Jus in case you bomb-out on Amral's suggestion.

There's a Fijian place at 5204? Fraser Street in Vancouver and a 'Rybel' place on Hillside?, New York City. Could your supa-dupa bicycle  handle the trip?

Wha rass me know bout Pine Tart and Salara? Living behind gad bac so lang, me cant even rememba wha suga cake taste like. But me believe Toronto is near Lake Simco and Nagarra Falls.  

Amral posted:

I do not like norman sue. In my opinion they do not use enough pine in the pinetart and cheese in the cheese roll.  The products go stale fast compare to narine bakery products 

I find that also. I've never been to Narine's they r out of my hood but now I know where they are will take a trip there. Thanks all.

Kaz banna my baking days done for awhile.

Amral posted:

Tola. They have chip sugar cake, brown sugar cake, white sugar cake 

Thanks Curly,  me also like anadda drink  betta dan wine. But Cain doan drink, he is into 'erbs.

Bro, wha  is guava cheese, me only know  bout  milk cheese.

All me know was red sugacake, dat me get at school and market.  Me and me gran-pickney gun miss out on de story about all dem adda sugacake.

One time in GY, me ex-gal fren from NY call me to visit she in GT. She had a big can of a GY sweet, me used to like, now me cant even rememba its name. It looked like the light brown prasad  given at Hindu ceremonies and could be cut into squares like Nanaimo bars; custard ?   She was patting and moulding de ting like powering a baby's bottom.     Remove dat idea from you head. regarding an ex-GF callin me..because all we did was talk, went to church and had dinner wid she  brother. Den she went to visit relatives and lef me alone wid dem bandits in GT.

Its been six years since me visit relatives in Toronto, been going to GY thru Miami. Its time for a visit to try dat guave cheese and all flavour of sugacake.

One time me see okra and plantain in de store hea and dem people think me was crazy by jumping from one foot to the next, saying Oh boy...Oh boy. 

Seriously, a person loses a lot when they don't maintain their culture and food. I now have difficulty eating a plateful of steamed rice, with fish curry and no veggys, that was my favourite in Guyana.

I could be a good test case. Cain, you want to do some research. Lots of good material. 

I am now doing a memory research project with the University of BC in Vancouver. Good stuff, plus they pay me $50. for each session. They also did a video documentary with myself and three others regarding keep fit, that is used by health care workers.

Some day I might hit the big screen, wid headlines reading GNI POSTER WINS  ACADEMY AWARD.     

I don't believe I ever had guava cheese, but occasionally I would see guava jam here from Grace Foods and we made guava jam in Guyana.

A while ago, I was with some GT friends at their fruit farm at Parika backdam . They had guava trees in different parts of the farm. One side had worms in the guava and the other side was good to eat. How come ?

Sometimes some of the things that are available in GT, we don't see in the country areas. That is why we always circle a person returning from GT, because they sometimes bring back special treats.

One summer I told my wife  its my turn to make the strawberry jam. She said okay go for it, even though she knew I don't  know how to cook at that time.

I made the jam and leave it overnight to cool. The next morning I could not pull the spoon out of the jam pot [I am laughing so hard remembering this I cant even type]. I did not ask her how much Certo to put in the jam, so I poured in the whole bottle.

The four kids and us learned a new phrase that day 'Dad, could you please pass me a square [or slice] of jam   for my toast'.

In our town there is stop sign named after Tola, it is the one our van slid and knocked down during winter as I was driving the kids to school. I was told as the school bus passed the sign later, the kids would say ' Hea Dan, there is your dad's stop sign' .

The red sugar cake I knew did not have  coconut tits sticking out  and please  leave  my Tanzania water-well project fren  Debbie out of dis, because I am sure she don't eat suga cake wid coconut tits sticking out either.  

Curly i think he meant to write bits. Chip sugar cake usually have large chunks of coconuts in them. I was never a fan of that type. Kind of too much to chew. 

My paternal grandmother use to make all kinds of sugar cake and peera, fudge  etc. I had my days of sweets

Then we had nuttin and nut crush.  They use to sell them from some big wide mouth glass bottles. I think about 5 cents you get a big one

Amral
Last edited by Amral
Amral posted:

Curly i think he meant to write bits. Chip sugar cake usually have large chunks of coconuts in them. I was never a fan of that type. Kind of too much to chew. 

My paternal grandmother use to make all kinds of sugar cake and peera, fudge  etc. I had my days of sweets

Then we had nuttin and nut crush.  They use to sell them from some big wide mouth glass bottles. I think about 5 cents you get a big one

I humbly apologise  for using the banned word tits, instead of bits to describe de coconut sugar cake.  I program myself to think of Curly fries at Mc D instead, if this situation should reoccur.

My finger became uncontrollable, due to the emotions of this thought-provoking  scenario  and moved up the keyboard to the letter T, instead remaining on its normal position at  the letter B.

I promise to try  that this does  not happen  again and I look forward to tasting some coconut sugar cake with tits...opps bits sticking out.  I am sorry again., because old habits are hard to break, due to being so accustomed   to the former word and milk thermos.  

I accept full responsibility for my actions and will honour any  penalty anywhere in the world, that my garage sale revenue [today] allows, preferable to Ontario, where I was told a whole bunch of nice people from Guyana lives.