Chameli posted:

very beautiful from far....lots of garbage near cowdam n sideline in by road

Cham, like you know cow dam good heh? Almost all the areas by the side lines are filthy. It's the peoples' dumping ground.

sk-man, i was there 2 yrs ago,  whenever i went to visit my aunty i walked there from public rd,  now they call it concrete strip.  i saw no cow standing around as was usual

Concrete strip been deh since the seventies I think but definitely since the early 80's. Used to be called Cowdam I believe.

Kas , I am saying the old post office, many years ago the old post office was by the last turn (road leading into roxy/market etc)  Then they moved the post office to opposite where I use to live. There is a story that not many people know about concerning the new post office, the builders read the blue prints wrong and the post office was built back to front, so the back of the post office is facing the public road. that was the mistake, It was too late to fix it.

Amral
Amral posted:

Kas , I am saying the old post office, many years ago the old post office was by the last turn (road leading into roxy/market etc)  Then they moved the post office to opposite where I use to live. There is a story that not many people know about concerning the new post office, the builders read the blue prints wrong and the post office was built back to front, so the back of the post office is facing the public road. that was the mistake, It was too late to fix it.

That's  correct Amral i remembered the Old Post Office on the Dam by the road leading to Roxy Cinema.[or Train Station]

Bear in mind the two turns came when the new road was built.

True Django. In those days there were lots of accidents because of the dangerous turns along some of these roads. As a result they created the new roads and got rid of some of those tight turns. I remember seeing many people at nights carting away wheelbarrows full of sand and fine stones that was dumped along the roadside for the building of the roads. Many bottom houses of both indians and blacks along the leonora/Stewartville side were enclosed using those things. Even my uncle took a helping too with me and others helping to cart it away

Amral

Jango, are you sure you're not a professor in my town? One of the buddies he hangs out with is called Jango.   

Nah,that nick Django i took from the movie with Franco Nero,when i was a teenager had it painted on the back of a denmin jacket which i sowed.Any professor will be in the Electronics Service Business that's what i am qualified to do.

The old post office was a little south of the railway line, which is also south of the turn/junction with Roxy cinema street. I taught one of postman Phillip's sons. 

He had a shop in Leonora Parafield,hope me old brain is correct.

He lived in Parafield. I saw his house before he added the shop.

Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?

There was a teacher named Ramdatt Sawh at Leonora Government School when I worked there 1969-70. A shortish fair complexion fellow who had two other brothers. I think he was from Parafield. I had initially thought he lived in Leonora Pasture.

Damn Gilly. I was just starting primary school.

Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?

There was a teacher named Ramdatt Sawh at Leonora Government School when I worked there 1969-70. A shortish fair complexion fellow who had two other brothers. I think he was from Parafield. I had initially thought he lived in Leonora Pasture.

The father was a driver on the Leonora Estate and had lots of sons and 2 daughters. One son had a drug store in G'town. Another son left Guyana in 1968 and through him a sizeable portion of Guyana migrated (including me); sadly he had Parkinson's and died last year.