A pastor was trying to get a cat down from a tree. The trunk was too small to climb, so he tried a rope on his car bumper and pulled the tree  branch lower.

Unfortunately, the rope broke and the cat went flying. He looked up, down and everywhere, but could not find it.

A few days later, at the grocery store, he saw his neighbour who dislike cats, buying cat food.

When he inquired the reason she said, her daughter was praying  for a cat and she said the only way she would get a cat is if God sends one from  heaven.

Lo and behold, that very moment a cat went flying in the air and landed in her arms.

Prayer works for other things too. 

It appears as a joke, but that is exactly how God operates. His attributes He gave it to humanity, so that we can do for each other. Just as He could.

So true Seignet, even though the story was a joke. God does work in different ways and its not for us to say what is right and what is not, unless we are God.

We might feel that we are better in explaining the ways of God, but the giving of a copper coin is the best explanation.   

Tola posted:

It appears as a joke, but that is exactly how God operates. His attributes He gave it to humanity, so that we can do for each other. Just as He could.

So true Seignet, even though the story was a joke. God does work in different ways and its not for us to say what is right and what is not, unless we are God.

We might feel that we are better in explaining the ways of God, but the giving of a copper coin is the best explanation.   

Why? Because you stated that you did that?

Tola posted:

You are superior, take a bow.  

Dude, do you see me constantly bragging about doing this or doing that? Spend some time reviewing your posts and you should have no difficulty recognizing that all your posts end with some kind of self praise. You can now do two things. Heed my friendly advice or continue to devalue your personal value.

And you think you don't place your self on a religious pedestal and instead of advising people, you  ignore or put them down, as if you are better than them.

DUDE FYI, this is an information site. Many personal contacts were made to enrich lives with exchange of information and other things. Different from you, when help in your field  was requested, you ignore. Maybe you should review your post to see how better than others, you portrait yourself.   

Last edited by Tola

First of all, I have stated umpteen times that I am not religious so for you to think that I put myself on a religious pedestal is just another example how far from reality you exist. Secondly, I ignored your request because it made no sense. Arab Muslims can't understand the Qur'an in English any better than in Arabic. It was beyond reason for you to think that they would better understand it in English when they already knew Arabic. Truthfully, I concluded that you really wasn't trying to help any Arab Muslim at all and your request was driven by whatever it was that drove you to make your Qur'an comment which you promised to discuss but after many years still seem to be running and hiding. No doubt at your age, you need your crazy imaginations

It is arrogant for you to believe that our committee as non-muslims, will know what you wrote above, regarding Arabic translations. Did you reply to the email informing us of this fact, or are you now trying to gain Brownie points  in public ?

Also, to assume that we would spend all that time to write others, including yourself,  for assistance to help someone we dont know, shows the kind of assumption you can make. Sometimes concluding  with an assumption can make an ass of  a person, for not having all the facts. 

If you believe this is not true, PM your phone number and you can speak directly with the Muslim  family in Arabic, if you really know the language.  They are doing well working and  attending university, after succcessful English classes.

Seriously Ksazma,  sometimes you are like some others on GNI who make assumptions about the work others do, without real facts and instad of helping them, you knock them down. Because of this reason, us as a Guyanese people, might foreven remain divided.   

Dude, it may just be that you are confused because you stated in the letter that you wanted to help some Arab Muslims understand the Qur'an and you needed my help to translate the Arabic into English. I concluded that you are crazy because any Arabic speaking Muslim would be better off reading the Qur'an in Arabic. There are numerous English translations of the Qur'an everywhere so why would you need me to translate one for you? Maybe you were trying to impress on me that you were helping out some Muslims. Be warned. I don't fall for things easily. 

So God goes around taking things from some and giving them to others? Wouldn't it be better for Him to speak into the heart of one person so they give to others of their own free will?

why ur faith says non-muslim must pay up a tax for not being a muslim in  an occupied/captured  zone. Dem say Allah demands dat. I am sure those dat paying is nah doing it of free will.

Bai, why yuh picking fights on all dem threads. That is a sign of insecurity.

Being a know it all, is also insecurity.

If u doan buy into a notion, then let it fly.

This attitude would be perfect for those wishing to peddle their bill of goods, don't you think? Unfortunately GNI is not Sunday school. It is a place where people agree or disagree with whatever is presented. If someone doesn't want their statements criticized, then they shouldn't make them.

So God goes around taking things from some and giving them to others? Wouldn't it be better for Him to speak into the heart of one person so they give to others of their own free will?

why ur faith says non-muslim must pay up a tax for not being a muslim in  an occupied/captured  zone. Dem say Allah demands dat. I am sure those dat paying is nah doing it of free will.

Nobody wants to pay for anything freely. Those non-Muslims were paying a tax for certain social services which were being performed by Muslims. The ummah was new and it seemed that the Muslims were willing to perform those services for a fee. In today's world, that is still regarded as a tax and is paid by people all over the world for similar services so Muslims and non-Muslims alike pay those taxes nowadays. Muslims and non-Muslims alike also receive those taxes. Allah doesn't demand things from anyone because Allah doesn't need anything from anyone. The Qur'an teaches what people can do to elevate their standings both in this world as well as the hereafter. The situation you cited is completely different from your comment on how "God operates".

Dude, it may just be that you are confused because you stated in the letter that you wanted to help some Arab Muslims understand the Qur'an and you needed my help to translate the Arabic into English. I concluded that you are crazy because any Arabic speaking Muslim would be better off reading the Qur'an in Arabic. There are numerous English translations of the Qur'an everywhere so why would you need me to translate one for you? Maybe you were trying to impress on me that you were helping out some Muslims. Be warned. I don't fall for things easily. 

Once again Ksazma, you  as a so-called  expert on Islam, how are we as a Christian group, to know whether there are  different kinds of Muslims,  if there is such a thing ? The simplicity of this question alone should inform you that we know little about Muslims or Islam and even if we google it, how do we start to understand, with  the vast amount of information, when we know so little ? 

You might not fall for 'things' easily, but as a person who portrait himself  on GNI as knowing about Muslims and Islam,[thus my email] you do belittel yourself  when you ignore simple  questions about Muslims and Islam, that is important to the well-being of a new Muslim family in Canada. 

To remove all doubt in me trying to con you and to save face, will you  PM me  your  phone number  so you can talk directly to Haneen, Wahl and Ibrahim from Iraq, now living in Vancouver BC ?

Furthermore, there is a bonus.  You can also talk to a Muslim family of five, arriving soon from Syria.

What do you say Ksazma, you got any balls or just hot air ?  

Ok Tolabai, read very slowly. If your folks are Arab Muslims, they are better off reading the Qur'an in Arabic, not English. Why would you think they will understand it in English which would be a second language to them? If you and your Christian friends want to read the Qur'an, you can find many in your neighborhood.

Secondly, I only know of you from being on GNI. Therefore, I am not interested in any PM activity. You request made no sense then and it still doesn't make any sense.

Ksazmabai, it baffles me to understand that you only know me on GNI, yet you were able to come up with scenarios to knock down what we do for others. Were you keeping a negative  company of influence ? 

Religious communication was the reason for our Muslim friends and us to learn about the  Qur'an in English. Since they now live in an English speaking country and almost impossible for our Christian friends  to learn Arabic.  We are both religious groups, but of different faiths.

My email request  might not make sense to you as a Muslim, but it was more senseless to us as Christians and we were looking to be informed correctly.   

It seems typical of some on GNI, to fabricate stories against a person, instead of offering kind words and suggestions to assist them.  Because I believe GNI could be  a useful source to assist in creating  healing of the races in Guyana, if only some of us take the opportunity in doing so.

When two women are argueing in Guyana and one say ' you mama man ah live in abie house'. Its might base on some fact, especially if the outcome is a child who looks like the mama man.  LOL  But on GNI, the fabrication is not based on facts, but assumptions. That could mek an ass of some of us.

Bai, our town is small and learning about Islam is challenging. Its only now with more Muslims from Iraq and Syria, that we are able to assist other Muslims better, even meeting them at the airport with translations. The next family has serious medical issues for being in refugee camps for years, that might make our work more challenging, but not impossible.

On my side, this matter of discussion had come to an end, because it might not serve any further purpose. But you are free to have the last word.   

It might be challenging praying for the cat and the pastor.  But prayer works.

A neighbour's cat been hanging around our house, so we got him some cat food.  Now this demanding cat stretches across our doorway outside  and wait for us to either open the door or to return home.  Should I get him up a tree, for  a swing to  a new neighbourhood ?

Tola posted:

A neighbour's cat been hanging around our house, so we got him some cat food.  Now this demanding cat stretches across our doorway outside  and wait for us to either open the door or to return home.  Should I get him up a tree, for  a swing to  a new neighbourhood ?

You're doing a good thing feeding a hungry animal. The cat we have now I found when she was a few days old. She was bottle fed, is now 15lbs, will be 5 years old in November and thinks she owns the house. I also have a few strays outside that I feed. We have always had stray cats around that we feed. One has 3 feet so I call him or her 3 foot. Baby heard and the other day when we came home he looked around and asked where "3 little foots" was. I want him to grow up to be kind to animals.

Tola posted:

You're doing a good thing feeding a hungry animal. The cat we have now I found when she was a few days old. She was bottle fed, is now 15lbs, will be 5 years old in November and thinks she owns the house. I also have a few strays outside that I feed. We have always had stray cats around that we feed. One has 3 feet so I call him or her 3 foot. Baby heard and the other day when we came home he looked around and asked where "3 little foots" was. I want him to grow up to be kind to animals.

GT, before we had kids, we had two cats that have since passed on. They were Tank and Muffet. We adopted the brother and sister  from a house we looked after at Surrey BC in 1972. We called him Tank, because he would sit in the middle of our Vancouver condo  living room, wiggle his rear end,  sprint for the curtains and swing. When we come home from work, all the books will be knocked off the shelves, because they would chase each other behind the books on the shelves. They would skid across us in bed, as they chase each other. Muffet took travelling in style, but tank hated it. We would sneak them thru the back doors in hotels and spread a towel in the bathtub to sleep, but most times they are in bed with us. I love those cats and miss them tremendously.

Fortunately, our kids were old enough to know them. I am now scanning slides when  we first got them and its emotional looking at the pictures. 

As I was told some cats do, one day Tank left and never came back.  I wish we knew where he died, so we could bury him properly. Muffet died at home. Its hard writing this with teary eyes.

We later got an adult cat name Licorish from friends, who were seldom at home. He too passed on.

I get very upset when I see people leave cats outside in winter. They could be charged with animal cruelty, but we don't want to make bad neighbours and most times we bring them inside.   

Ksaz, don't you practice your five daily prayers and your special Friday prayers?

I don't make blanket statements about anything bai. Everything is qualified. I am not a used car salesman or as my buddy Nehru put it, snake oil salesman.

Agree. It's all subjective. Tola , see Ksaz does have a sense of humor.  Arite, you guys have great week end.