Rice industry shocker! … Alesie walks away after 25 years

Mar 17, 2017 News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....away-after-25-years/

By Brushell Blackman
After more than 25 years of operation locally, the Alesie Rice Group is closing its five mills and will cease doing business in Guyana. According to Board Chairman Turhane Doerga, the rice industry contributes half a billion annually to the government coffers, and with Alesie leaving the sector, Guyana stands to lose both monetarily as well as by way of influence.

According to Doerga, while the company had been operating with many constraints, recent developments have necessitated this move – not least of which is the lack of coherent policies, something that continues to plague the sector. The former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the rice group explained that after the last election it was hoped that the ruling administration would have advanced different policies from their predecessors.

Doerga said that the Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) during its time in government marginalized and ostracized the group, and this was also a contributing factor. Doerga reflected that he was hopeful that the APNU+AFC coalition government would have made a difference in this regard. However, he is contending that the agriculture sector is in rapid decline and the Ministry of Agriculture is bereft of ideas to arrest the spiral.

Added to those setbacks, Doerga is contending that there is a worrying lack of policies by the government to address the issues that are affecting the industry. He is adamant that vital strategies are needed to guide the industry and persons that are involved in the selling of rice and paddy. The veteran rice miller opined that in the absence of policies it is unlikely that the rice industry will function the way it ought to.

A displeased Doerga said that an alleged cartel culture between selected rice millers and government is not helping the industry either. He said that at the moment there are chosen rice millers who seem to be having a greater say in the industry and special privileges are constantly being extended to them.

Doerga said that with all of those issues considered, it is no longer feasible for the Alesie Group to continue to ply their trade in Guyana. Further, he said that because Alesie is a fair trading company, at the least they are only allowed to pay rice farmers market price for paddy and with the current price, the company can no longer continue to do profitable business.

When contacted, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder said that he would not comment on the arguments advanced by Alesie for exiting the rice industry, but he would say that the government is working tirelessly to address a number of issues within the industry.

Alesie’s departure comes at a time when the government is actively looking to secure new markets for the rice industry. This development will put up to 300 persons out of work.

The rice mills that will be sold are Ruimzeight – with 32 silos, two dryers, a 16-ton mill and a newly-refurbished parboiled plant; Wakenaam, that currently has 12 silos; and facilities at Corriverton and Leguan.

The Alesie Group of Companies consists of a network of rice-mills, manufacturing and processing plants, commodity trading-brokerage firm and consulting engineering worldwide.

By Brushell Blackman

Doerga said that the Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) during its time in government marginalized and ostracized the group, and this was also a contributing factor. Doerga reflected that he was hopeful that the APNU+AFC coalition government would have made a difference in this regard. However, he is contending that the agriculture sector is in rapid decline and the Ministry of Agriculture is bereft of ideas to arrest the spiral.

Added to those setbacks, Doerga is contending that there is a worrying lack of policies by the government to address the issues that are affecting the industry. He is adamant that vital strategies are needed to guide the industry and persons that are involved in the selling of rice and paddy. The veteran rice miller opined that in the absence of policies it is unlikely that the rice industry will function the way it ought to.

Interesting developments.

This will have a detrimental impact on the rice industry and the economy of Guyana. First they lost the Petro Caribe deal and now they are sinking to a new low.  What next? 

Kuldip has to go back to his drawing board and downsize his rice production target. Mexico deal may reel.

This will have a detrimental impact on the rice industry and the economy of Guyana. First they lost thePetro Caribe deal and now they are sinking to a new low.  What next? 

That deal would have died,the reasons "Oil"

This will have a detrimental impact on the rice industry and the economy of Guyana. First they lost thePetro Caribe deal and now they are sinking to a new low.  What next? 

WELL NOW THIS MAKE A LOT OF SENSE. EINSTEIN ON THE BOARD.

This will have a detrimental impact on the rice industry and the economy of Guyana. First they lost the Petro Caribe deal and now they are sinking to a new low.  What next? 

I see literacy isn't something that you have.  They stated that they had hoped that the current government would have had better policies than the PPP did. To their disappointment APNU/AFC are no better.

I also suggest that you use some brain cells and understand that the prices that the rice farmers received was based off of the then existing high oil prices. Clearly in the existing environment prices will be lower, and clearly with Venezuelans now fighting with each other to catch rats to eat for dinner Venezuela no longer exists as a market.   That is unless Guyana wants to provide free rice to them.

Insel, the Curacao airline which goes to Guyana is almost bankrupt because of money that they have trapped in Venezuela.  The only currency that MadBURRO has to pay rice farmers is the bolivar. Now how many rice farmers do you think want to be paid in bolivars?

By Brushell Blackman

The former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the rice group explained that after the last election it was hoped that the ruling administration would have advanced different policies from their predecessors.

Doerga said that the Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) during its time in government marginalized and ostracized the group, and this was also a contributing factor. .

One can wonder if Bibi has the same affliction as Druggie. Illiteracy.

By Brushell Blackman

The former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the rice group explained that after the last election it was hoped that the ruling administration would have advanced different policies from their predecessors.

Doerga said that the Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) during its time in government marginalized and ostracized the group, and this was also a contributing factor. .

Funny you mention that, as me and DrugB went to two top schools in Guyana. Which school in Albouystown did you go to?

Saints was NOT better than QC.  I feel pity for the poor man who was daily beaten up by those rich Portuguese boys and so is now brain damaged. QC and Bishops were the top schools.

I can actually count on one hand how many times I have been into Albouystown in my life.  Maybe you had reasons to visit more frequently.

Saints was NOT better than QC.  I feel pity for the poor man who was daily beaten up by those rich Portuguese boys and so is now brain damaged. QC and Bishops were the top schools.

I can actually count on one hand how many times I have been into Albouystown in my life.  Maybe you had reasons to visit more frequently.

Give the donkey a handful of grass.......

Yes I know that you're upset as you have been revealed as an Indocentric person with strong Indo KKK sympathies. But surely you can do better than that.

Upset? Maybe you're ashamed of who you are because you have every right to be and you have earned the sympathy of everyone here, including me. I am a PROUD INDO-GUYANESE. I know you have trouble reading so let me write it again PROUD INDO GUYANESE.

. I am a PROUD INDO-GUYANESE. I know you have trouble reading so let me write it again PROUD INDO GUYANESE.

Yes and one who thinks that only Indians matter. So continue to propagate your Indo KKK ranting prefaced by "as far as you know".

That guy caribj must be brain damaged and don't know the meaning of the word illiterate. 

Well I hate to say I told you so but it is true, the PNC continue to drive away investors. When they drive out the man with the plastic swimming pools, the pnc crew jump up and shouted that it was negligible as he only sell 6 pools a month.When they drive out the timber company DTL, the jump up and shouted that DTL was destroying the forest. Now we see Alesie packing up their bags, I wonder what these jackasses will now shout?

Funny you mention that, as me and DrugB went to two top schools in Guyana. 

You sure the correct speech is " me and DrugB" and not "De two awe?"

Too bad all those years went to waste pon yall. Yall coulda stay home an play marbles because it wasn't until ayou rass come to GNI, yall gettin schooled.

When you have FOOLS running a Country, you expect this to happen. One more important Industry destroyed. Make Nah said the PNC, BRUK?  OH YEAH BABY says the PNC!!!!!

Wasnt no shocker It is a known fact that they were having internal problems for a while. In Ruimzegt someone is building a rice mill opposite Alesie mill knowing that they were going to shut down. This was known by for a few years now. It started under the PPP.

Pointblank

See there u go. I always seying dem blasted putagees were racist from since pickney time. Juss read Cain.

Did Warria hand down his title to Django?

See there u go. I always seying dem blasted putagees were racist from since pickney time. Juss read Cain.

HaHaHaHaaaa..A Trump batty kisser calling Iman a racist..need I say more?

That guy caribj must be brain damaged and don't know the meaning of the word illiterate. 

Well I hate to say I told you so but it is true, the PNC continue to drive away investors..

The man said that the PPP was bad for his business and APNU/AFC no better.

This is why you are illiterate and lack basic comprehension skills.

And what investors did the PPP attract? Those legions of large buildings in G/T where very little happens, these built for money laundering purposes. Or those outlets retailing cheap imports and destroying what little of the manufacturing sector that's left. Or scores of fast food outlets doing ghastly things to the health status of Guyanese.

Guyana remains a country which exports basic commodities with minimal local value added. Yes the Chinese who export tree trunks and who refused to adhere to what they promised, which was building a viable timber based industry in Guyana with significant value added.

I suggest that you cease praising the PPP because the reality is that they weren't any better than this current cast of corrupt clowns.

HaHaHaHaaaa..A Trump batty kisser calling Iman a racist..need I say more?

I am a repectable supporter of President Donald Trump.

Caribj said u all duz beatup East Indians at QC. And I trust Carib statement.

I have NEVER called anyone a RACIST. I simply point out difference in generalities.

Every race of people have some prejudices. Even Mixed Races. But some people are RACISTS and consider every differing comment as racists.

If you express dislike for East Indians, that is not racists. And  if I shouldrepeat what was said, then why must I be deemed a racists.

The man said that the PPP was bad for his business and APNU/AFC no better.

This is why you are illiterate and lack basic comprehension skills.

And what investors did the PPP attract? Those legions of large buildings in G/T where very little happens, these built for money laundering purposes. Or those outlets retailing cheap imports and destroying what little of the manufacturing sector that's left. Or scores of fast food outlets doing ghastly things to the health status of Guyanese.

Guyana remains a country which exports basic commodities with minimal local value added. Yes the Chinese who export tree trunks and who refused to adhere to what they promised, which was building a viable timber based industry in Guyana with significant value added.

I suggest that you cease praising the PPP because the reality is that they weren't any better than this current cast of corrupt clowns.

What is relevant is that he decided to close shop under the PNC and not the PPP. He was playing both sides of the fence. The last time I checked, jackass Granger was running the country so his party is accountable for businesses fleeing. 

I am not here to defend the PPP as they are no longer relevant. When the PNC ascended to power they claimed to have all the answers and even went to NY to solicit your help but you left them stranded and didn't put your money where your mouth was. 

you picking a fight you cannot  win 

warrior posted:

you picking a fight you cannot  win 

What happen? You are not allowed on the computer during the week? Or you rass deh in jail and you can only post when you come out for family visitation?

Caribj said u all duz beatup East Indians at QC.

I NEVER said that.

Now its druggie who whines about how he was constantly humiliated at Saints and this is why he currently suffers from PTSD and has the need to pretend to be brave, as he hides from blacks in his bedroom typing away on his computer.

What is relevant is that he decided to close shop under the PNC and not the PPP.

He thought that the APNU/AFC would have been better than was the PPP. When he realized that they are equally bad he gave up.  Whether APNU or the PPP wins in 2020 he sees no hope for Guyana.

What is relevant is that he decided to close shop under the PNC and not the PPP.

He thought that the APNU/AFC would have been better than was the PPP. When he realized that they are equally bad he gave up.  Whether APNU or the PPP wins in 2020 he sees no hope for Guyana.

Aren't you the fence sitter now, a typical fair weather friend.  What happened to the days when you praising Granger as the second coming of the messiah?  The fact still remains that you and a several others here threw your weight behind the PNC and now slinking back into your gutters pretending that you had nothing to do with their ascension to office.  

Warrior, you DUMB FOOL, comparing you to Einstein is like comparing a top quality diamond to DAAG SHIT!!!!!!!!!!! Just to hep you understand, you will be DAAG SHIT!!!

i hate when you drunk and post shit