNI( AKA the FILTH HEAD GANG) One just posted after his neighba explained how to.

dude...direct your anger at the Govt instead of at people who really cannot do much except issue their opinions on GNI...

What does calling people names on GNI accomplish? If you want to have a serious discussion, you will have to elevate the discourse

You need to see this with ALL posters and not just a couple. Do not selectively scold people who do not subscribe to your political beliefs.

RiffRaff posted:

You need to see this with ALL posters and not just a couple. Do not selectively scold people who do not subscribe to your political beliefs.

Hogwash !!

Nehru and few others are abusers on GNI,they never stick to the discussion.

Earlier in the morning i was thinking about taking a break from this BB,due to their useless prattle,no wonder lots of folks are leaving.

Don't lie, is blows got you contemplating leaving. Those who fled here did so out of shame for erroneously supporting the pnc. It's only you and the others without shame who bareface and continue on to fetch pnc slopcan 

What blows??

you all Piss Pot Porters getting whooping here daily,clinging to low level vocabulary shows the weakness in conversations,typical of PPPites.

What blows??

you all Piss Pot Porters getting whooping here daily,clinging to low level vocabulary shows the weakness in conversations,typical of PPPites.

Look who talking about low level vocabulary, the school dropout. Maybe the reason for low level vocabulary is to speak down to the level of the slopcan carriers 

What blows??

Sorry, Mr. Lexicographer. You are in the wrong business. Time to move on as you know so much. You are depriving the world of your talents.

Ow baie I feel lef out. U doan tink Iman isa good lexicograpferwrist?

Correct, I believe this is a synonym for pumpman.

I see another low level youngster got promoted over you again. Carry on with your Piss Pot Portering. 

randolph posted:

Thanks Mits am happily retired but that's your job ever since you replaced Dr.U to cut piles.

randolph posted:

Thanks Mits am happily retired but that's your job ever since you replaced Dr.U to cut piles.

What would you suggest that Minister Ramjattan could have done to prevent the prisoners from setting the fire?

You say that Ramjattan is cockeyed. You look at one incident. You must be blind. The fact is: crime in Guyana is down; Murder and other crimes are being solved more rapidly; Money laundering and drug trafficking is being suppressed. 

I am open to agreeing or disagreeing with you if you can say what exactly you expected Ramjattan to do to prevent last Sunday's tragedy.

Did I say Rumjat is cockeyed.  I don't have to say it, if yuh "cack eye yuh cak eye".Hi Rumjaat  stooge or Rumjaat chief cook and battle washer or Rumjaat eself - stop posing as Mits, yuh stink, stank and rotten to the core. Remember what you tole Sanassie to do about crime a la, ala alla.

Now the answer to your question - I will answer you when you Rumjaat can explain what could Rohee have done better when you called for his resignation. 

By the way yuh does still look up the BT to cut, clamp or stitch the piles.