Queuing for food in neighbouring Venezuela’s Ciudad Bolivar

April 18, 2017

Fleeing hard times –Guyanese living in Venezuela returning home

–cite food crisis, political unrest

By Zena Henry

THE decline of neighbouring Venezuela’s economy and the resultant strain on its cost of living is causing many Guyanese living there to think seriously about coming back home.

This is according to Guyana’s Ambassador to Venezuela, Ms Cheryl Miles during an update on Guyana-Venezuela relations at the conclusion of a heads of missions conference held here recently at the Pegasus Hotel.
Guyana and Venezuela are still to resolve a decades-old border controversy currently being managed by the United Nations. In a televised interview with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Miles explained that since her posting to Venezuela, much of her work has been in relation to the Diaspora which makes up some 250,000 Guyanese living in Venezuela.
And, despite the social state the country is in, she said, many Guyanese are holding their own, but some are having second thoughts.
“Many people now are thinking of returning to Guyana because of the difficulties in Venezuela,” the veteran diplomat said.
She said that while many persons are seeking guidance on how they can reintegrate into Guyanese society, in many cases, they are concerned that because their children may not have learned English in a structured way, that could be a hindrance in their being able to attend school in Guyana. “We are trying to see in what ways we can make it easier for them to reintegrate,” Miles said, adding that it is one of the tasks with which the Embassy is currently preoccupied.

CROSS-BORDER TRADE
This newspaper had reported back in February that scores of Venezuelans would regularly cross the border at Kumaka, in Region One (Barima-Waini) to do business. According to Kumaka residents at the time, this is what had obtained throughout 2016, as the economic situation in Venezuela took a turn for the worse.
Media reports have since suggested that supermarket shelves in Venezuela are chronically bare, and power shortages are so severe that government offices are forced to only open two days a week.
Add to this the collapse of the healthcare system, the spiralling crime rate, and progressively worsening inflation, and one could well imagine the state of play in Venezuela these days.
And as the New York Times had reported, with the plummeting of the price of oil, Venezuela’s only export of note, this means revenues could fall by as much as 40 per cent this year.
It’s a situation that has, since earlier in the year, resulted in a number of Venezuela-based Guyanese relocating to the place they once called home within communities in the North West District.

Guyana’s Ambassador to Venezuela, Ms Cheryl Miles

According to Kumaka residents, many persons who had relocated to Venezuela during the 1980s have since returned to the North West in search of greener pastures.
“They come across with fuel and plastic containers and clothes, and take back sugar, rice and even things like toilet paper,” a Kumaka vendor named Michael said of those Venezuelans coming here to trade items that are difficult to source in their homeland.
He said that the goods brought here by the Spanish-speaking traders are sold dirt cheap. “A set of bowls, the ones with more than one, you can get that cheap,” Michael said.

KUMAKA FRONT
At the Kumaka Waterfront, several stalls would line the edges of the roadway close to the Aruka River, a sight that was almost non-existent prior to the collapse of the Venezuelan economy.
The area was once a matter of concern in the past, as water from the meandering Aruka River had almost eroded that section of the waterfront in recent years. However, revetment works were undertaken in the area and it has since stood the test of time. Consumer items that do exceedingly well at Kumaka include fuel, such as gasoline, which retails at approximately G$17,000 per barrel. The price reportedly dropped significantly a month ago when the authorities clamped down on the trade of fuel at Morawhanna.
At the time, the price per barrel had risen to approximately $28,000.
“We buy gas at about $400 a gallon,” a minibus driver had told this publication at Kumaka. He said that when the authorities visit the area, the prices would increase. Last December, Commissioner General of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), Mr Godfrey Statia, spoke on the issue of fuel-smuggling in the area. “We also know there is fuel-smuggling in the Essequibo, in Morawhanna; we also plan to put a presence at Morawhanna,” Statia was quoted as telling the media at the time.
At the remote villages outside Mabaruma, persons would trade mainly food items with Venezuelans across the Amacuro River. The goods are usually bought at Kumaka and ferried to the border location, a practice which is not expected to end anytime soon.
BORDER CONTROVERSY
As Ambassador Miles pointed out regarding the border controversy between Guyana and Venezuela, Georgetown maintains the firm position that the matter should go to the international court.
She drew reference to the recent visit of the UN General-Secretary’s personal representative, Ambassador Dag Nylander who was here to help the two countries find a solution to the problem by the end of the year.
If this does not happen, then recommendations will be given by the UN on how the controversy should be handled, with the matter’s referral to the International Court of Justice being the likely outcome.
“Our sides are very far apart,” Ambassador Miles said. “We would like to see the issue go to the International Court of Justice; it is our firm position, and Venezuela doesn’t want that. They prefer a different form of settlement.”

RiffRaff posted:

These people in for a surprise if they think PNC Guyana is any better than Venezuela. 

how you know which is better, like yuh live in Venezuela at one time

it is about the current Venezuela vs current Guyana under the rule of jackass Granger.

There are no jobs for them to return to, and everone else is a seller, sellers selling to other sellers. 

RiffRaff posted:

These people in for a surprise if they think PNC Guyana is any better than Venezuela. 

how you know which is better, like yuh live in Venezuela at one time

it is about the current Venezuela vs current Guyana under the rule of jackass Granger.

There are no jobs for them to return to, and everone else is a seller, sellers selling to other sellers. 

More sellers than buyers,everyone wants a piece of the pie.

RiffRaff posted:

Very SOON Guyana will be worst than Venezuela!!!!!!!!!!

only if Jagdeo becomes Prez

yOU REALLY NEED HELP WITH facts, figure AND reality. mEH NEIGHBA USED TO TALK ABOUT PEOPLE LIKE YOU. STUPIDEE bILL WAS ONE OF THEM.0:0;0;0;0;0;;00;

Druggie how come they didn't return under the "great" days of Jagdeo?  In fact many of them probably fled there during that era.  According to you life under Jagdeo was so great that even thousands of Bahamians and Caymanians flocked to Guyana to get the high salaries being paid.

In fact even Canadians and Germans flocked to Guyana for a better life!

Well at least there is something to sell in Guyana unlike Venezuela, and thousands of Cubans are flocking to Guyana to buy panties and bras.

They are there every week,Guyana is the destination for the Cuban suitcase traders.

Druggie how come they didn't return under the "great" days of Jagdeo?  In fact many of them probably fled there during that era.  According to you life under Jagdeo was so great that even thousands of Bahamians and Caymanians flocked to Guyana to get the high salaries being paid.

During Jagdeo time oil price was in the 150 range per barrel. Venezuela and Trinidad were hot economies.  Never head of Bahamians or Caymanians flocking to Guyana for jobs, someone must have spiked your govt subsidized ensure. 

What we saw under Jagdeo was an influx of entrepreneurs who came to take advantage of a thriving middle class with disposable income to spend. Even during Ramoutar time we saw an influx of Indian and Chinese restaurants.  There was even a French restaurant that opened in GT, I am sure most have closed their door under PNC hardtimes in the past two years. 

They are not there to by locally manufactured products, they are buying 3rd party products from China. 

That will soon dryup as jackass Granger has now driven the US dollar too high with his idiotic policies. His grandpa persona no longer works, people want economic growth, not never ending SARU investigations that end up as dry gulch. 

With the shortage of US dollars on the local market, importers will not be able to bring in their cheap chinese products to sell to the Cubans. 

Druggie how come they didn't return under the "great" days of

During Jagdeo time oil price was in the 150 range per barrel. Venezuela and Trinidad were hot economies.  Never head of Bahamians or Caymanians flocking to Guyana for jobs, someone must have spiked your govt subsidized ensure. 

What we saw under Jagdeo was an influx of entrepreneurs who came to take advantage of a thriving middle class with disposable income to spend. 

like Flip

. Never head of Bahamians or Caymanians flocking to Guyana for jobs, someone must have spiked your govt subsidized ensure. 

Exactly but reading your praises to him, as you grovel and genuflect to your deity one would think so.  And in fact so dumb are you that you didn't even get my sarcasm.

And of course only you think that Chinese restaurants are a sign of progress in an economy whose fortunes were based on the export of unprocessed commodities sold to preferential markets and inflated prices.  And of course the money laundering which was rampant under the PPP, as any kid will tell you as he sees all of those EMPTY high rise buildings in G/T.

Guyana was a waste of time with Guyanese fleeing to tiny islands that they couldn't even find on a map. I mean Guyanese flocking to Saba!  THIS was your Jagdeo!  The wealth landed in the hands of a tiny oligarchy and the rest had to flee to volcanic peaks and coral reefs to cut grass and wash toilets and to be treated as scum by the local immigration officials!  Yes some being allowed to sell in tourist stores if they gave the owners a piece.

Yes PPP supporters ordered to the back of the bus in Barbados, or told to stand if they weren't seats. Others in Trinidad deported when they asked for their pay, or in a few instances even murdered for making such a simple request. 

Guyanese men trafficked to be semi slaves all over the Caribbean, and the women trafficked as a cheaper version of the Colombian and Dominicano women. THAT was Guyana under YOUR "Jag de ho",

That will soon dryup as jackass Granger has now driven the US dollar too high with his idiotic policies..

I was under the impression that he drove US dollar too LOW as the GUY$ tumbles in value. This makes Guyana even CHEAPER for Cubans, so MORE will come.

Let me make it as simple as I can for some one with the knowledge base of a 6 y/o kid. If a Cuban can get MORE GUY$ with his US$ than Guyana becomes CHEAPER!

What we saw under Jagdeo was an influx of entrepreneurs who came to take advantage of a thriving middle class with disposable income to spend. Even during Ramoutar time we saw an influx of Indian and Chinese restaurants.  There was even a French restaurant that opened in GT, I am sure most have closed their door under PNC hardtimes in the past two years. 

I think you need some of that subsidized ensure given your brain is apparently under-functioning. Guyana's unemployment was always in the high 20's all through the last two decades and besides the influx of predator multinational companies coming in to bleed the nation in the extraction industries there was no growth industry in any sector, agriculture manufacturing etc. Income was on borrowing, remission and money generated by the predators as they spent to facilitate their predation. Growth of restaurants is not a sign of vibrant industry. It is a  lot of shady people who are focused on low capital investment in a sector that is at best hit or miss with short shelf life. They add nothing to the nations net assets but are expatriate owned and are scavenging cash for foreign deposits.

caribny posted

Exactly but reading your praises to him, as you grovel and genuflect to your deity one would think so.  And in fact so dumb are you that you didn't even get my sarcasm.

And of course only you think that Chinese restaurants are a sign of progress in an economy whose fortunes were based on the export of unprocessed commodities sold to preferential markets and inflated prices.  And of course the money laundering which was rampant under the PPP, as any kid will tell you as he sees all of those EMPTY high rise buildings in G/T.

Guyana was a waste of time with Guyanese fleeing to tiny islands that they couldn't even find on a map. I mean Guyanese flocking to Saba!  THIS was your Jagdeo!  The wealth landed in the hands of a tiny oligarchy and the rest had to flee to volcanic peaks and coral reefs to cut grass and wash toilets and to be treated as scum by the local immigration officials!  Yes some being allowed to sell in tourist stores if they gave the owners a piece.

Yes PPP supporters ordered to the back of the bus in Barbados, or told to stand if they weren't seats. Others in Trinidad deported when they asked for their pay, or in a few instances even murdered for making such a simple request. 

Guyanese men trafficked to be semi slaves all over the Caribbean, and the women trafficked as a cheaper version of the Colombian and Dominicano women. THAT was Guyana under YOUR "Jag de ho",

Claims of money laundering etc are not substantiated by any arrests or hard evidence. In fact this the the tune that the PNC has been singing for years and you have been repeating like a monkey.  Every time an Indian builds a house, you claim money laundering, every time an Indian open a business you shout money laundering, but no evidence is provided. 

The rest is hogwash, Guyanese will always seek out new opportunities elsewhere. In fact one poster refuted your lies when he noticed that Black Bajans were actually working as shop assist for Indians. 

They are there every week,Guyana is the destination for the Cuban suitcase traders.

Cuban dollars must be higher than Guyana dollars. Even the communists can afford Guyana now.

I was under the impression that he drove US dollar too LOW as the GUY$ tumbles in value. This makes Guyana even CHEAPER for Cubans, so MORE will come.

Let me make it as simple as I can for some one with the knowledge base of a 6 y/o kid. If a Cuban can get MORE GUY$ with his US$ than Guyana becomes CHEAPER!

You sound like a true plaintain chip seller, the type that Granger was talking about when he stated that if you want to open a business people should sell plaintain chip and tambrin ball. 

First of all dummy, the Cubans are not buying local produce so the Guyanese dollars become irrelevant. They are purchasing foreign Chinese goods with US dollars. The more expensive the US dollar, the higher the price in Guyanese dollars anyway. The business men have to purchase US dollars in order to buy these foreign products, this additional cost will be passed on to the consumer. I don't expect a plaintain chip seller to be aware of this simple economic concept. 

I think you need some of that subsidized ensure given your brain is apparently under-functioning. Guyana's unemployment was always in the high 20's all through the last two decades and besides the influx of predator multinational companies coming in to bleed the nation in the extraction industries there was no growth industry in any sector, agriculture manufacturing etc. Income was on borrowing, remission and money generated by the predators as they spent to facilitate their predation. Growth of restaurants is not a sign of vibrant industry. It is a  lot of shady people who are focused on low capital investment in a sector that is at best hit or miss with short shelf life. They add nothing to the nations net assets but are expatriate owned and are scavenging cash for foreign deposits.

Clearly you lie like a dog. Anyone who claimed to be employed during Jagdeo time was lying.  You must have been aware that there were severe labor shortage in the sugar industry, but the "unemployed" were too sweet skinned to cut cane and load punt. In fact my business partners could not get enough local labor to fulfill their employment needs, they had to import Trini mechanics,  Brazillian dredge operators, Amerindian cooks etc. 

Clearly you lie like a dog. Anyone who claimed to be employed during Jagdeo time was lying.  You must have been aware that there were severe labor shortage in the sugar industry, but the "unemployed" were too sweet skinned to cut cane and load punt. In fact my business partners

Cane cutting is not an easy job,it's back breaking also people look down on you as if you are a low life.

Well bhai now i see why blaming the gov't for the foreign exchange,investment does come with risk in third world countries.

Clearly you lie like a dog. Anyone who claimed to be employed during Jagdeo time was lying.  You must have been aware that there were severe labor shortage in the sugar industry, but the "unemployed" were too sweet skinned to cut cane and load punt. In fact my business partners could not get enough local labor to fulfill their employment needs, they had to import Trini mechanics,  Brazillian dredge operators, Amerindian cooks etc. 

Even in the best of times cane-cutting was never a full time job. The maximum a cane cutter works is maybe 9 months if he is lucky. The nation is still in severe unemployment but there is currently a shortage of one estate as was reported in the news. Your folk tales about not getting employees could be they do not care to work for stingy folks.

Now you changing your story. Guyana had bountiful employment during PPP time. In fact a mason/carpenter/electrician/aircondition tech was making 25$ US per day.  Now under Jackass Granger we see wages cut in half and lots of white mouth people eating shine rice. You were one of the those who supported these crooks in office and now we all pay the price of falling real estate and investments. 

Clearly you lie like a dog. Anyone who claimed to be employed during Jagdeo time was lying.  You must have been aware that there were severe labor shortage in the sugar industry, but the "unemployed" were too sweet skinned to cut cane and load punt. In fact my business partners

Cane cutting is not an easy job,it's back breaking also people look down on you as if you are a low life.

Well bhai now i see why blaming the gov't for the foreign exchange,investment does come with risk in third world countries.

It was honest work, not stealing like them PNC angels that Granger free at Christmas time. 

Now you changing your story. Guyana had bountiful employment during PPP time. In fact a mason/carpenter/electrician/aircondition tech was making 25$ US per day.  Now under Jackass Granger we see wages cut in half and lots of white mouth people eating shine rice. You were one of the those who supported these crooks in office and now we all pay the price of falling real estate and investments. 

I have changed nothing. You are changing your line of argumentation. I am sure the official unemployment rate is about 12 percent but the real one is probably in the mid 20's..

You definitely lost your marbles...if you had any. I said a change in government is the best thing for us not that we would get anything better. I said the constitution and its creation of a dictatorship produced the PPP and it ultimately will produce its mirror image in the APNU. Our only reprieve is to switch them out given we have no mediating third party

That will soon dryup as jackass Granger has now driven the US dollar too high with his idiotic policies..

You need to think beyond that. Your knowledge of economics displayed here is that of a six years old. Who import the goods that the Cubans buy, what currency do they use, and at what price do they purchase the currency that they use?

Z

You definitely lost your marbles...if you had any. I said a change in government is the best thing for us not that we would get anything better. I said the constitution and its creation of a dictatorship produced the PPP and it ultimately will produce its mirror image in the APNU. Our only reprieve is to switch them out given we have no mediating third party

Sure, you are referencing the same survey that CaribJ does.  Keep on braying from your perch in the US. Meanwhile the people in Guyana knows the real unemployment rate before and after the PNC stole power. 

D2 is on recording praising the work of Jackass Granger.

. Never head of Bahamians or Caymanians flocking to Guyana for jobs, someone must have spiked your govt subsidized ensure. 

These Guyanese may go to these islands and foreign lands and do the menial jobs and put up with the indignities. However, in a generation, there will be complaints about how much they are dominating the local economy, how skilled and educated their children are, etc. Many of us started out the same way. Look at the indentured East Indians who refused to define themselves as always being in poverty. Now the complaint is about the economic power of East Indians, with lots of talk about corruption, clannish, etc. 

Please source your claim that only a small oligarch benefitted from Jagdeo's government. Please give data on the distribution of income and wealth in Guyana from the beginning of the Jagdeo govt. until he left office 

Back up your statements about Guyanese men and women being trafficked to be semi slaves throughout the Caribbean, about them having to give a piece to keep a job.Are these wild statements or are they factual? 

Do not think that the conditions of the immigrants is cast in stone. Look around you, maybe even yourself.

Z

Please tell us if the GDP has grown since 1992. 

Please tell us about the resilience of the US, Canadian, European economies that have encountered major difficulties over the past decade. 

Tell us about the the lack of diversification in the Canadian economy from a commodity producing economy. 

The small business owners are the engine of growth in many economies. So, if someone spends on a establishing a restaurant, this is not good for the country? What if the thousands of husk terms who ply their trade in Guyana?

Z

The Puerto Ordaz - San Felix area had about 200k Guyanese in the 80's. Most of the Guyanese there now are 2nd gen who cannot speak English. The Amerindians there freely cross the border and are engaged in the fuel - food trade.

Sunil

Django, how can you make a statement like this brother? I have never known of anyone who looked down on a cane cutter. My family worked in the sugar cane fields. You know what? Is begging or stealing better than cane cutting? No JOB is too menial for one to do. If you have pride and you earn a living and support a family, you should be proud. People who think this way are THE LOW LIVES IN SOCIETY.

There are people who have looked down on cane cutters in Guyana....actually, even your family sometimes say to you.."Bai, why yuh dont tek yuh education, wha yuh want be, wan canecutta?"

RiffRaff posted:

There are people who have looked down on cane cutters in Guyana....actually, even your family sometimes say to you.."Bai, why yuh dont tek yuh education, wha yuh want be, wan canecutta?"

I think you are confused here. My parents did not want us to be struggling doing back breaking work. I have gone in the cane fields while the cane cutters were working. I have seen the black soot sticking on their sweating necks and faces, I have seen the sweat leaking down their faces. I did not want to do that job. My father and brothers did that job. Does that mean everyone people looked down on my brothers? I don't think so. If that was the case, no father and mother would want their daughter(s) marrying a cane cutter. It's a job and someone would have to do it. Without that job, thousands of people would be struggling.

Venezuela has become what Guyana was during the 1980s - food shortages, high unemployment, and people fleeing to other lands.  

Guyana's economy is performing poorly these days.  Most people do not expect the situation to improve. Government is getting nastier at forcing people to pay all kinds of fees and taxes. This is clearly a sign that the finance of the nation is deteriorating.  If this momentum continues watch out for a fallout similar to that of Burnham/Hoyte era of the eighties. For this reason, the private sector has been at the forefront of harshly criticizing the government. 

RiffRaff posted:

Ray Bhia, comprehension is very important. What the Family is instilling is that an education is better than cane cutting. People gives loving advice in many different ways. I do not see how and why you concluded that this reinforcement of a good deed is an insult. Please read your statement again and make the necessary editing.