http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....oser-to-realisation/

Major UK-funded projects closer to realisation

Since early last year, there was excitement about the £52M ($16B) grant that Guyana has secured from the United Kingdom. The Government proposed two major projects, but there is yet to be actual construction a year later. It turns out that the UK is being very thorough. The process that is to be used will ensure that the money is spent for the purposes allocated.
The two projects chosen by this government are the Linden to Lethem Road and Stabroek Market waterfront and Vreed-en-Hoop stellings. The money is coming from the United Kingdom Government through its UK Caribbean Infrastructure Partnership Fund (UKCIF).
Kaieteur News recently had an interview with British High Commissioner, Greg Quinn who said that the process is still in motion. He said that it is unlikely that the projects will begin before 2018. Quinn said that technical design contracts for both projects are to be approved within the next few days. He said that the technical designs themselves will take a few months to be completed. Once those have been completed, there will then be a stage of final approval before the projects actually start.
Quinn indicated that the technical design will lead to a final decision on what the projects will look like. It will only be after that stage that full details of costs and what will be needed will be clear.
“But in principle, approval has been given to use infrastructure funds to support those two areas.”
The Ministry of Public Infrastructure has indicated that the first phase of the Linden-Lethem Road Project is expected to include the upgrade of approximately 122.5 km of road between Linden and Mabura Hill (including drainage) and construction of a new single or dual lane fixed bridge across the Essequibo River at the Kurupukari ferry crossing (approximately 600m long).
As part of the collaboration with the UK Government, the Government of Guyana is seeking to engage a multi-discipline and transport sector-experienced consulting firm to assist in the preparation of a two-component capital project.
While the proposed road upgrade applies only to one section of the Linden-Lethem road, the capital works on the remaining 331.5km of the laterite road will be undertaken through funding from other sources. The remaining capital works would fall under additional phases and the Ministry of Public Infrastructure has already engaged the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB) on possible funding for the stretch of road between Mabura Hill and Lethem.

These PNC jackasses turn to the begging bowl to develop Guyana, this is not sustainable as countries will not continue to fund projects in Guyana only to see pnc thiefmen pocket de money.  Guyana has enough wealth to move away from the begging bowl, in fact the PPP turned over a very strong economy and self sufficient nation to the PNC who have run the country to destitution in a mere 2 years. Now the UK have to put in place stringent checks and balances to ensure that pnc/afc thiefmen don't get their hands on the funds. But jackass Granger et al have ways and means to pull the wool over the UK eyes. 

Your usual ramblings.

"Kaieteur News recently had an interview with British High Commissioner, Greg Quinn who said that the process is still in motion. He said that it is unlikely that the projects will begin before 2018."

HAHAHAaaaaaa I was expecting dem guys to bust their huge nuts soon as they read that. These fools love to hear bad news coming out of Guyana but soon as something positive is seen they lose it..HAHAHAaaaa.

"Kaieteur News recently had an interview with British High Commissioner, Greg Quinn who said that the process is still in motion. He said that it is unlikely that the projects will begin before 2018."

Yeah..so? Rushjob is cock job

HAHAHAaaaaaa I was expecting dem guys to bust their huge nuts soon as they read that. These fools love to hear bad news coming out of Guyana but soon as something positive is seen they lose it..HAHAHAaaaa.

They're only happy if it's the Piss Pot government doing it. They never noticed that Guyana had their begging bowl out for the last fifty years and beyond.

fools LIKE YOU WERE LABELING THE ppp gOVT BEGGARS but NOW SINGING DISGRACEFULLY A DIFFERENT SONG. bloody hypocrites AND filth heads!!!!!!!!!

You're a complete load of filth. When you were born at Gaumont, it was the first time in history that a turd was excreted from the front instead of the rear.

fools LIKE YOU WERE LABELING THE ppp gOVT BEGGARS but NOW SINGING DISGRACEFULLY A DIFFERENT SONG. bloody hypocrites AND filth heads!!!!!!!!!

You're a complete load of filth. When you were born at Gaumont, it was the first time in history that a turd was excreted from the front instead of the rear.

yUH mUDDA CONCEIVE ME AT GAUMONT!!!!!!!!!

Wow, you were conceived at Gaumont. Your own confirmation is very revealing. You're so stupid, you're even confused about who your mother is.  

HAHAHA We are brothers DONKEY. I really feeling shame now!!!!!!!!

You may have a gadaha for a brother since you all do here is bray aimlessly but I surely don't have the same parents as you do. They buried your navel string at Gaumont no wonder you always returned there looking for it.

A DUMB ASS like Mars will never know his origin. He thinks he is from Mars where Animals like him are born Brainless. What a FILTH HEAD Jackass we have on GNI. Try brain surgery you IDIOT!!!

I know my parents. Obviously you don't since you're now trying to claim mine. I pity you since it's not your fault that you were born into the mess (pun intended) you found yourself in.  

These PNC jackasses turn to the begging bowl to develop Guyana,  

And how is this different from the PPP?  What new industries did Guyana get under the PPP aside from call centers which you show extreme derision for. And in fact we only got these as Guyanese wages are miserable so some operators based in St Lucia, Barbados and Mexico outsourced their jobs.

I hope when this project comes to fruition the builders know what the hell they are doing and this does not fall apart as seen in previous projects....then again that was when a road building business was given to Fip and another as the cable business by Alexi..I don't think those guys knew how to run a cake shop (borrowed from yugiski) but they got some big ass jobs which they never completed.

Does anyone know if any monies were returned for these never done projects?

I hope when this project comes to fruition the builders know what the hell they are doing and this does not fall apart as seen in previous projects....then again that was when a road building business was given to Fip and another as the cable business by Alexi..I don't think those guys knew how to run a cake shop (borrowed from yugiski) but they got some big ass jobs which they never completed.

Does anyone know if any monies were returned for these never done projects?

The PPP cannot run a cake shop but they surely learned how to steal millions. So good at this that Harmon and others go to the PPP school every night to learn how to do this.

And how is this different from the PPP?  What new industries did Guyana get under the PPP aside from call centers which you show extreme derision for. And in fact we only got these as Guyanese wages are miserable so some operators based in St Lucia, Barbados and Mexico outsourced their jobs.

We are holding the PNC to their promises prior to attaining office. I don't see why you have to bring in PPP who did a good job using the begging bowl until they got Guyana off this dependency when they handed over the country to the PNC in May 2015. 

And druggie whining about "checks and balances" Look how Norway couldn't give the $$ to the PPP direct but had to have it provided via the World Bank.

Checks and balances should be standard procedure for any nation giving money. But in the case of jackass Granger, they need double checks and balances for these infamous thiefmen. 

I'm saving this for future battles.   Seriously though, Nehru is a Brahmin's son and respectable member of his community.

FC posted:

You can't be serious about Nehru. It does not say much for his community. The guy is a raving lunatic. Is his community the rum shops on Liberty Avenue?

I guess his GNI modus operandi is to let out a string of bad words, exclamation points and caps, hoping to knock down his opponent.    

Hopefully, these project can come to fruition for the good of the people.  The Brits owe Guyana something and they should contribute to the development of Guyana via Grants and soft loans.

So the project is in the pre pre pre planning phase for how long?  A simple road construction and stelling refurbishing project is taking so long for technical design.  The Brits using delaying tactics on the 'hard headed dunces' or what? 

Bottom line - NOTHING has been achieved under this Government.

alena06 posted:

So the project is in the pre pre pre planning phase for how long?  A simple road construction and stelling refurbishing project is taking so long for technical design.  The Brits using delaying tactics on the 'hard headed dunces' or what? 

Guyana is a special place, with special people.  You have to be patient!

alena06 posted:

Good work takes time and proper planning unlike a Chinese built plant or a Chinese built hotel or running cable or Fip's road.

We are holding the PNC to their promises prior to attaining office. I don't see why you have to bring in PPP who did a good job using the begging bowl until they got Guyana off this dependency when they handed over the country to the PNC in May 2015. 

So what about the promises that Jagdeo made?  Guyana was supposed to be a wealthy country with a highly efficient sugar industry. It was supposed to be a thriving eco tourist destination due to Buddy's and Marriott, and our educational system was supposed to exceed that of the rest of CARICOM in excellence. 

Oh yes that white elephant at Provident was supposed to make Guyana a major international sporting destination.  When last I checked Guyana was only beating Dominica on that score. Note that only LIAT can get you to that island.

I don't know the last day that I have heard anyone speak highly of the APNU/AFC gov't and its seen as a disappointment to most.  In fact most say the same about Granger that you do and I have said this on many occasions.

Funny you still scream that Jagdeo is a hero long after his boyfriend Roger Khan began to endure nightly rapes in that jail that the Feds put him in, and Ed Ahmad, another pretty boy, is singing loudly to escape that fate. 

Jagdeo is frantically teaching Harmon and the rest of APNU/AFC the art of theft so that the brothas at that infamous Brickdam institution  don't partake plunder his backside the way that the other brothas feast on RK.

So what about the promises that Jagdeo made?  Guyana was supposed to be a wealthy country with a highly efficient sugar industry. It was supposed to be a thriving eco tourist destination due to Buddy's and Marriott, and our educational system was supposed to exceed that of the rest of CARICOM in excellence.  

Stick to the current govt in office, lambasting Jagdeo will not excuse the PNC/AFC incompetence. Hold their feet to the fire. Jagdeo is the past. 

I have already had my say on this gov't however you endlessly bray about how great Jagdeo was. I merely suggest to you that he was no better than this current lot.  In fact it was under Jagdeo that a huge trade of PPP slaves headed to Trinidad and Barbados occurred.

The worst cuss word that a (Indo) Trini kid can use against another is to call them "Guyanese" because this is the lowest of low.  Unpaid gardeners and maids, almost all being PPP supporters.  So praise Jagdeo all you wish while he left his own supporters in such dire straights that this is what they had to do!

Absolutely but to be fair, you can't blame everything on the new government and say it all happened overnight. A new government comes in and what are they supposed to do, wave a wand and fix everything overnight? They have 3 more years. They'll either prove themselves or hang themselves. For the sake of the people I am hoping for the former. Should they prove to be incompetent though get rid of them. I'll be adult and mature enough to admit I was wrong if I am, unlike some here.

ba$eman posted:

Hopefully, these project can come to fruition for the good of the people.  The Brits owe Guyana something and they should contribute to the development of Guyana via Grants and soft loans.

Thank you.

I have already had my say on this gov't however you endlessly bray about how great Jagdeo was. I merely suggest to you that he was no better than this current lot.  In fact it was under Jagdeo that a huge trade of PPP slaves headed to Trinidad and Barbados occurred.

The worst cuss word that a (Indo) Trini kid can use against another is to call them "Guyanese" because this is the lowest of low.  Unpaid gardeners and maids, almost all being PPP supporters.  So praise Jagdeo all you wish while he left his own supporters in such dire straights that this is what they had to do!

Take your racist BS somewhere else. You are the poster boy of current day PNC racism.