RiffRaff posted:

If Sonu is being disturbed from his sleep by the Imam calls to prayers then he should move. When in Rome do as the Romans do.

SInce it's in India, I really don't think you make much sense...Keffer may right about you after all

When in Rome Keffer will do as the Romans do. He proper like white man.

Muhammad advised his companions to follow the middle road. He cautioned against going to either extremes. One should assess how to accomplish calling the azaan without bothering neighbors who are not interested in it. There are places in the world where the azaan will not bother people and there are places where it will. The Muslim has to be able to properly identify which is which. Asqualaani once said that wisdom is being able to put things in perspective. That is the wisdom that Muslims have to have.

Well said.

I took a few precious minutes of my finite time to read this thread. Sonu could be wrong and he could be right. Ditto Chief. But when I read these things I know I am absolutely right in not setting foot in a temple, mosque or church. It is enough and quite gratifying that I can poossoor-poossoor with God directly in the privacy of my lowly apartment. Neighbours know not when it happens.

India is a high octane religious society so it is surprising that Indians would be affected by the religious activities of any religious group. I wouldn't expect any complaining except from maybe the Christians since they always complain that they don't get equal time as others. Even in America Christians complain about not getting equal time as others.

Gilly 

You have to wake up the neighbors.

Back in Guyana when we used to attend 7 nights of Yagna, the entire neighborhood does be awake.

Bai, yuh want fo know de God's truth? Is only people wid big moneybags who does hold 7 nights yag. Dem rass want fo impress, to draw attention. Suh dem don't care which neighba picknie studying fo GCE, CXE, CE etc. Dem don't care who need sleep to wake up early next marning for a hard day's work.

India is a high octane religious society so it is surprising that Indians would be affected by the religious activities of any religious group. I wouldn't expect any complaining except from maybe the Christians since they always complain that they don't get equal time as others. Even in America Christians complain about not getting equal time as others.

Christ has the power to NULL and VOID fools.

He has the world in His hands.

All of humanity needs to keep that in mind. 

Screaming out calls to prayer is similar to what Christ said about those who offer Pretend Prayers in public. To express piousness. 

In India and Pakistan or as a matter of fact in the muslim world, Christians are at threat all the time. Christ said, there will be persecution. Just consider the Christians in Eygpt. 

I can always count on Saggabai to offer his madness. The man saying that "screaming out calls to prayers is similar to what Christ said about those who offer pretend prayers in public. To express piousness". I guess he doesn't see all those Christian churches loudly ringing their bells as screaming out calls to prayers.

To think that Jesus has the world in his hands is delusional. Jesus couldn't even overcome a few Roman soldiers.

This is why I am hesitant to argue about religious things. With fanatics one gets nowhere. Why should Jesus be the paramount prophet above all other prophets? I refuse to believe that all the other prophets were insignificant. Don't get me wrong; I believe Jesus was genuine and preached praiseworthy pronouncements. So did the others.

In skeldon the masjid by the market they blast the call to prayer through loudspeakers.  I would be upset if I lived nearby. The people are accustomed to it. They do not blink. It mixes in with the loud reggae and chutney music from every other car.

This is why I am hesitant to argue about religious things. With fanatics one gets nowhere. Why should Jesus be the paramount prophet above all other prophets? I refuse to believe that all the other prophets were insignificant. Don't get me wrong; I believe Jesus was genuine and preached praiseworthy pronouncements. So did the others.

Perhaps, you doan know. All the Jewish prophets foretold of the coming of Jesus. Jesus was not a prophet.

Mohammad considered as a prophet by his followers, and he proclaimed that he was a greater prophet than Abraham, Moses and three other minor prophets.

As for the messages of the prophets, it is the same. Mankind is sinful and his Creator wants to save him from damnation. Therein, for the love of the Father, the Lord uttered the words, "Send me as Peace Offering." Suffering at the Cross where He hung, the Lord demonstrated the sinful ways of mankind. Gross murder. It doan matter how civilized or uncivilized mankind are, the love to kill is a common trait. Suh, man who never created another man feels obliged to the life of a man. 

In skeldon the masjid by the market they blast the call to prayer through loudspeakers.  I would be upset if I lived nearby. The people are accustomed to it. They do not blink. It mixes in with the loud reggae and chutney music from every other car.

That is what I mean. There are places where it would not be a problem and there are places where it would. A Muslim's responsibility is to recognize the difference and act in a manner that doesn't affect their neighbors. Muhammad once said that "a Muslim is he in whose hands his neighbors are safe".

RiffRaff posted:

If Sonu is being disturbed from his sleep by the Imam calls to prayers then he should move. When in Rome do as the Romans do.

SInce it's in India, I really don't think you make much sense...Keffer may right about you after all

When in Rome Keffer will do as the Romans do. He proper like white man.

Prashad, true to form as a complete dumb-ass, without exception, every statement you make is replete with rubbish ! Given your inferiority complex, you evidently get a high by coming here; except that each and every word that you utter is based on your dismal ignorance and  stupidity. Why don't you quote or show from any of my posts that I 'like white man' ? Let everyone see and understand what I have said so many times to you ... you are nothing but a total dumb-ass and this is reflected in every statement that you write ! My suggestion to you remains; stay with your life's mission of cleaning toilets .... and away from this forum ! You lack the intelligence and understanding that is required for meaningful participation....you're a dumb-ass !!  

Last edited by Keffer

Keffer seeing that you are brown as sh-t but in your mind you are a white Arab it is Prashad's job to clean up the sh-t that is you.

Yes, we already know that you clean sh-t and toilets; that is your life's mission. All that we ask is that you keep your dumb-ass ideas and opinions to yourself. Plain and simple, you lack intelligence and educational calibre to discuss any subject of consequence; so again...you are a simpleton so keep your dumb-ass ideas to yourself ! 

Last edited by Keffer

As I stated earlier my man Saggabai never ceases to disappoint.

Firstly man or woman do not have an urge to kill. People don't wake up desparately looking for something or someone to kill. Some people do and mostly as a reaction to some other action.

Secondly, Muhammad never claimed to be better or more powerful than other prophets. Some of his followers think of him as such. In fact the Qur'anic passage stated that Muhammad is no different from other prophets.

Thirdly, Muhammad was not obsessed or self centered. You wouldn't find utterances from him complaining about his position in life like you find from Jesus in the Bible.

Lastly, he said that he is a mercy to mankind. But he did not say that he was the only mercy to mankind. Neither did he say that he was only for the Arabs like how Jesus said conclusively that he was only for the Jews.

Try to know what you seek to comment on.

Firstly man or woman do not have an urge to kill. People don't wake up desparately looking for something or someone to kill. Some people do and mostly as a reaction to some other action.

Secondly, Muhammad never claimed to be better or more powerful than other prophets. Some of his followers think of him as such. In fact the Qur'anic passage stated that Muhammad is no different from other prophets.

Thirdly, Muhammad was not obsessed or self centered. You wouldn't find utterances from him complaining about his position in life like you find from Jesus in the Bible.

Lastly, he said that he is a mercy to mankind. But he did not say that he was the only mercy to mankind. Neither did he say that he was only for the Arabs like how Jesus said conclusively that he was only for the Jews.

It was clear from the Prophet Mohammed life that he did not want to be worshipped or honoured in any way.  That is only thing I agree with Saudi style islam about . There should be no celebration of his birthday.

I don't see anything wrong with celebrating his birthday. Especially since we actually know when it was

Perhaps, you doan know. All the Jewish prophets foretold of the coming of Jesus. Jesus was not a prophet.

Mohammad considered as a prophet by his followers, and he proclaimed that he was a greater prophet than Abraham, Moses and three other minor prophets.

As for the messages of the prophets, it is the same. Mankind is sinful and his Creator wants to save him from damnation. Therein, for the love of the Father, the Lord uttered the words, "Send me as Peace Offering." Suffering at the Cross where He hung, the Lord demonstrated the sinful ways of mankind. Gross murder. It doan matter how civilized or uncivilized mankind are, the love to kill is a common trait. Suh, man who never created another man feels obliged to the life of a man. 

I was reading yesterday of prophets. If there were so many prophets in history then how come none went to India?