…extending time in office will have consequences – Bharrat Jagdeo

The international diplomatic community is growing increasingly wary over the machinations of President David Granger with regard to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) and should he be moving to have a repeat of the 1990 experience – when then President Desmond Hoyte had his term in office extended by two years – he will have to face a non-compliant opposition – a situation that could plunge Guyana into a constitutional crisis.

This is according to Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, who on Tuesday raised the issue of a possible ulterior motive on the part of the President and sought to qualify his position by pointing to the seemingly ever-expanding criteria.

agdeo was at the time speaking to members of the media at his Church Street, Georgetown office, where he provided an update on the meetings he held with civil society on Monday last over the submission of a third list of nominees for the post of Chairman of GECOM.

Jagdeo also used the opportunity to respond to sentiments expressed by President Granger during his most recent pre-packaged television programme, “The Public Interest” which he dismissed as disingenuous.
He told members of the media, “We will never in that sort of atmosphere (outlined by President Granger) be able to have a person selected.”

Ulterior motive
Jagdeo was reporting on sections of civil society’s lamenting over the requirement to have all six names on any list submitted to be perfect before any of the names are even considered.
“Listen to how unreasonable this is…if you have five persons on the list perfect according to his criteria and one person is not, then he will not even start considering the names,” Jagdeo said.

According to the Opposition Leader, the strong-arm position adopted by the President flies not only in the face of the Constitution, but it also flies in the face of history and precedence which has been accepted in the past by both the People’s National Congress (PNC) and the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C).

Jagdeo suggested he was now of the opinion, as was the case with many that he would have consulted with, that President Granger may very well have an ulterior motive. “I believe that he has an ulterior motive.”
The Opposition Leader suggested that by delaying the appointment of a GECOM Chairperson, the President may want to believe that this situation could lead to the delay of the next General and Regional Elections.
He recalled a similar experience in 1990, when the PNC’s term in office was extended by two years.

Wishful thinking

According to Jagdeo, this situation obtained since it was agreed to by the PPP/C, along with the Carter Centre to have the elections delayed in order to sanitise the voters list to remove any doubt over the rigging that had obtained in the years leading up to that election by the then PNC Government.

“If he thinks that situation will repeat itself, he is engaged in wishful thinking … if he will delay appointment just to get additional years (in office) he is wrong…. he is not going to find a compliant PPP agreeing to an extending  of his term.”

Jagdeo warned that such a situation would lead to a constitutional crisis since the life of Parliament would have to be dissolved on a predetermined date according to the Guyana Constitution.
He said should there be no election called at this time, the country would be plunged into a constitutional crisis, since there could be no Budget and further, any agreement inked at that time would be illegal and not recognised on his part.

“If he thinks, as some people feel, that this is a plot to delay the elections, then there are consequences,” the Opposition Leader warned.
On the matter of his meetings with members of the international diplomatic community, the Opposition Leader said the signals emanating from the Granger Government were sending worrying signals.

International concerns
“I had discussions with people from the diplomatic community, because of the behaviour of the President on this manner where he is departing so radically and departing from precedence over the years…He (Granger) is raising a lot of concerns internationally about the elections,” Jagdeo said.

He told members of the media, “we have started doing work internationally to ensure that the election is free and fair …. people see this in the international community as a strategy”, on the part of the Granger Government.

Meanwhile, on his consultation with members of civil society, he reported that the persons who participated in the meetings expressed frustration over the protracted delays and shifting goal-posts on the part of the Executive.
“Civil society share same frustration on this matter…many felt the President’s position is unreasonable.”

ACDA absent
According to Jagdeo, the members of civil society expressed the view, “we will never have agreement if he continues to hold to the views that he has publicly expressed and many of them think it’s a waste of time to continue what seems to be a charade of sending names to him when he would capriciously, flippantly dismiss names as not being fit and proper.”
Jagdeo reported too that the protracted delay has now led to a waning in enthusiasm of civil society to participate in these activities, since “their views are not going to be taken seriously by Government”.

Jagdeo told media operatives, “they and I recognise that it is going to be increasingly hard to find people who would want to put up their names only to put down nationally, publicly by the President.” He did report that among the groups noticeably absent from the consultations was the African Cultural and Development Association (ACDA), which had complained about being sidelined at the first engagement, but was since invited.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/diplo...or-election-motives/

Jagdeo has done absolutely nothing but fkin whine and complain about every goddam thing since in opposition. He and Anil should get married to each other. They could them invite Anil's knockman Uncle to visit them.

......, the PPP has 49% of the votes. That's a mere half of Guyana's voting power is behind him. 

DG what you posted is what they "had" I am questioning the word "has" 

......, the PPP has 49% of the votes. That's a mere half of Guyana's voting power is behind him. 

Cain, at the last election ... has/had = 50.3// 49.19

For the exact meaning of has, meaning now; well that is any one's prediction.

There are indications that the PNC/AFC has lost grounds and it is quite conceivable that the PPP/C currently has far more votes.

Where is this indicated pray tell/show? Even if the coalation has lost votes who says these votes are going to the PPP? Furthermore, elections are years away anything can happen so no worries.

Elections are about two and a half years away.

Indications on the progress of PNC/AFC is not a good one as there appears to be individuals' desires to vote for other groups except the PNC/AFC.

DG..you must have written the Bible. Only there could we find parables which says one thing and mean something totally different. Read your post below.

There are indications that the PNC/AFC has lost grounds and it is quite conceivable that the PPP/C currently has far more votes.

Where did you pull that 49% out of?

I am not debating the issue, Cain. But you can consult with DG's stats below. 

You that confusing during sex as to who pon top an who below? Hehehhh

DG..you must have written the Bible. Only there could we find parables which says one thing and mean something totally different. Read your post below.

Cain, read again the words ... quite conceivable.

Also review my last statement ...

[[QUOTE]]

Indications on the progress of PNC/AFC is not a good one as there appears to be individuals' desires to vote for other groups except the PNC/AFC.

[[UNQUOTE]]

Where is this indicated pray tell/show? Even if the coalation has lost votes who says these votes are going to the PPP? Furthermore, elections are years away anything can happen so no worries.

How do you know that the PPPmhas not retained their support at the national level? What is your source?

Z
Zed posted:

How do you know that the PPPmhas not retained their support at the national level? What is your source?

Look dude it is not up to me to find a source it is up to the individual who said "it is conceivable bla bla bla" you can ask him where is that source.

So, where is your source that says the PPP has retained their support?"

I have made no claim regarding who has or does not have support, so I am mystified why you ask me for a

I  remember a Sparrow calipso about both of dem on top. Lol

source.

Z
Zed posted:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQP-YvcGcF8

Honeymooning Couple

Dave Martins & the Tradewinds-

Published on Dec 29, 2008

Dave Martins & the Tradewinds - Honeymooning Couple
Ting a ling ah ling

Cain, at the last election ... has/had = 50.3// 49.19

For the exact meaning of has, meaning now; well that is any one's prediction.

We all know about you and your predictions, the most famous being the PPP will win 60% of the votes.

Zed posted:

I have made no claim regarding who has or does not have support, so I am mystified why you ask me for a

source.

Tradewinds.........

Its also quite conceivable that the next election will have a 40% turnout.

So nothing is inevitable.  Let Jagdeo continue with his "we gun tek back de country for us (meaning Indians)" and even disillusioned coalition supporters might turn out.

Don't dwell with the mistaken notion that AFC delivered votes outside of G/T in 2015 as you well know that they didn't.

If the PPP was smart they would be getting blacks with credibility among blacks into very visible dominant positions within the PPP. But then the Indo KKK sees blacks like stray dogs. Just throw them scraps to get their votes.

The PNC couldn't have won without the help of the AFC. In 2020, The PNC will only win if they rig the election.  Granger is now setting the stage for the rigging to be unnoticeable.  like what Burnham did, the PPP will not be allowed to be present at the tallying of the votes.   The AFC will get their 10% by hookery of crockery.

Its also quite conceivable that the next election will have a 40% turnout.

So nothing is inevitable.  Let Jagdeo continue with his "we gun tek back de country for us (meaning Indians)" and even disillusioned coalition supporters might turn out.

Don't dwell with the mistaken notion that AFC delivered votes outside of G/T in 2015 as you well know that they didn't.

If the PPP was smart they would be getting blacks with credibility among blacks into very visible dominant positions within the PPP. But then the Indo KKK sees blacks like stray dogs. Just throw them scraps to get their votes.

Why, because the PNC will lose? You always seem to manufacture doomsday scenario when the PPP is favored. First, your douglas voting PNC. Now the voter turnout could be 40%. Any scenario to keep your niggro PNC in power. The next election, if not RIGGED, will see your PNC/AFC also ran.

Ramakant-P posted:

The PNC couldn't have won without the help of the AFC. .

The votes that the AFC delivered weren't available to the PPP. Not every Indian likes the PPP and not every AFC vote is Indian.

The Nagamootoo 2011 vote from Berbice went right back to the PPP in 2015.  It might well be that the PPP has reached its peak in terms of how many votes it can get without changing itself.

Why, because the PNC will lose? .

The African population is 30% and yet the PNC (without the help of the AFC) NEVER got less than 40%.  So where does 25% of their votes come from. NOT from Indians nor Amerindians. Clearly it comes from the mixed identified group.

FYI not every mixed identified person in Guyana is a dougla either.

And in fact if you take the Indian % of the population in rural Guyana you get the PPP % of the vote.  This was true BEFORE 2011, so don't scream that the AFC took away rural Indian votes because they did so only in 2011.  In 2015 their support was from mixed, urban Indians, and a section of the black middle class, as well as from some Amerindians in the Rupununi.

So yes Guyanese might finally catch sense and learn that neither the PNC nor the PPP are any good.  In fact they basically sat out the LGE and the same can happen in another 3 years.